Rent Go, Diego, Go!: Safari Rescue for Wii
view large frontback

Go, Diego, Go!: Safari Rescue

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS
GF Rating
7.1

660 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game for Young Kids

posted by skyhawk (RIDGELEY, WV) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

28 out of 28 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my 4 year old twin sons. Since they watch my oldest son and me play games, they naturally want to play also.
Unfortunately they are not coordinated enough to play most games. The Diego game, however, has simple controls. Both of them were able to successfully play this game with little help from me. They simply tilt the remote in the direction that they want Diego to go. The only button that is used is the "2" button.
The game does have some educational value -not much, but some. The levels are kind of repetitive, but the game kept my sons' short attention span. The graphics could be a little better, but that probably doesn't matter to young children anyway. For these two reasons, I bump my rating down to a 9.
If you have young children and want to start them out slowly with video games, then I would recommend Go, Diego, Go!: Safari Rescue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game for the young ones!

posted by WiiFamily (TRINITY, FL) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We are new to gaming, only owning the Wii that Santa brought.
My 9 year old is loving many games, but unfortunately our 6 year old has had difficulty playing lots of the character/skill games. As soon as she saw Go Diego Go! advertised in a magazine, I put it on my GameQ.
It arrived today, she just started playing and is in heaven! She understands it, can make the wiimote work, is passing the levels and feels successful....like her older sister!
We are adding this to our "one to buy" list! If you have 3-6 year olds in the house that need a fun game to play, and don't mind the preschool-ness or simplistic graphics, you will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

go diego go safari rescue

posted by witchblade (CARLETON, MI) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My 6 year daughter was so excited when this game came in the mail, she sat down the same night to play it. We played the racing area together for a while then she moved onto the rescue adventure. She loved it. Since I was watching her play anyway we thought it was cool that I could do some of the actions also. The controls were super easy and she loved making Diego do tricks.
The only downside is that she finished the game already. Glad I didn't run right out and buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Game For Young Kids

posted by Eyesquid (EAST WINDSOR, NJ) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the first game that my two and a half year old son can actually play and enjoy. Technically the game looks unpolished and rushed in development. Early in the game I noticed a rock floating in the air in the background. The lip-syncing of the characters speaking is dreadful. Besides the technical faults, the gameplay is simple and fun. The best part about it is that it is completely non-violent and perfect for the young ones. Controlling the character is easy thanks to the Wiimote.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GO, Diego, GO!: Safari Rescue is awesome

posted by budha5 (EAST PROVIDENCE, RI) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have 3 children youngest is 2 and oldest is 9. They all had fun playing this game (even me and I am 30)!!!! My two year old had no problem playing this game. I highly recommend this game for kids of all ages...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for young gamers

posted by jonbtrini (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Apr 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my 4 year old daughter who likes to play video games like her dad, but often isn't quite advanced enough to play the games that require a gamepad. This game basically solves that dilemma. She loves her Wii because of the interactivity it offers, and this game was great for her because it let her play a game featuring a character she watches on TV every day, and also was not difficult to where she couldn't understand how to play. The game has instructions on what motions to make during different parts of the game, and there is also the feature where a 2nd player can assist with certain portions. It DOES get repetitive however, and for kids slightly older, I can see that getting boring. Players will generally see the same "tasks" over and over, just on different levels. All in all, a good game for younger kids, and one they will surely enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by emdus6470 (MONTCLAIR, NJ) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

My 5 year old daughter picked this game and she enjoyed it. It was a very simple game and the Wii controls were easy for her to use. She did finish the game in 3 days and asked for a new one to be sent. There could have been more complex things for her to do on this game. I suggest that any kids over 5 will be bored fast with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for my 3 year old.....Thats why i rented it.

posted by tleeg (VAN NUYS, CA) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I wanted to find a game for my 3 year old. I know 3 is young to play games but i knew there were kid-oriented games out there, plus hes very smart and loves playing on my PC and using my Kindle to play Angry Birds and Fruit Ninja.

So since i didnt want to buy kid games blindly, i checked out GAMEFLY to rent some games for him.

The verdict is.....he loved it, i knew within 30 mins that i need to find this game and get it for him on his 4th birthday. He wasnt perfect with the controls but he got the jist of it and was able to play the game really well. He turns 4 years old in 2 months and by then i know he will be able to use the controller almost perfectly. Its a fun game and easy for a 4-5 year old to play.

I say check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Starter Game

posted by Momof4yearold (MIDLAND CITY, AL) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This was one of the first games we bought our 4 year old. He loves it. It was easy enough to teach him how to play a Wii. Now he can beat the whole game in one day but still he loves it. It also has mini games we play together without there being a winner or loser.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's ok, but short.

posted by Chargolith (HILLSBORO, IL) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

Got this for my 3 and a half year old daughter and she beat it in about four hours with only a little help.

There's a few things you can do after that, but it wasn't enough to keep her interested beyond a few days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

diego is his favorite!

posted by bkbrowneye (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

my son loves this game and it very easy for him to play he is only 3 1/2 yrs.old and he play with complete ease! I recommend this to anyone with young kids !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

5 year old loved it!

posted by amelia779 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Easy to use. Very simple motions on the controller. Very few buttons used it's mainly done by physically moving the controller from side to side. Great learning and no concerns as far as content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT!

posted by Mommasboy (EVART, MI) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

We have a three year old who is fairly new to any video games. I didn't know if he would be able to do this or not, but I thought we would give it a try. It is awesome! He can do 90% of it all by himself and to say that he is proud is an understatement. The hard parts are when you have to go certain ways to get to the next animal. It's a little too advanced with the puzzle part of it, but over all I am very happy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for little kids

posted by MplsMom (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This was VERY easy for my 5 year old. It was also VERY short. He did all of the levels in a few hours (over a few days). There is no dying and he didn't need to collect all of the animals on each level to pass.

He did think it was fun and it would be a great game for a kid just learning to use the Wii controller. Good rental. Glad I didn't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Easy and fun!

posted by TBlazer77 (FORT CAMPBELL, KY) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

My 4 yr old son is always begging me to play my games! Knowing that they are mature and complicated games I rented this for him! Well, he loved it so much, he beat it in like 3 hrs! And has replayed it twice since! They need to make more games like this for the little ones!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This one is for the younger ones

posted by Fatherof4 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Most of the the Wii games are for the kids 6 years old and up but the diego games were good for my 3 year old and 5 year old and the 3 year old could catch on and play it just fine unlike other games where he constantly gets frustrated and needs his older siblings help. Great selection if you need a game for the younger kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For little ones

posted by antlelopez (BULLHEAD CITY, AZ) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

My 4 yr old daughter can play this pretty well, and she loves it because it's one she can play without getting help from mom and dad. My 3 yr old son has a little more of a problem with it just because he is a little smaller and has to go slower then his sister but overall a good game for them to play at a young age.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Beginner Game

posted by DocsLadee (KENAI, AK) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

My 5 year old granddaughter just loved this game - she loves Diego but this is one game she could play all by herself, it only uses one controller so it is less confusing - highly recommend this game for all of your little animal and Diego lovers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Diego is Great for Young Kids

posted by DavidJR (BRANDON, MS) May 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The game is wonderful for smaller children. My two sons are 5 and 2. They both play on two player mode and love it. My 5 year old plays the one player mode just fine. I wouldn't recommend the game for children much older than 6 because they would probably find it too easy. This is the perfect game for young children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Go Diego Go Safari Rescue

posted by partyof5 (SAN JOSE, CA) May 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

For my 4 year old son who happens to love Diego this game was perfect! It kept him entertained and it was easy for him to use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game for young kids!

posted by bugspayfl (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

My son (5) has tried many games and has a hard time with the button patterns and controller layouts. He often asks me for help and can become frustrated. Not with this game. The button pattern and controller movements are easy to do. He has played it all the way through without any help. The voice instructions and on screen pictures show him how to play at each juncture. It also follows the t.v. show and has kept him glued to the controller. I would highly recommend this game to people with young children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

4 Year Old loves it!!

posted by Moriega (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I have a four year daughter that loves the game. We have other games that are "family and kid" oriented but its still soo hard for her. But she does really good with this game. I would recommended it to anybody with kids 3-5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great for the little ones

posted by Zerogeo (ALPHARETTA, GA) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

While I gave the game a 6, my five year old loved this game for about a day. It was very basic, and he destroyed it in no time flat. Great for a quiet afternoon, maybe two....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

go diego go safari rescue

posted by austin0106 (GOLDSTON, NC) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

it is easy enough for a 4 year old to play. it is my sons new favorite game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The kids loved it!

posted by RonFitz (NORTH WOODSTOCK, NH) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Simple, somewhat repetitive game play for kids. Each level is only slightly more difficult then the previous one which works out very well for the young ones.

I am returning it and going to get the Dora's Snow Princess. I can tell from the screen shots that it is based on the same engine and game play. This should make a great transition game for them.

~ Ron Fitzgerald

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse