Rent God of War: Chains of Olympus for PSP Games
view large frontback

God of War: Chains of Olympus

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.8

5167 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a FANTASTIC game!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Mar 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

40 out of 45 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I was totally blown away at how good GoW:CoO was. The story was top of the line, the gameplay was the best so far in the series, and the weapons and upgrades where very cool and useful. Lets start with the Story. GoW:CoO starts before GOd Of War 1 and ends EXACTLY where the first one started (youll know what i mean when you beat it). The Sun God Helios falls out of the sky and Morpheos (god of Dreams) tries to take over the earth. You have to venture through Helios' Chariot (which is ALOT bigger than any old temple ive seen) and The River of Styx, Hades, Tatarus and Persephone's domain. The game answers some unanswered questions from other GoW games. The gameplay is top noch here. Every move is useful, and all magic and Weapons are excellent. You only get one extra weapon in the whole game, but its pretty much the coolest and most useful weapon in God Of War history next to the Blades of Chaos. Its super powerful and just real chaotic. Magic abilities are the standard issue GoW magic, but there still cool so nothing bad about it. The Graphics are amazing and pretty much the best looking PSP game in history. Its going to be hard to beat teh technical standards pushed by "Ready At Dawn", by other developers. The controls are real good and are easy to learn if you've ever played any god of war game. R + L + The Analog-nub in a direction rolls, R + a face button does magic and L + a face button does a special attack with the weapons. This god of war translates good on to the PSP. This god of war is still the bloody, violent and awsome God of War we all have come to love. There is somthing for everyone to like here and any God Of War fan will absolutely fall in love with GoW:CoO!
GAMEPLAY:9.9/10
STORY:9.5/10
DESIGN:10/10
CONTROLS:10/10
GRAPHICS:10/10
OVERALL:10/10 This is a must buy game. You will play it over and over forever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not A Surprise

posted by waynetango (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

It wouldn't be a surprise to anyone to know that this game is simply magnificent. The graphics, the sound, the controlS. Everything just runs so smoothly that you feel that you are actually in the game itself. I've played games on Xbox360 and the PS3 and i'm amazed at how the graphics just pull the player in. There have been a few games that do this on the PSP, Gun, Killzone:liberation just to name a couple, but God of War would be simply akin to a miracle. The gamer feels as if they have been reborn once they power up this game. If other developers would just use this game as a comparison to the games they are creating then we as gamers would be totally enthralled each and every time we unpack our games and turn on the console.

This game is not just a keeper it is an experience, that one would not soon forget.
Buy this game, Love this game, Marry this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliant

posted by Schpenke (THE COLONY, TX) Mar 15, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I never really have expectations for any portable game to equal the playability of its console port, but God Of War manages to do just that.

The graphics are absolutely stunning, the musical score is captivating and appropriate during each scene, the voice acting is spot on, and the overall game play is just short of perfect.

If you've played either of the two previous God Of War titles there's no point in my rehashing since you'll understand that your role consists of happily beating up anything that moves, and often times beating up things that don't.

My only complaints with the PSP version are these:

- The voice acting volume is extremely low in some places. Headphones are often required.
- The minigames when restricted to the face buttons are fine, but the game occasionally forces you to use analog thumb pad to create full or semi circles. The fact is that the analog thumb pad is not a precision device and it's quite often quite hard to create what that PSP considers a completely semi or full circle.

These two small things in no way overshadow how fantastic this game is though. Had a blast playing it through once, replaying it on a harder level, and tinkering with the challenges.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another solid game crippled by the PSP

posted by Hazaa54 (PELHAM, NY) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

God of War: Chains of Olympus, developed by Ready At Dawn (Daxter) for the Playstation Portable is a prequel to the epic Playstation 2 games.

The game succeeds in two aspects, the first being the amazing graphics. The character models, environments, and most impressively animations all look incredible. The game’s second success comes with how well it imitates its older console brothers. The combat retains its balance of accessibility and depth, and the puzzles are once again perfectly balanced.

This being said, the game is not exceptional. Whether it’s a commentary on the nature of portable gaming, or just the structure of the PSP itself, God of War just isn’t God of War when it’s played on the PSP. The controls are cramped, with dodge being pinned to a clumsy combination of triggers and analog control, and the larger than life feeling that defined the console versions almost feels out of place when forced onto the PSP’s small scale.

While Chains of Olympus doesn’t match the greatness of its PS2 predecessors, it stands up as a solid portable game that, like other PSP games before it (Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops), is handicapped by the system’s limitations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

God of War: On the Go

posted by javemport (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Whether you will enjoy this game or not boils down to a few different things.

Do you enjoy God of War?

Do you have a PSP?

Do you care if its short?

Do you have headphones?

If you answered yes to any of the above questions, then you have no reason not to give this a rent. I'm not one to play games over and over, so I wouldn't buy, but considering its one of the only great games on the PSP its tempting. It truly is an extraordinary package. Because the PSP has been enabled to run at a higher processing speed it might drain your battery a bit faster, but its worth it. This game is eyecandy in the palm of your hand. I booted it up for the first time and was awed at how close the graphics resemble the PS2 counterparts. The gameplay is very similar, nothing too new here, but the way the controls have been ported to the handheld system might impress you quite a bit. I almost like them better on the PSP than the traditional Dualshock's control scheme.

Overall wonderful game, no reason not to put aside a few hours and give it a run through.

Unless boobies offend you of course...but chances are they don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic Game Tiny Package

posted by SkinnyJr (DEERFIELD, IL) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Everything we love about the first two god of war games comes together in this pint sized prequel. Not only do the game mechanics work out beautifully for the psp but the graphics rival the PS2 versions. The story doesn an excellent job of introducing the first two games, but is incredably short. When the game is all said and done, there are multiple challenges that add some replay value. All together, I believe my total playtime was just over 3 hours. Even so, the epic proportions of this game let my rating stand at a perfect 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

god of war chains of olympus

posted by gamer8904 (ANAHEIM, CA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and it had an amazing storyline and great fight scenes but truth is unless you like to replay games at a different diffuculty then you will have fun but if you only like playing a game once on easy "Like me" then have fun with the five ours of play time because thats about all your going to get

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOD OF WAR RULES PERFECT 10 NO DOUBT

posted by yank27 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

HELLO EVERYONE I JUST COMPLETED GOD OF WAR ON THE PSP. AND I MUST SAY THAT THIS HAS TO BE THE BEST HANDHELD GAME THAT I HAVE EVER PLAYED. CONTINUE MAKING THIS GAME PLAYSTATION. THE BEST PART OF THE GAME IS THE TIGHT CLOSE-UPS SLASHING WHEN KRATOS COMES IN FOR THE KILL. THE SOUND IS INCREDIBLE. IN MY OPINION EVERYONE SHOULD BE RENTING THIS GAME ON GAMEFLY YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED TRUST ME. ONCE YOU LEARN THE FINISHING MOVES AND YOU ACQUIRE THE EFREET YOU BE TOTALLY ADDICTED TO IT. THIS GAME RATES A PERFECT 10 NO DOUBT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not what i expected

posted by gamerman28 (FORT MYERS, FL) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ladies and gentlemen if your a god of war fan as i am then you know why i wrote this review. This was a very good game and it had an awesome story which tied in nicely with the first god of war, but i was really disappointed for the time that one has for game play the new weapons look a little weird for greek mythology but i guess bringing back weapons from the first one and second one was a bad idea, the one thing i did like was the graphics look killer in the psp.well that's all i have if you found something more that i didn't find please let me know, thank you for your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great addition to the series, but a little short

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Mar 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Many other game franchises would be criticized for the lack of change or innovation. God of War, however, would receive an outcry if it did. Good thing this version doesn't try and fix what isn't broken. Everything that makes the God War series great is back: upgradeable Blades of Chaos, new and appropriate magic powers, button press mini-games (including the hallmark "adult" one), awesome music and voice work, and great character design. You'll think that it shouldn't be this good, but it is.

The story is as the previous ones. It also gives some background for the events that transpire in GOW 1 and 2. The series was not dumbed or toned down at all for the handheld. God mode is still unlockable, as are new costumes and bonuses (wait until after the end credits for an extra zinger).

Control is pretty good, but the left analog (short and stubby as it is) sometimes doesn't offer the best control.

The new "Gauntlet of Zeus" weapon is unlike the spear or hammer of GOW2: you'll actually want to use it. Where the blades are quick with finesse, nothing saws ka-pow like a fist of raw god steel. The moves and combos for the gauntlet are all powerful and appropriate. I found myself using it more often than the Blades, and that's saying something!

My only issues are:
-The game was short. An action game this visceral is too good to end and there's no other game like it on the system!
-Some of the mini-games involving rotation of the analog were a bit hard to pull-off, if only because of the PSP design itself.
-The gauntlet did not have its own "grab" animation and inexplicably reverted back to the blades. For a weapon that potent and characteristic, it really should've had its own.
-Some minor slow-down during the cutscenes.

Until we meet again on the PS3 Kratos...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

god of war chains of olympus sucks

posted by duties (SAN JOSE, CA) May 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

this game is soooooo bad all you can do is easy mode and normal mode of expert it is impossible because the stupid goddess of the underworld kill you in about 3 shots for her rock move and about 4 shots when she flies towards you. i highly would not recommend this game to a friend, family, or you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good, but short

posted by khicks21 (FORT COLLINS, CO) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

So I played this game over break, which might be the problem, but it took two days to beat. Maybe 10 hours?
Action wise, pretty freakin sick. Seriously, the start of the game is strait up kickin some Persian butt. The moves and weapons are pretty tight, too.
Ya, just short. Took two days. If you like a challenge in figuring out levels, then meh.
Still, I liked it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game is ok

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i eas fun game but i couldn't roll thught the door that part was hard but i did get to fight bad guy so that cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

short and sweet

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jan 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

I would like abit more time to press the buttons on the cinima moves

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I have to buy this game now !!

posted by Cassidy2011 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I have to say if you like action games and something to challenge ya this would be the game !! Also now that i have played this i have to get the next one that was made which is GHOST OF SPARTA ... I haven't been so addicted to a game in a long time normally i always play puzzel games but this is way to intense!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great but too short

posted by player2 (BEVERLY, MA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2007

this was a great action game for the psp but i think it was way too short. and te puzz;es were stupid but all in all it was good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

God of war

posted by elcarita (IMPERIAL, CA) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

It sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RIDICULOUS!!!!

posted by trubzz (RANCHO PALOS VERDES, CA) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Im blown away by how good this game is on the psp! A perfect 10 from me.. I have a ps3 as well, Im sure its even sicker on there!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

god of war on the go awsome

posted by gamespro (LA PUENTE, CA) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

first of all im already a fan of the god of war series and now its portiable you can unleash the rage of kratos the god of war on the go my edvice if you havent played a god of war game yet rent this trust me you wont be disappointed if you have already played god of war buy this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hazaa is a Moron.

posted by iBlooba (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Then why own a PSP if games are going to be "crippled" by it? This captures the essence of GoW wonderfully, and if you read IGN's review, the controls are actually BETTER. Yeah. So get out of here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great Prequel! Makes the PSP fun again!

posted by MrDude (BURTCHVILLE, MI) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

When I first caught eye on this game I just thought that it would just be a background story while rehashing God of War 1. I WAS WRONG! I played this game from beginning to end and it was a beautiful story that explains everything about WHY Kratos hates the gods and shows how far he had to go before he stopped. If you appreciate the God of War series then you must play this game from beginning to end, no excuse! P.S.: The combat and boss battles are still as unique as ever and the weapons and magic are very diverse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best games ever made for the PSP!!

posted by phx1332 (MAMMOTH SPRING, AR) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

when i first started playing this game i was blown out of the water on how good these graphics where. Im mean you all can agree with me. the psp hasnt had very many good games graphic wise. If you like god of war for the ps2 or ps3 you will love this game. its just like those only portable, which makes it ten times better. The only flaw i have with this game and its very minor. the game is to easy to beat. i beat it in 1 day. But still a very good game. dont skip over God of War: Chains of Olympus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games of all time!

posted by FanBoy85 (LINCOLN, NE) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Fan Boy Review

System: Sony PSP
Game: God Of War: Chains Of Olympus

Have you ever played a game where the title of the game is almost what the game actually was? A God? God Of War: Chains of Olympus is just that. If you are not a follower of the God Of War series you will become a follower after you play this hand held pocket of fun. Now remember this is not in line with the PS2 and PS3 Series. It is got its own twists for PSP purposes. If you are looking for a child’s game this is not it. Long hours of massive killing with the hunger and hatred of killing all Gods who stand in his way Kratos is on a mission to kill Zues on mount Olympus. This game does not just ask you to go around killing every thing in sight either but is still 98% of the game. By allowing you to be involved with the story line there are many puzzles and map challenges that you must figure out and overcome before you can move onto the next level. Some may be turned off by its massive repeat moves but as I mentioned before this game moves forward with a pass that does not get boring and keeps the game fun until the very end. My one suggestion though is to go back and play the other games from start to end to get the full effect of the story line. Other wise you might get lost and not understand why you are playing. Although the game does allow you to play without necessarily knowing what happened in the past expansions, giving you great in game video does this. The graphics are great, the in game videos are awesome, the in game battles and boss battles are amazing, and the story line is so addictive you will want to go back and play this game a second, and third time, and play the other expansions on the PS2 and PS3 because the developers of this game make you feel like you are apart of something big, because you are. This game has nothing bad going for it so I give it a 5 out of 5. This game may be becoming outdated by physical time, but is becoming a classical icon of gaming hi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by chasegene (Olympia, WA) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

This is a great Game. especially for the psp. it ended kind of abrubtly. definitely a rent and/or a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

defective copy

posted by Crisendorf (ZANESVILLE, OH) May 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

I didn't even get to play it I have a defective copy and it refuses to work in my psp. I on'y still have it because it won't ship out till monday

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse