Rent Genji: Days of the Blade for PS3
view large frontback

Genji: Days of the Blade

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

1350 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Graphics - Poor Playability

posted by StoneFish (BELLPORT, NY) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I had to put this game down after 30 minutes or so, and I dont plan on picking it back up. The awesome graphics just dont make up for the poor play quality. Characters are akward to controll, and there is virtually no camera controll as many have stated. Seems like they rushed to get the game out before it was a finished product. Steer clear of this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This game is underrated in many ways. If you are a fan of the Onimusha series and of Japanese hack & slash games, this game will not let you down. Yes it's not revolutionary and the camera isn't the best but the action mixed with the RPG elements are enough to keep you playing through the game. The best quality of the game is the graphics. It looks phenomenal. The backrounds look as good as the characters. The active environment (i.e. fire, falling pillars, etc.) look good for a first generation game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An excellent under-rated game

posted by Gearhead (FORT SMITH, AR) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is perfect as a release game, the graphics are much better than any other game for the PS3 except the sports game which can
devote more attention to specific details. The levels are massive and immerse. The game does start off slow but by the 2nd level you can really start to make the game your own. You can upgrade your weapons attack power, upgrade your health, get power-ups, and use spells to give your characters boost.

Its true you can't change the camera angle, but your right analogue stick does so much more by allowing you to quickly move your player in defensive moves. At one part in the game, your in the middle of a battle field where the enemies never end. Let me tell you the game moves so fast at this point you need liquid nitrogen to cool off your fingers.
The game gets very impressive when you become surrounded by over 20-30 enemies. The game is no longer a mindless hack and slash. Strategy becomes the key to staying alive.

EVERYTHING is made in such realistic detail, every blade of grass moves with you, every movement shows in the water.

THIS is the best game out to date to showcase the PS3's graphics and physics engines. The background goes on forever and every movement has a reaction. Anybody that gives up on this game after the first level doesn't deserve the PS3.

This game will not disappoint any who give it a few hours. Ohhh did I mention this game is very long. 40 hours if you take your time to upgrade your team. Which is a requirement to staying alive. If any your current character dies its game over. No continuing with the remaining players

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ninety Nine Nights this is not

posted by BatMax01 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Good
This game is pretty and sounds great. Great looking backgrounds really nice character models.

The Bad
This game is slooooow. I compare this game to Ninety Nine Nights on the XBOX360 which is both pretty and wicked fast. Genji sets the stage with the beautiful burning home / dojo and then sounds of the flames and wood crackling just immerse you into the story. But then you start moving your character and you realize the right analog stick does not control the camera (fatal flaw #1). Once you get past that, you then realize that the character feels extremely sluggish (fatal flaw #2). The PS3 is a very powerful system, but you would never know it if you only played this game. I hope they do a better job on the next go 'round.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun at first...

posted by p0psikill (WILMINGTON, DE) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game starts out fun, but ends up being one of those games thats to hard to be fun...

the battle system is interesting; you switch between 4 characters by pressing one of the directional keys in game (one i used for fighting, one for breaking walls and obstacles, one for getting across gaps and for things that require a long range, and i never really found a use for the fourth character...).

the story line was good, the graphics were amazing... but it's ps3, so it better be amazing.

it's good times, but it's hard... so enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game

posted by itaru4 (OMAHA, NE) Jun 20, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Saw some bad reviews and can't imagine why. The graphics are so good it is prettier than real life. The game play is smooth and exciting. Definatly worth checking out.
I take a few points off because it's not as complete feature wise -- and I thought Ninja Gaiden Sigma had better player and camera control

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game .. not so great camera angles...

posted by AntDaGamer (CHERAW, SC) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Great Challenge amazing storyline. I don't see nothing wrong except the camera angles that puts that gameplay down that backs me from saying this game is more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, Awesome graphics and sound

posted by MoniQAZ (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 20, 2007

Member since May 2003

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The graphics were amazing, the sound was really good too, on a 5.1 system. I thought the game was easy to play, didn't have any problem with the camera angles. I loved the ability to switch players any time pretty easily. I didn't find it slow, thought it ran quite smoothly.

Only complaints, cut scenes a little long. Good thing you can click through them. :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst ever

posted by dippinchip (SEBASTOPOL, CA) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was the worst game ive ever played in my life i was bored in 5 mins of playing it, button response was slow its seemed for the time they put into making the game they should of taking more time to make it more entertaining i was bored stiff

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Great graphics, that's about it.

posted by Crumbdonut (CHENEY, WA) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved the look of the game. But the camera angle, slow game play (with all of the cut scenes) and the changing camera angle, made me stop playing this before I got through the first level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I died a little inside.

posted by joosbocks (PEORIA HEIGHTS, IL) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Unless you were compelled by the storyline of the first Genji title, I wouldn't bother even renting this game. The graphics--beautiful. The environments--well-detailed and visually stunning. However, those alone don't offset the negative aspects of this game. At times it gets so ridiculous, such as when you are surrounded by enemies who can attack you, but themselves remain out of reach, or when nearly every attack from an enemy sends you flying backwards, that it makes you want to stop trying. The fourth character, who, to avoid possible spoilers, will be referred to as "Bob," has no helpful traits whatsoever. This isn't so bad when you can control all four characters, but it gets difficult when you only have "Bob" to use. His only use for me was an extra gauge of Kamui.
It is very possible to get over these negative aspects of the game, considering them a challenge, but the one thing I couldn't stop hating was the Resident Evil-style camera. You have no control over the camera, which is very fun when your character is in midair between two cliffs and it switches around causing you, unable to react quickly enough, to plummet to your death. Or to fall to the bottom, forcing you to endure the moderately easy, but lengthy series of platform jumping to reach the spot from which you fell. Personally, I would have rather sat outside and watched grass grow than waste time on this game. When it ended, I looked back on all the wasted time and I cried. But that's just me. Rent it if it still sounds appealing, but if you haven't played the first title, I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

it was not that good

posted by lilaznon3 (JEFFERSONVILLE, IN) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It wasn't terrible but it wasnt good. Yes the camera angle sucks. And most of the time, i was so dang confused in what i was supposed to do???? Please alittle more help or details. i was basically running around everywhere and not knowing what the he11 was going on.

But the graphics and the story was great. I'm a big fan of the whole samurai thing. But still, dont buy this game. only rent if you're bored. But then again, there not many games out there for the ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its pretty good for a 1 player...

posted by koodosoo (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

... but FF 12 for PS2 has far better cinamagrafics. if they were to trade the strafe (R analogue) analogue for a camera view it would be much better.

the best part about the game for me has been the games pace, its very fast, also the game is even better for those that played the prequel for PS2 as it has many ties to the first game..

in conclusion, i would say this game is a renter and not a buy.. hope this is helpful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Whatever

posted by rzayas28 (TAMPA, FL) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a complete waste of time, space and plastic...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is just bad all around

posted by HrdcrePhiL (COOKEVILLE, TN) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I only played this game for around 30 min. 20 min of cut scenes, and the 20 min I did play was not enjoyable. To begin with the camara was ridiculous, I would be getting attacked from people that I could not see. The right joystick is used for acrobatic moves for one charector and the other charector you can control sidesteps in the direction you chose. I personally would have enjoyed being able to control the camara alot more than either of these. The voice acting is so hard to understand that it comes with sub-titles. I personally would chose something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A perfect 10

posted by Jodocus (CENTRALIA, IL) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I currently own this game and I still to this day keep on playing it. It has some really tough parts that took me a week or so to beat but I had to come up with a strategy and that is what takes time. The weapons for each character are so unique and can do so much damage. I give this game the ultimate rating a perfect 10!

If you don't own it you should buy it from Gamefly!

Jodocus

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

good graphs but it its reely boring

posted by auburnroks (FORT MILL, SC) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is stupid its way 2 slow and its not exciting it should be faster and noy so confusing . You might want to get this game because it has good graphics (which it does) but whats a game with good graphs when its boring? Bottom line if you get this game and you like it that will be the worlds 8th wonder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Possibly the worst ps3 game that will ever be made

posted by Atreyu720 (BENTONVILLE, AR) Dec 31, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Beatiful stunning graphics, but its so repetitive like dynasty warriors and yet some of the puzzles you have to figure out are so hard and its not fun when you get hung up on like the 3rd lvl in the game. So I give this 2 thumbs way way way way down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dude, put down the controller.

posted by SnoweWoulf (MONROE, MI) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The storyline was fair and the graphics were beautiful, but the gameplay...? They used up so many buttons (there are three just to attack), you'd think that they'd free up a couple for camara control. I just couldn't get past the horrible player movement and the bad camara angles enough to actually play the game, but I do have to say that the Kamui attack is pretty sweet. With that said, it's not worth a spot on your gameQ.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible,horrible,and horrible!

posted by dan22682 (FLAT ROCK, MI) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

well the cut scenes are awesome but game play is the lamest i have ever seen. The control is awkward and the fact that you cant cant change the camera angle while playing makes for a very lame experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So Look...

posted by WellBAM (CRANE HILL, AL) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

All you have to do is attack this game's weak point for massive damage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by lelele (DENVER, CO) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

It was a big mistake I rented this game, wasted time and money.
I had played the previous genji on ps2, it was really good in most aspects. So I can't imagine the two are the same series. Only the graphics are decent, all other aspects are awful. If you want to know how worst a game can be, you can choose this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

genji

posted by NOTEZ2056 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

this game is awesome if u like ninja games this is for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I actually really liked this game

posted by KEVshi (Los Angeles, CA) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Any fans of Dynasty Warriors will enjoy this one too. It's not really a true expansive RPG in terms of abilities you learn in the game & items you acquire as say Final Fantasy or even Star Wars: Force Unleashed. Still, I had fun w/it mainly because I'm a huge fan of the Samurai genre. The cut away sequences are interesting & the background story is sort of a mix between the true historical events of the era w/some Final Fantasy elements mixed in for creative effect. The only real problem I had w/this game was that you can't control the camera angles (this is to make certain parts of the map nonvisible which fits into certain parts of the game, but this also makes fighting enemies extremely annoying at times as well because you're fighting them blind if you're at a certain angle.

Still, I'd recommend this rental to anyone who's into the samurai genre & likes to just go out & mash. It's more strategic than Dynasty Warriors though because you have to make wise use of the items & power ups that you come across in the game. Graphics are tight as well.

The walkthrough on GameFAQs helped a lot, but there's a lot of stuff this guy missed, so just explore the heck outta everywhere you go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Keep what you had & improve on it.

posted by Gaminfiend (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 7, 2008

Member since May 2008

Let me say this: I give every game a chance of being played no matter how bad the game is. I loved the first Genji very challenging but enjoyable. But it is with broken heart that i review the second entry to this franchise. All they had to do was to improve on what was the basics of the first game and they did not. The radar is upside down, the enemies are lame and they only attack from the blind spot of the camera. Fight after fight there's no health packs, only a die hard fan is gonna put up with so many flaws and actually finish this game. For a first party game game it should have been better. The controls are OK, but the moves feel flat. The graphics is good but too soft. There are many more bad things with this game, i'll let you find out for yourself but it all depends on whether or not you take this one out for a night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse