Rent Gardening Mama for DS
view large frontback

Gardening Mama

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

603 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

A Good Rent

posted by Maggie (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm glad I rented it, rather than bought it. It was fun at first, but after a while, keeping track of the different flower beds became a challenge. Maybe Mama should stick to cooking~ ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

my review

posted by Mickeyd99 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GR8t game but gets boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kids love it!

posted by gmhickok (SCHERTZ, TX) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I think this game follows the same recipe as the other cooking mamas. My kids really like playing it. Worth the rent but I do think the cooking mamas are alot more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hours of fun!

posted by twihard (BURIEN, WA) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I could have played this game for hours on end. You start out by planting your gardens and going through all the steps. Once you have a few planted, it starts telling you that you should go back to the earlier ones you planted because they are "wilting" and need to be cared for. Sooner or later, you get to the point to where every thing you plant or tend to, immediately after something is wilting. So it is VERY addictive. Great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun at first but then boring.

posted by REOshadow (ELGIN, SC) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gardening Mama is a fun game but,after you play it for awhile it gets boring.my advice to you is to just try it out you might like it because it's fun.or you might think it's boring.but i only hade it for a week and now i'm sending it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addicted to gardening

posted by Tracie331 (CASSELBERRY, FL) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I love this game. I am a big cooking momma fan so when I seen that gardening momma came out I had to try it. I will say the challenges seem to be a little easier then cooking momma but it is very addictive. You start your game out planting everything from starts and one by one move around your garden until you 1. you see "got one" next to something you planted -or- 2. you receive a message "its wilting" and you go to that plant to do the next challenge. The reason it is so addicting is because of the constant growth. Every time I would say to myself "ok, I'm going to stop for now" a new challenge would come up and I just had to take care of it. :)

I defiantly recommend this game if you are into the cooking momma series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

gardening mama review

posted by shpinely (WAUKESHA, WI) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

This game is great for younger and older kids. What you do is plant flowers, fruits, and veggies. It gets a little boring for ages 18 - 30's, So I wouldn't get this for anyone ages 18 - 30!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love this game!

posted by BittieBee (PALMDALE, CA) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I had so much fun playing this game. I played it all the way through and when I thought I was done, there was more. Would recommend this game to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very fun

posted by pickachu23 (LOCK HAVEN, PA) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This is very fun and I enjoyed it very much. Even if you are not a gardener thi game can be easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gardening Mama for the Nintendo DS

posted by ULtmitgamr (WEST COVINA, CA) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game was overall on a scale of 1 to 10 a solid 4. The gameplay was terribly repetitive, there was no explanation on how to do anything in the game, same voices as cooking mama, music and sound fx get annoying. I would not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun.

posted by kaelynXD (HAVERHILL, MA) May 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

I liked this game, however I got very bored after a short time, it's not like Cooking Mama, I didn't wanna re-do anything, I just wanted to make fruits and veggies, I didn't like planting flowers for some reason, so I was disappointed once I did all the fruits and veggies, I kept playing it though, because I wanted to plant everything, I kept it for about a week or so, and got so bored that I just had to return it.
But, you might be different, give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Didn't like this game.

posted by Johann03 (ELIZABETHTOWN, PA) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I didn't like this game. I had my kids play this game and they also said they did not like it. My son is very good at figuring out vidoe games and he thought they didn't explain some of the mini games very well. I think if the directions were a little better we might have liked the game more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My Daughter Enjoyed It!

posted by joeyjo (BINGHAMTON, NY) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Pros: Cute, original concept, easy to control, works like the Cooking Mama games, unlockables

Cons: Gameplay gets repetitive, some directions as to playing the games get a little vague, and require a few times before mastering them.

My 4 year old daughter and I love the Cooking Mama series, and I tried Gardening Mama via a demo on the Nintendo Channel on the Wii, so I rented this game via Gamefly to see if I liked it.

I admit, I had my fun when I did play it, but the gameplay does lack in variety, and it gets rather repetitive. I found myself a little confused by how to move the stylus in some games so it took a few times to get it right and make Mama happy. On the positive side, it's still the same great characters from Cooking Mama, and the graphics are as cute. Also, you can unlock things such as costume items for Mama like hats, aprons.
My daughter, on the other hand, played this thing for hours. My fiance and I ended up buying the game for her for Christmas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glad I didn't buy it like I was planning to!

posted by carolee (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

I love my Mama games. I own all the Cooking Mama games for both Wii and NDS. But when the controls are actually worse than the Wii version of CM, it gets sent back same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gardening Mama upset

posted by TKFranks (GREENBRIER, AR) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

I own and have played Cooking Mama over and over. My kids love Cooking Mama. We all waited and waited to be able to play Gardening Mama and when the game arrived we all wanted to be the first to play it. What a let down. I am not impressed with the way you have to move around in the gardens. I thought this would be a game I would want to own however after receiving this well I am not so sure.

I wonder if playing it on WII is any different?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this a good game

posted by amanda23 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

the gardening mama is ok but the after a while it gets kinda of boring the more you play it , not saying it bad cuase its not , just wouldnt be some thing that i would is all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gardening Time

posted by gamefreak8 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

Mama and the family return in this game with new features and a whole new premise. Gardening Mama takes after the popular Cooking Mama games with one major difference. The Gardening is pretty realistic. Players will have to continuously watch flowers as they grow making sure they don't wilt. Gardening task include: fertilizing, watering, pruning, removing bugs from plants and much more The game also includes a "Decorate Garden mode" this allows the player to decorate the garden in several various forms. More than just flowers can be gardened in this game. There is a fruit and veggie garden also included Fans of the Cooking Mama series will love this game, it has the same addicting feel of the previous games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »