Rent God of War Collection for PS3
view large frontback

God of War Collection

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Used: $17.99

Also on:PS Vita
GF Rating
8.4

8305 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War in 1080p 60fps

posted by quintfl (BLUE RIDGE, GA) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

Nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game Must Rent

posted by TheReviewer2000 (SUNRISE, FL) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

One sentence nothing is wrong with this game must rent maybe best game ive ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!!

posted by Achilles2324 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This bundle was the first games I played of God of War. They blew me away! I played them on the ps2 and could not believe my eyes. My imagination went wild with the different combos to kill things. Not to mention the games lasted a long time for a ps2 game! These are the game that got me hooked on God of War. I highly recommend them to anyone. They are the reason I got a ps3, for god of war 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by Ronikins98 (BOULDER, CO) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Coolio game mann

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by DoRRitoMAnN (OLDSMAR, FL) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS THE BEST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Never played the games before..

posted by Darkfang114 (JONESBORO, AR) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

But now I am a huge fan of this series. These games were awesome. I had so much fun with these two, I was playing them for almost 2 weeks. Sure there are some parts where you rage and quit, but that's in almost all games. Trophies are very easy except for one in each where you have to beat challenges. Those were very frustrating but very doable as well. Can't wait to get the third shipped in a few days!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't go wrong

posted by Frogface (APO, AP) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say GOW has been on of the best games on the Playstation. If you never played them, you won't be disappointed. I think the second one is the best out of all the series. So pick it up XD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game definitely earned a 10

posted by XteadyBeaRXx (MOLALLA, OR) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i loved this game so munch i missed it on ps2 and i am so glad that they remasterd it on ps3 or i would have missed this amazing game this game earned a 11 it was that munch fun the puzzles are crazy they will make you go mad they were really fun then after you beat it there are still the challenge from the gods stuff and i have added god of war 3 at the top of my list so what i am telling you to do is rent this game or you are going to miss out on one heck of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very awesome

posted by jay3 (GILBERT, AZ) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

amazing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I AM ghost of sparta

posted by I_LOVE_gamefly (ANAHEIM, CA) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

sick game have beat the game in all modes great picture one of the best ps2 remakes so far

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War Collection -WARNING SPOILERS-

posted by kathroot (PINCKNEY, MI) Jul 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game was amazing. It is hard to express how much I loved this, so I'll leave it at amazing. I didn't play either of the games included on this disk the first time that they were released for the PS2, but I think it's better that way. I was able to experience an amazing, and deep story the first time through with amazing graphics, and gameplay.
This game will challenge you in both your capability to fend of hoards of enemy soldiers, as well as complex puzzle that will really make you think... Sometimes you have to solve a puzzle, while fending of the approaching warriors (that gets really hard.) The game offers three difficulties. Easy, if your new to action games, or God of War. Medium, for most people who have played action games for a while, and Hard (there is also another difficulty level that you will gain upon completion of any other levels.) Each difficulty has unique titles such as God, Hero, Spartan, and Titan. I played through both of the games on Medium (though towards the end of the first game, I did have to change to easy since I spent about a half hour on one section of the game.)
This game is extremely fun, and gets very difficult at some parts. It offers a great challenge, and a great story.
The story itself is loosely based on Greek Mythology. Kratos, a Spartan Commander is in battle with a Barbarian army, and is about to be killed. Just as the Barbarian King nearly kills him, he prays to the god of war. Ares. Ares then saves Kratos under the condition that he serves him for the rest of his life. After Ares pushes Kratos too far, he is forced to turn on the god of war. With the help of Athena Kratos seeks out a powerful weapon to destroy Ares.
In the second game Kratos is betrayed by Zeus, and must seek out the Sisters of Fate to help change his past. Kratos finds the sisters of fate, and is able to go back in time to when Zeus betrayed him, and stop him.
Throughout the game you will kill dozens of famous mythological creatures. Play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOW I & II

posted by kornlove (HINSDALE, NH) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

I loved the games since they came out, I just wish they upgraded the graphics when they transferred it to the ps3 from the ps2 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War Collection

posted by G0df4th3r (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All of god of war series are very good and they are the best games i ever played in my whole life. I never seen a game like this i would really recommend this games to you if you hadn't tried yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This games awsome

posted by XMANIA (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I thought this game was amazing. Its a game you have to be patient with though. Theres alot of times your going back and forth, yet its still fun. Its also a very long game and will last you for over a month. This game containes brutal kills, a cool adventure, a great story line, and surprisingly alot of information about the gods. I find this a great game and would recemend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

godofwar

posted by tigeress (NEW ELLENTON, SC) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

godofwar one two and three very good games hope somehow u can come up with a four

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best

posted by rlane4 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

All I have to say is that this is the best games I've ever played. I took mythology classes in my high school and this game helped me remember those mythological people. These are some easy trophies here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War Collection Reviewed as a Whole

posted by cptbatman (SLIPPERY ROCK, PA) Aug 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GOW collection is the definitive versions of the first 2 God of War games with full trophy support, remastered in HD... any questions?

You know the gow games by now and you either love or hate.
here, we have enough brutal hack n slash, giant boss fights, epic puzzles, and traversing platforming segments for 2 full games...at a discount price.

While still being a ps2 game, the transition to the ps3's hardware code goes with a noticeable boost in resolution and there is not one framerate drop or screen tear to see in the entire package.The ingame movies did not receive the same treatment which adds a little awkwardness when there is a transition from gameplay to ingame cinemas.

If you own a ps3, and whether or not you played these excellent games on ps2 already, you should still play the God Of War Collection... you will be suprised about how new and fresh these last gen classics feel!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by shadow228 (LONG BEACH, MS) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

Well i have played many games along with mmo's and not many have been able to draw my attention and keep me interested. I just started playing the first God Of War in the God Of War Collection and i must say even though i havnt goten all that far just yet i am already loving this game, and i would recomend it to anyone who like mythical action/fantasy. The base story with the Greek Gods champion is great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by crookedltr (DESOTO, TX) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I only recently found out about GOW and GOW II but let me tell you I'm in love with these games!!! I can't wait to play GOWIII.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What A Game

posted by James45 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Who says you cant take something old an make it better??The Graphics on PS3 blows PS2 out of the water !! The game is pretty much the same as PS2 but the HD gaming make it must for your PS3 collection!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For The New-Comers

posted by Hypno4 (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

No Spoilers Below:

I'm actually new to the God of War series, so I wanted to write a small review for anyone else new to the series. Of course everything isn't included here, I just wanted to point out some of the highlights. I hope it helps.

Pros:
-Awesome story. It's very original.

-Awesome combat. I'm a fan of Devil May Cry and Bayonetta and while those two games have more complex combos (at least in my opinion), God of War is a nice break from having too many combos to remember.

-Not sure if this is a pro or con, but the trophies are extremely easy to get.

-Weapons can be upgraded. I've always enjoyed games that offered weapons upgrades instead of replacing your weapons with new ones.

-Graphics are surprisingly nice. I wasn't disappointed with them at all, especially considering how old the franchise is.

Cons:
-Personally, I despise the parts of the game where you have to walk balance beams, run on top of a rolling.. eh.. thing (king of like a log), and move boxes around quickly before spikes kill you. Some people enjoy this kind of thing, I'm just not one of them ;) In fact, I've been so irritated by them, it's the only reason I didn't give the game a ten.

-Fixed Camera Views. I loved Resident Evil 1-3. In fact, they are in my top five favorite games of all time. I'm saying this because I'm not new to fixed camera games... but in God of War the writers sometimes hide chests off the camera on purpose which means you need to continually check for them.

As I said, there's a lot more to GoW than what I've posted here, but these are the things that have stuck with me throughout my time playing the games. I hope this was helpful. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game!!!!

posted by sonicfan11 (Ferndale, CA) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

ok to all the people who say that these games graphics are not improved get this YOU DON'T HAVE A HIGH DEF TV THEN!!!!!! i had never played god of war but my brother had. so i went out and bought it its a really great opportunity if your just like me and u had never played it. so go out and pick it up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Deja Vu is good!!!

posted by DaTraxx (GAHANNA, OH) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When playing these games I thought I have been here before. However, this is a good thing when it comes to the God of War series. These are graphically updated versions of the PS2 classics. The games were an amusement park thrill ride the first time around and the enhanced graphics and inclusion of trophies has made the experience that much more exquisite. I give this experience a well deserved 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nice

posted by blank0man (COMMERCE CITY, CO) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

prety good games both of them but im looking forward to GOW 3 after playing through the first two titles im sure 3 wont disappoint

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game ROCKS!

posted by dewwby (GREAT FALLS, MT) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

After playing the Chains of Chaos on the PSP, I had to start from the beginning with Go of War 1 and 2 once I got my PS3 for Christmas, and I was NOT disappointed! The only thing is, I wish they were a little longer as I beat each game in a day. I am patiently....well impatiently, waiting the release of #3 in the series to see what Gods Kratos spanks on this time! I was interested to see the dawn of a new age with the 3 wise men on the mural in the temple. Great Storyline and I think it would make an excellent CGI movie!

I HIGHLY recommend this game to anyone who has not played it yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse