Rent God of War Collection for PS3
view large frontback

God of War Collection

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Also on:PS Vita
GF Rating
8.4

8270 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Happy I Went Back

posted by Tuluzzi (MORTON, PA) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had originally started to play God of War 3 first, and after beating that I wanted to go back and find out about the story line. I'm very happy I did. For all the games that are like this that I've played: The platform style combat, button sequences, button mashing.. for some reason the God of War series has just really done it for me. I'd suggest this as a BUY for any real GOW fans.. and a definite rent for anyone who is looking to indulge into the story line more. Having the two games on one disk is really nice, and the Blu-ray really adds to the visual value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't go wrong

posted by Frogface (APO, AP) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say GOW has been on of the best games on the Playstation. If you never played them, you won't be disappointed. I think the second one is the best out of all the series. So pick it up XD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kratos upgraded, still awesome

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Nov 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

46 out of 54 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Sony did its fans proud with this re-release on one Bluray disc of two of the finest action titles from the PS2. "God of War" and "God of War II" look better than they did before, and with a smoother framerate, play even better. This is pretty much a must buy for fans of Kratos, and will do nicely to satisfy gamers bloodlust until "God of War III" arrives in March, 2010. Everything that you remembered being fun is there with a slick new look- the game controls well, the action is fun and furious, the boss fights truly epic (how can you argue with a game that opens with you fighting the Hydra?). Of course, those same annoyances that plagued the original games are also back, such as the fixed camera and the lack of more frequent checkpoints in the Hades level. While these keep the game from getting a perfect score, they're minor quibbles, as the fun you will have hacking and slashing your way through Greek mythology more than makes up for the games faults. The price is right for the collection, as both games should give you a decent amount of gameplay (each game can run you between 10 and 15 hours, depending on the player). The story line and the voice acting are both first rate, and still pack a punch. Ican hardly wait til March to see how Kratos' story turns out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game definitely earned a 10

posted by XteadyBeaRXx (MOLALLA, OR) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i loved this game so munch i missed it on ps2 and i am so glad that they remasterd it on ps3 or i would have missed this amazing game this game earned a 11 it was that munch fun the puzzles are crazy they will make you go mad they were really fun then after you beat it there are still the challenge from the gods stuff and i have added god of war 3 at the top of my list so what i am telling you to do is rent this game or you are going to miss out on one heck of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War Collection

posted by G0df4th3r (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All of god of war series are very good and they are the best games i ever played in my whole life. I never seen a game like this i would really recommend this games to you if you hadn't tried yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

god of war collection

posted by bigdbust (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a great buy right here supurb storylines and game play #1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War Collection Reviewed as a Whole

posted by cptbatman (SLIPPERY ROCK, PA) Aug 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GOW collection is the definitive versions of the first 2 God of War games with full trophy support, remastered in HD... any questions?

You know the gow games by now and you either love or hate.
here, we have enough brutal hack n slash, giant boss fights, epic puzzles, and traversing platforming segments for 2 full games...at a discount price.

While still being a ps2 game, the transition to the ps3's hardware code goes with a noticeable boost in resolution and there is not one framerate drop or screen tear to see in the entire package.The ingame movies did not receive the same treatment which adds a little awkwardness when there is a transition from gameplay to ingame cinemas.

If you own a ps3, and whether or not you played these excellent games on ps2 already, you should still play the God Of War Collection... you will be suprised about how new and fresh these last gen classics feel!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I was disappointed.

posted by flyingeagl (STAUNTON, VA) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game seemed awesome but I hated that I had to keep mashing the "O" button and "R2". This is a big draw back for me, when I play a game I do not want to have to repeatedly press the same button. It gets tiring and old fast for someone like me. If you like having to push one button as fast as you can 30 to 40 times, this is a game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What A Game

posted by James45 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Who says you cant take something old an make it better??The Graphics on PS3 blows PS2 out of the water !! The game is pretty much the same as PS2 but the HD gaming make it must for your PS3 collection!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Deja Vu is good!!!

posted by DaTraxx (GAHANNA, OH) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When playing these games I thought I have been here before. However, this is a good thing when it comes to the God of War series. These are graphically updated versions of the PS2 classics. The games were an amusement park thrill ride the first time around and the enhanced graphics and inclusion of trophies has made the experience that much more exquisite. I give this experience a well deserved 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kraetos...Still got it!

posted by JustASpaz (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Playing God of War and God of War II the first time around was an amazing experience. It pushed the PS2 to the limits of what console gaming was about in that generation and gave us a new "hero" to follow.

Playing through the second time is just as good, if not a little better.

The God of War Collection is simply put just God of War and God of War II on one disk. All Sony did was bumped up the graphics to 720p at a full 60 fps. That's it. And to be honest that's all that was really needed. These games weren't broken, so there was no need to fix it. You get two great games on one disk for only $40. This is a must for any PS3 owner, and will definitely hold you over till God of War III comes out, but most likely you will still be putting this Blu-Ray in for months, maybe even years to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

People whining too much

posted by EliteGam3R (CLANTON, AL) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

21 out of 30 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

First off let me just say that the people who post on this site really have no clue what they are doing.For the simple fact everybody acts like the GoW collections is supposed to be totally different then what was on the ps2. It's not,it's supposed to be the same thats why GoW3 is being made.Only reason the collection series was made for ps3 to begin with was incase somebody who never played the masterpieces could have an indepth look at what to expect from the highly anticipated 3rd version. It's amazing how people think that just because it was integrated from ps2,to 3 its supposed to be reworked,rewritten and totally redone.All in all i still rate this series a 10 because i haven't played a series of games more fun then back when mario was popular.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatestes Ever

posted by Obiwankeno (VINCENNES, IN) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

God Of War..... mmmm.. Let's say you could be Kratos for a day....
I know you wouldn't want to beat down the gods or their demi creations. However you may want to do this in high def... if you have a backward compatible ps3 as I do you may not want to play this new rendition. However sony has seen fit to place this in highdef 720p and include trophies. I must admit as a huge GOW fan this is most impressive the gameplay doesn't miss a beat. The boost in graphics is where this really shines.. and i might add realllllllly shine.... Not too mention the trophy support. I have beaten GOW 1 and 2 on the highest difficulty and I will be doing so again..... BRAVO sony let us hope that other game developers will follow suit IE Devil May Cry... Hope you enjoy this gem in HD a game like GOW only comes around every so often....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Minor set backs but the Good Parts are still there

posted by MrWestcoas (PORTER RANCH, CA) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I bought this game and the only thing Im not happy with is the cinematics. They still look like the ones from the regular PS2. But the rest of the game is a big upgrade and you still will get addicted to playing it. It does play a whole lot smoother (if thats a word), the graphics got amped up and the puzzles and action are just as flawless as before. Even if you have the 2 games on PS2 already, like me, still play these classics over on Blu-ray. Oh, and of coarse the GOW 3 demo is no joke either. it is 2 gigs of perfected gaming. You will like it for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For The New-Comers

posted by Hypno4 (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

No Spoilers Below:

I'm actually new to the God of War series, so I wanted to write a small review for anyone else new to the series. Of course everything isn't included here, I just wanted to point out some of the highlights. I hope it helps.

Pros:
-Awesome story. It's very original.

-Awesome combat. I'm a fan of Devil May Cry and Bayonetta and while those two games have more complex combos (at least in my opinion), God of War is a nice break from having too many combos to remember.

-Not sure if this is a pro or con, but the trophies are extremely easy to get.

-Weapons can be upgraded. I've always enjoyed games that offered weapons upgrades instead of replacing your weapons with new ones.

-Graphics are surprisingly nice. I wasn't disappointed with them at all, especially considering how old the franchise is.

Cons:
-Personally, I despise the parts of the game where you have to walk balance beams, run on top of a rolling.. eh.. thing (king of like a log), and move boxes around quickly before spikes kill you. Some people enjoy this kind of thing, I'm just not one of them ;) In fact, I've been so irritated by them, it's the only reason I didn't give the game a ten.

-Fixed Camera Views. I loved Resident Evil 1-3. In fact, they are in my top five favorite games of all time. I'm saying this because I'm not new to fixed camera games... but in God of War the writers sometimes hide chests off the camera on purpose which means you need to continually check for them.

As I said, there's a lot more to GoW than what I've posted here, but these are the things that have stuck with me throughout my time playing the games. I hope this was helpful. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not What I Expected

posted by keiyume (MELBOURNE, FL) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

For me, God of War has been THE big PlayStation title that I never played. I was looking forward to the collection, as I never played either game and I could not complain about improved graphics and added trophies. However, I was disappointed overall in the series.

Pros: I am a fan of Greek mythology and love seeing it throughout the story. In a few areas, I was bit disappointed by changes, but over all, I enjoyed the references. As a 'button-masher' the gameplay was fairly simplistic for the most part, with a nice enough weapon/magic gathering upgrade system. The puzzles proved interesting and challenging at times.

Cons: I am not a fan of QTEs and they are extremely important in this series. The camera angles were horrible, particularly in the original (the blade pole section). The fighting did get redundant at times. Also, I was not expecting all of the nudity nor the s.ex mini-game which, as a female, was less than desirable. Might be a 'pro' for the guys, though ;)

Overall, I can see why the game is popular. I would recommend the title to those who like action-adventure games and are not set off by QTEs and nudity. The sequel was definitely better than the original for improved puzzles, less obnoxious camera angles, and no mashing of the R2 trigger button.

Individually rated, in my opinion:
God of War: 5.0
God of War 2: 7.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

screw this game

posted by kirkusman3 (FREMONT, OH) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't care what anybody says. I've tried to get into this game like three times, and i still can't get into.. The controls suck.. everything sucks about this game.. I don't understand why everybody's into this game..I've tried and tried to get into this game but it's horrible.. If you want a good hack and slash game.. GET CASTLEVANIA LORDS OF SHADOW.. Because this game is garbage..

Graphics:2
Gameplay:2
Story:2
Overall:2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

God of War collection

posted by lokiranea (MAGNA, UT) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One of the worst games I've played in a long time, the camera angles are horrible in almost every scene and the puzzles feel tacky and out of place. The fighting is ok but very vanilla.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game hands down

posted by SetfreeJr (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Before I begin, I'm not going to complain of bad graphics, glitchy cinematics or gameplay, or how "hard" the controls and fighting was. Because that just isn't the case, and that is just plain horrid reviewing.

Overall score was a 9.4/10 and here is why:

1.) Storyline: Very well done. Remember that this is Kratos and whoever gets in his way doesn't live very long, so aside from the intentional short lived character encounters, the story flowed well along his path of destruction

2.) Gameplay: Very fun and genuine. I believe it was the first game that utilized those "mini-games" to deliver "fatalities" to your weakened foes. Both still dominate at that form of death compared to games like Darksiders and Dante's iIferno. The brutality is just great to behold. The game offers difficulties from easy to hard to godly so it offers a challenge to any veteran gamer. The levels are very linear, although if you explore a particular area for a bit, you're bound to find some treasure to power you up. The enemies all have weak points although some seem nearly invincible at harder difficulties, but this creates a strategic element to the game since it is a hack and slash type of game. GOWII especially takes all of these to another level with more complex terrain as well as involuntary vehicular combat, combat hanging from behind horses, and other situations.

Also there is a real immersive feel to the game bordering escapism, which fans of any fantasy/rpg value.

3.) Graphics: Very very fluid. No glitches of any kind. no freezing of any kind, and the character animations and design are very detailed. Cinematics remain ps2 quality but It s a small price to pay for just how great the game is. Looks even better on blueray, especially GOWII. It's a lot like you're watching a movie during the mini games.

4.) Sound: Very crisp, again designed for a true cinematic experience

5.) Cons: A short game, anyone playing it on easy sees it can be done in about 12 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game man !

posted by Zeee13 (FAIRVIEW, OR) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a must have for all PS3 owners,not just because it helps u get a full recap before the gods will clash on 3/16/2010 ,but also cuz its a classic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST RENT!

posted by Jeeshus (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Dec 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you played God of War the original you are definitely are going to love this one! They stepped up the puzzles a bit I was stumped on and couple had to look them up haha. But some are so obvious that its actually a challenge and you feel really stupid after you find out what it is.
The story once again is really good! And it leads into the 3rd game beautifully. So if you want to get amped for the new one definitely play this game! Even if you played them before these two games are definitely worth playing through again.
The ONLY problem I had which made me SO MAD was the final boss Zeus in the second game. For some reason it glitched at a cinematic and he flew off the edge and I had to verse him all over again. And he is a frustrating boss so when I was suppose to pretty much finish him off and beat him I lost because it glitched. But when I did it again it worked fine.
STILL WONDERFUL GAME!
PS THERE IS NO BETTER WEAPON THAN THE CHAIN BLADES!
Idk why they add the new weapons in them I hate using them !
The chain blades are just the bombbb

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Are you a button masher that sucks at most games?

posted by gamer64626 (GIBSON CITY, IL) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

9 out of 20 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Then God of Bore is the game for you.

I really don't understand what people see in either of these games. The story is vaguely interesting and that is the best part of the game by far. If you're into mashing the square button for about twelve hours then this is the game for you. The enemies are frustrating and keep respawning at random and most of the hardest parts of the game will end up killing you about ten minutes away from a checkpoint. I would rather spend all day cleaning the bathroom and kitchen then ever play this pile of garbage again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by DoRRitoMAnN (OLDSMAR, FL) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS THE BEST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gods Of War Collection

posted by MickGIS (CENTENNIAL, CO) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I tried again with this kind of game because it had a lot of fans, if you like this type of game the graphics are pretty good as is the sound. But I guess it is just not for me I found it very repetitive and boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gow1 and 2

posted by huttonbbb (MATTESON, IL) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

alright let me get right down to it the most talked about complaint is the graphics you have to understand that these are PS2 GAMESSS they couldnt change that it was out of there reach

Second how hard the game is now you really should be slapped in the face did you not know that there is a easy mode DUMMIES really just change the settings
and if it is on easy then you must really suck like fa real

All right the camera is not perfect but its not bad at all you just got 2 know how to work it
i got use to it you should to
go out and get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse