Rent Ghostbusters for Wii
view large frontback

Ghostbusters

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

1836 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth the wait?

posted by Junbug8 (HOLLAND, MI) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This game was really anticipated for everyone. When I first played it is when I hung out with my cousin and my aunt. The controls can be kinda hard to remember so I suggest always starting with an easy stage if you are playing with someone who hasn't played before. The game is very fun espicially on the wii I haven't played this game on other systems but my cousin has he said was really hard to play by himself. I knew he was going to say that. This game is best played with a friend why you ask? Because the other ghostbusters don't do almost a single thing they help a little but not enough.
Overall I like this game I wish the graphics were just a little better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Who ya gonna call? No, really, who?

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jul 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Remember the Ghostbusters? Apparently someone did, because they made a video game out of it. This has been hotly anticipated, but was it worth the hype?
I should note that this is meant to be a third installment in the Ghostbuster series. This is showcased by the original cast lending their voices to the game. And all the signatures of the series, from the pack on your back, Slimer's cage, the firehouse, Ecto-1, the Ghostbusters theme, etc., are incorporated for maximum geek-out.
It's too bad the story doesn't live up to the franchise. On this outing, the guys in gray are fighting Shandor, who likes to make them run to signature locales to shut down access points to the ghost world. Let's put it this way: he's no Gozer.
The game puts you in the shoes of a rookie, there to accompany the Ghostbusters on their quest to stop Shandor. You also get to be the guinea pig who tests new equipment. In addition to your blaster, you get a burst weapon (shotgun) and slime cannon. You also get a PKE meter, which can locate ghost signatures and scan them. Scanning ghosts and collecting art cards will eventually unlock bonuses.
As you wander through each level, wearing out ghosts, slamming them into walls and throwing out traps for their capture, you'll realize how often you go through that tedious process. You can also cause massive destruction to force Walter Peck into bankruptcy, but it has no really effect on the game.
While the gameplay feels pretty solid, it's not very deep. Levels are linear, puzzles are basic, bosses function in similar ways and your team members mostly just need you to revive them... constantly. And there are technical issues with targeting and motion controls.
For fans of the series, Ghostbusters offer a good but short experience. You will likely be underwhelmed because of the anticipation, but on face value, it's got enough style to sustain it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The movie's way better than this dud of a game.

posted by Funfan12 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

Ghostbusters: The Video Game has been highly anticipated, but is actually very much like a waste of time. I have always LOVED the movies so I had high hopes for this game. But this game is actually pretty stupid and should be skipped.
It's nothing more than a platformer--you just walk around with a blaster shooting and scanning ghosts. The gameplay is very difficult. For example when you fight a ghost sometimes it will run away and you must continue battling when you find him. There are no hints and you might walk around the poorly designed rooms 100 times finding him. The graphics are terrible, you would have seen these graphics 10 or maybe 15 years ago. By the end of the game busting the ghosts seems like a chore instead of fun.
The camera angles are awful, you must rely on the angle of your Wii Remote. If you accidentally tilt it, your camera angle will spin all around. And the movement is terrible. Your character can't move at all but except up and down and to the sides in a creepy way like they do in all of those first-person shooting games.
Ghostbusters: The Video Game may have recieved a 7.5/10 from Nintendo Power. And even though I'm not a picky grader, I thought this game was a major dissappointment and was truly awful in so many respects it is hard to fathom.
I urge you to rent the movie and pop popcorn instead of getting this game. Unfinished, sloppy-looking and difficult, Ghostbusters: The Video Game joins my list of WORST WII GAMES OF THE YEAR.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse