Rent God of War II for PS2
view large frontback

God of War II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.1

10297 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I love this story

posted by fotogamer (BUENA PARK, CA) May 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just can't wait to play God of War III. This game's story is so freakin' solid, I really want to see how everything plays out.

If there were any downsides, it would have to be that some of the puzzles had me completely stumped. Every single skill acquired has to be remembered, otherwise, you'll be like me, stuck in the same place for an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FREAKIN AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Mar 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

86 out of 106 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

If your thinking about renting this, dont bother, its a must buy! You need to play this game at least 4 times to take in all the awsomness that is God Of War! Although this game is much harder than the firt, it is much much better. Now for the review. GOW2 starts right where the first one ends. Your on the throne of the God Of War but, for some reason Kratos is still p155ed! So he destroyes cities. Well Zues stops you and sucks away all your powers leaving you starting from the grpund up ALL over again. Your main goal is to travel to the Sisters of the Fate island and go back to the time when Zeus kills you. Well you have alot to go but its all worth it! There is more magic, more weapons, more bosses, more environemnts, more enemies, the MORE involved in this game is MORE than you can imagine and every second of teh game has you solving a puzzle or killing monsters. There is also way more context sensitive parst where your tapping the O button or pressing the corresponding buttons or rotating the analog stick as it shows on the screen. What would have made this game better though is if it involved less of those mments where you have to do somthing while monsters are coming at you and if you dont do it fast enough you have to start over. Escpecially this part where you have to go down this elevator while theers a spike wall coming down above you AND monsters are attacking you. Justt dont get to frusterated or it could make the game more of a pain than anything else. I suggest playing teh game on easy first so that you know what you have to do the next time you play (and you WILL play again). The graphics are also better. Textures look better, lighting and detail looks much better and teh evironemnts are HUGE and all look very detailed too. Controls are spot on and the ability to change you weapons mid combo make the combat even better. Ther are also way more moves.
GAMPLAY:9.9/10
GRAPHICS:9.8/10
STORY: 9.7/10
DESIGN/CONTROLS: 9/10
OVERALL: 10/10 PERFECT GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

In a word: Epic.

posted by WedgeKahr (HURST, TX) Jun 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

From the time that I popped in that disc until the Cod of War fish suit was unlocked at the end of the game, I saw no load screen whatsoever. The graphics look like a 360 game, and the voice acting is some of the best you'll ever find.

The difficulty is just enough to make the player work for each and every spectacular finishing move, but at the same time it's easy enough for a novice gamer to hack and slash their way to Olympus. The story is very well thought out as well, and you will meet various characters from Greek mythology in your travels.

To summarize, this game takes all of the Spartan glory from 300, pours it in a blender, multiplies it by 5, and serves a malt so intense that there is no scale on which to measure it. Every other game is a joke; God of War 2 is the punchline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GoW Games will always rule

posted by smajin (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

this game is probably the best game i have ever played. Whenever your not trying to cut people in half with you amazing blades of fire and power you are solving puzzles. In a nutshell its just blood,blades, and a whole lot of mental power. The only thing i didnt like about this game is that sometimes i had to go on the internet and look for walk throughs on how to solve somme of the puzzles. If you do not rent this game then you are definetly going to regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God Of War II=Bloody And Brutal

posted by USMCKIDD (TUCSON, AZ) Aug 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This Game is the definition of brutal. If your addicted to a bloody game with amazing graphics and outstanding game play look no further because GOD OF WAR II is the game for you. You Fight tiny little demons and demons who are the size of a sky scrapper. Kratos is so freakin amazing in GOD OF WAR II and 1000times more brutal as well, he knows no mercy in GOD OF WAR II and if you thought he was brutal in GOD OF WAR expect the Bloodiest Fights in GOD OF WAR II. You rip,slash,tear heads and just humiliate your enemies in GOD OF WAR II.
Graphics A+++++ GAMEPLAY A+++++ AUDIO A++++++ STORY A++++++ THE BRUTALITY OF GOD OF WAR II IS THE BEST I'VE EVER SEEN. AND THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST PLAYSTATION GAME EVER MADE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the first!

posted by OMGmyFACE (BEAVERTON, OR) Mar 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2005

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I didn't know if this game could do it but it shadows the he|l out of God of War and that was one of the best games to have for your PS2. That said, this game is automatically amazing. The graphics and story, you already know rocks. The controls are easy even when the game is not - and it gets hard but apparently hard = fun. Whatever, there are easier modes for people who don't like Semper Fi gaming. The whole action-packed and gloriously violent experience flows like a movie. If I had anything bad to say about this game, it would really only just be me rambling nonsense. You owe it to yourself to play this - fear not! GoW2 is not to the first what We Love Katamari was to KD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SCEA Hits A Grand Slam This Time

posted by popimp92 (MILL CREEK, WA) Mar 14, 2007

Member since May 2005

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

How do you top in my opinion not just the best PS2 game ever, but the best GAME ever "God of War"? The task taken by the team at Sony was so monumental to create something even more original and they surpassed even my expectations for the sequel with a grand slam! "God of War II" picks up right were it left off by right away emerging you into the Greek mythology universe we all love so much with an original and gripping story. All you need to know about the potential of this title is know these guys squeezed 99.4-99.5% of the PS2's power to create a game for the ages. The story telling, cinema cut scenes, art work, and lots and lots of blood and violence! all go to show the top notch people were involved bringing Kratos back in full form and as sinister as ever!. Director Cory Barlog and his team deserve a lot of credit for topping the original with an epic story for all gamers to enjoy. Today I was like a kid waiting for Xmas morning counting down the days hours until I could pick this title up early at EB Games and play it. Folks, it was well worth the wait! I have yet to finish the game and I believe I'm about 40-50% finished and I'm in complete awe at how beautiful this game looks and plays. You can get the trophy ready award people because this game is signed, sealed and delivered the best game to hit the PS2 or any game system to date. Yes, I think the game deserves a "10" It's simply put PERFECT no question. If you don't already have the game reserved, buy it as soon as you can it will be the best money you'll spend all year I promise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever

posted by cdp123 (HEMET, CA) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

If you liked the first GOW you will love this game.With amazing controls and bigger bosses and more weapons and better magic this game is a must buy.Get this game if your into the greek mythology.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

freak

posted by mmullinnix (WHEELOCK, TX) May 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

people need to stop giving this a bad review because it dosent work this game rocks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games i have ever played

posted by moonstone (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

god of war 2 was on my interest since it came out but i never took a chance to play it until i got gamefly and beat it in three days. the games story has a very unique storyline from after the first game where the gods betray kratos and the titans aid kratos in his plan to kill zeus. im a big greek mythology fan and i liked how many greek mythology icons and monsters were portrayed in the series from the colossus of rhodes to fighting the medusa killer perceus and at the end fighting zeus himself was a really fun experience i would recommend to anyone to rent this game 10 out of 10 in my book

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

something to think about

posted by blackflag4 (ALBION, MI) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I want to start out by saying that a lot of gaming developers have lost sight of what we gamers want and that is a game thats fun and exciting to play. Sure graphics play a big role in gaming, but graphics mean nothing if the game sux. GOW II is the best game I have played in a long long time. The story is excellent, the graphics are sweet and the gameplay is exciting. I'm not saying that developers should copy the GOW concept but to just think about what we gamers really want. BTW, GTA is losing its touch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh My God

posted by October30 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I think I'm gonna go down the street and fight those dudes on the corner of my block now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of war II

posted by Brett632 (COLUMBUS, OH) May 3, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game delivers. Every thing you are expecting from God of War this game is better! The story line weaves in with the first game. Very nice!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by Piempster (CORONA, CA) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

well let's just say the story continues and gets much better ... the graphics are amazing ... a lot of new features have been added ... they kept the controls pretty similar to the 1st game ... personally i didnt think they would be able to top the 1st one but wow jus WOW

AMAZING game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why "Q" this

posted by Krazydad (SEARCY, AR) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Title says it all. Save your Q for good games like SSX Blur. But if you don't own this game yet, go buy it!!! This is the only game that could pull me away from my Wii for longer than a few minutes.

This game is so good, I have barely slept for 2 days (I had it pre-ordered) since I got it.

I would give GoW 2 10 stars out of 5, lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game!

posted by chynco (EUCLID, OH) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Great game overall, great visuals, great controls, fast paced and satisfying. Boss battles are all unique and fun. Story is sweet and simple and the end just makes you want more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"The most radiant game ever"

posted by Jadenzylin (BRONX, NY) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is the most coolest and challenging ever.
It's more harder to play then the first
"God of WaR".
It was tough for me at the beginning were i had to fight one of the statues from the Gods, the metal from it was so hard that it took me almost 20 min to kill him...
so the only thing i can say about "God Of War II"
is that it is HOTT,AWESOME,COOL,AND VERY CHALLENGING......But awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOD of WAR 2

posted by David2831G (DIAMOND BAR, CA) Mar 16, 2007

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This could game could have been called GOD of GAMES and few would dispute it. This is by far the most entertaining game i've played for the PS2. All the essential elements are there; fast paced action, awe inspiring cinematic, clever puzzles, and an awesome terrorizing character. The only flaw about this game is that it has to end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The mother of all PS2 games

posted by mavz44 (APPLETON, WI) Jun 5, 2007

Member since May 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Let's start out by saying, I'm not a big Sci-Fi game lover, but this game is by far the best PS2 game out there. The graphics and game play are sublime. I recommend this game to any gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War 2

posted by dcderon (BROWNSVILLE, PA) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

God of war 2 what more can I say is by far one of the best game I have ever played.. Its definitely by far a the best sequel game I have ever played.. All I got to say if u played the first one or even just seen previews for the first one u should just get it because the gamer that put this game together give there heart and sole... And if ur a video game pro like me u should get GOD OF WAR II IT IS THE BOMB...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game ever especially to twilight princess

posted by kingdom8 (OAKLEY, CA) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A few weeks ago i got the demo for this game and i was so impressed with their opening level. I knew they would have the first level to start out with a level with a huge boss fight. The graphics are a huge step from the first game, his wings look amazing. Speaking of wings, there are new magic's and they are improved from the first game, because you can walk while using them. The combat system is hugely improved as well. You can use your chain blades to swing now. There are a lot more bosses then the first game and the final boss is way better then the first game. You now a have a pegasus to ride on and take out others in the sky. There is a huge variety of enemies in the game and they are harder to kill. This game is harder and longer then the first game. So you won't be complaining that you finished the game in one sitting like i did. anyone who owns a ps2 deserves to play a fantastic game like this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by powaplaya (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so cool. Way better than the first. The only problem is that it is so easy. I started on god mode and it felt like mortal mode. Anyway it was a great game i recommend everybody should try it!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not sure why this gets 9.1

posted by karrde (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The story is great, no doubt about it. The combat system is also great and isn't that hard to figure out. This game would get a 10 for me if it wasn't for its lousy game play.

The game is much improved over God of War I which is why it gets a 7 rather than a 6. There are several points in the game where you have to do insane jumps, which aren't governed by difficulty level. The camera angles are bad. And the worst part button mashing is harder than God of war 1. Button mashing is not fun. its really sad when you can do the combat but you have to have a turbo button or switch to easy to do the mini games.

I think the worst puzzle is after Euryale where there are 4 pillars you have to grapple. You also have to stop time because one pillar isn't permenent. the problem is not the puzzle its self but the jumping between the pillars. This was insanely hard.

There are many puzzles and platforms that are very hard. Super difficult doesn't equal fun. The developers need to learn that this should be reserved for the higher difficulties.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Warning: This game is for TRUE gamers only!

posted by Leeloo (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Think Price of Persia, but x1000 in awesome action/battle sequences. They got rid of annoyances the first game had (monotony that would take 4 or 5 tries even when you knew the timing).
I gave it one less star not for the camera this time (which was greatly improved), but for the shortness of the game.
I don't own a PS3, nor an HD television. I can't afford either. So no God of War III for me. :(
It's still tons of fun to replay and you may find chests that you hadn't seen before on the 7th play through. :)

I am definitely buying this game when I get my money situation fixed, for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, should have been a PS3 option

posted by jetskier2 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jun 26, 2007

Member since May 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I realize all the PS2 owners would have rioted, but it would have been nice to be able to play it on 1080i like NBA 07, Sony better get busy on the PS3, awesome system, by far the best, but no games to play and it would have been great at the full potential of the PS3. The PS2 is great, the haters out there who bashed this game are really only Sony haters in my opinion, I am indifferent, I think the Wii is fun, I have a PS2, and a PS3, the best looking system is the PS3, The 360 got a jump on the market and they knew they needed it with all the problems they had initially, they would have been buried by Sony had they not got the jump on the market, anyway I don't want to turn it into what system is better, this game is great, it is better than the first, there is nothing more I can say about it that others haven't said, it would have been nice to have the option to lock out any unnecessary extras that you wouldn't want your 13 year old to see, blood and guts are in every Pirates of the Caribbean movie, but leave out the s e x stuff hidden away in this series, I'm not a prude here, just as a responsible parent you would not want your kid dealing with this. Anyway, agree or disagree this is my opinion. I give it a solid 9, but not perfect, but very close.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse