Rent Gold's Gym Cardio Workout for Wii
view large frontback

Gold's Gym Cardio Workout

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

1149 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MOMMIE of TRI

posted by HillFamily11 (MADISON, AL) Apr 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I love this workout! I was sweating so much after 10 mins. Work out for a hr every morning and eat right and healthy foods. Just to be sure to watch how much you take in your calories. My favorite is the select Boxing "SPECIAL" and it WAS hardcore work out! Love it!!! I lost 10lbs for 3 weeks AWESOME! I am going to keep this Cardio Workout for a long time till my goal to lose 40 more lbs before return this (snickers)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is fantastic!!!!!!!

posted by peters2030 (STAFFORD, TX) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I love,love,love this game its a pity it isn't for sale :(
Oh well the exercises really make me work up a sweat and I get to shop once I've earned enough "gold points" I can buy new clothes for my mii character and my personal trainer. Talk about motivation!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Workout!

posted by wandie77 (ROSEMOUNT, MN) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game over the weekend and tried it. I didn't even have it for a day and I went out to purchase it. I think it gives you are GREAT workout. I broke a sweat easily. Yes, it is mainly boxing but so what! I love boxing and if it is going to help get these lbs off, I'm all for it. I also have the wii fit+, so it's nice to change it up. If I want to have a low-medium impact workout, I'll do the wii fit +, if I want to have an instense workout, i will do the Gold's gym cardio workout. You have to have a balance. I'm the type of person who hates going to the gym, so this is great. I have canceled my gym membership. If you like boxing, this game is great! I did the abdominal exercise last night and my abs are sore. i just want to continue on and keep opening up other things because from what I read on another review on here there are lots of other options to open up. I give this game 2 thumbs up for sure!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by chata14 (WATSONVILLE, CA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

22 out of 22 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

all there is to say about this game is hard core it will put you in a sweat in less than a minute the different exercises that it gives you is more fat burning and fun as you get in higher levels it is so worth your time exspecially if your looking to shed some serious pounds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great exercise

posted by slimchicks (BENSALEM, PA) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I actually use this in the morning after my yoga stretching. I work up a sweat from the cardio boxing, and i work on my push ups. This game can really be part of a good work out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Glitches Aside, A Really Intense Workout

posted by mrseth (COLUMBUS, OH) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Golds Gym Cardio Workout remains probably my favorite workout game for Wii, with Samba de Amigo a close second. With both games, I play them while wearing wrist weights-- the workout is very intense. When I was playing this game regularly, I was really building muscle.

Also with both games, it's key to remember that the punch or shake is determined by the controllers sensing a change in acceleration. So to punch, draw back fast.

I only care for the main Shape Boxing mode, and I haven't really explored Exercise or Exam (there just isn't much there). The game tracks your total number of punches, which is impressive. I don't care about unlocking new clothes, etc. for my avatar, but it's nice that I don't have to use my muscle tone-less Mii.

The prepared workouts are a nice feature, but I go "a la carte" as well.

The graphics are good (better than Wii Fit), and the on-screen buttons are large and easy to select with the Wii Remote (unlike in another Ubisoft fitness title, My Fitness Coach). There is some weirdness, like how percentages have a leading zero ("067%"), and the trainer says the same things a lot. The calories burned count makes no sense at all, but the fitness age calculation makes me feel good (if only it knew I added resistance!, I boast to myself). All of the music has the same tempo, so I don't really enjoy selecting what track to play (I just go with Random usually). These are just quibbles compared to the software's very solid Shape Boxing workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you like boxing

posted by Phoenix79 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the key parts of this "game" is that you need to like boxing. If you do then this is a lot of fun and a great work out. The more time you spend with it the more you get. Every once and awhile the remotes get laggy but in general if you know the basic you can get it down. My husband is uncoordinated, doesn't box and only played it twice. I have played it for 3 months and still am getting more challenging routines. Phew! Great workout for those who like boxing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love the game, great work out

posted by Kelly7997 (GRAFTON, MA) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is just like cardio kickboxing class. I did the sit ups and I am sore. I love it only had it for two days!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by allicat (Parrish, FL) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will admit when I first tried this game I hated it and was going to return it. However, my kids LOVED it and I decided to give it a little longer, now I am happy I did and we are actually going to keep it. This is a great complement to the wii fit and I am definitely getting a great workout from it every day. There are some really great features, like you earn money for doing exercises and can buy things in the store to change your avatars outfits, gloves and shoes. I am not a huge fan of boxing and I get lost on some of the moves sometimes, but I AM getting a great workout and that is the point, right?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Workout

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Jul 16, 2009

Member since May 2008

I bought this game after my younger sister brought it down for me to try it out. I took a year of kickboxing from a local gym and missed it. This "game" gives me a great workout and lets me get out my aggressions. I'm a 47 year old female.

This game only has boxing and boxing type exercises on it, so if you're looking for more of a sports variety then try the Sports Active by EA. I have both but like the Gold's game for my cardio workout.

The game starts out easy and as you punch more you unlock more of the game. At 10,000 punches you unlock the training part of the exercise section of the game where you can set varying times for your joggng in place, jump roping, heavy bag hitting, etc. The routines your coach prepares for you can be easy, normal or hardcore when you unlock the hardcore.

The only complaints I have with it are:
1. They have you stand in one place for most of the boxing routines so that you just move back and forth while standing in one place. I've changed it up so I move around in front of my TV.
2. They didn't talk about breathing or maybe I missed that part.
3. I'll get done with a routine that the coach set up for me and breeze through it, then he has the gall to tell me "That was easy for you. Why don't you try something harder next time." The frustrating part is that he prepped the routine for me, so how can he complain about HIS choice for me.

But these are minor. How much you sweat depends on the effort you put into it. I use the exercise section to do a warm up where I run in place for 3 minutes, do 3 mins heavy bag work, then go into the prepared body shaping workout. The routines have you do both the right and left hand boxing stances.

It has been a lot of fun and it's the first exercise video/game that I look forward to doing each night. It has been a great work out from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cardio time

posted by tropical (MC ARTHUR, OH) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent cardio game for the wii. It is mostly boxng, but burns those calories. You get to unlock trainers and other exercises, such as jump roping. You have a calendar which you stamp when you complete exercises and it will show you how many calories you have burned in that day and so on. I recommend this game if you are looking for a fitness game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Exercise Video

posted by GameFan2 (BLACKSBURG, VA) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is not really a game, but it is a great workout with good music selection, good exercise, and nice graphics. It is pretty easy to get the timing for the punches to the excellent category, but just doing it for the entire workout it the challenge. The balance board exercises are very similar to the Wii Fit exercises so you are not getting anything new there. Defenitely worth trying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great workout!!!

posted by Leahzc (LAUREL, MD) Apr 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2008

79 out of 80 gamers (99%) found this review helpful

I actually got my copy a couple of days before it was supposed to be released from a video game store. It's mostly cardio boxing, although there are other exercises including Punch Dog, reverse sit-ups, back strengthening and squats that utilize the balance board. There are 4 other exercises that have to be unlocked as you progress through the game. (I just unlocked Jump Rope today, on my 4th day.) Gold points are earned to be spent in the Shop on gear, and additional items go on sale as you go.

After initial "registration", you choose your trainer, either Alex or Nina. Other trainers are unlocked as you progress. (I just locked Brenda.) Each day, you have a choice of doing a prepared workout or an ala carte workout. After the prepared workout, you get to leave a punch stamp on the calendar, indicating that you've completed that day's workout. There are Boxing Examinations you can take to test yourself.

As of yet, I haven't noticed the scale feature and I had to enter my weight manually when I first set up my profile. All in all, it's a great workout- more interesting and interactive than Wii Fit (which I still love). I was sweating after about 5 minutes, and I'm STILL sore from my first workout! There's less jumping and hopping around than My Fitness Coach, which, with my bad knees, is a big plus. I look forward to unlocking more of the features of this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gold's Gym Cardio Workout

posted by spidecandy (UNIONTOWN, PA) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I really like this game and would recommend trying it out to anyone. While it's not the best in the graphics or accuracy department, it is still a lot of fun. You can get a good workout from it and the mini-games are unique. I hope they come out with an updated version someday. Give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very intense!

posted by viperman72 (ALBIA, IA) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I found this game to be very intense as you get to the higher levels. I have wii fit + and Wii active. I have added this and it has been a great addition. Out of all of them, this one has me breathing the hardest after my workout. I highly suggest you ad this title if you are looking to expand your workouts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gold's Gym Cardio Workout

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game workout is something I really like this is my second time renting it. It really gives me a good workout. I gave it a eight because of how much I like it and will definatly buy this one in the very near future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Get ready to sweat!!!

posted by TerryWVU (DUNBAR, WV) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My wife Loves This Game and we both highly recommend it!!! There are a ton of PROS and no CONS that we have found thus far! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great addition to the Wii Fit

posted by maplebob (MADISON, WI) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been using this game for four days now and it is a nice change of pace from Wii Fit. It seems the core of this fitness game is rhythm boxing and it is a much more intense workout than the Wii Fit version. The player is constantly shifting his weight between the left and right foot, rocking off the ball of the foot. This is very good for circulation and waking up first thing in the morning.

After learning the basics, your trainer will give you the choice of going with a randomly picked workout at an intensity of your choosing, or going ala carte and creating your own program. As you gain more points, other exercises are unlocked, such as squats with the Wii Fit board or jumping rope with the Wii-motes.

I think the core of the game is rhythm boxing and the game is very good with this aspect. I found the other exercises I have done so far to be somewhat counter-intuitive. I had jumping rope for the first time this morning but I couldn't really figure it out. Maybe I will get better if I keep at it but between the Wii Fit and this game, there is a good variety to keep me interested in continuing to work out.

If you have absolutely no interest in boxing games then you probably wont like this but if you are simply looking to add an exercise system that is fun and will keep you coming back, give this a rent and see if it is for you.

I think I should mention that even though this game will work with the Wii Fit, it isn't absolutely necessary so if you don't have a Wii Fit board and you like boxing exercise. Also, if you have two Wii-motes, it is better than using the Wii-mote/nunchuck combo. I don't think I would like this game as much if I had to use the nunchuck for my other boxing fist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Combined with Wii Fit, you WILL LOSE WEIGHT!

posted by Laoiyah (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) May 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

36 out of 36 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great cardio game, focusing on boxing cardio exercises. I've had this game for awhile, and I'm seeing great results. Since Aug 2008, I've lost 30 lbs on Wii Fit alone; now combined with this game, I've increased my endurance and seeing more definition on my arms and legs. Don't take this game likely... it's really a cardio instructor in the form of a video game.

Know that to fully utilize this game, you MUST have the Wii balance board, which automatically comes with Wii Fit, so it works out in the end. If not, you lose a lot of good exercises from this game that use the board.

The game allows you to have a trainer make an exercise plan for you daily, or you can choose your exercises a la carte. The game keeps you busy with good exercise audio tracks, ie "Eye of the Tiger" and "Burnout," and awards your performance with gold to buy new pieces of gear and clothing. If losing weight isn't an incentive, know that you'll earn money to pimp out your Wii avatar.

I was hoping that this game would have more "stepping" exercises, but since it doesn't, I guess I'll stick to my Wii Fit. Also the running exercise in this game is weak and very boring, stick to real-life running for that...

Overall, if you have the Wii Fit, there's no reason you shouldn't add this game to your library, especially if you're goal is to lose weight.

Pros:

-An Addictive and fun way to lose weight!

-Has all the basic exercises you'll need to get you started, ie pushups, crunches, back extensions

-Great audio tracks and cute graphics

Cons:

-The mitts exercise is too slow on reaction time and feels very sluggish.

-The Wii remotes will sometimes have problems identifying upper-cuts and ducking, making it stressful to keep up with the fast-paced workouts.

-The game doesn't have a weigh-in program to check your weight, so you have to switch to Wii Fit just to get your weight then program your new weight back to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good cardio workout

posted by goatwarrio (ATTLEBORO, MA) May 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game offers good cardio workout as well as some good strength toning exercises. It is a good compliment to wii fit. I'd recommend using this game for cardio and wii fit for stretches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best fitness game yet

posted by ursuala (LIVERPOOL, NY) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I live this game. I didn't even have it a day and went out and baught it. I love the boxing part of it. I have not completed every level yet. I'm hoping there are more excercises other than boxing. when everything gets unlocked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

PRETTY GOOD GAME

posted by MANDO005 (SAN MATEO, CA) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WOW-THIS GAME DOES IT'S JOB, REALLY MADE ME SWEAT BULLETS!!! GOOD GAME IF YOU WANT A WORKOUT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

We have enjoyed this game

posted by shane (KIRKSVILLE, MO) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If you like boxing then you will like this game. It is a good work out as well. My son and I love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok but Laggy

posted by moviemom78 (EL CAJON, CA) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

The overall play of this game is good. I was able to build up a sweat on the workout. The one thing that kept driving me mad was the timing issue. When you box, there seem to be a delay in your actual movement, and the movement on screen. It was the same way with the balanced board. And other thing was, that my movements where actually backwards on screen when using the balance board. So i had to flip my board around. That was annoying.

However i really did like the workout part, and if the timing was better, i would purchased this game, instead of returning it on the 3rd day of the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent, but could have been better

posted by okgasdude (COOKSON, OK) Apr 13, 2009

Member since May 2007

I rented this due to its compatibility with the balance board. I was disappointed. You have to manually enter your weight. They should have let you use the balance board to check your weight. You also couldnt use your Mii, and I didnt like that. The workouts were great. It was very easy to break a sweat while playing. If the balance board was better incorporated, and you could use your Mii I would be buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse