Rent Ghost Squad for Wii
view large frontback

Ghost Squad

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

1289 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dated But Still Great

posted by Moose1220 (MICHIGAN CITY, IN) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ghost Squad is one of the first light-gun games for the Wii. It works very well despite the fact that the game is 3 years old. The controls are great and there is nothing more fun than pumping lead into those hostile terrorists. The Wii Zapper also works very well with the game. If your looking for a simple shoot-em-up, look no further than Ghost Squad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sega Has A Sleeper Hit; Despite Being Short!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 29, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It beat my expectations; looks can be deceiving!
I never played the 2004 version so I can't compare. However this is an almost perfect shooter for the Wii; the 2 main complaints is that it is short (3 missions Villa, Air Force One, and Jungle) and the interface could use a a bit more polishing. Another thing is that you have to play all the missions before you can play the unlocked level. This is a STRONG rent to a buy (the price is right)! It would be nice if Medal of Honor and Call of Duty use the same controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty Tight.

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

There are only 3 levels that you play over and over again...but the levels expand every time you play them, and you unlock more guns and different suits every time you play through, so it has excellent replay value plus you can play up to 4 players...so the game pretty much rocks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gun and Fun

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

With the release of two light gun style shooters, Ghost Squad and Resident Evil:UC, it looks like a fun time for those that just want to shoot stuff and let the game do the walking. Although RE seems to be a little bit of a disappointment, Ghost Squad makes it simple and fun.

Ghost Squad isn't actually new, it was actually a old arcade game from the days of the Dreamcast. But, don't think that this is just a simple port.
While the main game is there new party features have been added, as well as an online leader board, and slightly improved resolution.

Pros:
The game is just simple, shooting fun. Shooting fast and in the head gets extra points, rescue hostages, and reduce casualties. The main game is short, maybe a little over 30 minutes. But wait, don't worry. The game has re playability up the wazoo. Each mission has several different paths to take, and by leveling up your character, you can acquire new guns and costumes.

Cons:
This game is about shooting and racking up big points. If that isn't your thing and you want more story, than this isn't for you.

Probably the best thing about this game is that its retail price is only 30$. That is a very fair price for this game since it isn't deep nearly at all, but just plain fun. Rent to try it out, but I think you'll agree it's a good deal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Arcade Shooting Perfect on Wii

posted by raynes (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ghost Squad is an arcade game that came out in 2004. I’ve never played the original so I can’t give you a comparison. I can say that it plays much in the same way as Virtua Cop and House of the Dead. Your character walks around trying to kill terrorists and save hostages. It’s a light gun game so the emphasis is on shooting enemies.

The game has 3 different levels. While many reviews say this isn’t enough in a modern game, I disagree. Ghost Squad feels exactly like an arcade shooter. I know for my own personal taste, I play these games to shoot things. It doesn’t matter if I am playing the same level over and over. The joy is taking the gun and killing as much as possible hoping to get the best score as possible. This is where I think many of the people complaining are not seeing the point of light gun games. They have never been about level length or reaching the end. It’s all about shooting the most and getting the best score.

Ok, so maybe you are stuck on the 3 level part. You just can’t move beyond it being such a short game. Well maybe if I tell you it has the ability to have 4 people play at the same time shooting things? Stop a minute and really think what that means…. If you can have 4 guns at the same time, you could also have two at the same time. That means you could play with dual guns alone. Or you could play with someone else have each of you have dual guns. If that didn’t sell you on it, then I’m not sure anything would!

Ghost Squad is exactly what it’s meant to be, and arcade shooter. It doesn’t try to be anything else. It’s all about shooting things to get through simple levels and getting the best score. If you like games like house of dead or virtua cop you would be stupid not to get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

As expected, but short

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It's a light gun game and it does that well enough. There's nothing innovative but it's not bad either. I've certainly played better light gun games with more extras to shoot and more approaching targets on the screen but the only real flaw with this game was that it was much too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jackson1 (NAPERVILLE, IL) Sep 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is a perfect arcade shooter. converting the arcade game to wii was a stroke of pure genius on the part of the sega creators. overall, the game is very short, but unlockable costumes and weapons makes you play again and again and again. the weapons are all realistic, but recoil is nonexistant. still, who cares anyway. they have like 6 enemy types, but that helps maintain the fact that they are only simulations, and it doesn't matter that you are blowing them away with 300 rounds from a SAW. great job, sega!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Don't expect anything from Sega

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This is the 4th game by Sega on the Wii that is a disappointment. Sonic, Knights, and Alien syndrome are all major busts.

This game is fun to sit down and play through once and maybe twice. It reminded me of Hogan's Alley for the NES. It offers about as much content as well. The screen moves around and guys pop out and shoot at you. Basically you just shoot guys when they pop out. I felt like I had seen everything that the game had to offer after two hours. I don't know why anyone would ever actually buy this game.
graphics=fair music =bad play control=good
content=poor and boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BORING

posted by chris11 (FORT WORTH, TX) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

All you do is aim and shoot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by hatz827 (PALM CITY, FL) May 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

THIS GAME IS AMAZING. THE GRAFICS ARE PERFECT.besids the story being to short, it is a very very very very very very very very great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's a rent

posted by Kman97 (ROWLETT, TX) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I would rent this game unless you love rail-shooters and ghost squad and will play the game a lot. It is pretty fun but I got bored after like a week.Now I am going to rent it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!!!

posted by JBusch113 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This is probably one of the best games I've played on wii. If you like playing the shooting games at the arcade, well then this is the game for you! I use it with my perfect shot hand gun... The only downfall is that there are only 3 levels to the game. Other than that, this wil be a great addition to your game collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Shooting fun on rails

posted by Arcade4Lyf (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

This game is fun,short,but fun.Level up and makes it harder!Unlock funny looking costumes to reward you.For the price of $20 new it's well worth it.You will fly through this game,but try some setting changes and man it gets hard! Weapon upgrades and hostages are in the same spots all the time,but the ememy speed gets insane!! Unlock the swimsuit model/water guns and get some laughs.Dress up like a panda, or cowboy to the mix and the person walking in the room will be wondering what the heck are you playing!!! I was disapointed about the ratings it got,so I waited to play this.After renting it we bought it the next day!If you like House of the Dead style,on rails shooters, this is a must buy!Get some use of your zappers. We like to use 2 perfect shots and go John Woo style in a panda suit! Just like in reallife! Anyway play it for yourself and see,you'll have fun with it! If not I will hunt you down in my panda suit!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An Alright Game

posted by rondiamond (Northern Cambria, PA) Jun 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

This was an alright game but deffinatly ment for arcade action which I have heard it's been in arcades for about 4 years. It's an alright game to rent but wouldn't spend $20 dollars on it to keep it. It is alright for an every once in a great while play.

The only reason i gave it as 7 (and if it would not have had these features it wouldn't of got any more than a 5) is the fact the game does have some replayability. The more you play the harder it gets and you unlock more paths to get through the game. The costums and the unlockable guns deffinatly make for some interesting play.

As for party mode it would have been so much better if there wasn't only 3 ways to play it. I did get a kick out of paradise mode though. It is also fun with a 2nd player. But even then it begins to get boring after so many plays through.

If you are a big fan of lazor gun games then this is for you. I wouldn't buy it though unless you were a collector of these type of games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Coolest game ever

posted by call911 (SPOKANE, WA) Jun 12, 2009

Member since May 2009

Ghost squad was the cooloest game I ever played on the Wii. The ninja mode is really fun because you don'y have to reload. The paradise mode was a little stupid because you had to shoot girls. And it was fun to play the new expanded playtime because if you do arcade mode then on party mode you have something new to do! So overall this game was the coolest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome game!!

posted by RichardV (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

This game is great! Although it only has 3 levels and the bad guys are kind of cheezy, its fun to shoot people and it has a lot of unlockables not to mention the 4 players on one TV mutiplayer. awsome game! Rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ghost Squad is the shooter I wanted it to be!

posted by BlackOpsBe (OLATHE, KS) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

Everything I wanted this game to be or have, it did! Very fun! Even the training is surprisingly fun to compete with your friends in! Just like the good 'ol arcade shooters! Alot like time crisis, just without the cover aspect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So So Short

posted by BmoreBoi (BEL AIR, MD) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

As a fan of light gun games, it's nice to see them making a comeback on the Wii.

Ghost Squad is pretty much a direct port of the arcade game. That being said, it is what it is. A fast-paced, light gun shooter, and extremely short.

The game has just 3 missions. Not a problem when pumping quarters into it at the arcades when you only have a few minutes to play, but not worth a purchase at any price as console game.

This game is the epitome of rental only. DO NOT purchase under any circumstances. I got this from Gamefly, finished the whole game in a hour, packaged it back up and dropped it in the mailbox.

If you are into light gun games, it's a good way to kill an hour of time. Don't expect anymore from this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by brandnsmom (PENROSE, CO) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

My son is 7 and enjoyed this game quite a bit, it's pretty accurate with the Wii remote can't wait to try one of the guns with the game and see how that works.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Rating 10 All The Way

posted by Matthew31 (DES MOINES, IA) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

I totally love this game because I love shooting games from the Wii Gun.I love to blast the terrorist its so enjoyable.The effects and the background effects are awesome.And the storyline is jus plain cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by Reporter45 (MC LEAN, VA) Nov 13, 2008

Member since May 2005

THIS GAME IS TERRIBLE THERE ARE ONLY THREE LEVELS AND EVEN THOSE AREN'T VEY GOOD. I PLAYED THIS AT AN ARCADE AND ITS THE EXACT SAME GAME THEY DIDN'T EVEN BOTHER TO EXPAND THE GAME AT ALL!!!!!!!

TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lots of fun.

posted by ConWal (TYLER, TX) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

So im lookin round for a good shooter, and i end up downtown in the arcade playing house of the dead, and im there for way too long, so thats all i get to play. but something that kept catchin my eyes were the chick playing the virtual boxer game, and the name (and the game) Ghost squad. The guns were a lot cooler looking than anything that id used recently, and much more so than HotD 2, with the shotguns that i always wanted to hold to my shoulder but was too dang short, and the graphics werent bad.

So needless to say i never played the arcade version, but the wii one is pretty fun. i said fun, not innovative, its a port for god sake. Lots of cool guns to get, lots of fun co-op too (especially since i didnt have to pay a buck every time i died). one thing that i didnt expect was how well the wii mote translated to the tv (red steel anyone?). and i was kinda frustrated about the nunchuk, is it used? the instructions tab didnt explain it too well.

lots of fun, will consume you if youve got a partner especially.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Rent

posted by Andr00 (POMPANO BEACH, FL) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This is a cool game. There isn't too much to it, so I wouldn't suggest buying it, but this is a great rent. The graphics and music aren't incredible, but they offer up the same arcade feel, especially with the Wii Zapper funcionality. The contols are great and really easy to learn. Point at the screen, and press B to shoot, and sometimes you'll need to press the action button (A) to perform certain actions in the game. I would highly suggest renting this, ot because it's not worth the buy, it is to some people. But I would suggest giving this a rent so you can play throuh the short, light gun arcade mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sabvio

posted by ustrojans (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Aug 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

this game is amazing people who like the arcade will love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Replayable, Bad Voice Acting

posted by ShaneL (PORT ORANGE, FL) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I honestly think that this is a game to replay over and over again. There're so many new guns and outfits to be unlocked.

One thing that made me cringe was the voice acting. HORRIBLE. Just HORRIBLE.

The aiming was right on with the Wii Remote, which was good. I didn't see any problem with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse