Rent Gold's Gym Cardio Workout for Wii
view large frontback

Gold's Gym Cardio Workout

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

1149 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game suck

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst exercise games. You don't get to choose what you want in the beginning, they make you do boxing. The demonstration for boxing is worse than that for the wii fit. I have tried all the workout games and this was so bad I sent it back the next day. If you really want a great workout, than stick with Wii Fit, or EA SPORTS Active. Both of them gives you the full benifet of workouts. Trust Me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just Like The Wii Fit

posted by grandamle (WATERTOWN, SD) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

It's more like boxing, same as the wii it, i like the fit alot better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful... dont waste your time

posted by linz127 (WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

We played for 10 minutes. I can't believe this game came from the same company that made My-Fitness Coach.

Starts with very tedious boxing. It's exercise designed for 5 year olds, and I think even then they would get terribly bored. As far as I can tell, you don't really get out of the boxing exercise at all.

Don't waste a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Waste Your Money

posted by kcougar (ORANGE, CA) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst exercise games. You don't get to choose what you want in the beginning, they make you do boxing. The demonstration for boxing is worse than that for the wii fit. I have tried all the workout games and this was so bad I sent it back the next day. If you really want a great workout get the My Fitness Coach. Far superior to this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

junk

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

who wants to listen to the rocky theme song over and over again, the motion control doesnt always work as the robot mini game blatently points out to you, they should finish video games before they release them. this workout programs are just too boring compared to real exercise, too bad im already too old to do that anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Eh-I've had better

posted by AmberL (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

If all I am doing is punching the air...I'm not getting that great of a workout...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Should be named - GOLDS GYM BOXING WORKOUT

posted by technomage (CAMBRIDGE, MA) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This game focuses squarely on boxing. There are no other cardio elements to it. Even the floor routines are designed for boxers only. The game is not properly responsive to the wii controls. It is annoying to have to play through the simpler routines to unlock others. I'm here to exercise...why are you denying me access to a full suite of a workout? I really hate "wii fit age". It has no bearing on the actual successful completion of an exercise, especially if the game is unresponsive to the wii controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not a good start

posted by sjason (EDGEWATER, MD) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 22 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game makes you "register" everytime you use it, which takes about a minute and a half.

There is NO WARM UP TIME on this game.
You start learning moves and doing the cardio right away.

Im not impressed !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sucked

posted by crzy619 (SANTEE, CA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

waste of a rental music was poor... cant use my mii, seemed like only boxing... didnt get a work out. could of done more without the game and now i cant rent jillian 2010 because there isnt enough ahhhhh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gold's Gym Review

posted by pbecked (BEDIAS, TX) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

A balance board is needed in order to get the full extent of a workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mmmm...its ok

posted by xeniah (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I was excited about this game when I first rented it- looking for a great cardio workout as the title suggests. While the game is good for techniques of actual boxing- it is not anything near to the boxing workout you get with wii sports- the one that comes with the console. There was no freestyle option too which was kind of a drag- you do get to pick some of your own music though which is cool and the BMI calculator is neat but I only played it for about 1/2 hour before I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty Good

posted by laceyjnew1 (DALLAS, TX) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

Once I got through the tutorials I had a pretty good workout. I was impressed i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

just ok

posted by rene83 (BEAUMONT, CA) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I found this to eb a nice workout if you are trying to perfect your form, however if the controllers weren't moved int eh right direction at the exact right moment the game became very aggravating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NOT FOR ME... BUT FOR MY KID INSTEAD

posted by WEEBEE (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I seen the cover thinking that this 'game' would be aimed toward adults. NO! It's aimed more toward kids with the mii type characters... it just wasn't that motivating. I do like Wii Fit and others like it, even though SOME of the games have the mii characters not all of them do (in the Wii Fit type games). I may have not played it (Gold's Gym ) long enough, but it just didn't have enough variety for me. You can box but that can get a little stale after a while. If your kid is in karate or boxing this is for you!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Will Make You Sweat

posted by graysdoe (LEBANON, MO) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked this game but is pretty repititious, and hard on my knees. But it was entertaining and I enjoyed the boxing!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent, but could have been better

posted by okgasdude (COOKSON, OK) Apr 13, 2009

Member since May 2007

I rented this due to its compatibility with the balance board. I was disappointed. You have to manually enter your weight. They should have let you use the balance board to check your weight. You also couldnt use your Mii, and I didnt like that. The workouts were great. It was very easy to break a sweat while playing. If the balance board was better incorporated, and you could use your Mii I would be buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

We have enjoyed this game

posted by shane (KIRKSVILLE, MO) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If you like boxing then you will like this game. It is a good work out as well. My son and I love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok but Laggy

posted by moviemom78 (EL CAJON, CA) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

The overall play of this game is good. I was able to build up a sweat on the workout. The one thing that kept driving me mad was the timing issue. When you box, there seem to be a delay in your actual movement, and the movement on screen. It was the same way with the balanced board. And other thing was, that my movements where actually backwards on screen when using the balance board. So i had to flip my board around. That was annoying.

However i really did like the workout part, and if the timing was better, i would purchased this game, instead of returning it on the 3rd day of the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gold's Gym Cardio Workout

posted by spidecandy (UNIONTOWN, PA) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I really like this game and would recommend trying it out to anyone. While it's not the best in the graphics or accuracy department, it is still a lot of fun. You can get a good workout from it and the mini-games are unique. I hope they come out with an updated version someday. Give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very intense!

posted by viperman72 (ALBIA, IA) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I found this game to be very intense as you get to the higher levels. I have wii fit + and Wii active. I have added this and it has been a great addition. Out of all of them, this one has me breathing the hardest after my workout. I highly suggest you ad this title if you are looking to expand your workouts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gold's Gym Cardio Workout

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game workout is something I really like this is my second time renting it. It really gives me a good workout. I gave it a eight because of how much I like it and will definatly buy this one in the very near future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Get ready to sweat!!!

posted by TerryWVU (DUNBAR, WV) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My wife Loves This Game and we both highly recommend it!!! There are a ton of PROS and no CONS that we have found thus far! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great addition to the Wii Fit

posted by maplebob (MADISON, WI) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been using this game for four days now and it is a nice change of pace from Wii Fit. It seems the core of this fitness game is rhythm boxing and it is a much more intense workout than the Wii Fit version. The player is constantly shifting his weight between the left and right foot, rocking off the ball of the foot. This is very good for circulation and waking up first thing in the morning.

After learning the basics, your trainer will give you the choice of going with a randomly picked workout at an intensity of your choosing, or going ala carte and creating your own program. As you gain more points, other exercises are unlocked, such as squats with the Wii Fit board or jumping rope with the Wii-motes.

I think the core of the game is rhythm boxing and the game is very good with this aspect. I found the other exercises I have done so far to be somewhat counter-intuitive. I had jumping rope for the first time this morning but I couldn't really figure it out. Maybe I will get better if I keep at it but between the Wii Fit and this game, there is a good variety to keep me interested in continuing to work out.

If you have absolutely no interest in boxing games then you probably wont like this but if you are simply looking to add an exercise system that is fun and will keep you coming back, give this a rent and see if it is for you.

I think I should mention that even though this game will work with the Wii Fit, it isn't absolutely necessary so if you don't have a Wii Fit board and you like boxing exercise. Also, if you have two Wii-motes, it is better than using the Wii-mote/nunchuck combo. I don't think I would like this game as much if I had to use the nunchuck for my other boxing fist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Combined with Wii Fit, you WILL LOSE WEIGHT!

posted by Laoiyah (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) May 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

36 out of 36 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great cardio game, focusing on boxing cardio exercises. I've had this game for awhile, and I'm seeing great results. Since Aug 2008, I've lost 30 lbs on Wii Fit alone; now combined with this game, I've increased my endurance and seeing more definition on my arms and legs. Don't take this game likely... it's really a cardio instructor in the form of a video game.

Know that to fully utilize this game, you MUST have the Wii balance board, which automatically comes with Wii Fit, so it works out in the end. If not, you lose a lot of good exercises from this game that use the board.

The game allows you to have a trainer make an exercise plan for you daily, or you can choose your exercises a la carte. The game keeps you busy with good exercise audio tracks, ie "Eye of the Tiger" and "Burnout," and awards your performance with gold to buy new pieces of gear and clothing. If losing weight isn't an incentive, know that you'll earn money to pimp out your Wii avatar.

I was hoping that this game would have more "stepping" exercises, but since it doesn't, I guess I'll stick to my Wii Fit. Also the running exercise in this game is weak and very boring, stick to real-life running for that...

Overall, if you have the Wii Fit, there's no reason you shouldn't add this game to your library, especially if you're goal is to lose weight.

Pros:

-An Addictive and fun way to lose weight!

-Has all the basic exercises you'll need to get you started, ie pushups, crunches, back extensions

-Great audio tracks and cute graphics

Cons:

-The mitts exercise is too slow on reaction time and feels very sluggish.

-The Wii remotes will sometimes have problems identifying upper-cuts and ducking, making it stressful to keep up with the fast-paced workouts.

-The game doesn't have a weigh-in program to check your weight, so you have to switch to Wii Fit just to get your weight then program your new weight back to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good cardio workout

posted by goatwarrio (ATTLEBORO, MA) May 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game offers good cardio workout as well as some good strength toning exercises. It is a good compliment to wii fit. I'd recommend using this game for cardio and wii fit for stretches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse