Rent Ghostbusters for Wii
view large frontback

Ghostbusters

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

1834 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect

posted by myobuu (WILMETTE, IL) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Personally this game is pretty much everything you could want in a ghostbusters game and more..
It exceeded my expectations and more
if you are a big ghoustbusters fan you MUST at least rent this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

New ways to fight the paranormal

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Who are you going to call? Well, if you're looking for a great shooting game where you blast (and catch) ghosts, then you might want to dial up this game.
Ghostbusters has you as a new recruit; you tag along with the other four members of the team (the same guys from the two movies), trapping and defeating ghosts.
To trap a ghost, you first weaken it until it's life bar turns all red. Then, you draw out your basic weapon, hold the stream on the ghost. You get a flashing red arrow point either up, down, left or right.
You jerk the Wiimore in the indiciated direction, and you slam the ghost against the walls, ceiling or floor, taking a chunk of red out of the red bar.
When the bar is empty, you lay a trap by using the Nunchuck and Z button. Then, you drag the ghost over onto the trap and you've caught it.
With other ghosts, you just blast them until their life bar is emptied.
But the game is much more complicated than that; you get more weapons, like a shotgun-like gun and a gun that shoots ooze. All three guns get a secondary function later on in the game.
The ghosts also change throughout the game; they get much tougher. Sometimes you have hit the ghost with ooze or a mine or a freeze ray (shotgun's secondary function) before you can attempt to catch it.
The new weapons and ghosts, and the interesting boss battles, stops the game from getting too stale or to boring. There's always something new to uncover in the next section of the game.
And it's always more fun to have a friend join the fight in a split screen mode. It makes the game easier, and you can revive each other if one of you is defeated by the ghostly threats.
But the game goes about five to six hours, leaving some hard core gamers wanting more.
And they've added the gimmick of hiding lots of cards on the levels - most of which aren't very intersting.
Still, Ghostbusters is a fresh idea on a third person shooter. I say give it a try and decide for yourself if you want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but flawed.

posted by brainofj (HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI) Nov 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Graphics: A mixed bag, for sure. Some of the character models look great (Egon, Winston, Janine), but some are way off the mark (Venkman, Ray). And on more than one occasion, the game has issues with draw distance and pop-in, especially the "Under New Management" chapter, where the lobby will disappear and reappear at will.

Sound: For the most part, the vocal work is tremendous. Almost everybody is on target in their roles ... except for Alyssa Milano, who is totally unconvincing, and Bill Murray, who is alternately almost inaudible or very, very bored-sounding. And Venkman is scripted as a cheesy horndog, showing none of the wit and charm from the movies.

Gameplay: For the most part, it's pretty fun. The controls are intuitive, and the missions are fun. Only on one or two instances is there controls issues (pulling things toward you, for instance), but really, this is where the game shines.

Replayability: Well, if you don't get every ghost scan or Tobin's page, you have a reason to run through again. But since you can replay missions during the story itself, and the game is maybe 6-8 hours long, a good player can exhaust all the game has to offer in a long weekend.

Overall: It's fun, and it has the seeds of a greater game in it ... but the voice work is inconsistent, the graphics need some touching up, and the length is just pathetic. This is the kind of game Gamefly was made for, but definitely not a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ghostbusters on Wii, as good as watching a movie

posted by mlthmp (ALBERTVILLE, AL) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

First off, let me say that this game will go down as a Wii classic. It has everything that Ghostbusters, and general gaming fans look for in video games. It has action, it has strategy, and it has something alot of games today serious lack...a good story line.

The rumors are true, this game acts as the 3rd "movie" in the GB franchise, and it lives up to the previous two films perfectly. The cut scenes in the game really give you the feeling you're watching "Ghostbusters 3) and even better than that you get to take part in the busting.

The Good,
The graphics are just great. I've played this game on all 3 current-gen consoles. Let me say one thing, graphics does NOT a game make. The Wii version of this game is EVERYBIT as fun and exciting as the PS3 and 360 versions. I actually tend to like the graphics better than the others. Reminds me of watching an episode of "The Real Ghostbusters"

Gameplay is fun and exciting. While there are drawbacks (see "The Bad" below) the controls really give the impression you're busting ghosts along with the GBs!

The Bad,
The controls are "iffy" at best. As with most Wii games if your hand shakes for a second you'r players line of sight goes all over the place. This is quite annoying, but its common place with the Wii. Nothing major, but its worth mentioning.

Load times are longer than they should be, but thats nitpicking.

Overall,
To be honest, I have to rate this game 9/10. It's fun, addicting, and challenging. All in all you can't ask for more from a video game! The graphics fit in nicely with the Wii, and the whole experience really brings a nostalgic feeling for all GB fans. In addition, compared to the PS3 and 360 versions, I believe the Wii version is slightly longer and has a better overall story line. While its similar to the other versions there are slight differences that make the Wii version a bit more involved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

98% Perfect

posted by attilio (East Elmhurst, NY) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

GAMEPLAY:
I think the gameplay is pretty good. The only thing is that your character seems to have only one movement speed... running. However that is not a problem, especially since it is pretty fun to play. There is an excellent balance between push-button and motion control of the game. You only need to swing the remote when throwing a ghost around. The buttons really take care of the rest.

GRAPHICS:
The graphics are actually pretty good. They are not great like in Super Smash, but they are definitely better than some other games. This is just another piece of evidence that the Wii can still have a fun game even though it isn't HD.

THE BAD:
Overall the Ghostbusters is a pretty good game. My only complaint is that the camera is controlled by the Wii remote's sensor. If you point the left the camera turns left, if you point the right the camera turns right. However it comes in handy when shooting your beam at those blasted ghosts. I guess this is a win/lose situation, but that is my opinion. Perhaps if the camera turned a bit faster then it wouldn't be as annoying for me. However don't let this deter you from playing this amazing game.

SUMMARY:
If you are a fan of Ghostbusters (especially if you grew up with it like I did) then you should definitely rent/buy this game because it is worth it. I've only played with it for an hour and I love it.

BUSTIN MAKES ME FEEL GOOD!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Return of a Legend

posted by noteblastr (FAIRFIELD, TX) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ghostbusters is a great game that stays true to the movies and offers a great storyline. I read an article describe Ghostbusters as a third movie in game form…and yes, this game delivers! It was refreshing to play a game with an actual plot rather than a succession of random explosions and mindless dialogue. The plot dives deep into the stories of the first and second movies revealing the events that set it all in motion. It makes the game play addictive -- you just want to get to advance to the next level to see what happens! The environments are very well done, small details from the films are everywhere. It’s a strange feeling if you are familiar with the films…it’s like you’ve been there before. The original soundtrack works well with the game too, it's amaxing how they integrated it all together. Busting ghosts looks and feels much like the experience in the movies. The best part of the game has to be the voice acting and writing. I found myself laughing several times during game play, usually humor in games is cheesy and doesn’t work at all.

The problem with long anticipated games is expectations grow too high. This isn’t the best game ever made but it is indeed very good. Here is why I didn’t give the game a 10:

The system for busting ghosts would be great if you didn’t have to ‘slam’ them into the walls. This sounds like it could be a lot of fun but it grows tedious because there is something about the Wii controller interface (I think) that bogs down during this process and it takes forever to finish off a ghost. And you have to do this for most types of ghosts, even after you’ve blasted them with a variety of cool weapons--it just doesn’t seem necessary. Why not just zap and trap?!
Also, the downside to having a great linear game with a great plot is that the replay value goes down. I would have liked to have seen something a little more open ended...Overall, I still really like this title.

Fans of the Ghostbusters MUST play this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ghostbusters: an eclectic look at mediocrity

posted by GregBards (CULVER CITY, CA) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I received Ghostbusters via Gamefly two nights ago and it's already won and done. As I say that, I realize it sounds like it was an incredible thrill from beginning to end...but if I were to suggest such a thing I'd be lying to you. It is not that the game is terrible...far from it. In fact, some elements of the game are great...but when it was over, I was left feeling rather indifferent.

The graphics and level environments reminded me a lot of Goldeneye for Nintendo 64. When I first started Ghostbusters, I gleefully ran down every corridor with my proton pack admiring the ability to demolish furniture and shoot out light fixtures (just as I always did in Goldeneye). As the game progressed, however, the gag faded faster than Fruit Stripe gum.

Once the game journeyed into it's 3rd hour, I grew weary of the repetitive missions. For example, I can't tell you how many times I carried batteries around with my proton beam so I could drop them in a hole and make a door open. I know this is a video game so a little repetition can be expected but the developers of this game put repetition in all the wrong places.

The same, unfortunately, must be said for the gameplay. Wrangling ghosts is surprisingly fun at first...but once you've done it for a 20th or 30th time, you might be left wondering "is this it?" Yes, that is it. The ghosts get stronger and you receive new weapons as your foes pose more of a challenge, but the increased difficulty doesn't change the fact that you're doing the same mundane tasks in the final stage that you were in the first.

That being said, the great voice acting from the original actors and easy controls made it easy to keep playing even during the times when I wasn't particularly enjoying myself. If the game lacked these elements, I never would have been able to complete the quest. However, the fact that they managed to score the original actors for a video game adaption makes me wonder how great they thought this game would be. Oh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ghostbusters review

posted by garryj35 (Rice Lake, WI) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

game is really fun and it captures material from both movies, i love games that are also movies. get to live the experiance all over again !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not as good as I was hoping

posted by Maxwell15 (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Very hard to move the characters...basically gave up playing after 20 minutes b/c it was so frustrating. Glad I rented it and did not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ghost Bust

posted by stepholive (ARCATA, CA) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was FUN until I couldn't get all 3 batteries into the generator located in the hotel kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kinda Poopy

posted by bugsycline (Front Royal, VA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of the movie you should rent it for the nostalgia effect of seeing locations from the movie. they did a good job in the graphics and the sound track.

However the control is terrible. at times the game play is confussing, you end up walking around going "what am I supposed to do?" therefore the game play is not fluent.

As A fan of the movie I was glad to play it, the cut scenes were funny and the makers used the voices of Bill Murry, Dan Akroyd and Harrold Ramis.
wich gave this crummy game some needed life.

Rent don't buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's ok

posted by ems455 (GROVE CITY, OH) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's ok. I didn't like the graphics and the settings are a little off when trying to catch ghost. Might be better played with hanheld controls and not very good for Wii entertainment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kinda fun, not a challenge though.

posted by Lairdo (MARION, OH) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has it's ups and downs. On the "up" side, it was rather entertaining and at times, amusing. The cut-scenes had some laughs and the voice-overs were pretty good too. I found the controls worked well, as far as controlling camera and player movement are concerned. The "art collecting" was fun...kinda gave you a little something to do on the side while you played. In the game you never really "die". Someone always revives you when you're weak, as in turn, you can revive others as well. Not really sure if that's an "up" or a "down" but, whatever.

On the "down side", the story-line sort of lacked meaning and was unorganized. I didn't really pay much attention to the "story", if that's what you want to call it. The controls for changing weapons was very simple and this is a good thing because, especially in the later stages of the game, you have to switch weapons A LOT!! Many enemies and almost all of the bosses require you to hit them with various weapons at various times. I was often confused by what I actually had to do to defeat many of them. The other characters in your group would often give you hints on what to do during battles, but their "voices" came through so weak in volume that you couldn't really hear what they were saying. And, you were generally running around concentrating on other things at the same time, making it even harder to comprehend them.

Overall, it's a good game to rent. It's actually quite easy to beat but at the same time it's pretty fun. There are bonuses to be unlocked and so-forth but, I didn't keep it long enough to do any of that. In my view, only die-hard Ghostbusters fans would perhaps consider buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is fun

posted by spiderman3 (CINCINNATI, OH) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i had this game befor on ps2 now i have a wii so i wated to get for wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by whoppin (DELTA JUNCTION, AK) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is good and the gameplay is magnificent you guys should really try this game out you will love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ghostbusters

posted by sbrown (ELMHURST, IL) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is great. Brings me back to my childhood. Lots of the story ties into the movies. The voices are great and the graphics are really good although Venkeman looks a little strange. Adding weapons each few levels makes the gameplay more interesting as you can experiment as to which weapon works best in different situations. It is obvious that a lot of work went into every aspect of the game especially the plot. If you love the movies you should really enjoy the game. And don't worry if you are not a true gamer as the easy level provides enough challenge but allows the average person to move through each level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game was bugged

posted by WIllowfire (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game was fun, but bugged. Good story line and action, but halfway through we found it was bugged and we could not proceed. Restarted it and all. We did not want to start all the way over so it ended up being disappointing. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game!

posted by jralpaca (GREENSBORO, NC) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

The game play and story are both great, the only issue I have is the controls for this Wii version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is da game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by acoolgamer (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I love it!perfect controlls,okay graphics,and fun!The story is good and the caracters are voiced by the actors from the movie! 10/10(my opinions!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not one of Nintendo's better days

posted by PKMN37 (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This is what happens when you release a game on multiple systems and then change it to a lower rating on a few of them. The art is ugly, the levels are too short and over-simplified, and the game's too easy. It lacks the awesomeness that the much more superior version on XBOX 360 has. The controls in the Wii version can be a bit wonky, especially when trying to capture ghosts. You can accidentally release them when trying to slam them into a wall, because you can accidentally move the Wii cursor off the screen. The levels lack atmosphere because there's so little to look at in the areas around you. Let's not forget how you collect data on the ghosts in this version. In the 360 version, you just scan them and that's it. In the Wii version, you scan them but also need to find some stupid magazine page hidden somewhere in the level to complete it. The bosses are ludicrously easy so you rarely ever have to worry about dying. Nintendo, if I may ask a favor of you, if you're going to make your own version of a game that has a multi-system release, don't do it like this again. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ghostbusters On Wii

posted by PJR351W (FORT PIERCE, FL) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

The Game Is Ok on wii but 100% better on Xbox 360. The graphics suck and game play is ok, But the ghost are too fake looking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

short but fun

posted by lilpaul (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

GHOST BUSTERS is a really fun game buts it is short i beat the game in 3 days the levels are fun to replay they are some short levels in the game there is on level i HATE SO MUCH! it is called river of slime this level is so annoying i die a bunch of times in this level! it is fun beating up ghost you can slam them with motion controls it is really fun! i play this game with my friend it was really fun even if you beat this game you could reply the levels and you could also scan the ghost in the game collect the pictures or unlock the cool things
even if this game is short and easy it is still worth a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

funfunfun!

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) May 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

ok, I have to admit, the ps3 and 360 versions are much better, but the wii version does have a lot to offer. The controls are basic, almost like a fps on wii, if not exactly. The game itself is cartoonish, but again, its the wii. It may have those few flaws, but it allows character selection (well, male/female) which the others do not, it allows 2 people to play at the same time (might be split screen, I did not try this, though you could play online with the others, but you don't have to here). It is shorter than the ps3/xbox version, such as the training mission at the beginning. But overall, it is a very fun game to play on the wii, I recommend atleast renting it to give it a shot, unless you just hate Ghostbusters... but then, why bother even looking into the game? If you are a fan and want to play a fun wii game, check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is better than most give it credit for.

posted by karrde (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I'd really give this a 7.5, but the ratings are in whole digits. Most of the complaints with this game are graphics, camera angles, or repetitiveness. The graphics are lower quality than the ps3 or the xbox 360 version. That is a fact. However the wii is not a high def system. So this isn't a valid reason to ding the game. You need to compare apples to apples. Frankly I like the cartoonisness over the other versions. The camera angles are not great. This is one of the bad parts of the game this is fair. I might add though God of War 1 & 2 has just as bad angles but they get 9 or 10 from gamers I think this is ok. Repetivieness, this is in the eye of the beholder. I didn't see it any different than other games. The controls probably are what people are really complaining about you have to wave the wii remote to stun ghosts. Its innovative but gets old.

The story makes up for most of the issues. So if you think this is a bad game it isn't. For those of you like me though you might think its too easy, so play on the hardest setting if you are used to god of war. Otherwise you'll end up returning the game in 1-2 days. I think i had it for 30 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by chops80 (TAMAROA, IL) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

use to own this game was fun you fight characters from both 2 movies an feels like you're making 3rd ghostbuster movie my 5 yr old even liked it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse