Rent Gold's Gym Cardio Workout for Wii
view large frontback

Gold's Gym Cardio Workout

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

1148 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MOMMIE of TRI

posted by HillFamily11 (MADISON, AL) Apr 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I love this workout! I was sweating so much after 10 mins. Work out for a hr every morning and eat right and healthy foods. Just to be sure to watch how much you take in your calories. My favorite is the select Boxing "SPECIAL" and it WAS hardcore work out! Love it!!! I lost 10lbs for 3 weeks AWESOME! I am going to keep this Cardio Workout for a long time till my goal to lose 40 more lbs before return this (snickers)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Eh-I've had better

posted by AmberL (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

If all I am doing is punching the air...I'm not getting that great of a workout...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is fantastic!!!!!!!

posted by peters2030 (STAFFORD, TX) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I love,love,love this game its a pity it isn't for sale :(
Oh well the exercises really make me work up a sweat and I get to shop once I've earned enough "gold points" I can buy new clothes for my mii character and my personal trainer. Talk about motivation!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

We have enjoyed this game

posted by shane (KIRKSVILLE, MO) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If you like boxing then you will like this game. It is a good work out as well. My son and I love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gold's Gym Cardio Workout

posted by spidecandy (UNIONTOWN, PA) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I really like this game and would recommend trying it out to anyone. While it's not the best in the graphics or accuracy department, it is still a lot of fun. You can get a good workout from it and the mini-games are unique. I hope they come out with an updated version someday. Give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Workout!

posted by wandie77 (ROSEMOUNT, MN) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game over the weekend and tried it. I didn't even have it for a day and I went out to purchase it. I think it gives you are GREAT workout. I broke a sweat easily. Yes, it is mainly boxing but so what! I love boxing and if it is going to help get these lbs off, I'm all for it. I also have the wii fit+, so it's nice to change it up. If I want to have a low-medium impact workout, I'll do the wii fit +, if I want to have an instense workout, i will do the Gold's gym cardio workout. You have to have a balance. I'm the type of person who hates going to the gym, so this is great. I have canceled my gym membership. If you like boxing, this game is great! I did the abdominal exercise last night and my abs are sore. i just want to continue on and keep opening up other things because from what I read on another review on here there are lots of other options to open up. I give this game 2 thumbs up for sure!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very intense!

posted by viperman72 (ALBIA, IA) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I found this game to be very intense as you get to the higher levels. I have wii fit + and Wii active. I have added this and it has been a great addition. Out of all of them, this one has me breathing the hardest after my workout. I highly suggest you ad this title if you are looking to expand your workouts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

junk

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

who wants to listen to the rocky theme song over and over again, the motion control doesnt always work as the robot mini game blatently points out to you, they should finish video games before they release them. this workout programs are just too boring compared to real exercise, too bad im already too old to do that anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great exercise

posted by slimchicks (BENSALEM, PA) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I actually use this in the morning after my yoga stretching. I work up a sweat from the cardio boxing, and i work on my push ups. This game can really be part of a good work out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mmmm...its ok

posted by xeniah (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I was excited about this game when I first rented it- looking for a great cardio workout as the title suggests. While the game is good for techniques of actual boxing- it is not anything near to the boxing workout you get with wii sports- the one that comes with the console. There was no freestyle option too which was kind of a drag- you do get to pick some of your own music though which is cool and the BMI calculator is neat but I only played it for about 1/2 hour before I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Glitches Aside, A Really Intense Workout

posted by mrseth (COLUMBUS, OH) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Golds Gym Cardio Workout remains probably my favorite workout game for Wii, with Samba de Amigo a close second. With both games, I play them while wearing wrist weights-- the workout is very intense. When I was playing this game regularly, I was really building muscle.

Also with both games, it's key to remember that the punch or shake is determined by the controllers sensing a change in acceleration. So to punch, draw back fast.

I only care for the main Shape Boxing mode, and I haven't really explored Exercise or Exam (there just isn't much there). The game tracks your total number of punches, which is impressive. I don't care about unlocking new clothes, etc. for my avatar, but it's nice that I don't have to use my muscle tone-less Mii.

The prepared workouts are a nice feature, but I go "a la carte" as well.

The graphics are good (better than Wii Fit), and the on-screen buttons are large and easy to select with the Wii Remote (unlike in another Ubisoft fitness title, My Fitness Coach). There is some weirdness, like how percentages have a leading zero ("067%"), and the trainer says the same things a lot. The calories burned count makes no sense at all, but the fitness age calculation makes me feel good (if only it knew I added resistance!, I boast to myself). All of the music has the same tempo, so I don't really enjoy selecting what track to play (I just go with Random usually). These are just quibbles compared to the software's very solid Shape Boxing workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gold's Gym Cardio Workout

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game workout is something I really like this is my second time renting it. It really gives me a good workout. I gave it a eight because of how much I like it and will definatly buy this one in the very near future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you like boxing

posted by Phoenix79 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the key parts of this "game" is that you need to like boxing. If you do then this is a lot of fun and a great work out. The more time you spend with it the more you get. Every once and awhile the remotes get laggy but in general if you know the basic you can get it down. My husband is uncoordinated, doesn't box and only played it twice. I have played it for 3 months and still am getting more challenging routines. Phew! Great workout for those who like boxing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sucked

posted by crzy619 (SANTEE, CA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

waste of a rental music was poor... cant use my mii, seemed like only boxing... didnt get a work out. could of done more without the game and now i cant rent jillian 2010 because there isnt enough ahhhhh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty Good

posted by laceyjnew1 (DALLAS, TX) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

Once I got through the tutorials I had a pretty good workout. I was impressed i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

just ok

posted by rene83 (BEAUMONT, CA) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I found this to eb a nice workout if you are trying to perfect your form, however if the controllers weren't moved int eh right direction at the exact right moment the game became very aggravating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Should be named - GOLDS GYM BOXING WORKOUT

posted by technomage (CAMBRIDGE, MA) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This game focuses squarely on boxing. There are no other cardio elements to it. Even the floor routines are designed for boxers only. The game is not properly responsive to the wii controls. It is annoying to have to play through the simpler routines to unlock others. I'm here to exercise...why are you denying me access to a full suite of a workout? I really hate "wii fit age". It has no bearing on the actual successful completion of an exercise, especially if the game is unresponsive to the wii controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love the game, great work out

posted by Kelly7997 (GRAFTON, MA) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is just like cardio kickboxing class. I did the sit ups and I am sore. I love it only had it for two days!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game suck

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst exercise games. You don't get to choose what you want in the beginning, they make you do boxing. The demonstration for boxing is worse than that for the wii fit. I have tried all the workout games and this was so bad I sent it back the next day. If you really want a great workout, than stick with Wii Fit, or EA SPORTS Active. Both of them gives you the full benifet of workouts. Trust Me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by allicat (Parrish, FL) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will admit when I first tried this game I hated it and was going to return it. However, my kids LOVED it and I decided to give it a little longer, now I am happy I did and we are actually going to keep it. This is a great complement to the wii fit and I am definitely getting a great workout from it every day. There are some really great features, like you earn money for doing exercises and can buy things in the store to change your avatars outfits, gloves and shoes. I am not a huge fan of boxing and I get lost on some of the moves sometimes, but I AM getting a great workout and that is the point, right?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Get ready to sweat!!!

posted by TerryWVU (DUNBAR, WV) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My wife Loves This Game and we both highly recommend it!!! There are a ton of PROS and no CONS that we have found thus far! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gold's Gym Review

posted by pbecked (BEDIAS, TX) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

A balance board is needed in order to get the full extent of a workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just Like The Wii Fit

posted by grandamle (WATERTOWN, SD) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

It's more like boxing, same as the wii it, i like the fit alot better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Workout

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Jul 16, 2009

Member since May 2008

I bought this game after my younger sister brought it down for me to try it out. I took a year of kickboxing from a local gym and missed it. This "game" gives me a great workout and lets me get out my aggressions. I'm a 47 year old female.

This game only has boxing and boxing type exercises on it, so if you're looking for more of a sports variety then try the Sports Active by EA. I have both but like the Gold's game for my cardio workout.

The game starts out easy and as you punch more you unlock more of the game. At 10,000 punches you unlock the training part of the exercise section of the game where you can set varying times for your joggng in place, jump roping, heavy bag hitting, etc. The routines your coach prepares for you can be easy, normal or hardcore when you unlock the hardcore.

The only complaints I have with it are:
1. They have you stand in one place for most of the boxing routines so that you just move back and forth while standing in one place. I've changed it up so I move around in front of my TV.
2. They didn't talk about breathing or maybe I missed that part.
3. I'll get done with a routine that the coach set up for me and breeze through it, then he has the gall to tell me "That was easy for you. Why don't you try something harder next time." The frustrating part is that he prepped the routine for me, so how can he complain about HIS choice for me.

But these are minor. How much you sweat depends on the effort you put into it. I use the exercise section to do a warm up where I run in place for 3 minutes, do 3 mins heavy bag work, then go into the prepared body shaping workout. The routines have you do both the right and left hand boxing stances.

It has been a lot of fun and it's the first exercise video/game that I look forward to doing each night. It has been a great work out from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great addition to the Wii Fit

posted by maplebob (MADISON, WI) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been using this game for four days now and it is a nice change of pace from Wii Fit. It seems the core of this fitness game is rhythm boxing and it is a much more intense workout than the Wii Fit version. The player is constantly shifting his weight between the left and right foot, rocking off the ball of the foot. This is very good for circulation and waking up first thing in the morning.

After learning the basics, your trainer will give you the choice of going with a randomly picked workout at an intensity of your choosing, or going ala carte and creating your own program. As you gain more points, other exercises are unlocked, such as squats with the Wii Fit board or jumping rope with the Wii-motes.

I think the core of the game is rhythm boxing and the game is very good with this aspect. I found the other exercises I have done so far to be somewhat counter-intuitive. I had jumping rope for the first time this morning but I couldn't really figure it out. Maybe I will get better if I keep at it but between the Wii Fit and this game, there is a good variety to keep me interested in continuing to work out.

If you have absolutely no interest in boxing games then you probably wont like this but if you are simply looking to add an exercise system that is fun and will keep you coming back, give this a rent and see if it is for you.

I think I should mention that even though this game will work with the Wii Fit, it isn't absolutely necessary so if you don't have a Wii Fit board and you like boxing exercise. Also, if you have two Wii-motes, it is better than using the Wii-mote/nunchuck combo. I don't think I would like this game as much if I had to use the nunchuck for my other boxing fist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse