Rent Ghostbusters for PS2
view large frontback

Ghostbusters

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

358 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

its a decent game but bugs in the game

posted by embuster47 (ANDERSON, SC) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2004

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

now i enjoy this game because its based on the movie and i wanted to give it a try and the gameplay is glitchy and gets boring after a while but the graphics are not that great the characters looks cartoony but it does not matter the controls are easy to remember and the game freezes randomly and that is a bug in the game i think they should have tested the game before release of the game if you a ghostbusters fan give this a rental but not a buy because you never know when it will freeze up on you just beware of the bug happy gaming and enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ockword problems

posted by airplane (MANSFIELD, TX) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ghostbusters is on the ps2 a fair game but more unrealistic compared to the ps3 version. Due to the animations put in the game, but it is pretty fun in as far as playing terms go.Still I would consider the ps3 version. One of the problems on the ps2 is that if you chose o girl as your player, people call you a him,he,or mister.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a little tip when scaning

posted by dididothat (SIGNAL MOUNTAIN, TN) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

[1st things 1st] you,i mit think the select button is just a review guide but it can help with finding the scans by pressing on all the top ones that is under scan or look 4 the dark ones!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ghostbusters

posted by ericlane (MARION, LA) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A very exciting game.When i first got it i wanted something to play. It is really fun,except the controls.Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME REMAKE OF THE GHOSTBUSTERS!!!!!

posted by Sonicfan1 (COVINGTON, LA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game has awesome levels, cool bosses, and SLIME!!!! The graphics however were like the Wii. I mean its a Playstation for crying out loud. If you rent the PS3 version it looks like a movie except you are the star rookie, while here it's like a cartoon movie. But it's an awesome game go rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ghostbusters

posted by jerbow34 (SAVANNAH, GA) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

there are alot of bugs in the game for ps2. it froze on me a bunch of times. graphics are good needs the bugs worked out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

starting up

posted by irishrory (MUSCATINE, IA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Had trouble starting the game and the game keep freezing up in the middle of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

really good game!!

posted by riper999 (SAINT JOSEPH, MO) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

in this game you fight I think stay puff,gray lady,& 4 or 5 other boss hope this. helped you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A dream come true... not really.

posted by CKU (KENOSHA, WI) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I never dreamed to be a Ghostbuster, but I did enjoy the movies as a kid, and even now as a bigger kid.

I found the game to be pretty good, it kept my interest, and it was pretty funny, in the form of the movies' original humor.

It didn't excite me to any levels astounding, but it was worth the play through, and even another after dusting the shelves. It would have been a shame if the game never came out, and I am glad it did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ghostbusters

posted by callie1808 (SANFORD, NC) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Ghostbusters for the PS2 is awesome ! I love blasting everything in site !!! Awesome game !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ghostbusters-PS2 version

posted by shadowmove (ENDICOTT, NY) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

The BGM(backround music),sfx,voice-overs,and 2 of the settings are perfect. The controlls arn't too hard to remember and the game itself gets very additive as you keep acomplishing objectives. The flaws about this game is that all of the original characters are in cartoon form, the graphics for all the settings arn't all that great, and some of the puzzles you need to figure out get pretty aggrevating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game got stuck

posted by teetee (OMAHA, NE) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

the game keep freezing on me. so i could play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Loved the movie, but game was far too young.

posted by jessiedg (CHARLOTTE, NC) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I absolutely LOVE Ghostbusters, so I was excited to try out the game, however.. Just after starting up this new game it was apparent that it follows a lot of the problems with movie-based games. There is absolutely no opportunity to use your mind at all, you follow a strict path through the storyline.

It would be good for younger game players, maybe around 10-14 years old but much older and you feel patronized by the low freedom of the game. I found battles with ghosts challenging, but mostly because the targeting system for the guns was hard to get used to. I would overshoot everything at first so mass damage would occur. However I don't know if my controller's joystick could be on the low-ability side since I don't play FPS on PS2.

It's a shame that a game built after a franchise that appeals to an older generation (I'm 22 years old) is actually more suited for a much much younger generation (one which probably don't know what Ghostbusters actually is.) Storyline was nice. I played longer just to feel like I was a new recruit to the Ghostbusters.

My recommendation is, Try it - Don't buy it. (unless you're raising a whole family of gaming Ghostbuster fans and your preteen seems really into it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ghostbusters the Game I Wish was Good

posted by 2015239 (SOUTH HAVEN, MN) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

When I saw this I was excited, until I played it. The game play was simple, easy, and one big GLITCH!!! I mean you'd be playing and saying "this is a breeze" then it would just stop then you'd have to start again and the same thing would happen again. The whole thing would be simple but they tried to jam too much into the game. The other thing was that the graphics were bad or cartoony I mean early PS2 games had better graphics than this. Also the enemies were too easy. Most of them would just slime you but you could just shoot it once and it would be ready to capture. Yet the story was ok it had a ghostbusters vibe from the beginning. The saddest thing though was I didn't even finish it, the thing wasn't even worth finishing and I even made it my duty to finish Superman Returns. Bottom line is that this game was bad I think because they tried to make a game based on a movie ( WHICH ALL SUCK) but the main lesson is LISTEN TO THE RATING MOST OF THE TIME IT'S RIGHT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Daughter like it

posted by crypt1 (LAURIUM, MI) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

But she got stuck on some parts so she quit and did'nt play no more so she like it but not that much.So i sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »