Rent Golden Compass for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Golden Compass

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games
GF Rating
4.0

566 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A bad game based on the book and the movie

posted by Breeze (St Ann, MO) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This book was excellent and is a top seller in the UK.We are being presented with the movie adaptation the the theaters.Unfortunately we gamers are being presented with the game adaptation from the movie.I generally find movie games bad to average to begin with with maybe .01% making an above average to perfect rating. Golden Compass doesn't come close to that .01%.The game plot is so frazzled you are left scraching your head as to what is going on. The cut scenes you will have seen if you watched the movie so those won't be worth it if you seen the movie.The games complexity isn't difficult at all.If you are having trouble beating a baddie, run away to the next check point.The "bosses" are a joke, with no difficulty coming with them. The graphics are certainly not next-gen.The list goes on, but the game just isn't worth writing too much bad about, because it is that bad.Ok, on to the bottom lines...
Graphics: 4 out of 10
Definately a waste of next-gen technology
Concept: 6 out of 10
Ripped off of the book, and movie with no new
story lines to enhance the game,which is a
shame in itself.
Sound: 4 out of 10
I didn't care to listen to the dribble that
came out of the characters mouth,and with the
captions I could read the dribble that the
characters were spouting out anyhow.
Playability: 2 out of 10
I constantly forgot which mode my daemond was
in, which created lots of control problems when
the daemon has 4 different modes.
Entertainment: 1 out of 10
I laughed at the sorryness of this game so
there is some.
Replay Value: 0 out of 10
You're kidding right?

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Don't rent/buy.This game could have been so much better with more attention given to writting, graphics,basicly the whole game from the start. A bad game, the worst I've played in a long long time.A product made and pushed out to make money off of the movie title and nothing more because there is no merit to the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another weak game with a movie tie-in

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Dec 3, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is playable, and quite a few of the achievements are attainable. It is what it is: a studio trying to cash in on a movie tie-in. It looks like it was rushed to be out at the same time as the movie. Game play is repetitive. This one is for movie fans and achievement junkies. You'll like it if you liked X-men 3 the game, Eragon the game, Transformers the game, or any cartoon turned game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Would Have Been a Zero

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) May 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I would have rated this piece of garbage a zero if it was an available option. Shame on Sega for releasing this piece of trash. If you enjoy boredom and games with impossible to follow story lines then this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Golden Compass, Tell me why this game sucks!!!

posted by EDLOM360 (MAKAWAO, HI) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

2/10 - Graphic
5/10 - Sounds
0/10 - Gameplay
4/10 - Achievement Difficulty

Most of the Movie to Video Game Titles are bad, i played many in the past but this was horrible. It was the worst game i played on xbox 360 so far.

I don't even know where to start..... Okay let's start with the game play.
This game has two playable character, Lyra and Lorek.
When you play as Lyra, half of the time you spend platform style game play where you jump, climb and glide through confusing and bad designed stages.
Uncontrollable camera and uncomfortable button layout will make things more worse.
I spent hours stuck on couple of the stages when i searched and interacted with every object but wasn't able to move on because the game doesn't register the objective you just completed.
Other half of the time you will deceive people, dodging battle and Use the alethiometer to answer the questions by playing series of boring mini games. collecting orbs, dodging orbs, timing or just plain button matching mini game. there are no challenges what so ever i don't even think i failed once.

Most fun you will have in this game is when you play as Lorek the bear. Where you beat on weak enemys or bosses by smashing on x button as you curse at this game and hoping you will never play as Lyra again.

Graphics are last gen on HD. Animations and Character designs are terrible, only good thing i saw was reflections on the mirrors and the puddles.
Low Quality from film cut scenes and horrible voice over will make you lose interest in the story, if you haven't seen the film, it will even make you not want to watch the movie.

This game is the example of how the game is not made. Developers failed at everything it's almost like they did not want you to have fun at all.
I will avoid this game even you're only playing for achievements, 10-15 hours you will spend on this game to get 1000 is not worse it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just Horrible

posted by Matt6288 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has everything that you can complain about. Bad graphics, bad voice acting, bad animations, bad mini games (that you MUST play), bad controls, ONLY auto saving, and doesn't even follow the movie in the slightest bit. The only upside of this game is the fact that its easy if you have the patience to get around the annoying mini games.

They even have mini games for just talking to people in the game! It makes a 3 hour long game into 10 hours by just making you constantly play these things. And when the game its all that fun, you're just wanting to skip every aspect just to finish.

If your renting it for achievements, they are easy, just make sure you have a plan going into the levels to pick up everything the first time through, because you really don't want to go back and replay the levels.

Oh and make sure your answering questions as often as possible to not have to answer them all after you're done playing. Otherwise you'll being answering questions for about an hour because of how the mini game and the journal operates.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Trash Game

posted by MYSTerB (LITTLE ELM, TX) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game should have never been released it is against christ, and this game deserves a 1 because it is a utter waste of time, and most of all the game sucks anyways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by xcalibur (SANFORD, NC) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game is horrible graphics, storyline, sound, fighting controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 10 10 but more like a 0

posted by petercheez (CORYDON, IN) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

never played it but judjing by the box are it the worst game ever the polar bear boss that trys to hump you makes no sence ... what is this lost.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as bad as some people say

posted by TastyMpire (WILLIAMSBURG, OH) May 16, 2010

Member since May 2010

Okay, let me preface my review by stating that I loved the books and thought the movie would have been great if the studio hadn't made them re-cut it to avoid offending religious people.

It doesn't look like a current gen game. The grapics are equivalent to a middle of the road PS2 game.

Lyra and Pan are decent as far as voice acting because the actual actors portrayed their characters in the game. The rest of the va is not as good.

My biggest complaint with the game is the poor camera. You cannot control it and it is not always in the best position. This is a problem when making some jumps with Lyra, but is never a problem when controlling Iorek.

If you've read the books or enjoyed the movie, the story is familiar, but if you haven't seen or read, then the story won't make much sense.

Is this a great game? No. But as an old school gamer, maybe I have a bit more patience because I grew up playing games that could be frustrating at times.

To put it simply, if you enjoyed the books or movie and aren't afraid of a few frustrating levels, this game could be fun for you. With so many games out there, this shouldn't be high on anyone's list, but it's a playable game and to be honest, I enjoyed the experience overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too hard for kids under 10

posted by crzymomof5 (FOREST LAKE, MN) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

my kids ages 6 & 8 did not care for it because it was too hard for them. it seems like a neat game but we did not keep it around because they could not play it without a lot of help and with it only being a 1 player game that made for lots of fighting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »