Rent Geometry Wars: Galaxies for Wii
view large frontback

Geometry Wars: Galaxies

Not Rentable
Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.4

681 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very addictive

posted by Whoskmoon (HUDSON, WI) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fun and addicting. I love the online ranking. Makes you feel like there is a point to spending hours playing a colorful version of asteroids(which isn't a bad thing).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Crazy, blasty, action

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

If you're a gamer, no doubt you've heard of Geometry Wars. A little extra found in an x-box racing game, it later found it's way onto the Live Arcade. Now, Nintendo fans get there chance at the title.

The game is simple: you are a little ship with a powerful gun. Blast the enemy, get points and geoms, advance, blast some more. Simple, but fun. You also have one of several drones that hover around you and can be setup to do several different things. By doing better in different levels, you can gain xp for the little drones so they can become better attackers or defenders or ext.

The game is high on style and looks beautiful. Yet, sometimes, all the color spray can get in the way, and one can get lost easily.

Other features of the game include an online leaderboard, which seems to be popular with a number of recent Wii titles, and special functions with your DS. You can send over a demo of the DS version, or, if you already have the DS version, you can unlock one special galaxy.

In most aspects, I find this game to be a blast. It takes care of the usual simple to play, hard to master and lots of fun. But, my one real issue is this: 40$.

While the game has lots of gameplay, it's most of the same, over and over. While it was nice of them to knock off 10$, This game only really seems worth it at more 30$. The game is great and a lot of fun, but when you try it, you can feel that with 40$, you almost wish they could have thrown the DS version in the box for free. Now that would be a deal!

As it stands, it is a good game that great for a rent, but only perfect for a buy when the price drops in the future. Keeps your eyes on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid Shooter

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Wii has taken this game to the next level. If you liked the original for the XBOX360, you will cetainly enjoy this action-packed shooter. It is insane, and has plenty of replay value in my opinion. Decent graphics, too!
Game-on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the Wii's best!

posted by DenmonX (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When I first heard about Geometry Wars coming to the Wii, I wondered how they could justify pricing a $5 game at $40. Now that I've played the game, I'm wondering how they could justify one level of the game on XBLA for $5. Seriously, the game is that good!

A very generous selection of levels, distinct enough that I have my favorites and good enough that the 'worst' of these are still every bit the equal of the XBLA Game. Each of these levels is what we once knew as a full game of Geometry Wars.

If you're a fan of Geometry Wars, even a little, you owe it to yourself to try the game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best version of Geometry Wars around!

posted by j33bu5 (CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

if you like geometry wars RE and dont mind 40$ cost then this game is for you! It offers a few new enemys and sixty different stages! with nods to arcade games like asteroids and interesting new maps + a bot that can help protect you this game rocks!

I prefer using a classic controller but there are many options and any way you play you are sure to enjoy this game if you like the simple arcade style.. oooh pretty colors

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best version to date!

posted by Slickness (SAN LORENZO, CA) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is simply designed for the Wii, the use of the wiimote as the pointer is a must in the game. Not even the xbox or ps3 can come close.

Overall its a fun game, sort repetitive of course. But once you unlock levels and start doing extreme combat its very addictive!!

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

better on the ds

posted by cmoney13 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this game is hard to control with the wii remote. maybe if i had the controller it would be better. i bought it on the ds and it plays much better. its looks as good as it did on the 360 xbox arcade game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is how asteroids was meant to be played

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of Asteroids made for Atari back in the 1980's. It's pretty fun and mindless entertainment. However we aren't in the 80's. I've got too many games to play to spend anymore time on this.

The music was cool, but it quickly became too repetitive. There aren't any graphics except for a grid and little shapes flying at your simple looking ship. The play control was O.K. as you could get the job done.

While this game may look good standing next to asteroids it should be considered nothing more than a one time rent, just to see what the hype is about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool

posted by Silasrye (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

For what this game is, a retro-ish shooter, its really fun and good.

I really like the graphics.

Not much depth though, you know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very Colourfull

posted by Panther82 (RALEIGH, NC) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

The bad thing about this game is you will have a seizure from all the colours if you play to long, but aside from that it's pretty fun. It's difficult to a degree but easy for the most part. you basically have to blow up colourfull enemies and get better weapons. Not bad for a starter wii game. ait uses the wii-mote enough for you to get the hang of it and play other harder games. Not much to it but fun enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Classic but Boring

posted by RightTOO (Fort Worth, TX) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Thought it was cute but boring, wouldn't waste my time again playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mindless fun... with forthought.

posted by EddieA23 (FALLSTON, MD) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Honestly, there is really not much about this game that is novel or innovative... in a action market mostly dominated by "3D" games. The real appeal of this game is its frenetic early 1980's style arcade action taken to an extreme. Anyone (like myself) who grew up thinking the Atari 2600 was the world's greatest invention is probably in the generation that would most appreciate this game.

Geometry Wars certainly lacks the depth of (good) modern platformers, first person shooters, etc.; but it more than makes up for this with pure adrenaline. Plus, the visuals are actually pretty impressive given intentional simplicity of the design.

There is also a bit of actual thinking that has to be done. The drone that assists you in play can be set to one of 8 modes and each mode requires considerable play to advance its skill level. Since skilled drones are nearly essential for acquiring "medals" on higher levels, picking the correct one and learning to play along side it effectively is an essential game element.

If nothing else, I think "Geometry Wars: Galaxies" is definitely worth the rental if you are looking for something that's fun and a bit different than most of the other Wii offerings. I'd especially recommend it if you are 35+ years old and want a bit of a flashback to the early 1980's arcade scene... without running out of quarters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

please read

posted by ninjamist (FREMONT, CA) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I know some of you people don't like this one fine play the other v. on xbox 360. But i like this one it is like a space adventure. Call it what ever u want but will always like this one the best. If u like the other v. but u never tried this one try it u might like it. u aren't different if u don't like it but please try it . thanks 4 reading this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Addicting, fun, but pretty difficulty.

posted by Mario11168 (RIO RANCHO, NM) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Geometry Wars: Galaxies is an awesome fun and addicting game, but it is over all difficult and annoying. The way the aiming works (Aim with Wiimote move with nunchuck) takes some getting used to, but once you get the hang of it, you won't stop playing.

The single player is like the old games: Shoot, get tons of points, and don't die. You are really supposed to gain Geoms which stand as money, and you use them to buy planets and galaxies to find other planets to get more points and more money. Also you can use Geoms to buy upgrades for your "bot" which is with you in Single Player always.

There is also Co-op but it is about 10x harder, as you do not have a bot and the enemies are a lot tougher, with a lot more.

If you like challenging games, get this. If you like easy games, you could try it but I wouldn't recommend it. I love it and can't get enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AWESOME!

posted by LuigiFan (MOREHEAD CITY, NC) Aug 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I Never thought i'd find my self liking something like geometry wars,
when i looked at the gamefly rating, i thought "Oh great, it must not be a good game."
So i instead i put order up! on the top of my game q. but since it was on low availabilty,geometry wars came in. even though i highly expected my gamefly for geometry wars, i still thought it would not be a good game, but once i slipped in the disc, i couldn't stop!. so i highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by 3teDrummer (TOWSON, MD) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

Having read the description only on game fly, and watching the game play videos and reading the details, I thought it would make an intriguing rental.

Since having it for two weeks, I've grown to love it. It's visually stunning, has a decent soundtrack, and full of non stop action on some crazy but wonderfully simple levels. For anyone who loves to just shoot things, this is the game for you. Anyone who likes to shoot things but with some thought will strive in this game, as shooting blindly won't get you further than the first galaxy.

Now for some of you, this won't be the game for you. It will seem repetitive if it's not your thing, but you'll never know unless you try it. So check it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

21st Century Asteroids

posted by geekacres (MIFFLINBURG, PA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

As someone who grew up on Asteroids 'back in the day', I found Geometry Wars Galaxies to be a competent entry in the genre. Its a fun enough game with your space vehicle taking on various shapes. Some simply blast apart when shot. Others take on different properties. That could be the 'black hole circles' or those that shatter and continue to harass you. The Wiimote can be a bit wonky at times as you try to line up your shots, but overall its a pretty decent control device. GWG tacks on a bit of a story mode to try and enhance the play experience, but in the end its an updated Asteroids. That's not necessarily a bad thing. It just is what it is, a great way to kill some time. And a few polygons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Geometry Perfection

posted by VincentV94 (TUCSON, AZ) May 12, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game is awesome in it's own surprising way. After all, with it's stunning graphics and mesmerizing game play, this game could practically hypnotize you. Overall, I widely respect this game and I think it will be a popular addition to the growing collection of Wii games.

-VincentV94

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

old skool fun!

posted by thamuffins (PAWLING, NY) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

i had no idea what to expect with this game, but i can say it was a great 'old skool' surprise.

in the 21st century of 3D life-like hi-res graphics, there is still room for the old 80's style arcade game play.

geo-wars takes the best elements of the greatest 'old' games of all time.. asteroids, sinistar and robotron ... and wraps it up into crazy ball.

it's another case of "easy to learn, difficult to master". the controls give a challenge, as you need to point your controller in the direction of where you want to shoot, a bit tricky as you use the 'chuck to navigate the playfield.

if you are a fan of everything that was great about classic arcade games, you'll really enjoy geo-wars. a breath of fresh 'old' air.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good old-fashioned fun

posted by Bergshot (KENT, WA) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

This is a very fun game for people who like the good ol' arcade style move-and-shoot games like centipede, asteroid, and space invaders. A lot like blast factor and others on the 360 and PS3, you have limited space to dodge and gun down onslaughts of enemies.

The graphics aren't anything worth bragging about, but it isn't exactly the type of game that requires top-notch visuals. The gameplay is great, and it's got enough modes to give it enough replay value for the $40.

The only major negative for the game (assuming you're interested in this genre) are the controls. The dual-thumstick control scheme on the 360/PS3 is way more fluid than the laser guided by the wii-mote. It feels okay, but not near as natural.

Aside from that, great game that is fun alone or with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!!!

posted by brettsp (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

If you like geometry wars (it's definitely seems like it's not for everyone) you'll love this game! I'd go as far to say if you really love geometry wars on the 360 you should buy a Wii just to play this, it's that good! The default control scheme takes some getting used to, but the classic controller works pretty well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor graphics and controls,

posted by MegaManFan (PEMBROKE, NH) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

I love Geometry Wars on the 360. And I was very excited when this game arrived. But my excitement quickly wained.. First off the graphics arent even PSOne quality. The second bad mark is the controls, very lackluster. The idea of using the Wiimote to aim seemed cool at first, but lost it's luster after just a few stages.
The typical-->collect stuff and travel to different galaxies<-- aspect of the game just plain stinks. Period. Needless to say I am highly disappointed. Thank goodness for gamefly, I would have kicked myself if I blew 40 bucks on this game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Is this a joke?

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This game would have been great some 20 years ago, but even with a Wii candy-coating, the idea of shooting circles and rectangles in a small limited area cannot justify even renting this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hidden Gem Like Zack and Wiki!! RENT BOTH NOW!!!!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jan 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

USE THE CLASSIC CONTROLLER!!!!!!

I will admit that I was not going to rent this because it was to wild for my taste but suprisingly it was AWSOME!! The only things holding this one back are the fact that it can get to difficult with the background and it could be tied together better. All in All it is Crazy Blast To Play!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty good!

posted by Cheezit (DUMFRIES, VA) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

Geometry Wars: Galaxies was a good play in my opinion.

Although this version is much richer (more maps/enemies) than its predecessors, the gameplay on Wii can be frustrating. The ship movement via Nunchuk worked fine, but aiming with the Wii remote became tedious after a while. I do like the fine control it offers, but my arm tensed up so much during the thick action that it actually threw my aim off!

This game was a fun shooter and it's neat to level up your helper drone! In the end, the game felt pretty repetitive and I lost my drive to unlock the last few systems. I think I would have liked this game more if I was better at it.

This was my first experience with Geometry Wars and I would say that unless you are a dedicated fan of the series, you would be better off renting this game than purchasing it. Oh, and pick up a classic controller if you don't have one (it's supported and it's got TWO analog sticks!!). Your arm will thank you later!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »