Rent Golden Compass for PS3
view large frontback

Golden Compass

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS2, DS
GF Rating
3.9

166 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Stick to reviews

posted by krayfish (SPRING HILL, FL) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay this game isn't that good but please don't put reviews up that are based on your personal viewpoints of God and religion. The purpose of a game review is to let users know if the game is overall good or not. This is not religious forum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

an Excellent family-friendly/young gamer title.

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very enjoyable, follows the storyline well, lots of fun, and simple controls, easy actions. The camera leaves a lot to be desired- it's kinda sucky- you cant look around to see where you're going, making some spots a little difficult, but I highly recommend this for a family title that everyone might enjoy. Subtitles make the game very accessible to the deaf. Animations are a little .. goofy... graphics are excellent otherwise. I've been playing it a while, and may actually keep it- it's a great way to unwind after a frustrating day. Not for the typical shoot-em-up/fps/slasher/f- ast action/thriller enthusiast type. But- I would play this game with my kids (if they weren't all grown up and gone away) and could make for hours of family fun :)

I give it an 8 - it just is that good, one of a very very few titles I've seen for PS/3 that the whole family might enjoy.

As for one of the other reviewers saying something about religious references- I hadn't noticed any overly religious material in the game, so not sure what others might have been complaining about..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Similar to Narnia

posted by Mike2977 (OVIEDO, FL) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Adventure type game very similar in play to The Chronicles of Narnia.

Didn't really hold my interest, so I didn't get very far into the story other than riding on a great polar bear and fighting wolves over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

golden compass

posted by nightstalker312 (GARDEN CITY, KS) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

well me and my kids loved the movie which it does follow the movie pretty well bt for me it was way tooslow and the contorls were sluggish and i didnt like how i couldnt move the camra without moveing the whole character. to me its not worth playing or owning unless u just wanna play as the bear....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

On to the game ..please. cheap and linear!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Oct 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

First of all thank you for your helpful insight to the introductory page of the reviews, but if a game preaches to me then I'll preach back furthermore I only preach about a games if it deliberately tries to Make fun of my beliefs! Thank you for forcing me to waste space to defend my right to have an opinion! Now SHALL I BEGIN?! Some people know bnothing about the 1st-Amendment!

This game is linear with no conrtol of the camera whatsoever! Games based on movies have never been very good! Randomized quick-time events where you push random buttons due occur in this game! 3-d gamplay with a resident evil camera set means half the time you can't see where you are going half the time! Everything in this game except the graphics screams RUSH-JOB to development! Betcha-dime for a donut that tis games production cycle was 6-months. 1st-month was probably program school and planning, two months for design and programming the rest working out bugs and making it look pretty!
This game is as far as I can tell while pretty is a platformer-"god of war clone"! 3-d gaming environments demand camera function, which this game Does Not Have! If curious RENT, DO NOT BUY! This game was made by Sega... If not for the graphics, and "movie" mood I'd say that Sega must have chimpanses for designers, engineering functions work fine! And lastly I will say it again No camera control!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »