Rent God of War for PS2
view large frontback

God of War

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.0

14427 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kratos, The God of War.

posted by Sonick (BORDENTOWN, NJ) Jun 4, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

38 out of 42 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is an amazing thrill ride from begining to end. As a former captain of the Spartan army, you as Kratos are on a vengeful path to destroy the god of war, Ares. You will encounter traps, monsters, and the occasional puzzle on your adventure, but have no fear because Kratos is more than capable of handling himself with a little help from the Gods of Mount Olympus. The Gods will grant you magical powers through-out the game. The handy and versatile Blades of Chaos, given to you by Ares himself, are capable of massive damage and combos to thrash your enemies. This game will take you through the Aegean seas, across the vast Desert of Lost Souls, all the way to the deadly traps of Pandora's Temple, and all the way back to Athens where your journey comes to an end.

This game is not for the weak at heart though. Blood and gore are a continous treat in this game as you hack and slash through your foes. The puzzles are really well done, nothing too obvious for you to say it's just child's play, but nothing to hard to where you give up and go play something else. This game keeps you coming back for more and has a decent length to it, it can be beaten in a day but you can always make time to eat and sleep too! The difficulties range from Mortal to God and let me tell you, if you think they are just clever calling it "God Mode" you're sadly mistaken, it's incredibly hard.

This game is phenominal. From begining to end you are nothing but blood thirsty for vengeance. You will also encounter boss battles to spice things up. There are only 3 bosses but each one will keep you on your toes and when you defeat them and see how they die you will make your grandmother weep from hearing the words coming out of your mouth. This game is intense to every sense of the word. God of War is a classic game that will be remembered for years to come. It is already spawning a sequel. Make no mistake kiddies, God of War is kickass, and we like it that way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

review of god of war

posted by timmyc (Key West, FL) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

god of war is one of the most voilent and grousome games I have ever played.If you like violent games then this is the game for you.after you read this review you I recomened that you put this game in your game Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God Of War

posted by txchris07 (ELGIN, TX) Apr 12, 2006

Member since May 2005

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The first thing I can say about this game is that it's a MASTERPIECE!!! David Jaffe has hit a grand slam with this one. The only problem that I can say about this game is that it's a little short. I beat it in a week but probably could have beat it in a weekend if i was playing it long enough. Don't let this be the reason you don't wan't to play this game. The only legit reason you wouldn't want to play this game is if you don't wan't to see 3D breast or like the gore theme. The combos are pulled off flawlessly. After the first combo I pulled off I was in amazment. If you play the game in God Mode be ready to block. You will not win if you don't block. The enemies can be tough at times, especially in God Mode, but you will find a way to beat them if you are good enough. Overall, the game is great. Go play it and see if you can defeat.....the God of War.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG !!! BEST GAME EVER

posted by subzero32x (NEWARK, DE) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

loved the game play it all the time can't wait for the next god of war i played one and i love it so i had to play them all i loved it so much i bought a ps3 becuse i wanted to play it so so so bad this is truely the best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game ever on ps2

posted by forsaken78 (DAVIE, FL) May 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

To my opinion this is a great game. this god show no heart. i rented from here and i beat the game went out and brought the game. that how good it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever for adults

posted by project319 (MONROE, NC) May 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this game was by far the best. The most original storyline i have seen in years. the action was incredible. kratos the main character had a great background because he was one mean mother#####, and thats something you don't expect from most games. If you want a game that is challgening, and satisfying this is it. because i played it when it first came out, and i still can't put the controller down because there is so much you can do after you beat the game. you can try beating the game on a harder difficulty. Then you have bouns play, it which if you certain accomplishments, you can get certain armor that makes you stronger when you go back and play 10 out of 10 perfect game even though it doesn't have online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The greatest?

posted by Kamahl08 (TAMPA, FL) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

16 out of 22 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

First and foremost this has been the best game of 2005. I had learned about it at E3 2004, and was ecstatic. When it was finally released I didn't even give the employee a chance to put it on the shelf, I asked for this game. "What makes this game great?" It has all the elements of past games, doesn't it? Gore, over the top action, and insurmountable odds. The thing that makes this game great is the execution of the game is near perfect. Not to mention the graphics pushed the PS2 to it's limits. The only aspect of the game play that could be questioned are some of the camera angles. Occasionally I would die numerous times on a level because I couldn't see what I was doing. The reason I gave this game a perfect ten is because Gamefly doesn't have a 9.5. A can't miss experience for any gamer. If you haven't played it then you aren't living.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good weekend title, but not without its faults

posted by g4m3rM (DES MOINES, IA) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

There's a couple hundred reviews for this game already so I doubt whether or not someone will get to read this. At any rate, I couldn't give this game a perfect score. Playing it, the first few moments you immediately relize this is nothing more than a button-masher; a highly visualy dressed up one, but one none the less. It tries to keep you playing with its RPG elements; improve your skills form experince earned, etc. The camera leaves a little to be desired. It really is no worse than most 3d platfomers but it only affeects gameplay to a minimum in a few situations. On the plus side it is story driven and has some ther best in game animatics. It really shows how much potential the PS2 still has. I'm sure most of the 10 ratings are either playing to the hype and/or fanyboy-ism at work, but my bottom line is: Not the perfect title it sets out to be, but that's alright because the story makes this a worthy title for your consideration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh my Gods

posted by bunker05 (NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX) May 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I cannot begin to express the awsomeness of GoW. It has to be the best and most well put together game EVER. how do they do it? It must be the gods themselves...hehe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Late?

posted by Skorpious (RENO, NV) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Are you kidding me? If you haven't played this game yet you must be under 10 months old. One of my all time favorites, they did almost everything right. Can't wait for the God of WarII.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great combat, but...

posted by OgreVI (HUNTINGTON, WV) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Seriously, the fighting in this game is as good as any I've ever played. And the puzzles are really cool for the most part. But there are just a few dull, repetitive bits that kind of ruin the fun of the game for me. Right at the beginning, dragging a crate so you can climb up and kill archers, but the archers keep shooting the crate so it blows up and you have to start over...man, that's boring AND frustrating. And towards the end, when you're climbing the spinning pillars with blades on them, I think that might be the single most annoying thing I've ever had to do in a video game. There are a couple other moments, too. Somebody oughtta tell the designers that difficult is fun, but silly and repetitive is not.
At it's best this is a brilliant game, but you have to get through some irritation to get to the end, and that irritation made me rate it a 7 rather than a 9 or even 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but don't see the hype...

posted by NerdDan (NORTHAMPTON, MA) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is by no means a bad game. There are many aspects in which I think it is definitely great; the artwork is beautiful, the music is brilliant, the story is engaging. But there are also certain aspects that, though still good, aren't particularly spectacular.

Gameplay is pretty basic. There's not much of a learning curve. If you've ever played a game where you can just blindly hit buttons and do combos, you'll have little trouble with this game. At heart, it is a button masher. It does get challenging though. Often times, you'll be overwhelmed by large numbers of enemies. Here is where developing technique and skill helps, as pulling off certain combos on certain enemies rewards you with health, magic, or red orbs to level up magic and weapons. It is a nice evolution in these types of games. But don't worry too much about bosses; they're nothing particularly difficult. Most bosses really just take pounding and then you have to go hit a lever or there will be a Circle prompt and then you have to do what they require (usually it's hit O rapidly or hitting a sequential series of buttons). In fact, I think some of the normal enemies are harder than bosses.

There are also a number of puzzles, which is nice. It tends to break up the monotony of the repetitive combat. Nothing is too hard though; you won't get stuck. Another nice break from the monotony are traps you will encounter. Walls with spikes will try to crush you and you must time it. You must run across rotating logs with spikes on them. It is a credit to the game makers that they were able to break up the monotony of a button masher, but I can't help but comment about how the reason battles and traps are challenging is that you can't control the camera, so it is always shifting around at inconvenient moments.

The mythology is cool and the final 10 minutes are insanely good. It's a good game, but I really don't see why it was so hyped. But then, I'm not a huge fan of these types of button mashing games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A perfect all-around game!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) May 1, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

GAMPLAY: The gameplay in GOW is REALLY fun and really cool. There are tons of new weapons, spells, and abilities and moves to get! Its realy fast paced and is just really fun! You can chain combos together how you want and do really cool finishing moves! The gamplay is just REALLY AWSOME and i think you'll love it too!
STORY:Im only about a quarter or so done with the game ( i think) and already the story ( and the gamplay) is really good and slowely reveals what has happened with kratos and its all just really well though out and neat!
GRAPHICS $ DESIGN: The graphics in GOW are really good too, the details and the backgrounds and everything are just really gourgious! The design in GOW is really good too, the really cool enemies, the timed attack mini-games with the enemies and everything is just so cool. The only bad thing i have to say about GOW is its Goreyness and its nutidy. I dont know what the designers where trying to get at with putting so much blood ( not so much in the actual game, but in the cutscenes) and having that mini-game ( Youll know what im talking about when you get it) and the nutidy. It just seems that they just stuck that stuff in there to make it geared even more towards adults.
OVERALL: REALLY fun, An AWSOME Story, and GReat graphics but some uneeded content.
RATING:10/10,... i wish i could go to 12, but i cant so GOW is the PERFECT GAME ever made so far!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GAME OF THE YEAR!!

posted by superhomer (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since May 2003

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Perfect Story.
Perfect Graphics.
Perfect Music.
Perfect Voice Acting.
Perfect Control.

Once again - GAME OF THE YEAR!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT ALL AROUND GAME

posted by JCFREEMAN (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

GOD OF WAR IS AN EXCEPTIONAL GAME. IT DELIVERS EXCELLENT PLAY CONTROL AND A VARIETY OF GAME FEATURES. THIS GAME WILL PROVIDE ALL LEVELS OF GAMERS WITH HOURS OF ENJOYABLE PLAY. THE MULITPLE WEAPONS AND THE FACT THAT EACH ONE IS UPGRADEABLE THROUGHOUT THE GAME ALONG WITH TONS OF COMBOS FOR EACH IS ALSO A HUGE PLUS. IT INCLUDES LOTS OF ACTION WHILE ALSO BRINGING NOT OVERLY CHALLENGING PUZZLES. I DEFINETLY RATE THIS GAME AS A SUPER STRONG "9". THE ONLY DOWNFALL I HAD WAS WITH HAVNG TO BACKTRACK. IN SOME PARTS OF THE GAME YOU WILL HAVE TO GO FORWARD TO COMPLETE A TASK AND THEN GO BACK. FOR EXAPMLE TO OPEN A CLOSED DOOR. BUT STILL A MUST PLAY FOR ALL GAMERS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great idea, meh delivery.

posted by Waffles (MAMMOTH LAKES, CA) Apr 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

God of War would be perfect but for a few points. You have no control of your camera, and often when it changes viewpoints it leaves you confused as to where you are, and you have to make corrections for it. I found a few places where I died many times in a row because the camera angle changed and I was suddenly walking over a cliff instead of away from it. Also the game gets so stupidly hard towards the end that it just isn't fun anymore. Yeah the gore is fun, the nudity is fun, but when you are placed in situations that are so frustrating that you want to cry or break the controller out of frustration the game isn't fun anymore.

Great story, great visuals, game play could have been better overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wad of gore

posted by punkitty (EMMETT, ID) May 2, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was amazing i was submurged in this game and god of war 2 for an entire weekend i did not leave my house i beat god of war in about 9 hours i thought it was completely amazing i recomend this game for any one who likes lots of and action of course an mini game hahahahahaha nothing better than and oodles of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My first and the best rated M game ever!!!

posted by jimbo619y2 (GARNET VALLEY, PA) May 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was my first Rated M game, and it was awesome!!! But the reason I'm giving it a nine instead of a ten is the gameplay is really tricky, and I kept falling at the tightrope parts. But, other than that, it was one of the greatest games I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

god of war

posted by punknation (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

this game was awesome!!! if you like gory and swords slicing through body's you have to play this game, serious is the bomb!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Only a 9

posted by fatherscar (CORNING, AR) Sep 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I only gave this game a 9 because towards the end it seemed the programmers became bitter towards the average gamer. With nearly impossible and tedious tasks it seemed like an almost perfect game went to the abyss just when its supposed to get good. Don't let that stop you, the game straightens up and the end is well worth the play. It earned all the awards it got.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Atheist of War

posted by Oskamunda (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This review will be part one of two, and, in order to maximize review content, will assume the reader knows the setting, plot, and basic mechanics of this game; and I will, of course, try to remain as unbiased as possible...

Part One: Criticism...okay, we'll plunge right in with the bad, and then on to the good.

Gameplay:
Devil May Cry meets Jason and the Argonauts. With this approach cometh the stale factor...after a relatively short while, it just gets tiresome. The only variety comes in enemy combinations, which vary too little and overstay their welcome too often. I remember thinking many times, "Hm, I haven't faced THIS before," only to want the game to get on with it after slaying the fifth batch of this "new" combination in a row. I found myself getting bored frequently.

Along with the action of DMC comes the camera, which is BAD. The cinematic approach is good for visuals, but not for gameplay. Several times I wanted to stop playing due to the "exploratory platforming" I was forced to endure to find the next ledge or the hidden platforms. It felt more trial and error to progress, battle, and explore than actual skill-based satisfaction. In addition, there were several cases where the camera allowed me to see where I was going, but was stuck in such a position that made it difficult to gauge distances and angles...resulting in many unwarranted deaths, and making some levels take longer to play than they SHOULD have.

The core of the gameplay, the combat, is also not that great. Blocking detection, timing, and hit collision at times are way off. Hit collision becomes an issue when navigating environmental hazards, as well. The dodging and charging animations have a full second of freeze after execution, removing their effectiveness entirely.

Basically, all the challenge of this game comes from the core mechanics being wonky, rather than it being hard. Wish I could elaborate, but only 67 characters left...should have spent more time in quality assurance..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

don't believe the hype

posted by Crabjuice (HATBORO, PA) May 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

God of War is a good game. The pacing is great. Combat is great. Story is forgettable. The gameplay all boils down to two things, the first being, hack and slash. The second element is quick time events, which this game some how gets credited for pioneering, even though this technique was originated in Shenmue (games like Dragon's Lair don't count). The game as a whole is a bit repetitive. The thing that makes me cringe is that media and the gaming community has used this game to compare every title since, ie. "...good but it's no God of War." God of War just doesn't live up to the hype the gaming community was built up for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Most overrate game on here.

posted by Papercaper (DELTONA, FL) Apr 3, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has many many things that would be considered bad game play right in the beginning of the game.

The most amazing thing in this game is the combat. The fighting with weapons that Kratos does is very fun. This is the only reason this game does not get a 1 in my book.

All other game play feels sluggish and buggy. Even the double jump itself is so pathetic its more like why did they even put this in the game. I do not even know how anyone would get past the first puzzle as getting the block down there is just frustrating enough but even when you do you can't use it to reach the net because your double jump is worthless.

I thought for sure a game rated so high must be amazing but I guess the gamers who love this game are gluttons for pain because I found myself nothing but annoyed playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tediously repetitive...

posted by Mid5SSI (SAINT SIMONS ISLAND, GA) Oct 27, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Fight fight fight... smashing buttons and cursing the camera angles. If that's your bag, then great. It certainly isn't mine. I like a game with a little more skill and thinking involved... within the first ten minutes I was bored and getting tired of the repetitiveness. If more and better things happened beyond that, I don't know. I took it out of my player and threw it right back into the mail to return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

God Of War

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Aug 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Why is this game not sucking me in? This is the 3rd highest rated game for PS2 and I'm really not buying into it?

The camera bothered me a bit. Wanted to move it around, but they really don't let you.

The story's good, but it's not my cup of tea.

Some enemies can kill you instantly and this game instantly becomes a button masher in some situations.

I think the biggest problem is that I've played came that are much better and it's just hard to make sacrifices here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse