Rent Gold's Gym Dance Workout for Wii
view large frontback

Gold's Gym Dance Workout

Rent

Keep for: $7.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $7.99

GF Rating
4.9

296 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Doesn't quite work out

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 20, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

23 out of 23 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the things that brought attention to the Wii by casual users is the fact that it is a very good platform for exercise games like Wii Fit.
Gold’s Gym Dance Workout tries to follow in Wii Fit’s (and some other games of the genre’s) steps. Here, the player can engage in workouts that include boxing, Latin dances or play games like running and rowing a boat.
But getting to the workouts can be a workout in itself. You create your avatar and enter information - your date of birth, your height, and your weight.
Then, you select which control configuration you will like to have - one Wiimote or two (two works best)
Then, you pick a standard workout from a list of several or you can create your own workout with all the dance/exercises that you like.
But when I started to exercise, I found it enjoyable sweating to the Goldies. And the game does keep track of the calories you burn, and which exercises you excel at and which ones you did not so well at.
Yes, there were problems with the game recognizing the motion controls, but these were kept to a minimum.
And I would’ve like to get a better warm up/stretching routine than the one in this game.
Gold’s Gym Dance Workout is a good exercise program for those of us who don’t have a gym membership or Wii Fit (or any games like Wii Fit). But the confusing menu and lacking warm up routine take it off my buy it list. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Love this Game!

posted by smitdani (YPSILANTI, MI) Jan 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the first work out game that is actually fun. I have tried wiifit and wiifit plus and while there are a couple of games on there that I like, it just was not as fun. In dance workout it is fun to work out, and hard if you create a workout. The first one that I created was a half hour long and I was exhausted afterward. The dances are fun and will get you moving. Overall I think it makes working out fun, and this game definitely gets more use than the wii fit games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hard to Follow

posted by fluffy85 (EDMONDS, WA) May 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game starts out by having you do all these crazy dance moves; it shows you once or twice how to do the steps & then expects you to know what you're doing. I was expecting something that would teach me dance routines over time rather than something that expects me to be a pro already. Plus after following their crazy videos for about 45 minutes it said that I had only burned 61 calories, doesn’t really seem like a worthwhile workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

False Advertising

posted by roguemutt (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First, I don't know why it says you need the balance board. At least for the beginning dances and such you don't need it. The only thing I saw that it did ask for it was the bull riding minigame.

Mostly you just use the remote, which is the big mistake. Basically you can sit in your easy chair, shake the remote around and it'll tell you you're doing a great job and burning calories. Seriously? Come on, that's really lame. Like most of the Wii Fit Plus, there's nothing to stop you from slacking off or to tell you you're doing the exercise wrong. In other words, it's no better than an old Richard Simmons or Billy Blanks videotape and those are a lot cheaper. Ridiculous.

I'm just glad I didn't really pay anything for this pathetic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent, but not Great

posted by nbsptt (AFTON, WY) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a big review reader and have learned to pick out a good review from a bad one, but unfortunately I didn't do it on this game. A number of reviews and even the game description make it sound like having two remotes to play this game makes game play better and makes the game respond more. NOT TRUE!
I bought this game for the exercise but I also enjoy the mini games in exercise games like the Wii Fit Plus. Review made the mini games sound fun. I tried the canoeing game with the balance board and I could not get the avatar to respond at all like I was rowing. I tried and tried and tried and it almost always did the opposite thing. There is a game where you run a marathon and you are running away from a lion. In order for it to work and me not get eaten by a lion, I literally had to swing my arms up and down as fast as I could. It didn't simulate running at all, atleast I don't know anyone that runs with their arms going up and down 100mph.
The good is there are boxing exercises that work pretty good. They are a good workout and follow your movements pretty good. The dancing is hard to get the rythym but the response is good.
BOTTOM LINE: If you want fun mini games-don't buy/rent this game. If you want a workout-the dancing and boxing is pretty good and a decent workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok....

posted by quitabone (TEMPLE TERRACE, FL) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the concept of the game, but I feel that they should have had a wider variety of songs and dances.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible

posted by AmberL (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The dance moves so fast you would have to know how to dance well for this to be effective. Very poor workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is awful this shouldnt even be a game!!!

posted by dog12 (BUENA PARK, CA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

So dont rent or buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best of both worlds

posted by kimberly2611 (PALM COAST, FL) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

It has what I want for a workout and what I want from a dance game. Lots of good songs to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you like fast dance games this game is for you

posted by KittenManzutto2 (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game would be good if you how to play it already and your an ultra awesome dancer. But if your just starting off and never played it before this game is hard and goes fast and thats just training. Dance dance revolution is a much better game for beginners and you get to pick which songs you want 2 dance 2. I wouldn't recommend this for beginner dancers the introduction steps go really fast and it's a little boring even if it is fast paced dancing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not What I Expected

posted by 40nFab (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Not very easy to follow. I didnt like the personal trainer preset workout and overall I was really disappointed in the game.

The only think I did like was being able to customize your workout and pick either dance or boxing routines instead of having them all ready together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This isn't really a dance workout

posted by MiniDriver (SOMERVILLE, MA) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

You spend a lot more time cardio-boxing and playing pointless minigames. The flow of the workout is clunky - a 30-minute workout is 12-14 separate 2-3 minute segments. There's an annoying break between segments.

I hope they improve this game - there's a lot good about it. The insructions are good, it's easy to follow, and you really do get a half-decent workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not that great

posted by mrskershne (TECUMSEH, MI) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

It is a good concept, but when they are teaching you the dances they move quickly and it can be difficult to pick up. I was disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »