Rent Gears of War for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Gears of War

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

27027 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A game for all players - even girls!

posted by erzsebeth (FORT SMITH, AR) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

117 out of 134 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

As a female gamer I prefer non-shooter style games, such as RPG's, and was extremely wary of playing this game. However based on the graphics (the "Mad World" preview) and the voice of John DiMaggio (Bender - Futurama) as Marcus Fenix, I decided to give the game a chance and was more than pleasantly surprised that I did. The fact that you can co-op online is most likely the best feature for this game. The story line is excellent, however leaving much to be revealed in future games. The game is highly addictive with the desire to unlock all achievements and beating all the difficulties legitimately, a rarity nowadays except for true hardcore gamers.

The graphics are absolutely beautiful in the game, even on a LCD screen, I was completely blown away. There were moments where I had to stop playing and simply admire the graphics, such as the grit and grime in Marcus' ears or the rain pouring down the sides of the walls.

The only real issue I had with the game was the "A" button feature where you can make Marcus/Dom either run/roll/hide. A few times I would hit "A" to make my character hide and he would roll into the line of fire, or vice versa which in certain instances can be quite frustrating especially on Insane difficulty.

For a person whose preference in games has been "Devil May Cry", "Jak and Daxter", "Wild Arms" and other type games, "Gears of War" was very much outside my gaming style and I have to say that I have been permanently changed and cannot wait until the next game comes out. This is the beginning of new type of gamers and gaming style. Amazing and breath taking round and round and an instant classic. Fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome Gears of War!

posted by VonNapalm (MANOR, TX) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

95 out of 124 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Finally a true next-gen shooter. This is the one folks. The game we bought this next-gen console for.

First off, let me say this; this game is not Halo. It is so much better at what it attempts to do. Here is why.

Immersion. The visuals are the best of ANY game on the 360 to date. The sound design is Perfect. There is zero drop in frame rate in single or multiplayer. NO LAG!

Campaign is compelling and fun. It is a challenge, but not quite as teeth-grinding miserably difficult as CoD2 on Veteran.

8 players on multi. Coop for campaign. Great gametypes, and good, easy to learn controls. The AI is very smart and will work to flank you at all times. They utilize supressing fire and come at you with prejudice. Balance is good with a combination of snipers, assaults, grenades and pistols.

If you like fast pased small maps with a ton of action, get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game with minor faults.

posted by Element457 (JONESBORO, AR) Nov 12, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

28 out of 36 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

It was about 2 weeks from today I was sitting there wondering why everyone was so excited about this game. It just didn't seem that fun to me. However, about about a week from release I reserved to get my early copy and see what all the hype was about.

Once I started playing, however, all of that changed. I immediately became drawn in and didn't want to stop playing. Their is no real way to describe what makes GoW so much fun. Is it ability to play one of the best online games, go through the entire campaign with co-op, or having a difficult game that requires using cover and flanking? It's all of these things and the thing Cliffy B wanted out of this game...realism. You use cover as you would if you were Marcus Fenix, you use your blind fire much more than you could ever anticipate, and you are praying that the nade just tossed at you came up short.

GoW is a very fast game with tons of action. You are constantly seeking cover and trying to find the best way to outsmart the intelligent A.I. system. It can be a bit on the short side length wise, but that is where multi player enters the arena. The multiplayer is insanely fun and always a blast to play. However, I spend as much time trying to get into a game as I do playing, but that could just be my own connection.

As great as this game is it does have it faults. My major complaint is the lack of a crouch button. When you are in cover you have the ability to click the left thumbstick to crouch, but when just simply standing this ability is missing. Although the roadie run sends you into a crouch it would have been nice to be able to crouch at certain points. My only other complaint is whenever loading from a some difficult checkpoints you would still have to listen the dialog and move about very slowly. This game is amazing and you shouldn't let these things stop you from buying this game. After all the lack of crouching does somewhat add to the realism.

This is defiantly a game you will be playing for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Theres no other way to say it, BEST 360 game EVER!

posted by 12delioboy (MANASSAS, VA) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

34 out of 45 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Heres a list review for the best Xbox 360 game!

Postive
1. Jaw dropping graghics!!!
2. Cinimatic single player campain, very fun.
3. Cover system works beautifully.
4. The game feels like it was made for co-op.
5. Difficulty is tough, but you will eventually progress.
6. The bosses are awsome, " the corpser is one of best videogame OMG sights".
7. Multiplayer is so addicting and fun, I wasn't expecting that.
8. The locust are really cool.
9. Some of the weapons in the game are amazing and unique " the chainsaw bayonet nerver gets old".
10. The reload system is unique and works well.
11. Marcus is just a badass.

Negative
1. The story line is weak.
2. The first Berserker level will drive you insane.
3. The difficulty level could have been tweaked.

I've been waiting for a game like Gears of war for a while. Now it's here, and it has blown me away! YOU HAVE TO GET THIS GAME FOR THE HOLIDAYS!!!!!!!! I am laughing at Sony, because this game is going to crush the PS3.

PLEASE POST A COMMENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Phenomenal

posted by Braveheart (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I rented this game not expecting anything special, I mean I read the reviews but some how I never believed it! Graphics are awesome, game play and handling is very easy to grasp, and the story line was delicious. Don't buy this game thinking of Halo 2, it's not even close. Both are shooters, but very different shooters. If I had to complain about anything, well the game is kind of short, and you can't jump up or crouch but all the good stuff far out weigh these minor inconveniences!!! Buy this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What are you doing?!?

posted by DFRS99 (BROOKEVILLE, MD) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

16 out of 21 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

WHY ARE YOU EVEN CONSIDERING RENTING THIS GAME?!??! GO OUT AND BUY IT NOW!! Ok, i understand if you're a little shaky about this game. Lets start out slow! One of the coolest and most fun parts of this game is your main gun. Known as the "Lancer", this is a machine gun. Ok who cares about a stupid machine gun right? but its more!! attached like a grenade launcher to your gun is a FREAKIN CHAINSAW!! Enemies getting too close for comfort? CHAINSAW THEIR BUTT!! Ok, another great part of this game is the campaign. On casual mode, the campaign can come up a bit short, but on hardcore and insane (the other two difficulties) this game is a long one because its ACTUALLY harder on the harder modes!! Along with playing the solo campaign, you can go online and play that SAME campaign, but with a friend or some random dude from canada OR ANYONE ON XBOX LIVE!! So, if it gets a little hard, just get some guy to help you rip it up. So, ive left the best part last. If you have graced your 360 with an xbox live subscription, then you'll have the privilege to go online and enjoy that chainsawing, machine gunning, madness that makes gears of war fun, but with REAL PEOPLE!! You can play ranked matches with all the really good people or you can play regular player matches with the noobs. (just like halo!) There are three game modes, Warzone, Execution, and Assasination. Warzone is just deathmatch. In assassination, you have to kill a specially chosen leader of the other team and thats the only way you can win.
In execution...blah blah blah just rent the game and find out!! I GUARENTEE THAT YOU WILL LOVE THIS GAME FROM THE MOMENT IT ENTERS YOUR DISC TRAY. So pretty much keep your mouse button by that "keep it" button because you will LOVE THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best. Ever.

posted by Nikko123 (VONORE, TN) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

29 out of 39 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Okay, first I would like to point out that I bought this game expecting stellar graphics, awesome gameplay, immerse storyline, and a great multiplayer experience. Well, this game delivers ALL that and more.

Graphics/Physics: 10.0
The most detailed and smooth game I've ever played. I have found no problems so far. You see enemies yell at you as you blow their head off with a sniper rifle. Enemies get blown apart, cut in half, and decapitated with certain weapons.

Story: 10.0
Very easy to get attached to the players, but still fun to chop a foul Locust in half with a chainsaw on the end of your gun.

Gameplay: 9.9
Bullets whiz over your head as you use the new cover system, which is very good. You stand up and pop a cap into that stupid drone's head as he rises up against a wall to shoot you back. The only reason it's not a 10.0 is because sometimes your buddies do something REALLY stupid and get shot; it doesn't happen often though.

AI:10.0
Very smart enemies. They will use cover, flanking, turrets, and frag grenades to kill you.
They are so smart that you can't just run-and-gun in this game, because you will get shot faster than granny at a paintball game.

Multiplayer:10.0
Virtually no lag I have experienced. I literally have not played a game this much since Halo 2. Most people will play one game and get addicted at once. It has Xbox Live and split-screen play, so get some friends online and off to play a game just to rip them in half with a chainsaw yelling, "Texas Chainsaw Massacre Biaches!"

Overall:10.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Greatest Game Of All Time!!!!! PERIOD.......

posted by Scottyboy (ABITA SPRINGS, LA) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

GEARS of WAR is by far the most rewarding, self gratifying game I have ever played. If you live to play shooter games "especially deathmatch or some type of battle mode" then this is the only game you will need to keep that craving at bay. The graphics are phenomenal, totally on a level of there own. As amazing as the Campaign mode is for this game, honestly "who cares" its all about xbox live. I know I know when you first get the game you want to check out the Campaign, get used to everything yada yada. Just register to xbox live " if you already haven't" then clear your calendar for about a month. (maybe 2 months depending on the level loserdum you let yourself go to) Since GEARS is a new "better" bread of shooter, the game can take a little getting used to, and being a noob can and will be frustrating at times. Just pay your dues for a while and before you know it you will be screaming "headshot" like its your only reason for living."seriously" GEARS is endless hours of fun and is guaranteed to satisfy. This game will be the DOWNFALL of the PS3, "blueray smooray" its all about the GEARS of War................

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Gears are Still Spinning.

posted by RIPDBD (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Where to start, Graphics. The Visuals in this game are extremely good, blood splatter, head popping, skulls flying, brains getting skeward by the piercing shot of a sniper rifle.

Gameplay, Near Flawless button setup graps the feel of the game, Simple one-button take-cover action provides easy yet challenging position control on enemies.

Story Line, Halo type EPIC storyline that drags you into the midst of the locust horde, you feel as if you are delta squad, by the end you live feel and breathe delta squad.

Voice over and Character Design, Mixed with great voice actors, and sometimes hilarious lines this game will leaving you laughing then screaming all in the same minute. Marcus Fenix, Son to a great man has to live up to the expectations of the Military, not only will you help him but you will give hope to the humans of Sera.

Downfalls, Possible glitches, tedious COG tag placement, Casual too easy, Insane too hard, Enemy malfunction in parts of the story.

Online, 4v4 It's Fantastic! Though some were hoping for more I found it to be very formidable, yes I myself would like huge maps with 8v8 but 4v4 fits it just fine. Some weapons shouldn't be as strong and some should be stronger, this is able to be fixed with patches so no worries.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nothing can compare

posted by XxDummyxXD (CHIPPEWA FALLS, WI) Nov 11, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

In Gears of War, I was thoroughly surprised by what I saw. The hype definitely held to the game and the Graphics....well freaking awesome. This is the best looking game to date on ANY platform. And Halo?? Why try to compare it to Halo?? Not even the same engine. The Unreal 3 engine used really did this game justice in all aspects of it. The multiplayer is great! Just like real life, when you die .....you DIE!!! I used to like the re spawn and come at it again but this game forces you to use your best tactics and also your best skills, if you have any. Even if you don't it will definitely provide hours of bloody, fun, practice for just about anyone. Have a good day and happy hunting!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

"Doom" meets "Saving Private Ryan"

posted by Slicendice (GRANITE BAY, CA) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

23 out of 33 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I'm not the biggest fan of shooters, but this game is a first. Easily better than BOTH of the Halo games (HA THATS RIGHT, I SAID IT!) this game draws you in with simple controls, intelligent enemies, and plenty of blood, gore, chainsaws, language... just like SPR (minus chainsaw)

The story, from what I've learned so far, is centered on Marcus Fenix, who is some sort of convict who is called upon by the Collaborative Organization of Governments (COG) to fight back the Locust swarm. While the story is definintly second-place to the action, it still drive you along to give you a reason WHY your fighting (other than survival...)

Gameplay is awesome! Most evasive actions are controlled with the A button, making cover, dodging, and anything necessary from getting blow to pieces simple. A new feature to shooters which I found really nice was how the two triggers were used. The right one, if pressed alone, just fires off shots in the general direction your facing, while pressing L trigger then pressing R trigger allows for better aiming. And did I mention the use of a chainsaw bayonet on your full-auto rifle to carve up baddies? Brutal and a bit sickening, but very effective.

Last of all, the enemies. God, the Locusts.... These guys are smart! they take cover, flank, use all the tactics you do... and the smaller ones scare the living Jesus out of you when they jump out of nowhere!

Overall, this is a most excellent game. Be sure to at least rent it, buy it if you can stand the gore. Happy hunting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Honestly

posted by TBaldzz (FULTON, MO) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Honestly this has got to be the greatest game i have ever played in my life offline or online this game takes the cake away.. far away from any game wanting to compete with it for game of the year hands down. this game makes me so happy that some smaller companies like epic can create a game so great..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gears of War review by Justin

posted by justinpf (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fun Rating: 9.5/10
Graphics: 10/10
Sound: 10/10
Voice Acting: 7/10
Story plot: 4/10

Buy, rent, or don't bother?: Buy it!!!!

Pros
The graphics are about as good as they get!
The shooting is very satisfying
Multiplayer is great fun
Great Multiplayer settings
Awesome firearms
Great control scheme
Plenty of fun in Campaign
The duck and cover system is the best ever!

Con's
The Campaign mode is sort of short
There is a little bit of a frame rate issue in Co-op campaign mode.
The voice acting is a little fake.
Great guns, but no enough variety of them
The story in campaign makes absolutely no sense at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo Who?

posted by GankMeat (SOUTHERN PINES, NC) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off let me start off by saying WOW!

There was a lot of Hype for Gears of War before it was released and for once, the hype was true.

Graphics and Environment:
The game has the best graphics I've seen on ANY video game for ANY platform to date. Environments are fully rendered and original; buildings and models are not reused and it gives you the feeling you are actually PROGRESSING through areas not running in circles through the same areas over and over. Caves look like caves, houses look like houses should after 14 years of war.

Music/Audio:
The music in GoW is the perfect blend of subtlety and excitement. It is not so distinct as to distract from the game itself but perfectly meshes with every situation and every environment. Battle music is slightly frantic, post combat music is relaxing and high-tension music is, well, high tension. Each type of bad guy has about 20-30 sounds to recycle and trust me, there are lots of types of bad guys.

Gameplay:
Whats the word Im looking for? Redefining. No longer do bunnyhopping circle straffing and spraying win round, multiplayer or single player. Just like on a real battlefield, if you don't keep your head down, someone will be glad put it down for you. The innovative cover system yields the most entertaining fire fights ever to be seen in an fps. Variety in enemies, weaponry, and scenery make every combat different. I played through on Hardcore difficulty and all NPC's had very accute AI, when your squad mates yell flank left it is actually a good idea, likewise if they yell "behind you" you better turn around quick.

Misc:
First off let me say the weapon selection is the best in any game to date, chainsaw bayonettes, orbital satelites that will rain down lasers, snipers whose headshots will cause enemies heads to literaly explode are all at your, and your enemies, finger tips

Gears of War, in my opinion, is the first game to come out and scream "Next gen gaming has arrived". And I strongly recomend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hype, n. Anticipation for a future event.

posted by XPhile (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

It's official. The hype turned out not to be hype, but advanced factual information. This game is quite possibly the best shooter EVER. The graphics are gorgeous. The weapon-selection is drool-worthy. The multiplayer makes you want to make more friends with whom to play. Don't think twice, click the "keep it" button.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gears of War & XBOX 360: Tight like spandex.

posted by TrustCo (Collegedale, TN) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the greatest I have ever played! I didn't think I would like a console game as much as I did this one. I'm a PC gamer and just recently borrowed my cousin's 360 to try it out. What better way than to play this game! Easy to pick up, plenty challenging, innovative, and just plain fun. I highly recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A blast!

posted by 4dartist (HARRISON, TN) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Very stunning visuals, some of the best graphics for video games out right now. The game play is a blast. My brother and I played it all the way through twice before sending it back. Once on medium difficulty and once on the hardest. My friends are now playing it online together and I sorta with I purchased the game. It's the type of game were you don't want to put the controller down and just need to beat one more level! ;)
Probably the best shooter game since halo1&2 (multiplayer side of the game doesn't compare to halo but is still pretty fun for a while)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gears of War is Phenomenal!!!

posted by JoelBlack (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After putting my hands on this future classic treasure I understand what the hype was all about. I've followed Gears for a year or so now and for good reason... it is the Xbox 360 killer app. It entails everything you would want in a game.....action, covering, GRAPHICS, blood, story,....and so much more. The only gripe I might have with this game is I think the multiplayer is a bit rusty....actually very rusty. There is no single player deathmatch, all games are you die you die (no shooter esque respawning, its like playing last man standing constantly....VERY BAD!!!) If they tweaked it up a bit I think multiplayer would be excellent because it carries over everything else that's great about this gem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally the first REAL next Gen game

posted by SS02man (BOULDER, CO) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Yep, that is my opinion. Gears of War makes the 360 look how its supposed to. The gameplay is phenomenal, pretty much because it flawless. The camera angles are perfect, the controls are perfect as well. Shooting isn't easy but its challenging and that makes for a good game. The way you can roll, duck, and get crouch behind just about everything on the map is awesome!!!! The graphics are better than you can imagine until you play it. The envirometns are crisp and well defined and the characters are amazing with detail that will give you goosebumps. I love online games and Gears of War scores big there too. I think pretty much everyone who owns a 360 knows they HAVE to get this game, so just go get it and have a blast with it. Way to go Microsoft! They sure prooved they can make a great game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a Perfect 10....but about as close as it gets

posted by Roywill31 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that a 9.0 wouldn't do this game justice....which is why I gave it a 10. If there were in between numbers I would probably go somewhere at about 9.5 or 9.6, maybe even a bit higher. Yes, this game lives up to the hype, and yes this game is really that good.

I won't explain what the game is about or anything like that because if you're reading this, you probably know all about the game already.

What I will say is this....this game is the very definition of AAA. It does many things right (sound, graphics, gameplay) and very few things wrong (ummm....story...maybe?). The campaign is excellent, especially on "hardcore" difficulty where everything is a challenge. You feel a sense of accomplishment when you get past an area. But you want to keep going to see what's in store. The multiplaer is flat-out addicting. It is completely different from a game like Halo 2, so if that's what you're looking for you might wanna think twice. It's strategic and never racking at the same time. Every move you make counts, and there is nothing like getting a kill in this game then curb stomping someone. That never gets old.

Graphically, this game is mindblowing....honestly, the screenshots don't even do it justice....this game looks that good., and the gameplay is right up there with it.

In closing....you should probably stop reading this, and go pick up Gears ASAP. It's the best game for the 360 so far....and the most fun I've had with a game since the NES days. This game is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Clicked on "Keep it" before the game arrived.

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I made an awesome choice - this game is out of control. My brother and I play this game in co-op mode. This is a game that makes people say - I want to buy an Xbox 360. My cousin came over the other day - we played some co-op. He was completely amazed with how great the game looked - it was his first time playing a game on the xbox 360. As noted in my review title - once I got the email from Gamefly - that Gears of War had been shipped - the first thing I did was - sign onto my Gamefly account and clicked on "keep it" to purchase the game. This game is a 10 !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

chainsaws rule

posted by haloboy136 (SWANSEA, MA) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

yay chainsaw this game was one of the best games i ever played it was fun with the chainsaw because i love violence and awesome graphics and multiplayer rules i love stopming on the peoples heads who ever has a xbox 360 which they should since its the best GET THE GAME!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game

posted by Wisegamer1 (WHARTON, NJ) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be very well done including the story although there were many plot holes with the back story and the Sequel. It did not take me long to realize that this game was put out just like Star Wars. He put out the middle of the story to catch players eyes and he will put out the end of the story to finish it out for people. Later on they will put out a prequel showing the back story of marcus and dom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gears of war the best game i have played in a long

posted by rayjohnson (BRISTOL, TN) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

all i have to say about this game is this is the best game i have play and you should rent it no you need to buy it i beat that game 5 times and i never got board of this games i love this game i even have the face plate for my xbox 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hahahaha

posted by hardtimes (MARLBORO, NJ) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is a biatchin game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse