Rent Godfather 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Godfather 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.2

6475 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Godfather 2 is bad to the bone

posted by Bobby1970 (TOLEDO, OH) Sep 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't think I would like this game after reading what some reviewers said about this game. Thankfully I rented it anyways and in my my opinion this one has some things in it which I thought made it better then the first godfather. Such as how you can finish off the ones you are in battle with and I think the graphics are better as well. Don't get me wrong I Love the first Godfather but I am glad the second part didn't suck like I was afraid it was going to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of two games i have a platinum on

posted by KMA2k10 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was fun & entertaining, really in the end that is what we want with a game. The game wasnt all that original, i liked the improvements from Godfather 1 & i really did enjoy playing this game, it wasnt perfect but it was a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN! ADDICTING GAME!

posted by vvillyboi (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 1, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had me stuck on my ps3 and i ended up PLATINUM the game in 3 days! I got the game in on friday and played it so much i finished on Sunday. This game is like GTA but mafia style with alot of side quests. For trophie hunters this game is pretty simple to platinum!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been so much more.

posted by jakegator (GAINESVILLE, FL) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

46 out of 53 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This is a real review from someone who has actually played the whole game. The beginning is quite promising. Things look sleeker and the interface has been completely redone. If you have been following the development of this game you will know about some of the cool features advertised. Well, all of those features are included, but they don't live up to the hype.
There is no strategy in this game. Most families attack one at a time, and never do that much damage. Where there was a good storyline in the first game the second is quite lacking. You don't care about the characters at all. Also the lack of story mission is disappointing. Most of the game is the the same thing. Go take racket x, send capo to defend racket y. It gets very boring very quickly. Most of the nuances are useless. Crime rings are interesting, but they aren't necessary. Killing made men can be helpful, but it's just as easy to kill them when you take the family's compound.
All in all the Godfather II showed great potential. But the lack of gameplay and sense that everything was unfinished, graphics especially, translated into a game that dissapoints. As much as I wanted this game to be good (and I really did) it came up very short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

godfather 2

posted by jamiethorn (LITTLE EGG HARBOR TWP, NJ) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Although an easy platinum, it's repetitive gameplay was almost too much to deal with. The story was so uninteresting I don't remember much about it other than "I'll show you who's boss" idealogy just days after completing the game.

The game is also plagued by graphically issues and some technical issues causing me on one occasion to commit suicide to get out of a glitched situation that had me stuck inside a car standing up after being blown back by an explosion.

The controls for the game worked well enough, otherwise I would have not continued on to platinum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good (Not Great) Game

posted by PS3Master7 (BOCA RATON, FL) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never rented this game from gamefly. I bought it with my PS3. The story starts in the 1950's. You play a character named Dominic. You are at a party in Cuba when suddenly Castro's reveloution starts. Aldo, the character played in the 1st Godfather game, is shot and killed while trying to escape with Michael, Fredo, and Dominic Corleone. Dominic is then sworn in as don. From there, you build up your family and take over businness's. You go from New York City to Florida and finally back to Cuba. The storyline and gameplay is AMAZING! Two things really frustrate me and make me lower this game's rating. One, you have to be at 3,000,000 places at once. You have to make sure the other families don't take over your bussiness's. You finally send all your gang, then a message comes saying someone is taking over your bussiness. NOOO!!! Second, a lot of glitches. I was killed by a shotgun and I flew INTO the wall. The medic couldn't revive me, so I had to start all over again. Overall, this game is good.

The Good
Great Storyline
Fun Free Roam
Cool Cars
Very Detailed Locations

The Bad
Repetitive Gameplay
Dull Diolouge

The Ugly
Annoying Glitches
Handling Your Bussinisses SUCKS

Rating: 7:6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

godfather

posted by unc432 (AKRON, OH) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is the mafia experience you get to discover what it feels to be the don of a family and create your own crew

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its Only Business

posted by Scrpp3rk (CHESTERFIELD, VA) May 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

18 out of 21 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Nice game. If you like the GTA series you will enjoy it. I liked the crew aspect of the game, which allows you to take your best "made" men with you to your jobs. Equip them crrectly and you will soon have your city working for you. Great attachment to The Godfather series with enough challenges to keep you gaming for a long time. I liked the game and it played very easily. The controls were easy to master and there were few minor glitches that did not distract from the storyline. This game reminded me -too- much of the GTA series and only for that did I score it a 7. If you want to take over someones front and hurt their cartel while becoming The Don, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pro's and Con's ....Cuba, Florida or NYC ???

posted by Njjohnny74 (OCEAN GATE, NJ) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2005

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I waited a long time for the second edition of this game and I am very pleased to be Godfather now but I have some complaints and heck let’s get the bad outta tha way, you know whadda um say’n .. A bad bing a badda BOOOMMM!!!!

1. The Graphics could have been much better, there are glitches all over the game, Hey I know it’s a recession but did you have to lay off all the testers and glitches catching programmers??

2. Bonus Materials and Extra’s ???? Whaa whaa what happen?? I thought there would be more stuff on that disc for $60.00 thank god I didn’t buy it..

3. Game play, ok it was fun but there are glitches everywhere, I drove off the road plowed through the blinker thingy’s and lost my crew?? What happen there guys??

Ok, now I have said the bad, the good parts to this game are it’s fun to play its great to become Godfather and even more fun to just drive aimlessly in an old car and plow through all kinds of loud noisy things but the graphics are really messy and it takes away from the game experience. I gave this game an 8 because I liked playing the "DON" and this is very useful during the game, but with all the glitches it deserves a 4 maybe. I was really disappointed that the graphics engine for GTA was not optimized and maybe made better in this game but then again the first Godfather wasn’t a graphics blow out either. The game is fun people and that is it, it’s long enough to keep you interested and you will play it for hours on end till you beat it. I will play this game online and see how that goes but I am not anticipating very much from that experience.

Have fun and play hard.. Become GODFATHER
JB

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost......

posted by andres151 (FLUSHING, NY) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The graphics were great ...story line was changed little from the movie which was great ... the map view incredible..But the game felt unfinished . Not that it was to short ,but there is something missing . A good rental . max score a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

trophy junkies

posted by xenonative (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is really on average. there are a lot of flaws and things that jus make you think " how did they ever think no one would notice!" moments. really not a next gen game on any level. i rented my copy on the ps3 and i have a 42" samsung TV and the game still looked horrible. one pro however, is the satisfaction of blowing stuff up. now that i mentioned it i lied. there is one thing that does seem half way descent and next gen and thats the fire and explosions. still fire isnt enough to buy this game definitely rent. another pro and the reason i rented this was because of the vice city aspect of taking over the city. if their main focus was the don view than they really pulled it off. the game play and innovation are jus enough to keep u tune in, but after finishing the game a was happy to put it bac in the envelope sleeve and get the next game on my game q. all in all, i jus wanted the trophies. . . . platinum trophy yesssssssssss!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It Was OK...

posted by aztecz (UTICA, NY) May 30, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

OK now the graphics could have been way better the whole game is mostly going and taking over rackets (businesses) and send people to protect your rackets. The Game Play wasn't too bad. The Game is very glitchy like i drove down the road and my crew disapeered from the car and i drove through a building and there are glitches everywhere. The Gameplay (just driving around the area) is kinda a bad copy of GTA.

If you liked the movies then you might like this but that graphics or gameplay aren't to great so its worth renting not buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So sad. . .

posted by clintonk (SAN MARCOS, CA) May 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game wasnt all that much different than the last only the graphics seemed much worse. Driving felt really stiff and cheap as did walking. People were way too easy kill and the henchmen were really really dumb and cause fights with rivals when you didn't want them to. (at least they were easy to kill)...Upgrading henchmen and yourself seemed pointless as most of the game can be played with low experience and health. Serioulsy though, the graphics were so sad. I was expecting more from a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GTA + Henchmen + Don's View = Outstanding Fun

posted by DocBombay (SANTA BARBARA, CA) May 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've heard many people slam this title because of what it does with Godfather cannon. If you can get around that there's actually an excellent game here. Saying a game is a GTA clone is a compliment. GFII has everything I loved from GTA as well as some new aspects that I loved. Executions are almost comically brutal. Try the standing baseball bat one to see what I mean. I also really enjoyed building and upgrading my family. The gunfights are a blast both figuratively and literally, and I felt that deriving income from captured businesses really made controling a city that much more rewarding. The extra bonuses for controling a given crime ring are also a nice twist.

Bottom line: It's a very fun game. Don't let it slip by you just because Michael Corleone doesn't look or sound like Al Pacino.

PS- For you trophy hunters out there: This one is a veritable trophy festival.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short and sweet

posted by Zona9798 (TEMPE, AZ) May 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Very short game. Took 2 days to finish but the easiest platinum trophy you could imagine. I thought the game was pretty sweet and addictive but way way too short. Better than the first Godfather but could be improved

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as good as the first

posted by MFSFNBIR (SENECA, SC) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was a really fun game at first. But as you play it you seem to realize that you are doing the same old things over and over. Here is the order

1. Hire a mobster
2. Take over some rackets
3. Do some favors for people to eliminate the rival family made-men
4. Take over the rest of the rackets
5. Go to the rival family compound and eliminate the rival family.
6. Do it all over again 4 other times.

So yea it gets pretty dang boring. On the other hand. The guns and cars are really nice, (Parents be warn- this is definitely a M-Rated game)
And for the men out there, You get strip clubs. Yay!!!!!. Don't even bother trying to get the girl to do you, they wont' and even if they say yes, they never follow you or anything. Trust me i was so disappointed. I thought we were going to have another GTA SA Hot Coffee accident. I'm on the last two families and i am almost to the point to where I don't want to finish it because it is so dang repetitive. But I have to stay loyal to my family. I would rent this before buying it. Have fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Godfather 2 Ps3

posted by assassin (DALY CITY, CA) May 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought G2 was a pretty fun game and I definitely agree that the producers of the game expressed what they were trying to do. They really make you feel like your in the shoes of a don. But you should definitely try out the game before you get it because it's kind of game that is comfortable for different kinds of people. If you had a great time playing the first Godfather game then definitely rent or buy this game because you'll experience great gameplay!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

alright

posted by jmoney213 (STRATFORD, CT) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is made hot its just the end of the game is whack

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sequl to the best

posted by naizsniper (BOWLING GREEN, KY) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the godfather 2 is a good exiting thrill ride of action/adventure much better than the first one in the godfather 2 you are avalable in much more citys than just new york lots of new rackets and bussinesies and the wepones have improved to to revolvers to new sniper guns and lots of upgrades if you take over a racket crime ring you git a tool to use for your whole gang like a armored car or bullet-prof-vest I highly recomend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hotter Than The 1st

posted by NITTYDABOS (LONG ISLAND CITY, NY) May 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I let alot of people tell me that the concept of the godfather 2 would suck the game play would be borinhg but honestly the first day i played for 8 hours straight, I guess i dont have to tell you that i really liked this game it definitly knocked the first one out the box.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Part 2 Review

posted by CustomSyst (UPPER CHICHESTER, PA) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This is truly a great game for all the mob families out there or should I say the great pretenders. I'm a gamer into the all kinds of assault games from Call of Duty, Navy Seals, 50 Cent "Blood on the sand", and many more. Godfather is one of the best games I played and kept my interest throughout the game. The biggest tip that I can share with you, play online as well as the actual game itself. By doing so, you allow your men to advance to the next weapons license. Whatever you do, don't play the game first and ended it then decide to jump online. Your men wont have the power to beat level 3 and up gamers.

My Fault: I finish the game way to fast, and I didn't get the online training in during regular game play. I figured I'll get good first playing the game then take it online. Just wasn't the case because because I was matched up with higher level gamers. GET THE ONLY EXPERIENCE, YOU'LL NEED THAT!

Pros: ACTION THROUGHOUT THE GAME!
Cons: There are none!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Fun Game!

posted by sambino (Rogers, AR) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I played the first game and was soooo tired of driving all over the place and getting shot at going down all the streets.In this game the map is alot smaller and u can jog to most places its that close. I don't have patience to sit down and watch all the godfather movies so I can't compare the storyline, but so far I've put about two hours in the game and its a good mix between Saints Row (because of rival gangs) and then of course the 50's and 60's timeline of the Godfather. The only thing that really upsets me in the game is that with a pistol u have to shoot someone 10 times (5 shot revolver) before they are dead. But then when you try to extort a business and you have to beat the shop owner they can easily be killed, on accident of course, but you can replay that within 12 minutes.
I do recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it is great

posted by crypt1 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) May 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i think this was the second best game ever from god father2 almost done with it but i love it,i think it is a great game because this time you get too choose your own people to join your family this was a great game a bit better then part 1 awsome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

TOO SHORT

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Apr 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I had to give the game a 7 rating for its length. Unless you play it on line, it has NO REPAY VALUE. This installment of the GODFATHER is good and it has merit. But's SHORT and if you are not into playing online, there's no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Way Better Than The First!!!

posted by B3H3M0TH (TUSTIN, CA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

16 out of 33 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

First off the game is based on the film like the first but also has a lot of extra goodies including the sweet rides in throughout the game and the graphics plus storyline.

The game takes place during the late 50's and early 60's and takes place in three different places Cuba, Florida, and New York.

A lot of the game play elements from the first game return again but also bring in a lot of new ones.

This game is online compatible which makes it more fun.

All in all it has all the usual concepts from the first game like the guns, character creation, clothes, safe houses, cars, rival families.

With a lot of extra cool stuff.

I highly suggest you rent this game and try it out for yourself I know I am.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse