Rent Golden Axe: Beast Rider for PS3
view large frontback

Golden Axe: Beast Rider

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.4

1207 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as bad as you think...

posted by sinceatari (RANDLEMAN, NC) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was dissappointing, ONLY b/c you can only be Tyrus (the girl from the first one). Axe Battler and Gilius Thunderhead are both in the game, but they are not playable characters (which sucks). It was still a fun game, and much more challenging than I expected. There are some boss fights that are just cheap, but I was supprised by the ease in which I beat The Death Adder (the final boss).

All in all, this was an entertaining game. I do not feel like I wasted my time at all beating this game. It was definitely something to do until Bioshock and Resistance 2 came out.

Also: In case you haven't read any other reviews, this game is somewhat choppy and should have been beta tested!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not great, Not bad either

posted by jawman66 (NUTLEY, NJ) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While other reviewer (not all) didn't seem to think this game was that good, I liked it. By no means do I think it's the greatest game ever but it is far from terrible or unplayable. I thought the graphics were good, the sound was good, the cinematics were good, the game play was good. I love the beasts you get to ride and control! The one thing I am negative about is the locations where it saves and you can continue from if you are killed. At times I had to start from what I thought was a ridiculously long set back. During those parts I would get kinda bored playing the same thing over and over. Fortunately, this is not the case for the whole game.

Again, the game is very good. I don't feel like I wasted my money buying it. As far as replay value I'm not sure yet I haven't really tried replaying it because I spend too much time playing/replaying RE5! Greatest game to date on PS3 in my opinion!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Got a bad rap

posted by lihill (BALTIMORE, MD) Nov 6, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is not as bad as everyone is saying. However, it does not break any new ground. It is simply an updated version of the classic, but of course not quite as exciting. The voice acting is so laughably bad, it's actually entertaining. The gameplay was a pretty good experience - not mind-blowing, but good. Overall, I had a good time with it, but it was a bit easy to beat. Not worth buying, but indeed worth playing if you like gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

always hated those annoying little gnome thieves..

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

i was an extreme Golden Axe fan back in the day of arcade rooms. i could play that game for hours. this new rendition isnt so much different, yet is no where near the same game. the basics of gameplay are still there; hack and slash style fighting, hordes of enemies popping into existence from nowhere, little annoying gnome thieves avoiding your every swing and slash. the biggest problem i have is the lack of character options. i wanted to take the little dwarf with the axe. how can this be Battle Axe without actually having the option to wield an ax? add that with not having the ability to bring a partner in to aid you in your quest, and this game is sub-par to the original.
the original Golden Axe was your basic hack and slash where you could take one of 3 characters and your friend could take a different one and you could scroll through the levels slashing and hacking your way through the goblin hordes.
Beast Rider is your basic hack and slash game with no frills and nothing really that interesting to play for except maybe some nice costumes for the one character the game offers and a mediocre story with decent graphics. this could be a weekend rental for the avid gamer, but for someone looking for a great game to occupy your time, theres alot better ones out there.
oh, and i only played this for 30 mins, and 'i' actually do enjoy it, so im keepin it til i finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Golden Ack!

posted by rjcpdx (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok, I played the original Golden Axe. And it's pretty sad when an 80s arcade machine that had to squeeze its measly code onto ROM chips is better than a 21st century next-gen title that cost seven figures to produce.

The biggest goof here is tying down the PS3 to the conventions of the original. Yeah, Golden Axe in 1989 was linear. Yeah, enemies came popping out of nowhere and wandered on the screen. Attention, designers: that was a limitation of the old tech! Not! A! Template! For! The! Future!

Things look swell enough and it's a shame, because if the designers understood fun better they'd have let this one jump off the rails and wander around in a nonlinear world. As it is, you're endlessly squeezed into this tiresome Yellow Brick Road path with your barbarian Dorothy. Follow the yellow brick road, kids.

Not worth renting if you can read reviews, but small children may be amused. Nice triceratops ride, too, while it lasts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Axe-age/Sword-Age..

posted by GotGame (MCKINLEYVILLE, CA) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

..style hack-n-slash fun. You'll have a great time playing this game, the camera works, the controls are good...blood, nudity, and combat, blended with the right amount of magic. Do not listen to negative reviews from "over-gamed", "spoiled-brats", this game is a great quest for all who have the warriors heart..fight on!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An average game

posted by Frylock777 (CHILLICOTHE, TX) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

GA is an average game. I find it hard to complain about it or praise it much.

There are just too many better games to be playing to spend to much time on this one. Its worth a rent and return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GoldenAxe: A TRUE REVIEW!

posted by ArceusOwns (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very dramatic. It holds true to its rating as far as being "Mature." This is a true Mature game, showing blood, gore & body parts. This game is very thorough in game play and is very user friendly. Unlike most games, the cinematics and game play makes you look like you are in the game. It is the most REALISTIC game I have seen graphically. I almost felt that I was watching a movie, as the scenes were that clear. The only downside, which is VERY small; is every once in a while, the camera will go a little crazy, but only when engaged in a battle with several enemies at once. I believe that this game deserves more credit than it has been given.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that fun.

posted by borislav (DES PLAINES, IL) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Taken on its own, Beast Rider isn't a horrible game. It's perfectly average in fact. But when you compare it to action titles released earlier this year--such as Ninja Gaiden 2 and Devil May Cry 4--or the high caliber games that are releasing this holiday season, there's just no good reason to buy this game.

I'm gonna go right ahead and say that Beast Rider's biggest appeal lies in its sexy heroine, Tyris. Had the developers went with a male lead I think the game would fare a little worse on the charts. So if you're into virtual babes, you could rent the game to appreciate Tyris and not be too disappointed--there are several outfits to unlock, and they modeled her well.

Otherwise, everything's just... average. I think the game would've been a lot more interesting had a Japanese developer been behind it, like the original classic. If I could sum Beast Rider up for you in a few words, it'd go something like this:

God of War without the fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

True to the Original

posted by travisc (CARROLLTON, TX) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

No matter what anyone tells you, I've played a lot of the original Golden Axe and this game is so much like the original I can't hardly believe it. The developers of this game are amazing in getting it right. I will have to say the feel of this game is more similar to the original than 3D Mario is similar in feel to the original Mario games. I've read reviews about how it is not true to the original and I'd have to say they can't have played the original in a long time. It was a hack and slash with a couple of options: hit and cast spells. The things they got right are the beasts, the spells, the look and feel of the environment, the enemies, the weapons, and definitely the gnomes. Wow, I feel like this is the original game and the original was a "made for cell phone" version. Great job Sega! Any problems you may have with the game are due to clunky PS3 controllers or just problems you may have with the original game. If you don't like the original, you probably won't like this game either. To fix the PS3's lack of good controllers, just change the controller profile to #6 so that the evade and parry are the triangle and circle and you should be good. The problem is that the triggers aren't as responsive as evade and parry need to be. If you are playing it on a 360, it probably won't matter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Heavenly Sword Wannabe

posted by mac1996 (ORANGE PARK, FL) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

If this game had come out 10 years ago on the PS1, it would have been a great game. However, it didn't and it's not.
The cinematics and voice-overs are nearly non-existent. Where the story could have been greatly improved by impressive cut scenes and narration, the player is left reading "instructions" and bits and pieces of story lines from scrolls found throughout the game. This leads to a lackluster game at best. Gameplay is mediocre with a very limited number of attacks and the fighting system overall feels uncomfortable. Not worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Golden Axe: Beast Rider Review

posted by VampireJoe (PAW PAW, MI) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Golden Axe tries to bring back the memories but fails to deliver the same quality as the other Golden Axe games. You play as Tyris, there is also other characters that make guest appearances. The combat is just bland and uninteresting. The game just doesn't feel like it lives up to it's past. The game runs nice though and the graphics aren't that bad for a 2008 video game. The game is not that bad it just doesn't feel like the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Does almost everything badly, the rest is mediocre

posted by ReviewerA (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The main draw of the original Golden Axe was the magic, walking through the arcade you were drawn to the game by watching the awesome screen filling magic spells with huge sprites. The game had a lot of other cool things going on too. Now pretty much everything about this new game sucks. The magic is as weak as it is boring to look at, a fireball from your sword whoopdeedooo that's the default attack in the first Legend of Zelda. So the draw in this game is supposed to be beast riding, but the beasts are little more than elaborate keys and they're not that fun to ride just slow and weak. Get rid of the beasts and put in Axe Battler and Thunderhead. Even just technically this game sucks, tons of slow down, often no dynamic lighting, and some other stuff that I can't remember since playing it. The animation of the enemies isn't good enough for a parry system, compare it to Demon's Souls, fighting a group of enemies can look cool but it isn't worth the effort to learn. Can't hear the sound effects a lot, there are these statues that blow tornado force winds they sound like "toot, toot". Enemy designs, and all the designs in general aren't that impressive, even though they had lots of cool things to riff off of from the originals. I quit playing soon after fighting the first boss, a Goro wannabe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice try...but...not quite

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Sep 7, 2010

Member since May 2010

The truth is I didn't much care for the original golden axe series,
but it seems like some minor improvements have been made, still it would have been nice if the world were a bit more open. It is a shame that this seems to be done with a half hearted effort. seems like this game is a god of war clone, but is trying to hide it. i don't blame the game for trying to hide that aspect of the game, because every god of war clone I play is always trying to tell me how to play. I hate button pressing sequences this game tries realy hard to avoid it but sadly it ends up still telling you what you have to do. This game could have tried to be more open ended at least! Here's an idea get yourself elder scrolls: oblivion, then make yourself a blonde nord chick, and give her a long sword, a pair of nice boots and some fire magic, and presto! You have a manifestaion of Tyris Flare! Only thing missing is the various mounts, but with all the walking you'll be doing in this game I don't think you will miss them that much. Well, i suppose you could base this game on a series of circumstances, for instance if you like brawlers, have a big collection of games that you are about to finish, and see this game on the cheap, or preferably if you rented it and like it then it isn't a terrible game to own, but otherwise.... Sorry Sega has a way to go before they hit the big time! Sega...I keep imagining a man getting sucked through a narrow tube screaming hitting a blue blob of paint and comes out a hedgehog whenever I hear that name of Sega. Oh well!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

So poor I don't know why they bothered

posted by chocoboRum (GALVESTON, TX) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The graphics are terrible. The cutscenes are terrible. The voice acting, script, and story are all terrible. The combat is terrible. The art is ugly and mutated and they try to pass the main character as sexy by constantly zooming into her buttocks, which makes any sane man, or woman, puke. This game feels like some sandbox pre-alpha testing environment for a PS1 game that was never released, its so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

like it or not

posted by malinko (RINGGOLD, VA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

i seen this game on the shelf ever seance it came out and thought that this might be a good game to play. ohhhhhhhhhhhh boy was i wrong, its almost like playing god of war (except for being an awesome game) you will find yourself saying bad words at this one for a long time. almost at every turn you have bad guys which is good until they push you up agents a wall and all you see is a big ball of nothing. they also give you a lot of bad guys at once to fight, but you cant fight all of them at once, so that's a drag to. in my review of this game how could they of made it any worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent hack n' slash title.

posted by Brandon101 (WARR ACRES, OK) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The gameplay on this game isn't too bad, and the framerate for the most part is pretty smooth. The only thing wrong with this game really is that it difficult in a frustrating kind of way. Its not unplayable, but its definitely more frustrating than most of the hack and slash games out there.
I think it deserves a rent, but not much else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The old games were better.

posted by BuzzKiller (AKRON, OH) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This title was pretty slim on features. Two spells? Seriously? It didn't have the God Of War selection of moves and all next gen hack n slashers really should...shouldn't they? The biggest problem was the fact that there is no block button. You must parry and dodge attacks to defend yourself....but it isn't exactly fair when you always face at least 3 guys at a time. In these instances the parrys and dodges do not work...even if you time them right!

Another major problem with the game is that the character is supposed to be a beast rider. Well, the "beasts" she rides are panty wastes...one hit can knock you off of it, and two hits will kill the beast. That is assuming that you didn't use any of the beasts powers yet because that drains their life bar too. You only need them to bust down gates and open certain chests...but all in all...they felt like a last minute idea for the game...when really...they truly gave an edge to the first three golden axes.

Graphically, the game was more on par with a PS2 game and that is a shame because they environments were pretty original and neat looking..but the resolution and character animation just wasn't all that impressive. Not for me. The story line? "sigh". Its a hack and slash game..alright?

For those looking for a trip down memory lane and love golden axe...rent the genesis collection for PS3...which has ALL THREE of the original games. This game just felt like a Blood Omen rip off with no block button. I would pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Golden Axe

posted by feifonwong (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Horrible game for PS3. Just awful. Does not do the system justice...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

golden axe: beast rider

posted by tankerman (HAMMOND, LA) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

accually i liked the game.. could have been better..like having a block button..fights are very hard with out block button..graffics were great i thought,game controls are a little slow..found myself having to hit button a few times to get it to do a certain move..
but all in all i did like the game..would i rent again???
probably not..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

golden axe: beast rider

posted by greysith (Casa Grande, AZ) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

this game is a major disappointment for old golden axe fans...that being said I'm not a orignal G A fan. So I appoarched it with an open mind, and unfortunatly it's not great for non fans either. Short and sweet...thei game and lead character are very easy on the eyes but the repetive and BORING fights and action bogs down what could have been a decent action title with or with out the Golden Axe logo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Story??

posted by Arumnxx (Brewster, OH) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

What happened to the dwarf?? There was hope when it started that quickly went down hill. Awkward controls and not much variation in enemies made for a repetitive theme. Ridin beasts that quickly die didn't make up for much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok game

posted by shi8778 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game started off great. The most frustrating thing soon became timing blocking. If you didn't hit the block button exactly at the right time, you got hit. The levels got harder and harder, which kept the game interesting, but towards the end of the game, the timing on the blocking, and not being to get it just right, made the levels almost impossible. I made it to the last level, then got disgusted with being killed so many times because I still couldn't get the timing on the blocking perfect, that I just sent the game back. If you're not easily frustrated by games, this is a fun one to try, otherwise I don't reccommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stupid

posted by udeupa (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

since when SEGA can not even make a accetable game? SEGA already lost console war because of stupid decision on dreamcast, now they are making stupid games... or say allowed stupid game to publish with thier name. wonderful! keep it up till there is no one want to by SEGA. pathetic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just Another Example

posted by rkrob88 (MAYFIELD, KY) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game is just another example of the fact that only a small portion of PS3 games are worth anything. They keep hyping all these games that turn out to be;good graphics, and really bad game play. Just because a game looks as real as you can get it, doesn't make it a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse