Rent Golden Sun Dark Dawn for DS
view large frontback

Golden Sun Dark Dawn

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

863 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great RPG

posted by MildChild (MOSSYROCK, WA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best RPGs I've played in a while. The use of magic is mostly effortless (although I do wish there were more ways to quick-access them), the use of the Djinn is useful and fascinating, and I love the ability to summon power allies in battle. The availability of new and better equipment is well-paced and matches the tougher opponents nicely.

My only real complaint is that there is too much emphasis on the original Golden Sun story (which I've never played), which makes me feel I'm only following in the tracks of others. The entire story is available in the books you find during the game, so the continual reference and description of past history is unnecessary and irritating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game out in a while

posted by DuskElezen (PINE BUSH, NY) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Golden sun, Golden sun lost age, and Golden Sun Dark Dawn a game that you can join in to and get in to as it takes off fast and keeps you wanting more I recommend if you want this game to rent it being it fills you in on the previous 2 games but in order to enjoy the full experience of the game rent Golden Sun and Golden sun lost age an then Golden sun dark dawn I promise if you like the story there wont be another game with a good story to keep your eye its the best absolute best in my view of story game play and graphics, it will make you a fan of the saga I don't even want to tell you any part of the story to allow it to engulf you in its marvel. GIVE THIS A RENT I'M SURE YOU WILL BUY IT SOON AFTER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Like Golden Sun and/or Lost Age? Try This One!

posted by KDarcy84 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been waiting for this game since I finished Golden Sun: The Lost Age, and I knew there would be a sequel. I have been disappointed by the time it took to develop, but once I got this into my DS, I realized just how worth the wait this game was. Improved battle graphics (bound to happen on the step up to DS); simple and easy to use controls, whether using the stylus (which I've never really been a fan of) or the buttons; more Djinni to find and use; old-school battle system (for those of you who like that); and a truly deep story that flows easily are just a few of the things to loved about this game. I have always enjoyed this games puzzle solving feature, combining mainly RPG styling with a little bit of problem solving keeps the game interesting. It reminds me of a cross between Final Fantasy and The Legend of Zelda series'. For these reasons, I highly recommend at least renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hated it!!!

posted by Megafan200 (INEZ, KY) Apr 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

I love the golden sun series but i couldnt even play the beginning it was so bad my main problem was the graphics why? because the are horrible this game came out in 2010 ds games like sm64DS and others like Prime:hunters were out their grapics werent great but the were good soo when i was playing this i was expecting something good. another problem is the choice system i found it confusing in the first games you had a simple yes or no in this game you have to respond to a situation wich is hard when there is alot of text that you will probaly skip over so i barley knew what to choose. but i do have to give camalot credit for making the battle system great and have returning charters in game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by D3DLYA1M (WOODSIDE, NY) Apr 2, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I'm a Huge Golden Sun Fan, So Happy when I found out there was another installment! I had Tons of Fun, I collected all my Djinn even played the optional Boss! Can't Wait Till The Next One!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good game

posted by Kev_215 (HARLEYSVILLE, PA) Jul 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Def not as good as the preivious two titles but still worth renting my biggest problems was how much talking there was and not enough boss fights. Another complaint i had was how EASY it was the only challenging fight is the bonus boss Dullahan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by jak1998 (AURORA, CO) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

Golden Sun Dark Dawn is a really nice game.The graphics were the nicest I've seen for a handheld RPG.The story is interesting,but sort of confusing.A lot of the info was meant to be drawn from the first 2 games.If you plan to rent this game try to play the first 2 games.also I loved the variety of characters.If you make it far enough in this game you'll understand what I mean.Finally, the summon system both,opens new dimensions of graphics and opens a new perspective of boss fighting.If your looking for an interesting story and a unique character design,then you've found it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its...lacking...alot...

posted by Blurgaschnrgit (MORRISVILLE, PA) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I expected alot from Golden Sun Dark Dawn, the whole concept sounded pretty fantastic to me. The whole, collect little monsters for power ups as you progress through this world as a boy with telekinetic powers thing, I was head over heels with joy when I heard about this game. Of course, me not being fully introduced to the Golden Sun series, maybe I shouldn't have held my hopes as high as I did, because in my opinion, this game was an epic let down.

Graphics---> I don't really know how to rate the graphics for the game, since most DS games have the same style of graphics, but i've seen them executed better on other RPG's, so 6 out of 10

Story---> This was one of my breaking points with this game. The story had like, 2 parts. Part 1: Find a feather. Part 2: Save the world. The story was annoying, unninteresting, and every single character just, won't shut up. The conversations in the game often included tons of vocabulary that was extremely irrelevant, and downright bothersome. Constant dialouge between every single person in the game makes everything just alot more unbearable.

Gameplay---> Awful. The game is a classic puzzle/battle game, but the ratio between the two is sooo off. Puzzles got insanely complicated to the point of frustration, and the battles were slow and unexciting. The special moves you could use after collecting djinn look pretty cool, and do a good amount of damage, but other then that, spending time gathering the little monsters seems unimportant. The puzzles were pretty fun at first, but they got pretty old pretty quick, and since they're constantly being thrown at you from all directions, it makes the battling in the game seem worse.

In conclusion, I found this game to be pretty bad altogether. I really loved all of the ideas Nintendo had when creating this game, they just...didn't come together well. I give this game a 4, it could've been great, but it...wasn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very refreshing

posted by bellingham (BELLINGHAM, WA) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

after so many disappointing RPG rentals, I finally got Golden Sun. I never played the previous versions (prequels) but the story is easy to pick up on. The graphics are beautiful and the camera movement fluid and natural. A classic turn-based battle system with great spell/summon animations. A big plus to this game is the ability to speed through the attacks by holding down the button. However, you can't do the same with the often lengthy and drawn out conversation/plot scenes. There is a lot of unnecessary dialogue that requires lots of button mashing. A "auto fight" option would have been great as you end up in a lot of random battles with weak enemies.

NOTE: THERE ARE VIRTUALLY NO BOSSES.
The designers chose to have you use your energy to solve puzzles and find your way through mazes. I guess they prefer to reward you with a goal accomplished instead of a boss battle at the end of them. I would have loved to see more bosses. The dungeons are masterfully designed - the best I have seen in my 20 years of RPG gaming.

The plot is strange and a little nonsensical, but it didn't take away from the experience. This is a VERY LONG GAME, so I recommend buying it instead - I've paid for 3 months of Gamefly while playing it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by Biodus (SUISUN CITY, CA) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I enjoyed this sequel to Golden Sun and GS: The Lost Age. The ease of use of psynergy outside of combat was greatly helped by the ability to use the stylus to target the effects. It opened up more possibilities for the puzzles by increasing the range of casting.

My review is going to sound kind of negative, but that's because I am comparing it to the GBA Golden Sun games, which were epic and challenging. It seems like Dark Dawn was designed to target younger players than the GBA ones targeted, which in my opinion is the wrong move. It should have targeted older players, especially since the people truly interested in it are the ones who enjoyed the GBA games.

The story in Dark Dawn is decent, letting you know why you're going everywhere and giving you a sense of purpose. Unfortunately, it feels less mature than the GBA games, and the story doesn't feel urgent until near the end of the game.

The difficulty level in Dark Dawn is definitely lower than The Lost Age, and I think easier than the first game (been awhile since I played it). Most of the puzzles were easy, and I was constantly over-analyzing them. I even went to Crossbone Isle and went down all the floors, and was surprised by how easy it was to clear. Maybe the puzzles were just easier because I've been trained by the GBA games.

Combat difficulty followed the puzzle difficulty. There were, I guess, 2 somewhat challenging fights in the entire game, Dullahan not withstanding. The leveling pace of the game was good, but the bosses needed more challenging skills/attacks. Almost all the fights were beatable with the simple strategy of 1char mass heals, the rest attack. Dullahan (after completion content) is a different story all together, he's probably the same difficulty he was in The Lost Age.

The game is left WIDE open for a sequel but has more of a sense of completion than the first GS. Hopefully it'll be able to stand up with The Lost Age. Good game, but needs a more mature feel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

From Golden Sun to Dark Dawn

posted by VizardIchi (DENMARK, WI) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

First off Let me start by saying that i began playing the original game when i was 10. I spent countless hours beating the game then turned around and spent endless days beating its pre-qual. After Playing and beating this game spoiler t picks up quiet awhile after the events of the last game. The 2 lovers and Main heros of the last game are now parents to the New savior of weyard, and have brought back every puzzle,dijin,side quest, and ability back with it. The Golden Sun series is one of the best rpgs ivve ever played and i would recomend this game to anyone looking for a game that captures attention and keeps you hooked with many different things to do for hours on end. I have no complaints, the only thing i would say is go back and play the first 2 game to make it easier to understand the story and be up to date with everything thats doing on in Dark Dawn

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Golden Sun good or bad?

posted by XxslayerxX (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Jun 1, 2011

Member since May 2010

Golden Sun is uh...Good! a great storyline and dijin are awesome kinda of like summinings but with more detail and moves and if u like the originals than get it! or if you are a rpg fan. I rate it a 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lost Interest

posted by asaladin (WOODSVILLE, NH) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

I lost interest after the start the game became a lot more simple for the next few hours of it its just walk press "A" walk press "A". it also had the longest starting part ever i started playing another game and beat a level with one hand as i used the other to press a to get through the intro talk overall it started boring got fun and became boring again. not a good game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by natlei (NEW BETHLEHEM, PA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

i am only 20 hrs in to this game but so far I am in love i cant seem to put it down it is a very good story line it keeps your interest. buy dont rent beleive me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Diffrent graphics,same old charm

posted by Dartic (SAINT JOHNSBURY, VT) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Golden sun ( and lost age, IMO just 2 parts of the same game)was my first real RPG game it got me started with final fantasy,Dragon quest and the Tales games. In truth though they just don't measure up to golden sun. This one is very different the touch screen makes for some interesting puzzles and adds some things that the old Golden sun games didn't have, Like being able to aim where you want a outside of battle whirlwind to go. Some characters make a come back (no spoilers here). and the combat system is just as nice as it was before just in 3d,rather then the gameboys dated graphics. (nothing ment by this I wish they had put in a old style graphics switch in the game but it's not a remake and that takes alot of coding.) My only problem with this game is the writing. they give you 8 characters like they did in lost chapters and if you didn't play those games you think where did these people come from, If you never played the first 2 then this will be a little confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Utter disappointment

posted by 2lazy2type (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game had my hopes up high, after beating golden sun and golden sun the lost age I was thrilled when i heard that this one was coming out! But soon after discovered that it was nothing like the first two, the story felt like it was written by a 4 year old, and So many times in the game you arent given a single hint as to where to go next!
Although the battling was still fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Sequel Done Right!

posted by Touma223 (UPLAND, CA) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game was everything I expected from the folks at nintendo and camelot. Dark Dawn brought back the beloved game play from the gameboy platform but artfully advanced with the touchscreen. I must add though that i am disappionted that with the new platform not having most of the rest of Weyard was not accessable when the memory was available for it (Ds Card). The final battle came about and i thought i had hours more to go. So kind of a let down. The graphics are the same as LOZ Phantom Hourglass. So pretty good, especially considering the step up from the advanced small single screem. Kind of Pixelated at times but overall infinitely more enjoyable for hardcore Golden Sun fans! I seriously hope this new batch of heroes find themselves called upon again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Golden Sun

posted by Guardian27 (LIVINGSTON, TX) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Even tho every dungeon was repiticious the game play within itself was worth playing. Plenty of collectibles and some complex puzzles makes it worthy of my 9 point rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Golden Sun

posted by RobertMJR (HENDERSON, NV) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I played the original Golden Sun and loved it years and years ago. I wanted to give this one a try out of nostalgia. Theres a number of reasons why I might have absolutely hated this game. First is that I simply did not at all feel like I was playing the original game. Perhaps the only way to get that old feel is to play the actual original. This just didn't feel like the Golden Sun I once knew. Some games just shouldn't go 3D and this is one of them.

Second reason could be that I just grew out of it. The story and script seemed poorly written and very childish. I found myself rolling my eyes and button mashing my way through the dialogue. The only way I could sum my thoughts the whole time I started the game was "shut up shut up shut up I don't care shut up this is stupid shut up."

Third reason is a bit biased but its that I just don't care for RPGs. I never did but the original one was just a kick for me back in the day. Like I said though, this felt nothing like the original. RPGs are just unbelievably boring and not very interactive to me. It astounds me that anyone can actually be entertained by this game (or any RPG for that matter).

Sorry Dark Dawn but you let me down. I though I put you last on my gameq anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by havochaos (BOONE, NC) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Everything about this game is awesome except it was way to easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »