Rent Ghostbusters for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Ghostbusters

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Movies, PS2, PS3, Wii, DS
GF Rating
7.3

13550 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short, Fun, Good Rental

posted by Lucasan (ALLSTON, MA) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

112 out of 118 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

The title about sums it up. THe game is really a lot of fun, especially for Ghostbusters fans, AKA anyone who feels a bit of nostalgia when they hear Ray Parker Jr's Ghostbusters theme (youtube it, it's worth it: /watch?v=g4uxIo4t7xM). Lots of goodies for fans of the series, and the voice acting of all four ghostbusters by the original actors is a huge, huge plus, not to mention they're great at it. Bill Murray is hilarious, as usual.

When I beat it on my second sitting (it's a short game), this thought came to mind: 'This is everything that a movie licensed game should be.'

I won't give away the plot, but basically you're a nameless, dialogue-less newb blindly following orders. The story itself ok, but the dialogue is almost always superb. Using the proton pack and capturing ghosts is about as fun as it gets, though there are weapon variations as well as some memorable boss battles to mix things up. It plays as a competent 3rd person shooter, a la Gears of War, even if the proton pack feels a bit unconventional at first.

There are a couple of negatives to the game. The spaces they give you to work in often feel small, cramped, cluttered, while the game itself is very short and linear. THe linearity adds to the game feeling more like a movie, which makes it understandable, but the single player is over in about 7 hours or so.

Didn't try the multiplayer.

Overall, this is a blast for Ghostbusters fans, though I'm not sure non-fans will get nearly as much enjoyment out of it. However, if you haven't seen the movies, it could be a perfect time to catch up while you wait to play this game. Either way, rent it, don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Ain't Fraid of No...

posted by Malice1 (CHULA VISTA, CA) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

43 out of 46 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Fans of the material are always harder on games than others. That being said, I was very skeptical going in to Ghostbusters: The Video Game.
Unlike hundreds of movie titles, this does not coenside with a film release to cash in, so my hopes were up. And I am happy to say, I am not disappointed. This game drops you into the world of the Ghostbusters and lets you just enjoy it. Every little detail is present, down to the dancing toaster from the second film. They really give fans a treat by recreating the material with honesty.
The story revolves around the core 4 members of the Ghostbusting team, while you play as a lowly new recruit, and that fact makes for some great one liners from Ghostbusting veterans. The games story plays out nicely combining historical aspects into a brand new adventure.
The gameplay is fluid, and just down right fun. Your main weapon is the proton pack/ghost trap combo, set in an over the shoulder 3rd person shooter view. However, the game does mix up your tools with some "untested" equipment, that of course, you get to try out first. No distracting hud, all the info you need is displayed on the pack itself.
The graphics are not mind blowing, but they are very well done. The CG looks beautiful, but some of the cut scenes are done using the in-game engine, and can be slightly distracting, considering how nice the other stuff looks.
The sound is solid, from the proton pack turning on, to the beams blasting away, the music and voice acting is all spot on. All the origional cast is back to lend thier voice, and all do an excellent job. The one thing I really liked was that in the middle of it all, they continued to communicate, giving you a real sense of being IN the action.
I don't have enough room to go into the Multiplayer, but it is also pretty fun. No 4 player story, but the gamemodes they give you are at least entertaining.

Rent it, buy it, it's your call, but do yourself a favor and play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun romp for sentimental moments

posted by calebsdad (Bellevue, NE) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this was very funny, a great trip down memory lane, and would have been a great movie plot (15 years ago). The graphics are solid, voice acting and script are top notch, and the game play is sound though can be a bit confusing at times. The trouble with this title is it gets old too fast. Before it was over I found myself wishing that it was doing something different or more something not that I know what that something would be. Fun to rent, not to buy unless on-line is your bag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bustin makes me feel GOOD!!!!

posted by KayotixTX (CANYON LAKE, TX) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

72 out of 83 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Ok, if your a Ghostbusters fan just go out and grab this game, buy it or rent it just PLAY IT!!!!!

From the moment the opening scene was rolling i was all giddy with excitement and once the theme song came on it was Ghostbuster fanboy overload!!!! This game picks up a few years after GBII and it feels like a new movie was released, except this time YOUR in it.

Voice acting is great, graphics are amazing (expecially the CG scenes) no HUD to distract you from the moment and so many easter eggs to find, if your a fan you will eat this game up. Single player is 6-10 hours depending on difficulty and if you go after all the unlocks and achievements.

Busting ghosts online or in single player is just FUN!!!! Flat out FUN!!! Now all of us who grew up watching the original films can jump in and fullfill our dreams of busting ghosts!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Outstanding Game

posted by TheManxX72 (NATICK, MA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

As a child of the 70's and 80's, to truly play as a ghostbuster in a video game has always been a dream. Now with my own kids, playing this title on my 50" LCD, mind blowing and a ton of fun! A Must Rent!

Graphics: 9
Sound: 9
Gameplay: 8

Pro's: Your a Ghostbuster! Proton pack anyone?

Cons: Career is very short, multiplayer is good but loses its luster quickly.

Great rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Who You Gonna Call?

posted by Berserker (EUNICE, LA) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of The Ghostbusters Movies, then you have to play Ghostbusters: The Video Game. This game is the best movie license game I've played so far.What makes this game so good, is the it was written by Harold Ramis and Dan Aykroyd. The characters are voiced by by the stars of the movies: Dan Aykroyd, Bill Murray, Harold Ramis, and Ernie Hudson.

Weakening and trapping your enemies is the most enjoyable activity in the game. You'll face off against an interesting variety of enemies including some terrific-looking bosses.

The only minor issue I had with this game is that if you get hit once or twice you get knocked down right away. Other than that this game is Awesome.

The story will take you seven hours or so to finish, depending on how much time you spend searching for hidden artifacts. Taking your busting online is rather enjoyable, and while the action itself is relatively simple, trapping ghosts with your buddies cooperatively is good fun.

The sound effects are fantastic, from eerie whispers in hotel hallways and groans of bosses to the whooshes and slurps of pulling a ghost into a trap.

The character models do a great job of re-creating the actors as they appeared in the films.

If you're a fan of the films, then you need to go ahead & pick up your copy.This is a fun game to play, & it is worth the money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fulfilling a childhood dream...

posted by SSGTaylor (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Ghostbusters is the first movie I vividly can remember seeing in the theater. I was seven years old. It fascinated me, made me laugh and scared the bejeesus out of me all at the same time. From that moment on I dreamed of being a Ghostbuster. This game finally gives you that opportunity and it is one of the funnest, most cathartic times I've had playing a game. Granted, the story (especially the female love interest/scientist) character didn't do it for me... but the Ghostbusting itself was everything you would want. That all the characters were there was awesome. They even got Max Von Sydow to read lines for the painting from GB2 that doesn't even figure into the story. Amazing. The only part that had me throwing my controller was the part in the cemetery gates where these cherub statues are missling you and dive bombing you like crazy, and there's no way to stop it. And Ray dies at the same time usually. Very cheap. Also, when you die, there is about a minute of load time to get back to a point you were just at 10 seconds ago in the game. Why?! The bosses were visually impressive but too easy. Slime tether puzzles are fun. Overall, very good, if a little nonsensical and too self-referential plot-wise, where the characters are cheekily "Oh NO! Not again!" Is it too much to hope for a sequel?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Gameplay/Hilarious

posted by KPHM42 (GRAND HAVEN, MI) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge Ghostbusters fan, so I went in being very critical about how they were going to pull off a game that's also like a movie. But, knowing Ramis and Company, they pulled it off! The gameplay is awesome (makes you feel like an actual Ghostbuster), the story is great, and the graphics are also very good. It is a bit short, but then again it's supposed to be like a movie, to the point. Despite only having seven stages, the stages themselves are fairly long and very challenging. It actually takes skill and tactics to beat the game, which makes it have a high replay value. I can't wait to jump online and try out the game on XBOX LIVE. Who you gonna call?! Whoever has a copy of Ghostbusters so you can go play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

That is correct this man has no . . .

posted by zombiemike (UNIVERSAL CITY, TX) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Everything in this movie is directed for the fans. From the achievement quotes to the objects in the game to even lines that the cast delivers. This game delivers to the fans. Everything in it is for a hardcore fan. There is stuff from the ghostbusters cartoons and even the original video games. The amazing level of attention to detail for the fans is . . . well amazing.

There are so many tiny details that someone who wasn't a fan would just skip over where as a super fan would just sit there and be amazed, pointing out things in the fire house going,"OH MAN! I REMEMBER THAT! OH HOLY S---! THATS THERE TOO!? WOW!" This game delivers.

Oh and as a plus it plays fantastically. So not only do you have a game that is good but a game that delivers on every aspect as a fan game.

So in your face bad Licenced games IN YOUR FACE!

The only downside to this game is that maybe it wouldn't be for a non hardcore fan. That there are so many inside jokes that some things the busters say may fall flat to people.
Early example is that Bill Murray gets slimed by Slimer and while he's laying on the ground he goes,"Ugh! Funkdified again!" A reference to his line in the first movie where he is Slimed and says,"Oh god. . . I feel so funky."

So if your a super fan I suggest you play this game. If your just interested try it because its a very solid well polished game that deserves to be played or even bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ghost Busters

posted by Demious (SPEEDWELL, TN) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I give Ghost Busters a 9.0 It is a wonderful game with lots of busting ghosts and a great since of humor from the original cast of the movies. Its easy to pick up and play and the controls are also easy to use. It has a wonderful storyline that picks up right from the end of the second movie and the bosses and the ghost are all unique. The only minus to the game to me is when your fighting a bunch of enemies is that your teammates get knocked down over and over again and it can be a little frusterating trying to fight and get them back on there feet. But everything else about the game will have you addicted and coming back for more. And if you are a true gamer and a fan of the movies and have been waiting for a great game to finaly come out then this is it. Ghost Busters is a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What Gamers alwayz wanted from a Movie Game

posted by tonymonges (PLAINSBORO, NJ) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun. It is what everyone wants from a movie game. Im still trying 2 find out why activision dropped this game and kept prototype.That game was a xbox port with xbox 360 cutscenes. Anyway this is a very fun game. I think U should Play this game even if U dont know who the ghostbusters R U will enjoy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loads of fun, but too short.

posted by g3020284 (FORT SILL, OK) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun to play, especially if you enjoyed the movies. However, you don’t have to be a fan in order to enjoy rounding up ghosts. I think the biggest issue with this game was it truly was entirely too short. The levels should have been broken down into sub chapters. I completed this game in a week and found all the collectables in the process. Although, I did have to play a couple of the levels more than once. The dialogue in this game is outstanding. I t almost feels like Ghostbusters three. I think most people will enjoy this game but I would not run out to buy it today. I would consider it a solid rental though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Pure Awesome

posted by Skinny (THEODORE, AL) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Just read all of the other reviews. I'm just here to say this game kicks butt.

And if you're wondering why there's Low Availability, it's because people like me are clicking the "Keep It" button.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ghostbusters Review

posted by yum2001 (AKRON, OH) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I think this game was sweet if you have ever watched the movies. The only negative thing i can say of this game is it should have a co-op mode and it should be longer. I beat it in around 4-6 hrs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ghost Bustin!

posted by Loganlue (LINCOLN, NE) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this game. The graphics were nice and the gameplay never got old. The online is actually very enjoyable until you get noobs that try to steal the ghost you are trying to capture. The achievements are pretty easy if you follow a guide you can get 800+ easy. You wont regret playing this game if you rent it.

A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally got a great game based on a movie.

posted by n3omoto (SAVANNAH, TN) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It never fails that when a game comes out based on a movie, it will totally suck. This is not the case here. This game really does clear up a lot of questions a fan might have based on the previous movies. The only negative I have with this game is the load time after you die. It seems to take longer than it should, but the great HD graphics make up for my gripe. I will call this one a renter based on how fast you can get through campaign. ONLY get this game if you are a fan. Otherwise you might be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the Best

posted by Renegadex (NEPTUNE, NJ) Jun 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

One of the Best movie games i have ever played. The single player mode is kind of short but don't forget there is online play. Both are fun and will keep you catching ghosts for hours. 100% worth the rent. I beat it in two sittings and glad i did so that i could send it back for someone else to have a chance to try this amazing movie game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just like the movies...

posted by SandEman (HENRICO, VA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a load of fun. It can be frustrating at times, but the overall atmosphere of the game is extremely nostalgic, and puts simple fun back on the map.
Remember Super Nintendo, Nintendo 64, Sega Genesis, Dreamcast, etc...? That's the feeling I get.

Most games nowadays have complex controls, which can be great, but they can also be a little much at times. This game has just enough complexity and doesn't over saturate the senses.

The graphics are great and the references are fantastic.
Have fun with this one!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ghostbusters Fans, Play.. This.. Game.. NOW

posted by RaajTM (MERCED, CA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Me and the Ghostbusters go way back, back enough to make me feel pretty old. But enough to know that as i age sometimes old things never change.

I didn't get a chance with the multiplayer like I wanted so I can't really make a comment about that.

The singleplayer I found really enjoyable, as they wanted all along this was to be the 3rd movie and for any fan of the first couple movies and even cartoon I thoroughly enjoyed it the story. The gameplay may take a bit to get use to but over time it'll become second nature. Catching ghosts and trapping them in the trap had to be the best experiences playing through the game, I could not get enough of it!

The music is still top notch as i remembered it and the Ghostbusters likeness was right on, even their fire station and the Ecto-1. There are a few times you might tire of the theme song due to loading times after you get wiped though.

With that being said, I played through it on normal and wiping out was pretty annoying. Even when you got fellow Ghostbusters still running around they aren't always reliable and when they finally reach you it doesn't seem like a quick revive at all. That is probably my only real annoyance is the AI recovery and trying to keep them all alive. I did run into a few bugs where three of them go stuck on a wall during a ghost trapping and couldn't even move ahead cause of this, had to reload the mission from checkpoint. Thankfully it wasn't that long to get back to where I was, still it was a nuisance.

The levels are a good size and are balances well between ghost trapping and solving puzzles. And I am going to nit pick a bit here, the lesser ghosts were a hassle, just blast them and they fizzle away.. I just wanted to stick to the good ol' trapping of the real ones. Boss fighters are unique as well. The last boss was probably the most fun next to the Stay Puff nostalgia, and the banter during it was pretty hilarious between Egon and Ray.

If you are a fan, rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HONES REVIEW

posted by MigPortes (BRONX, NY) Jun 29, 2009

Member since May 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game feels like a continuation of the movies. And thats what it was meant to be.
THE GOOD: The Graphics are great, controls are very responsive, and catching ghosts tends to be very fun.

THE BAD: Personally, I found the game to be quite short, and it left me wanting to kick more ghosts' butts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bust'n made me feel good!

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Jun 20, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

They hit it square on. Everything from the graphics to character models to ghosts. They used the actual actors for the cast which was great, and also used FaceFX to do the facial graphics. So not only were the voices genuine, so were the faces. This detail made playing the game much more appealing. You get to use the same equipment from the movies (proton pack, PKE meter) and they can be upgraded. The proton pack can switch between attack types when you aquire new ones. You'll get a freeze bean/shotgun type attack, a slime cannon/tether option, and a homing rapid pulse attack. Each ghost is weak to a specific attack type, but you can use any to defeat them. The PKE meter scans enemies and adds info to Tobin's Spirit Guide. You can then see what attacks work best. There are also cursed objects that are collectibles in the game. The plot is well done and parallels some parts of the GB movies. Events in the game take place after the movies as you'll see in the locales. The banter and remarks give it that humor the GBs are known for. The game itself isn't very long, but still worth playing. It would have been better if it was more of a free roam game, or at least allow you to go to different city locations apart from the main storyline. A few minor issues detracted from the game. The first being they would throw a lot of ghosts at you which sometimes made you feel overpowered. This happened on a few occasions and killed the flow of the game. There also isn't any evident checkpoint system, you don't know when you reach a checkpoint. It could at least given a message. As stated earlier, it was a bit short. They could have added more dept to make it longer. Overall, I think you'll enjoy visiting the locales from the movies, and seeing some old favorite like Slimer and Stay Puft.

THE GOOD
Character models
Environment detail
Voice overs
Plot

THE BAD
Short
Linear story

THE UGLY
Nothing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If they ask if your a god ........YOU SAY YES!

posted by AMicciolaj (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

What can I say as an extremely huge fan of Ghostbusters this game delivers what every fan would want in a game. Zap em and trap em and more delivers just a slice of what this game is about. I must say as a fan I was happy to hear that he core cast would be reprising their roles for the game. Graphically this game delivers in a big way, the likeness of the Ghostbusters is like as if you were watching a movie. There is a lot of little things in the game that make every fan of Ghostbusters have to make this a must buy. Gameplay is very fun and at times challenging but mostly just very fun and easy to adept to quickly. Rent, buy do what you have to do but GET THIS GAME NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bustin' will (mostly) make you feel good.

posted by Vamphaery (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 20, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When critiquing this, many have asked, "Would this game still be fun if it weren't Ghostbusters?" In my opinion this question is unfair, simply because the entire point of this game is to provide an experience which is authentically Ghostbusters in every way. Does the game rely on its liscense? Yes, and were it just a generic, unestablished franchise, odds are that it would be less well received. However, this is a Ghostbusters game, and faulting it for relying on its liscense would be like faulting Knights of the Old Republic for relying on its Star Wars source material.

This isn't your typical shooter. You spend more time playing tug-of-war in an effort to corral ghosts into your trusty traps, than you do simply aiming and shooting. This is incredibly satisfying once you get the hang of it. The mechanics of shooting, capturing, and sliming your way through enemies all work great, and feel visceral and real.

That's only one part of the game's excellent presentation. Everything from the smallest easter eggs to the most obvious gadgets are authentically, and accurately, Ghostbusters. The main characters are here, as are the tools of the trade, the firehouse, the lore, the comedic style, the spirit (no pun intended,) and the thematic elements of the films. The graphics are great, and the audio is top notch.

The game's shortcomings lie in its pacing (due to a lack of map or radar system resulting in aimless wandering,) and its difficulty curve which often borders on the maddeningly frustrating (due to the sheer number of enemies and their variety of different weaknesses having to be coped with at once - there's always an effective strategy to employ though, and practice makes perfect.) It also isn't very long, and there isn't much replay value.

As a love letter to Ghostbusters fans, though - some minor (yet frustrating) annoyances notwithstanding - they got it right. It's undeniably fun and nostalgic, and it's very playable. In this game, that's the bottom line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good but very short

posted by frozensear (SYRACUSE, NY) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

its a great game. the ultimate ghostbusters experience. excellent grafix and visuals thruout. could have used more types of ghosts and the lipsyncing was bad. and it fell short as i beat it in just under 7 1/2 hours. but you really must experience this game if you ever wanted to be a ghostbuster when you were a little kid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest game ever!

posted by KG420666 (BESSEMER, AL) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is quite literally the best game i have ever played. It's soooo much fun, and my nostalgia grows deeper with every ghost I capture!!!! I must admit, I got a bit giddy when I first saw my favorite childhood villain, The Stay Puft Marshmellow Man. I, along with countless others, have been waiting since I was a child for a third Ghostbusters movie, and this game is everthing i expected and more!!! A definate keeper!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse