Rent Game of Thrones for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Game of Thrones

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.2

1577 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyed it just fine.

posted by Spidey223 (SIERRA VISTA, AZ) May 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2005

53 out of 55 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I don't understand the poor reviews, unless they are just written by impatient gamers who can't let a game develop and grow.

Storywise: The plot is what kept me playing. I really couldn't wait to find out what would happen next, especially considering I already had a background of the events in the books and series. Very interesting story.

Graphics: Not too bad. I'm sure they didn't have years and years of development. The backgrounds were excellent, and the environments were spot on in lighting, design and color. Character models were decent, if a little wooden. But I really like games like this that actually show your character change as they acquire new items, armor, etc...
There are a lot of glitches and screen tear... but you know what? I still completely enjoyed the game. Oh well.

Gameplay: Let's get some accuracy here - The action is in real time. However, if you 'pause' to set up your moves, you have 3 action moves, and your characters go into slowmotion during these pauses, so you can easily switch characters and decide between each act you choose for them. I don't see what everyone is complaining about? It works fine. In fact I thought it was cool that they continue in slow motion, so it forces the player to stay on task, even though it is in 'pause'. Worked fine for me.

The CHOICES in the dialogue bits were really interesting, because there were no obvious "good" or "evil" choices... They are all fairly dastardly, and really put you in a spot when you suddenly have to work together and team up with a character who just may be your enemy. I thought that was really clever.

Overall: For the average "shooter" or impatient gamer = I can totally see why this game sucks to them. In that case, perhaps a 4 is in order.

For those with an interest in story and have the time to nurture out a decent experience from a fictional world seething with deception and harshness = I'd give it an 7/8. A good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not so bad

posted by Babykins (VENTURA, CA) May 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

37 out of 41 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I read all these negative reviews and almost decided to not rent this title. But I love the series and had to just give it a try. To be frank, most of what people said was true. The graphics were not great and the combat was annoying. But you only have to give it an hour to see that the story is pretty interesting. I'm only on the third chapter and I'm hooked. I fear there are a lot of people out there that will miss out on a fun game just because all the bad reviews and because, I can only imagine, they didn't get passed the first chapter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Intriguing storyline

posted by princess_sparky (WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm yet to watch the GOT tv show but I've really enjoyed the game. It has a Fable series feel to it. Great voice acting, nice locations and very prominent characters. Combat took time to get used to but the menu and interfaces are very well organized. The story was very compelling and at times very violent. But at the same time in its own historical world it's truly epic. Definitely worth playing and has nice achievements to collect. I hope they make more of these!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed

posted by Dragonmike813 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Love the series on HBO, love the books, didnt like the game. The play is sloooow. I was hoping for an action packed storyline and almost fell asleep during the 15 minute opening scene and the game play was nothing like I'd hoped. The controls were slow and the fighting was even slower. Graphics were great, but otherwise disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

old school greatness

posted by st3nch (GARRETT, KY) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is truly A good game the combat is on par with "knights of the old republic" the bad reviews this game got are from call of duty fans that jump on the game informer band wagon and proceed to snub there noses at all the other games that doesn't get a 10 in that rag if you liked the song of ice and fire book serie you will love this game if you liked the show you will love it even more I played this game having read the books I was looking for something to expand the canon I was not dissapointed if your a true medieval fantasy buff you will truly be pleased with this game put game of thrones in your gameQ a great game is only a fornights ride away

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bad Map. Weak Combat. Amazing Story.

posted by SirKoenig (HOBOKEN, NJ) Dec 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you can see through some gaming shortcomings (like I said, the map blows as does combat) the story is one of the best ones I've played in a LONG time. Check it out if you're into the Game of Thrones series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's no HBO special, but it's decent

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) May 29, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

19 out of 23 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Trying to capture the amazingness that is Game of Thrones on HBO I'm sure was a challenge. The show's excellent characters, story, plot twists, and surprises are hard to capture in a video game, but GOT the game is a decent supporting tie-in to the show, if you're a huge fan that is. If you're looking for a deep battle system, this is a pass, but if you want a good story with lots of talking, this is it for you.

This game takes place in 2 different stories that intertwine, and you play as BOTH Mors and Alestair, and you take turns playing their quests. As Mors, your story is based around the Night's Watch, as you are a master tracker/ranger. As Alestair, you are trying to take back your city as the true heir, and your quest revolves around King's Landing and such.

Both Mors and Alestair have very different fighting styles and stances, so you'll need to master both. They have skill trees and somewhat deep character progression, but it's hard to level up enough to really feel powerful, and that was annoying.

The combat system is a mix of real time combat and a turn based RPG. The game only slows down, not pauses, while you choose your attacks. So as you pick your attacks and spec. moves, your enemy is slowing moving in for the kill too. You can't move once your moves are in, but you can cancel them to retreat. It's hard to explain, but I hated it. You can switch between your guy and an ally if you have one at the time, and even that's hard to do because then the computer controls your guy.

Special items are required a lot for certain areas, so exploring is often blocked. There are side quests, but a lot of them are short and boring. It does not have the loot collecting you'd expect either.

GOT is a narrative focused RPG to add to the HBO TV experience. There's a TON of dialogue, thank God for the good voice acting at most parts. But the gameplay is poor. Do not buy.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Unpolished but fun

posted by VeritasX (TUCSON, AZ) May 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is easily in the vein (especially combat wise) of Dragon Age: Origins. It has the same basic set up and roughly generally similar party control. The graphics are rough and some of the voice acting isn't the greatest. The game play gets better as you level up and unlock better abilities. Where the game truly shines is at being Game of Thrones. The story has a lot of fun hints and allusions to the canon material. You get to interact with the characters you know from the book.
This really is awesome for any RPG/Game of Thrones fan. Not everybody will enjoy it but it is really fun for those who are willing to give it a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I wonder...

posted by element04 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2006

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I don't know why people are hating on this game so much. Aside from from a problems here and there I thought the game was actually pretty fun. I'm actually going through my second play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mixed emotions

posted by spittylovejoy (DOVER, DE) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

felt that the game was visually pleasing and had a deep storyline that kept me interested in game eventually stopped playing because i cannot stand the terrible combat system they used for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good story bad graphics ok combat

posted by bmmasterchief (PORTLAND, OR) May 29, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

the game had what most rpgs today lack which is a strong intresting story, sure the graphics are bad but the combat isnt as horrible as they are saying in other reviews of this game and I think all you other gamers out there should give this game a chance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not good, but not as bad as everyone is saying...

posted by Snazzyngton (WIMBERLEY, TX) May 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Personally, i enjoyed this game a lot. I would definitely not recommend buying it, but it was a fun waste of time. First off let me say that i have NOT read the books and have only seen parts of the show, so i was not expecting an amazing and accurate game.

Okay, so firstly, the combat: Sure it is foreign compared to other games and can be a tad wonky, but i grew used to it pretty fast and actually enjoyed a change in combat. Sure it could also be GREATLY improved, but as i said i grew used to it.

Secondly, the graphics aren't extraordinary, but not awful. I actually enjoyed the look of it, but it could've been a lot better .

Thirdly, i found the story(ies) to be quite intriguing and enjoyable, but as far as being related to the show/books i have no idea how accurate it was.

My verdict: I'm going to give this game about a 6.5, just because I myself found it to be enjoyable. Sure there could've, and should've, been a ton of improvements, but what can i say, i liked it. If you are thinking about buying/renting this game i'd say do not buy, but if you're willing to work around the wonky-ness of the game it's a pretty enjoyable experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Where's The Fun

posted by Rodge78 (ASHTABULA, OH) May 17, 2012

Member since May 2012

13 out of 28 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I couldn't wait for this game thankfully I rented and did not buy it. First let me say I love Game of Thrones on HBO which after 1st season led me to the fantastic books. Now about the game 1st it is completely broken.The text is way to small so unless you have a 80in. HD tv good luck, I have a 42 in. in my room and most text is ineligible. The combat should have been similar to Skyrim but instead is uniquely disastrous, which you must wait 15 min. to find out. Graphics on par with original xbox games. This "game" caused me to write my 1st ever review because I had to warn fellow GOT lovers to just stick with tv show and books until a far superior game comes out. Please don't be drawn to this mummer's farce by GOT name like I was. My rating of 2 out of 10 is very generous beware the night is full of terrors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been better

posted by collinsdjr (FRANKFORD, WV) May 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

the combat system ruin the game for me.the graphic are very nice.i guess the storyline is good i had to stop playing it cause the combat system is the worst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Awful combat

posted by Toddzilla23 (MURRIETA, CA) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Please before you rent this look up gameplay video and look at the combat system- its horrible. You have to slow mo and script your attacks is like a really bad mix of normal combat and turn based. Like I said though check it out for yourself this is just my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by Badru (ORLANDO, FL) May 27, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was terrible, the way the battles take place is completely stupid its half way in between turn based and free roam fighting tho there is no way to run away to heal once in combat you simply are forced to either win or die... this brings shame to game of thrones

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I've ever played.

posted by hboc22 (CORBIN, KY) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This games existence proves that there is no god.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT

posted by CROSSxGODofWAR (COPPERAS COVE, TX) May 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

8 out of 21 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

do i need to say more its horrible, dialog is bad, graphics are bad, animation is bad i've about played over 250 xbox games and that is in the top ten WORST, looks like a downgraded dragon age but without customization, has a really stupid leveling system like there strengths and weaknesses,cut to it you end up having a lot more weaknesses by default even modded my exp and level to enjoy the game while i wait for my other game to come in so i can turn this one in....was int even worth it turned my xbox off put it back in the envelope and sent it on its way and i dont care if the mail man already left that game can stay in the mail box WORST GAME OF THE YEAR so far..... 1/10, but if i could it would be, Skull and Crossbones out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

you win or you DIE

posted by TheGangsta (MILWAUKEE, WI) May 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Attention to all fans of game of thrones(DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME.)given the popularity of the title you would expect a big budget watered-down Hollywood title but not this time.
WE all love game of thrones for its deep,intelligently plotted storyline and its visceral combat, but the makers of this game must live under a rock cause their version doesn't come close. There are some many cons about this game it would take me 2 days to list them all, but I"m just gonna cut straight to the chase,the combat system is what actually kills this title. It revolves around a 3 move turn -based system that will most likely halt your time in Westeros and send you running away like a deserter from the WALL. Bottom line watch the show or read the books.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game for a throne I don't want

posted by Gamegeezer59 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

WHAT IS THIS PILE OF DUNG! This the worst fighting system I have ever seen. You set up 3 moves in advance and wait for your life to drain away while this agonizingly slow piece of garbage performs the moves. IT'S JUST QUICKER TO CUT MY OWN THROAT! I really love the HBO show,but this is a slap in the face to the show for such poor game mechanics. Sorry HBO but you went to the wrong people on this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't bother

posted by yusman (BALTIMORE, MD) May 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a good 2 hours hoping it would get better. IMHO, the combat is HORRIBLE, boring and slow and the response options don't really seem to matter. Got it today, back in the mailbox today. So disappointed because I LOVE the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Honestly?

posted by BlazePhlogiston (WILMINGTON, DE) May 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I sat through the half hour cutscenes until the game actually let me play. 47.5 seconds later I pulled the game out and shipped it back. I was fighting the first person and my character and the enemy stood about 2 feet apart and just started old school rpg/mmo fighting each other. Now, don't get me wrong, I don't mind this type of fighting, but in a game like this? It just seems like they based a game around a awful fighting system. The even worst part is that the graphics for the game were lackluster at best. I'm all for storyline ...but I like to have fun too. Sorry, Atlus, Your game is garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

thank you, lowered expectations

posted by danguano (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i'm glad that i saw so many negative reviews before renting this, making me very pleasantly suprised. yeah, the character animations and voice acting are kind of lame, but not deal breakers, as the graphics and dialogue in general are pretty good. everybody's complaining about the combat system, but i enjoyed it! hearkens back to KotOR, Dragon age etc- the old Bioware style. it's nice to not be mashing buttons or pulling triggers for once.
i'm only a few hours in, but so far the story's been really well done. maybe it's just because i'm a fan of the series, but it's really drawn me in, which is rare in a RPG. (with most, i have no idea what's going on with the main plot, and don't much care) the switching back and forth between characters does a good job propelling things forward.
check it out, definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You win or You die...Well this Game should die...

posted by ShotgunShawn (FORT VALLEY, GA) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think this game had almost everything going for it. The graphics I thought were pretty good. The voice acting was good and the dialogue decisions weren't your normal 'This choice is goody goody this one is pure evil'. Like most of the characters from the books and the show, it's shades of grey. I liked the idea of picking not only your fighting style and strengths, but you also have to choose weaknesses as well to round your character out. (as mean as the Hound was, he was still scared of fire.)...So if you're reading this wondering why I gave this game a 2, you're about to find out...

PUTRID GAMEPLAY!!!! This has to be one of the worst combat systems I have ever seen, and I'm not the kind of person that puts up with bad gameplay just because the story is good. I believe storyline should be an addition to a game not it's backbone. If I want a good story I'll read a book or watch a movie. The forefront of a GAME should be GAMEPLAY... There is no strategy to the combat system whether you pick your moves or not your character just hacks away until either the opponent is dead or you are.

So if you are the kind of player who holds story in the highest regard in your games and your looking for something to tide you over until season 3. Go ahead you'll probably enjoy it.

But if you are like me and were looking forward to the experience of standing side by side with John Snow and battling white walkers, or clashing swords with the Kingslayer. Then Game of Thrones will leave you severely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dear god....

posted by avacaleb182 (SANTA MARIA, CA) May 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this was the WORST game i have EVER played in my life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! if i could give a zero for ratting a game i would for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse