Rent Gears of War 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Gears of War 3

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

GF Rating
8.4

18004 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why does the limit have to be 10

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Better than two epic games you deserve some time off

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Again

posted by MarkKJr (ELLWOOD CITY, PA) Apr 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

GoW3 was probably my favorite to play out of the franchise. I played three days straight and couldn't put it down( until the wife made me).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i loved this game

posted by cloke552 (MOSES LAKE, WA) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

me and my friends where messing around and we found this glitch it was soooo funny but i really love this game 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good if shooter fan

posted by poorflick (HENSLEY, AR) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

very long campaing hord mode is okay beast mode super cool and versus is very good but meduim grafics when i fist played i did beast mode and the hord finely i played camping is was aswome and the versus has a lot of playeble cogs and gears along with loucusts beast mode has tons of monsters in it hord has 50 wave and boses in the 10 20 30 40 50 rounds and brumaks revers berserker and many more monsters and boses i say get if shooter fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wonderful

posted by Mr_McSkee (RENTON, WA) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game is just plain OUT STANDING. The graphics are AMAZING, the Chain Saw Rifle is OUT OF CONTROL i love the fact that you can split a enemy like a Watermelon. The Gore is very much realistic. The storyline is excellent it really makes you want to succeed cause if you dont the planet and the human race is lost. You really feel the need to succeed. The characters are funny when you talk to them specially Cole-Train. that guy is hilarious.

I do highly recommend this game HOWEVER as i stated with Mass Effect 1, 2, and 3. this game you REALLY need to start it from the beginning. if you dont you WILL miss vital information that is important to your personal understanding of the situation. It DOESNT affect the game play per-say like the Mass Effect games but it really helps to start from beginning so you understand whats goin on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by XxfrostyxX95 (BERWYN, IL) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

i like the game overal but the campaign is short... i like the introduction of zeta i hope they continue with both crews in the next gears and raams shadow is great dlc if you have this game and havent downloaded it i recommend that you do.... i give it 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by businessman3956 (SUMTER, SC) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I enjoy playing Gears of War 3 for hours on in. The online multi. player is my favorite aspect of the game, because of HORDE mode. You have the compatibility of leveling up your decoy, defence (shields), torrents, sentries (unmanned guns), and eventually having the ability to unlocked the Silverback (exo-skeleton suit) in which you can hop into and unleash unlimited ammo havoc onto the Locust. This is the Best shooter game on Xbox360 hands down in my eyes. Gears of War 3 is a simple and addictive game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by moalmossa (DUARTE, CA) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

it the most funnest games i played but the muiltiplayer sucks but the campain was the best id ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Amazing

posted by Gator415 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Sep 26, 2012

Member since May 2010

I don't give too many games a 10, but thats how much I LOVE this game. The single player is done very well and has everything that you love in a story; tragedies, huge situations being overcome and they all roll into an ending that is very VERY good. As for the multiplayer, it is still amazing. Gears has always been a shotgun oriented game in the fact that you need to be good online with shotguns in order to stand a chance of doing well. Gears 3 takes this formula but also introduces new weapons such as the retro lancer, digger, inciendary grenades and so forth. The retro lancer you can start off with and is a nice counter to the usually overused shotguns. And the game now has servers that make you not lag, which makes it extremely enjoyable. Add this along with the new and improved horde mode where you can buy defenses along with beast mode and here you have one of my favorite games i've played in the past year or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!

posted by xXFeaRLe5S (ATHENS, GA) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gears of War

posted by hybris14 (TUSTIN, CA) Aug 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

I had never played the two previous Gears of War but I have found this game highly enjoyable. It has some of the same key set up as most first person shooters. The Campaign can be played alone as well as played with 4 people. Which is really nice if you have friends over. Though Ammunition can become a major problem in this game if you are not good about picking up one of the alien weapons. For this first person shooter you really need to be good about running around and not standing in the open (i know this is the rule for pretty much all games). Has great graphics and the Dialog is pretty funny. The Collectiable items in it are kind of hard to find though. The Weapon choices are a fun mix of modern and futuristic. The best being the Lancer which has a chainsaw attachment you can use to cut up the aliens. I found the Kick on all of the weapons a bit hard to get used to at first so causes keeping your aim on the target slightly difficult. Biggest con i found in this game though is the spacing of your save checkpoints, it varys how far and close together they are. Sometimes they are back to back where others they seem miles away which means dieing sends you back 45mins of game play. The biggest pro is the Bosses of the game. The Bosses are tough and all vary in how best to kill them which makes you want to keep going and seeing different bosses, and the bosses can be hard but you never feel it is an impossible challenge even if you are playing on hard mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun multiplayer.. fun campaign whats not to like?

posted by Halo3357 (HUDSON FALLS, NY) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

i got this game because i really enjoyed gears of war 2's campaign and multiplayer and, boy oh boy i got what i paid for.
the campaign took me a while to beat (or it was just because i was enjoying it too much i didn't want it to end) the multiplayer has been improved because you can now have weapon skins, and you can now do executions.

Pro's: Long campaign, Fun multiplayer, fun co op

Con's: the only thing i dislike about this game is when something cheap happens in multiplayer like when you shoot someone with a double barrel up close and they don't die and they kill you with the Gnasher shotgun.

all and all this game is worth $60.00 or at least $40.00

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gears of war 3

posted by applebottom36 (BRONX, NY) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Dom didn't have to die like that R.I.P.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

buy it

posted by gmosh (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Jul 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

blah blah blah

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the review for gears of war 3

posted by joe_grizly (CROW AGENCY, MT) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i think it is an amazing game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GooD game

posted by Smileyface (GRANTS PASS, OR) May 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

if your thinking of geting gears of war 3 u shound its a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by DenverD (DENVER, CO) May 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This game was a great end to the trilogy. Anyone who tells you the end is disappointing is crazy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Now that is how you end a series.

posted by armadazero (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 20, 2012

Member since May 2012

COD eat your heart out. This is how you end an intense shooter series. All three games were awesome, but this was the cherry on top. I could not have expected anything more than what this game delievered in its final stage. Four player coop was crazy, although some of the people you play with could stand to be a little nicer (down side to any coop game, unfortunately) Anya and Sam are sexy as heck, and the end was perfect. I wont say this is the best series ever, but its a close second.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gears Of War 3

posted by bigdaddywar95 (ELMSFORD, NY) May 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

best shooter game and better then call of duty

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gears of wars 3

posted by howarthjok (RENSSELAER, NY) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

awesome game what a series i just beat the game...
LETS JUST SAY AWESOME... BUT IT IS TO DARN EASY TO BEAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Is Totally Awesome !!!!

posted by Kellib420 (CROWN CITY, OH) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I really enjoyed playing it and would recommend it to everyone to play. The graphics are awesome too the blood, guts and gore actually hit the screen as you are playing. Totally worth renting but not recommended for kids to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Solid!!

posted by INspiredOne (EDMOND, OK) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Excellent game!! I was not a huge shooter fan until I played GoW3. Great online play, multiplayer and campaign. I bought it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Freakin' AWESOME!!!!

posted by The_Wumbologist (ROGUE RIVER, OR) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This is THE best game I've ever played! I never would have rented this game if it weren't for OXM (that's Official Xbox Magazine for you shut ins who never leave the house), so get to a local news stand and read up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bad, Bad,Bad

posted by Zanyparrot (GLASTONBURY, CT) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This is a body copy of this game. Each time i tried to play campaign mode it just kept freezing. I tried to clean it but it kept freezing when i did campaign mode. Other modes are amazing but the campaign mode is ridiculous. May I have another copy of this game? I don't know what the last guy did with it but this game is messed up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC

posted by dchosen1 (GARDEN GROVE, CA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

..this is why i play video games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse