Rent God of War: Ghost of Sparta for PSP Games
view large frontback

God of War: Ghost of Sparta

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

1612 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War: Ghost Of Sparta review

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Feb 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2010

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was absolutely great. I couldn't believe this game was for the PSP anymore than I could believe that Chains of Olympus could. The makers of God of War truly know how to make a good game, no matter what system it was.

Pros:
-This game must have pushed the PSP's capabillities to the limit. The graphics are incredible enough to put Chains of Olympus to shame.
-The gameplay has improved with the new abillity to add fire to your blades. This fire allows you to cut through objects such as ice, hard metal and armor.
-It takes some of it's perks from God of War 3, such as it's use of Godly possessions and the interactive cutscenes now have buttons on the sides of the screen, allowing you to focus on the action.
-This game is a great filler in between God of War and God of War II. It explains his anger in the second game.
-A bonus video in the extras finally explains Kratos' red mark. About time!!!!!
-Has an unbelievable amount of action sequences, which is rare for a PSP videogame.
-Has a good four to six hours of gameplay, unlike the last ones two to four.

Kons:
-In the end of the game, gameplay gets annoyingly difficult. You get interupted in battle because enemies are constantly grabbing you.

This is a great game. Before Ghost of Sparta, Chains of Olympus was previously the greatest game you could play, literally. Now, Ghost of Sparta makes it look like a practice run. This is truly the best game for the PSP to date. Who cares if you don't know the story. Play this game anyway. It's that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best psp game

posted by kameron34 (MARIETTA, GA) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game takes god of war to another level. You might beat it in a couple of days if your into it but you will like every second of it. I didnt think this game would be better than the last one but I was wrong. Animation is good and the story line keeps you interested.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Games

posted by Edoe132 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This version of the God of War for the PSP was better than the first one. You won't be sorry if you get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

God of More

posted by Detriment (Buffalo, NY) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very well done PSP game. They spare no expense. If you are and action/adventure fan or a God of War fan you can't go wrong with this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Same old GOW, but there's nothing wrong with that

posted by patsfandan (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of the GOW series, you'll love this but don't expect anything more or groundbreaking than what you already experienced in the prior games. Basically this is the same as Chains of Olympus with a different story. I gave it a 9 since I love the series and was not expecting anything more. I just wanted to kick butt as Kratos on my PSP. Happy gaming and happy holidays.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection of GOW PSP Series!

posted by adamsfam10 (LEICESTER, NC) Nov 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game itself, has to be my favorite of the PSP GOW series! The sound is amazing, the graphics are lush, the gameplay is phenomenal, the storyline and plot is beyond my expectations. The story itself picks up right after the 1st GOW, but at the same time, there are similarities to GOW 2 as well.

Kratos has become the God of War and he's still having nightmares of his mortal past. As Athena had promised to take away from him. In this installment, Kratos finds himself in a emotional bind to save his brother Deimos from the God of Death. I don't want to spil anything regarding the storyline, but I will say this much "it's a diamond in the rough" kind of game. I have only the highest recommendations for GOW: Ghost of Sparta! Enjoy Fellow Gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If your a fan, you need this......

posted by Downfall (WILKES BARRE, PA) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ghost of Sparta takes place between God of War 1 & 2, without giving much away with the story it explains gaps of Kratos's life just like Chains of Olympus did. The addition to a few new characters was great and the new abilities you have are pretty much just additional buttons and items you may not use. I found using the fire blades upgrade you receive from the titan in the beginning could destroy just about all the enemies. The game took me about 6 hrs. to complete which was fine for me. The ending was one of the best ive seen in a game just like all the other GoW endings.
The only thing keeping this from receiving 10 was the repetition of enemies. Not really any epic battles except for the end which was just the same cut seen over and over again.
I say if you don't have a PsP and are a fan and have played the others, borrow someones and play the ones for the PsP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Solid 9.5 for me!

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i rented this, i was expecting something similar to the previous God of War game on the PSP, Chains of Olympus, which sadly, sucked badly. But to say the least, Ghost of Sparta pwned the you know what out of every PSP game ever made! Here's my overall review for Kratos's newest bloodtrail:

Storyline: Never have i played a mythology-based videogame with so much depth and Ghost of Sparta only adds to it. Even though Ghost of Sparta throws us back to the time when Kratos was only getting used to his new powers (between God of War I and II), this game still surprises me. I can't spoil too much, but i have to say, you'll learn a lot about Kratos and his origins that supplement the gore-driven action of the other games.

Gameplay/Combat: Kratos stays fresh and doesn't let a single bit of his insane war tactics go away. Where a lack of good strategy fails, raw gore and insane killing methods make up for. Trust me, Kratos will never leave his brutal methods, ever...

Sound/Graphics: Although its a PSP game, the graphics and sound are surprinsgly crisp and manage to surprise me. Pretty good for a PSP game, i have to say.

Conclusion: Kratos's personal war against the forces of mythology continue, but set us back a year or two to show us why he is who he is. Hardcore God of War fans will not be let down, and will be very happy to see Kratos in our hands once again!

:foodndrink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

They've done it again!!!

posted by ZJrocks03 (WAUSAU, WI) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The phrase, "Don't fix it if it's not broken" comes to mind when playing this game. The God of War formula has been fantastic for every game they've made, and this is no exception. This game grabbed me and wouldn't let me put her down until I'd finished. This is without a doubt the best graphical game on the PSP! I'm hard pressed to find anything to criticize about this game. I guess it's a 'tad' on the short side (took me about 6 hours to complete), however every minute of this game is so great that you wont even care. If you have a PSP or are a fan of the God of War series then do yourself a favor and pick up this gem you wont regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

god of war ghost of sparta

posted by bailon707 (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This was AWESWOME! i loved every second of this game. the story is great and makes you want to replay the series which i just might. If you love the psp and god of war you have to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Revived

posted by fat_catkiller (SALISBURY, MD) Feb 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Made The Playstation Portable a hot topic once again. If you bought and completed GOW3 for the PS3 you'll want the story to continue. Ghost Of Sparta Does Have Most of the same creatures and enemys but is still a impresive visual display. buy it the end scene will suprise you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Game Of Year on PSP.

posted by IAmMe123 (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has my vote for Best Handheld of the Year for PSP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Should've been made for the PS3

posted by Zeldax73 (LITTLE FALLS, MN) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2002

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Horrible camera angles and I had to squint just to find the hidden gem's in this game. Also trying to pull off a combo was nearing impossible with it saying do you want to quit the game! Shame on Sony for rushing this game great story but like I said this game should've been made for the PS3 not PSP!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

god war has done it again

posted by starks105 (DETROIT, MI) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game meets its expectation and some more i love playing it for hours .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it is cool and boring

posted by PADILLA (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 5, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

it crashed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

i did like this game

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i like this game it was really fun but i got suck on one part and i didn't know how long i was going to be doing that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game

posted by spark12 (JAMESTOWN, SC) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

this is an excellent game job well done i love the god of war series very fun verey actiony i higly recomended this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

God Of War: Ghost Of Sparta

posted by gamerdaily (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Graphics- Best Graphics to date on a psp system

Sounds- krato's voice is dark and revengeful

Controls- Easy to remember Controls

Visuals- Olympus looks great

Value- Best game to date on a psp

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same old song and dance

posted by seifer226 (INDIO, CA) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

if you loved all the other god of wars, then you will love this. if you are sick of all the god of wars, then you will want to take a poo on this one. if i wanted to play the same game with different titles five times then this would be the game, but i dont, so i wont.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Max345 (PENSACOLA, FL) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is one of the best psp games I have ever played. I especially liked the extra skins you get after beating the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ghost Of Sparta Review

posted by Speoples (PINSON, AL) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

All in all another great game but my take is a little different.. I enjoyed the story line played in great but to me the game was little to short and needed something a little more.. graphics were a little off for my taste. But all in all a great game. If I were asked if I would recommend this game to a friend I would do so. Because anyone who has followed the God of War series should know that by now they are action packed with excitement. So in conclusion of this Bring on More God Of War.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War

posted by jdogg123 (MARTINEZ, CA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

This game is all around a good game. The one thing that I don't like is there isn't an objectives list/page, so when you get to a part you don't understand, you're on your own. The storyline is great and the graphics are extremely good for a psp game. You also have to play the previous God of War gamse to understand this one. Out of 10, for me, this game is a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

god of war returns with another success

posted by krazytaco Jun 18, 2011

kratos has to save his lost brother from the clutches of thanatos, the god of death, and faces great dangers along the way. the story leaves off from god of war 1, and is still thrilling to watch the highly detailed cinematics, even on the psp. the gameply is perfect,there isnt many graphical issues, but i think that god of war is still overdoing it with the sexual themes. overall a terrific game and is a great addition to the god of war series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jun 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is just great. It took a few tries for me to get it (2 were sent to me broken lol) but it was still worth the wait. I had forgotten about the game for a while but had been wanting to play it for a long time. I did send it back fast, but only because I am going to go buy it. I was going to keep it, but they sent it in a generic replacement case, and for $30, I can just get it new lol. If you liked the other psp God of War, you will love this one. See you at the stores!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game! Great graphics and fun!

posted by nugznmugz (DENTON, TX) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

If you like any GOW game then you'll like this one too. That simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse