Rent Gears of War 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Gears of War 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
8.4

17930 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game makes me scared for the future

posted by jjohn2478 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Feb 2008

To start off I have been a PlayStation player my whole life. I bought the Xbox 360 mainly for the Kinect so my daughter (and her parents) could enjoy it. I played the second game of this series briefly and liked it so was excited to try this one (and maybe keep it for like $13).

I made it 20 minutes into the story before sending it back. I understand people have highly rated this game due to multi-player, but I have NEVER been interested to play with other "nerds" around the world and there is NO WAY with gameplay this bad, multi-player could save it.

I've always understood the controller scheme was different between Xbox and PS3 and I can learn any scheme in a short amount of time. The main problem was the graphics. No kidding PS2 quality may be better than the Xbox (with the same TV and cabling as the PS3) and just poor dialog and characters. I want to care about who I am playing as and these characters (even after 3 titles) are just somehow cheesy and annoying and (excuse the expression if you are one) meat heads.

Take a minute to play The Last of Us, Borderlands 1 or 2, Modern Warfare 2 or 3, Far Cry 3, or Fallout 3 (just to name a few) and you will be a PS3 person for life.

I recently experienced this same sensation when buying an iPad for the first time late last year and having an iPhone as my work phone.

If this truly is a staple of the Xbox, please Please PLEASE just sell your Xbox (360 or One) and get a PS3 (or better yet 4). You will be SOOOO glad you did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why does the limit have to be 10

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Better than two epic games you deserve some time off

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best gears of war game

posted by treywar25 (FREMONT, OH) Dec 30, 2013

Member since May 2013

Fun 3rd person shooter which is a nice change up if you play a lot of first person

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by benchwarmer (MOBILE, AL) Jun 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

I've played all four gears and this has the best gameplay over all online andoff. II'm over 100 and I still injoy this game like I just started playing it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by Soul8Death (FOND DU LAC, WI) May 31, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

luv how the cogs bicker and make smart remarks and say silly things gets me 2 LOL. this a very cool game with the differ enemy's and how they blow up and the wild berserk is fun 2 try and take down and how the differ bad bosses u have 2 destroy in a differ way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Again

posted by MarkKJr (ELLWOOD CITY, PA) Apr 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

GoW3 was probably my favorite to play out of the franchise. I played three days straight and couldn't put it down( until the wife made me).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i loved this game

posted by cloke552 (MOSES LAKE, WA) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

me and my friends where messing around and we found this glitch it was soooo funny but i really love this game 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good if shooter fan

posted by poorflick (HENSLEY, AR) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

very long campaing hord mode is okay beast mode super cool and versus is very good but meduim grafics when i fist played i did beast mode and the hord finely i played camping is was aswome and the versus has a lot of playeble cogs and gears along with loucusts beast mode has tons of monsters in it hord has 50 wave and boses in the 10 20 30 40 50 rounds and brumaks revers berserker and many more monsters and boses i say get if shooter fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wonderful

posted by Mr_McSkee (RENTON, WA) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game is just plain OUT STANDING. The graphics are AMAZING, the Chain Saw Rifle is OUT OF CONTROL i love the fact that you can split a enemy like a Watermelon. The Gore is very much realistic. The storyline is excellent it really makes you want to succeed cause if you dont the planet and the human race is lost. You really feel the need to succeed. The characters are funny when you talk to them specially Cole-Train. that guy is hilarious.

I do highly recommend this game HOWEVER as i stated with Mass Effect 1, 2, and 3. this game you REALLY need to start it from the beginning. if you dont you WILL miss vital information that is important to your personal understanding of the situation. It DOESNT affect the game play per-say like the Mass Effect games but it really helps to start from beginning so you understand whats goin on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by XxfrostyxX95 (BERWYN, IL) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

i like the game overal but the campaign is short... i like the introduction of zeta i hope they continue with both crews in the next gears and raams shadow is great dlc if you have this game and havent downloaded it i recommend that you do.... i give it 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by businessman3956 (SUMTER, SC) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I enjoy playing Gears of War 3 for hours on in. The online multi. player is my favorite aspect of the game, because of HORDE mode. You have the compatibility of leveling up your decoy, defence (shields), torrents, sentries (unmanned guns), and eventually having the ability to unlocked the Silverback (exo-skeleton suit) in which you can hop into and unleash unlimited ammo havoc onto the Locust. This is the Best shooter game on Xbox360 hands down in my eyes. Gears of War 3 is a simple and addictive game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!

posted by JordonDowney (FAIRVIEW, MI) Oct 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I only buy 5 games a year sometimes 4. Battlefield, Halo, Elder Scrolls, and Gears of War and Call Of Duty. I am highly impressed with the acting, the gameplay, the storyline, and character detail in this one. It's emotional, intense, action packed, and lots of fun all around, probably one of the best gears of war so far, Let's hope Judgment is just as good, if not better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by moalmossa (DUARTE, CA) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

it the most funnest games i played but the muiltiplayer sucks but the campain was the best id ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love It.

posted by CJSparks (FARMINGTON, ME) Oct 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

It was the first gears of war game I've ever played but i caught on quickly and it was a fantastic game the 2-4 player mode is fantastic, I don't think I've ever played a game with better co-op. My only complaints are (because no games are perfect) the online team death matches are a little bland but it compensates with horde mode online i suppose, and the weapon choices make leveling not very exciting. i would certainly give it a 8-9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Amazing

posted by Gator415 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Sep 26, 2012

Member since May 2010

I don't give too many games a 10, but thats how much I LOVE this game. The single player is done very well and has everything that you love in a story; tragedies, huge situations being overcome and they all roll into an ending that is very VERY good. As for the multiplayer, it is still amazing. Gears has always been a shotgun oriented game in the fact that you need to be good online with shotguns in order to stand a chance of doing well. Gears 3 takes this formula but also introduces new weapons such as the retro lancer, digger, inciendary grenades and so forth. The retro lancer you can start off with and is a nice counter to the usually overused shotguns. And the game now has servers that make you not lag, which makes it extremely enjoyable. Add this along with the new and improved horde mode where you can buy defenses along with beast mode and here you have one of my favorite games i've played in the past year or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!

posted by xXFeaRLe5S (ATHENS, GA) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

player movement

posted by cordell86 (SARASOTA, FL) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I was not really able to get into this game. The player movement seemed really slow and and not very responsive. Turning was really slow and choppy. Also did not like the aiming of the grenades. Good idea for a game but i think they could of done better with the movements of the player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gears of War

posted by hybris14 (TUSTIN, CA) Aug 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

I had never played the two previous Gears of War but I have found this game highly enjoyable. It has some of the same key set up as most first person shooters. The Campaign can be played alone as well as played with 4 people. Which is really nice if you have friends over. Though Ammunition can become a major problem in this game if you are not good about picking up one of the alien weapons. For this first person shooter you really need to be good about running around and not standing in the open (i know this is the rule for pretty much all games). Has great graphics and the Dialog is pretty funny. The Collectiable items in it are kind of hard to find though. The Weapon choices are a fun mix of modern and futuristic. The best being the Lancer which has a chainsaw attachment you can use to cut up the aliens. I found the Kick on all of the weapons a bit hard to get used to at first so causes keeping your aim on the target slightly difficult. Biggest con i found in this game though is the spacing of your save checkpoints, it varys how far and close together they are. Sometimes they are back to back where others they seem miles away which means dieing sends you back 45mins of game play. The biggest pro is the Bosses of the game. The Bosses are tough and all vary in how best to kill them which makes you want to keep going and seeing different bosses, and the bosses can be hard but you never feel it is an impossible challenge even if you are playing on hard mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the whole nine

posted by caped_crusader (PERTH AMBOY, NJ) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

game was great the enemy pile on was more then expected i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

gears of war 3

posted by XxD3N13DxX (LAKE STEVENS, WA) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This is the best game ever, Even know its third person it gives you the best shooting/action gaming experience out of any cod, or halos ive ever played!! It doesnt have any glitches or anything like that in the game, and it always has a great story behind the actual gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun multiplayer.. fun campaign whats not to like?

posted by Halo3357 (HUDSON FALLS, NY) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

i got this game because i really enjoyed gears of war 2's campaign and multiplayer and, boy oh boy i got what i paid for.
the campaign took me a while to beat (or it was just because i was enjoying it too much i didn't want it to end) the multiplayer has been improved because you can now have weapon skins, and you can now do executions.

Pro's: Long campaign, Fun multiplayer, fun co op

Con's: the only thing i dislike about this game is when something cheap happens in multiplayer like when you shoot someone with a double barrel up close and they don't die and they kill you with the Gnasher shotgun.

all and all this game is worth $60.00 or at least $40.00

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another GOW.

posted by donomanx (LAWRENCE, MA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

What can I really say? Its GOW again. Silly story, b-movie voice overs, fun gameplay.

If you're going to play a game like this do it with friends to make it more enjoyable. Playing alone is slightly boring if you've already played through the first two games.

High production values but the formula is feeling a little old to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You cant polish sh#%

posted by tacotastic (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Although fun, the fun and effect of the blood and gore and once that wears off your back to the mess of gears 2 multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

play gears of war 3

posted by bobbya1984 (HEDGESVILLE, WV) Aug 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Gears of war 3 was a fun game but i returned it so i can get saints row the third

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game was scratched

posted by damoy420 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

wasnt able to finish the game cause it was scartched very bad... maybe next time ur company receivesthe games back... check to see if its damaged, so whoever gets it next, their able to play the entire game... now going to have to buy it to finish it... thanx gamyfly.... thats strike one for u guys!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse