Rent Geometry Wars: Galaxies for DS
view large frontback

Geometry Wars: Galaxies

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
7.2

193 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best DS Game Yet

posted by JAlexander (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Geometry Wars Galaxies is an outstanding example of arcade-style gameplay done right. It builds on the foundation of Retro Evolved without straying from what made the original fun. The addition of a drone helper adds new depth and strategy, because earning a gold medal on each of the many challenges is no easy task.

The control scheme on the DS is flawless, preferable to the Wii version, and I think even better than dual analog. The games graphics aren't quite as polished as it's console brothers, there's no distortion of the background grid for example, but the explosions and particle effects are all present, as are the massive waves of enemies. This is one of the few games that really push the limits of what the DS can handle, and it does it well. Perfect 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its the 80s again!

posted by Infamous77 (SPARTA, NC) Aug 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Geometry Wars for the DS is very much like the Xbox Live arcade version, but instead of using dual analog you use the d-pad and the pen to control your aiming and the pad for moving your ship around.

About the pen, use a longer one, anything will work even a mechanical pencil will do in this case. Now controlling the ship with the d-pad can be slightly annoying, but for disclaimer I still have the Fat DS so a newer DS's might be better.

This is an old school game. Its not too hard, but ends up being challenging and a major time drain. The game looks good for a DS version, the plants and or galaxies you adventure into are worth the investment, it took me about 2 weeks to fully complete the game and that was with trying to get everything.

I did notice in high times of hundreds of enemies on screen the game would lag and slow down, it was like the DS was starting to have a heart attack.

Overall I would say this game is a buy, and a rent. If you like old school games this is the game for you. If you like just having a game to waste time and see how high you can get your score, this is a game for you. Very good, I hope you find it fun also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game with new ways to play

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2002

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Geometry Wars has been one of the best selling Xbox Live games since the system came out. I've played it many times and I thought this was going to be the same, but on a DS. I was surprised to see how much the game designers added.

The basic gameplay is easy to pick up and fun. Added to this game are maze-like levels to pilot around, blasting ships. I like these, but the open field retro-style is still the best. Aren't too many solid, replayable DS games. I have to recommend this one, I'm sure it will go down as one of the classics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of fun, good in short bursts.

posted by bornagain (PEORIA, AZ) May 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

I just bought this from the bargain bin at Bestbuy for $10. I thought it would be a bad port of the xbla classic, but was pleasantly surprised at how well this game plays on the DS. It has a leveling system and awards bronze, silver and gold for reaching specific score goals. This makes every time you play the game more meaningful. Has several different planets you unlock using the geoms as a currency. Only complaint is slight framerate slowdown during very hectic moments but its very minimal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Did I miss Something?

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) May 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

Normally I have no problem with simple, repetitive gameplay, sometimes I revel in it. I guess I was expecting more with this massively cross-platform title. You're in a closed area, and you shoot stuff that flies at you. That's. About. It.

Seriously, I couldn't imagine continuing to mess with it. Even if I could get passed the fact that it's basically a fast and colorful asteroids, the game's point multiplier system is so punishing! You die, you go back to x1, making those gold medals an exercise in obsession.

The drone functions were ok, but they didn't really DO anything noticeable, which is a bad game flaw; everything that has a function needs to be obvious about its function.

Lots of people like this game, and I guess I can see why. I just think it should have more going for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Get the Wii version.

posted by CheezPants (OAKLAND, CA) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

The only bad thing about the DS version is that you have no choice but to play using the stylus. On the Wii, you can choose between a nunchuk-pointer combo, or use the classic controller's dual sticks. I would have liked to use the D-pad and ABXY buttons on the DS.

If you already have the Wii version, the only reason to rent this one is to unlock the Lambda system. I kept this just long enough to do that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »