Rent Godzilla Unleashed for Wii
view large frontback

Godzilla Unleashed

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, DS
GF Rating
6.5

895 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good gameplay; imperfect game

posted by NTACos (HERNDON, VA) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really liked the gameplay, and rated the game primarily on that. However, the non-game interface seemed really buggy. It was impossible to see how to switch between single and multiple real players, profile switching seemed to have disabled itself after i created Profile 2...not great stuff, but it didn't actually hinder gameplay. Stick with one profile, play the story mode to make points to buy more game in the store, battle friends when you can get the extra controller online....all good. Gameplay is good enough I'm still considering making it a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

godzilla unleashed

posted by diegocarlos (HERCULES, CA) Aug 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is awsome get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Godzilla and friends....

posted by Vidiot777 (THE DALLES, OR) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Number one first thing controls are not the greatest thought out. However with practice can be mastered. Bunch of unlockables and looks pretty good. Needed something more though. Fun for a bunch of drunk friends for the evening.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

my Godzilla Unleashed Review

posted by moonstone (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Godzilla is one of my favorite icons of all time I mean, who doesn’t like giant monsters duking it out? When I heard about Godzilla Unleashed, I was curious as to which monsters were going to be in which version of the game. I checked on the Wii version, and I was amazed to see that some of my old favorite Godzilla monsters were going to be on it. Through the next few months, I kept checking back on Tohokingdom to see who was confirmed in the game, and getting more excited with every addition.
Mainly, if you had to choose between the different versions, I recommend the Wii version, if you want more exclusive characters than the Play Station 2 version. The story is primarily the same in both versions. Strange crystals have been raining down on earth, causing the whole geography to change. Seattle is taken over by a volcano, New York City is raised off the ground by giant crystals, and even Japan has been flooded by the ocean. Aliens are planning to take over the world, but there is one thing they haven’t planned on, Godzilla and the Earth Defense Force protecting the earth.
There are many twists in the games, since you can do multiple missions. For a bigger twist, there’s another force trying to gain the power of the crystals, mutant monsters that take no side and only want the power of the crystals. The game play is nice. It’s just another fighting game where you can pick up buildings to throw at your opponent, and also beat down on your opponents with your favorite Godzilla monster. There are a couple of drawbacks in this game. Sometimes, the controls are a little jerky but overall, they’re fine. The graphics are great, but don’t stand up to Legend of Zelda and Super Mario Galaxy graphics. Now, this is just a personal thing of mine, but I think they could of added monsters like Hedorah, Gabara or maybe the famous Toho television hero, Zone Fighter. But, all in all, it’s a good game, and if your kids are Godzilla fans, I would get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

awesome but everyone wants better controls

posted by bman280 (FONTANA, CA) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the funnest games I've ever rented but I've only been a member for 2 months so what do I know.

The controls were bad and I would've done the modified punch to be a regular punch and the regular punch to be the modified punch.

However the last man standing brawl with four monsters is boat loads of fun so I would recommend thisgame if you had no other choices and you were really bored which is impossible with gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

godzilla

posted by luzkoalas (TITUSVILLE, FL) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

lots of options and levels. great game! hard to get bored with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My son & I both enjoyed this game!

posted by Majikk (FAIRVIEW, OR) May 4, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I agree that it has alot of similarity to the old one.. But what was added is alot of fun. My 9 yr old son was having a blast with it, and he is a true fan of these games.

It can get a little confusing as to who your supposed to be fighting in the story mode, but it becomes clear shortly into each level starting.

Overall, its definitally worth having in the collection (especially if you have younger ones. heh)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yo

posted by trojan101 (ALISO VIEJO, CA) May 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful


godzilla is the perfect game. It has alot of action which every boy loves. THIs game owns. The only bad part about the game is that it is to easy.I tink that you should just use cheats because story and battle mode are to easy. Overall godzilla is fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by LITERRRRRR (BOZEMAN, MT) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is the best! you have to get used to the controls at first but other than that you have to try it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

so sweet!!!!

posted by cave45 (FRANKFORT, KY) May 8, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is so sweet. that game is so esye.i beet it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's Godzilla!

posted by Wraythe (GLENSHAW, PA) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Who doesn't love Godzilla! While still not perfect, it's loads of fun.

The skinny...

Graphics: Good
Control: Good
Sound: Great
Gameplay: Good
Replay: Very High

This Godzilla game includes loads of monsters, originals and newly created ones (approved by Toho). There is a decent story mode, but the most fun is to be had in destroying the cities. w00t!

There is lots to unlock, including monsters, cities, concept art and more. Definitely rent this, you may even want to "Keep it".

In story mode, you battle through different scenerios, finding out what happened to Earth and why all the monsters are going on a rampage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but too much like past versions

posted by rastoma (JASPER, TN) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2003

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

We've played every version of Godzilla on every console. Godzilla Unleashed for the Wii is fun like always but not something you just can't live without. This game is actually more fun on the Nintendo DS than the Wii. The Wii remote just doesn't work that well on this game. The movements of the characters are slow to respond and if you don't move the remote just right you don't get the intended move.

This is definitely a rental game and has some fun value in it but after a few hours you'll be ready to send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Perfect game to go Godzilla

posted by ps2iscool (BROOKSVILLE, FL) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What more could you ask for. 26 of the worlds most powerful monsters to control, an Armageddon story, and some of the best graphics on the wii I have seen. There are 4 monster factions, Earth Defenders, Global Defense Force, Aliens, and Mutants. Earth Defenders defend the Earth, GDF protects cities, Aliens want to conquer the planet, and the Mutants like to get high from all the crystals that have hit the Earth. The controls are fairly easy to master but it takes forever to unlock the monsters it ain't even funny. The game is great and fun for the whole family. Now go buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by ZeroKiryu (LUTZ, FL) May 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Despite the fanboys that have posted before me, this is a pretty fun game. In my opinion, this has to be one of the better fighting games that's out for the Wii. I would recommend this game to anyone that likes Godzilla, fighting games and/or both.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Action but not so good control.

posted by Itzvenus (BEDFORD, OH) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, this game is awesome when it comes to action, and i wish that i didnt have to give it up, but at the same time i wouldnt recommend it to solo players or on the Wii. The controls are just too difficult to master, although I pretty much did after a couple days. So, in the end, i would recommend this game, but only on PS2 and if you have someone to verse with because its funnest when you have more ppl and can duke it out-MONSTER STYLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Get this game!!!

posted by ZRTattack (AVON, CT) Dec 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is totally awesome!! Pick between characters you probably never heard of! The graphics are a little cheesy, but not too bad. You can pick which arena you want too battle at, and have a total death match! It takes some time too load, but it is worth it when it's done. Anyway,I would reccomend this game t any godzilla fan! Like me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Godzilla unleashes a great peformance

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is one of my favorite wii games and consisting wii games are hard to control a litlle which at sometimes it was the sensor bar has to be align with you or your monster will move around in circles which you don't want to happen trust me but aside from that minor setback the games is excellent lot of monsters,good gameplay,and level variety = an 8 = very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

could be better

posted by gforce113 (STONINGTON, CT) Oct 29, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love Godzilla, i love Godzilla games, but this one is not so great, i am going to give it a 2nd chance on the ps2, but first of all the announcer voice is creepy, like out of a horror film, the cut scenes look like comic books, so not that great graphic wise, game play is ok, but the controller is really weird, like to fire ur attack u had to charge up by pressing z & c, ok, but then to fire it says hold c & fr 2nd attack tap c, well i was holding & holding & all Godzilla did was bob his head, so i started tapping, & tapping tapping, by the time he shoots the attack the opponent knocks u down, & it doesn't do much damage like in Destroy all monsters & save the earth, so, im not saying its a horrible game, im going to give it another try on the ps2, but some games should not be made for the Wii, & this is one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Run It's Godzilla

posted by MakayJR10 (URBANA, OH) Jan 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Godzilla on the loose.This game is AWESOME!Some of the characters I never saw in the movies.My brother and I love it. It is a blast.When I give it back I am putting it back on my list.I will never hate this game.The graphics are amazing.Man I so want to buy it.

Graphics:10
Gameply:10
Characters:10
Moves:10
stages:10

I love this game so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Godzilla Unleashed

posted by cdudski (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 8, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall this is a fun game. The graphics are decent and the game play is fun. The major drawback is the controls. My young son has some difficulty with the may different hand motion controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

IS IT 1996?

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Dec 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is a reguritated one from 96 or so. The gameplay is a bore from yester year because the movement is not fluid. The story is about non- existant and the graphics looks like a first year ps2 title. Rampage total Destruction was a sprinkle of more fun. This is a waste of time and DO NOT rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Godzilla Unleashed Review

posted by opinion8ed (RED BLUFF, CA) Dec 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game does not take advantage of the Wii's motion sensor remotes. The story is pretty short and filled with crummy cut scenes and the chinese version of rock playing obnoxiously in the background. The instructions aren't very clear on what youu are supposed to do in the game or how to unlock monsters. I can't recommend renting this game, well, at least for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Americans Don't Know How to do Godzilla Right...

posted by McPete (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, this game is terrible. Pipeworks, the software developer responsible for this game, is known for it's 'shovelware' games, and this cheapness shows in Godzilla Unleashed.

This game is riddled with glitches and balancing issues. Certain characters have unusable / broken special moves, graphical and text overlay glitches will block the view of important stuff on-screen. And there are lots more bugs for you to find in the game, and I am not referring to Mothra or Megaguirus. The sickening part of the glitches in this game is the fact that the developers knew of them before releasing the game, and left them in anyways. You can read about all the known glitches from one of the actual game developers on the official Atari forums, tho he leaves a few important ones out, like the Mothra glitch that can reset your Wii while transforming from grub to adult form, which I have encountered a few times.

The game starts out giving you a very small selection of characters to choose from, you are forced to unlock and buy additional fighters by earning points. In multiplayer, you are only given 3 arenas to choose from the start (out of a measly 9 total).

The story mode is a joke. You are given no clear direction on the goals needed to finish the levels. The horrible story is told thru a series of terrible static image cutscenes.

The Wii controls are also badly implemented. You are required to swing the remote to pull of a majority of the moves, and the correct move only registers a small percentage of the time. Most attacks do not even cause a hit reaction on your enemy, they are still able to attack while you are punching / kicking at them. Connecting a hit on your enemy usually just causes them to slide back a bit, making it kind of difficult to tell if your hit actually connected or not.

In short, this is a very dissapointing game. It is not that much fun, and it's problems are massive. I am a huge fan of the Godzilla films, and still had a hard time liking GU

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Godzilla Released

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Unleashed has a very wide monster variety, but like all the Godzilla games, many of them are slow to move and attack. Graphics are pretty good, though. Pick it up if you're a fan of the series. Make it a rental if you're not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Please no more games like this

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Another Atari game downhill. No fighting technique by the monsters, no good tutorial to explain what the heck you are doing. I feel like I just played Super Street Fighter while doped up on medication. Nothing worked, it was not fun at all. Get really drunk and then play it, it will help you to go to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse