Rent God of War II for PS2
view large frontback

God of War II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.1

10297 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I love this story

posted by fotogamer (BUENA PARK, CA) May 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just can't wait to play God of War III. This game's story is so freakin' solid, I really want to see how everything plays out.

If there were any downsides, it would have to be that some of the puzzles had me completely stumped. Every single skill acquired has to be remembered, otherwise, you'll be like me, stuck in the same place for an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FREAKIN AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Mar 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

86 out of 106 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

If your thinking about renting this, dont bother, its a must buy! You need to play this game at least 4 times to take in all the awsomness that is God Of War! Although this game is much harder than the firt, it is much much better. Now for the review. GOW2 starts right where the first one ends. Your on the throne of the God Of War but, for some reason Kratos is still p155ed! So he destroyes cities. Well Zues stops you and sucks away all your powers leaving you starting from the grpund up ALL over again. Your main goal is to travel to the Sisters of the Fate island and go back to the time when Zeus kills you. Well you have alot to go but its all worth it! There is more magic, more weapons, more bosses, more environemnts, more enemies, the MORE involved in this game is MORE than you can imagine and every second of teh game has you solving a puzzle or killing monsters. There is also way more context sensitive parst where your tapping the O button or pressing the corresponding buttons or rotating the analog stick as it shows on the screen. What would have made this game better though is if it involved less of those mments where you have to do somthing while monsters are coming at you and if you dont do it fast enough you have to start over. Escpecially this part where you have to go down this elevator while theers a spike wall coming down above you AND monsters are attacking you. Justt dont get to frusterated or it could make the game more of a pain than anything else. I suggest playing teh game on easy first so that you know what you have to do the next time you play (and you WILL play again). The graphics are also better. Textures look better, lighting and detail looks much better and teh evironemnts are HUGE and all look very detailed too. Controls are spot on and the ability to change you weapons mid combo make the combat even better. Ther are also way more moves.
GAMPLAY:9.9/10
GRAPHICS:9.8/10
STORY: 9.7/10
DESIGN/CONTROLS: 9/10
OVERALL: 10/10 PERFECT GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

In a word: Epic.

posted by WedgeKahr (HURST, TX) Jun 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

From the time that I popped in that disc until the Cod of War fish suit was unlocked at the end of the game, I saw no load screen whatsoever. The graphics look like a 360 game, and the voice acting is some of the best you'll ever find.

The difficulty is just enough to make the player work for each and every spectacular finishing move, but at the same time it's easy enough for a novice gamer to hack and slash their way to Olympus. The story is very well thought out as well, and you will meet various characters from Greek mythology in your travels.

To summarize, this game takes all of the Spartan glory from 300, pours it in a blender, multiplies it by 5, and serves a malt so intense that there is no scale on which to measure it. Every other game is a joke; God of War 2 is the punchline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse