Rent Game of Thrones for PS3
view large frontback

Game of Thrones

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.9

970 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as bad as IGN says, but not great either.

posted by Big_Ant_Johnson (CONYERS, GA) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has a good story. I'll start with that. The load times are bad when leaving towns, but not for cutscenes like some have said. The graphics are not as bad as folks say. They are not the best, but very much usable. The collision detection however is laughable at times (walk through things).

You will need to save often especially in the beginning because you don't have many skills and fights are deadly. I would say the fights really make you fear for your survival, as they intended.

Mors has a dog that he can control as a Skinchanger. The use of the dog for following leads, killing solo enemies, and sniffing out hidden items was fun. This is a part of the game I don't hear mentioned much, but it was enjoyable.

The fighting system is good once you've acquired skills and know how to string them together (cause knockdown, then use skill they ups damage when opponent is knocked down...etc.). Until you have good skills its a tough road and good luck.

At the end of Chapter 13 be sure to create an additional save to be used to see the other characters destiny. At this point it makes you choose between Mors and Alester. All four endings are worth seeing if you came this far.

+ Story is good
+ Mors' dog
+ Fighting system concept

- Load between towns
- Fighting system in action
- No happy ending

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

More like the Shame of Thrones

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) May 16, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

33 out of 36 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

As a fan of both the books by George R.R. Martin and the fantastic HBO show, I was a bit skeptical when I heard they were making an RPG based on the series. When I saw that Atlus was involved, I was a bit more hopeful. Sadly, they only distributed , as Cyanide developed the game, and dropped the ball. "Game of Thrones" does boast a good story, but few will see it all, as that requires you suffering through poor graphics, wooden voice acting, a poorly executed combat system, poor controls, and a poorly designed menu screen that's difficult to read. You alternate play between Mors, a member of the Night's Watch, and Alester, a red priest. Both could be interesting if they were well acted, but sadly, they're not. It's not that the dialogue is bad, it's just poorly delivered, almost as if they couldn't bother with professional voice actors and just got people off the street whose only qualification was that they have a British accent. The music is done well, though sparse, and the show's familiar theme plays over the opening screen. Also, be prepared for long load times between areas and cutscenes, and at least a 20 minute install before you even get to play. With choices in conversation that affect the game as it goes along, this could have been a terrific companion piece to the books and the show. Instead, it's a great disappointment all around. A shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated

posted by Hazmatology (CORONA, CA) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am disappointed at the rating that this game has. The Game of Thrones has kept true to the vision of George R. R. Martin with a very captivating storyline with decent graphics to boot. As far as the complaints about the combat being hard and somewhat boring, this just means that you should lower the difficulty settings if you have no grasp of strategy. The voice acting wasn't as good as it could have been but it certainly wasn't as bad either. Let's see..the music was done well. All in all if you like Game of Thrones I would definitely recommend this game. One criticism I have is, however, is that the loading time is pretty long as far as games these days go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I won't be finishing this game.

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) May 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Now. I RARELY post reviews without finishing games, but, this is a game I cannot finish. That's both good and bad: it's good in that there's a lot here. It's bad in that there's a lot here that isn't that enthralling.

I know some people (IE, me) have seen the gameplay and have thought, "This looks similar to Dragon Age: Origins!" And to be fair, the combat is a bit similar. The storytelling is not.

Allow me to focus my review; the game is split between two characters: Mors, a brother of the Night's Watch, and Alester, a lordling (and Red Priest) of the riverlands.

You are able to customize the fighting styles of each of these characters--or, at least, you're able to choose one of three fighting styles.

Now, allow me to explain the deep details of the characters: Mors is the gruff-voiced guy. Alester is the optimistic guy. One would assume that they eventually team up, and kick butt together.

I normally would go into more detail, but here's my breakdown of the good and the bad:

Good:
+It's Game of Thrones.
+Combat is similar to DA: Origins
+Good voice acting

Bad:
-Pacing is agonizingly slow.
-A lot of earlier fights (first 5 hours or so) are luck-based.
-Dated graphics (building textures and character models and textures are fairly bland)

Overall:
The game is NOT a bad one; the storyline is actually quite good, if slow, and the characters are intriguing. However.. the combat is nowhere near as polished as Dragon Age's, and nowhere near as satisfying.

Let me say this though, I am a huge fan of the books (haven't gotten around to the TV series yet, but this game may be what pushes me into starting) and when I heard George R.R. Martin wrote the script for the game, I did expect more.

If you're a very patient person, you may get a great deal of enjoyment out of this game. If you're an impatient prat, like certain other "reviewers" on this site.. you will HATE this game. As for me, my patience ran out around Chapter 6 or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BAD BAD BAD

posted by lizogan (POST FALLS, ID) May 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

what a terrable game! The graphics are decent but not what you can expect for a ps3 game. The voice acting is O.K but not great, the story is not very captivating, and by far the worse and most painfull part of this game....the gameplay/fighting. Wow is it bad, its clunky its slow and definately the worse gameplay I have ever experienced. Its not turn base or action, its a terrible mix of both. It was like an action rpg mated with a turn based rpg and had the most crazy messed up birth defected baby that ever lived. Do not waste your time. If you are expecting a game like skyrim its not even close, not in the same ball park, state, country, world or even universe. This is why I have gamefly, so I dont have to waste my money on buying stupid games like this. Someday the rpg world of gaming will make a comeback, for now not even close.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing Really WRONG with the game

posted by IrishDrinker (FRANKLIN, IN) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Alright, Many people dislike the game, because it isn't up to par with some newer ones. Fair enough. However, this game is in no way horrible like people say. Their is a good story, that has a bit of variation and history. The two characters are pretty good, one being a brother of the Nights Watch, the Other a Red Priest Lord.

The voice acting was good enough. Not great, but more then enough to get the job done. The textures on the background were alittle disappointing, and the game was a tad linier for my tastes, but had some exploration and the like. There were hidden goodies laying around to be found as the dog AND Alestar.

It was not a great game, by any means. One of the problems I had, was that cut scenes were scripted, instead of using your character, they used one premade. So, in the end chapter, instead of me fighting a fully armed and armored Mors with a Valyrian mace and Shield (like I had), and his dog, I ended up fighting a lightly armored two handed fighter.... with completly different skills then I had. This was a bit disappointing.

Overall, It was a good game to play. I was even going to go through it twice, and change some of my options (Alestar an archer instead of a Water Dancer, and being a cruel heartless dude killing the peasents instead of subduing the rebellion peacefully). It is a good one through, maybe two through. I can't see it lasting more then that, however.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really?

posted by LordLJV (NORTH CANTON, OH) May 18, 2012

Member since May 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I don't think you can even call it a combat system, it's more of a hit some buttons and hope system. I just wanted to get through the story so I put it on the lowest difficulty setting and still have no idea what I am doing. I think they just said to the developers "listen, it's popular now so put a big steaming pile of dung out quickly and people will still buy it". The books are incredible and would makes for great video games if someone actually decided to put in some effort to make them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Please realize this game is turn based RPG

posted by pagefan13 (BURLINGTON, VT) May 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i bought this game pre ordered it could not wait to play it opted to play before Max Payne. Was sadly disappointed cause it was called live action RRPG when it is a turn based. Not my style game I guess this is my fault but everything I read n ever mentioned this so now I'm forced to get rid of it for like $30 . Just trying to help people out so they don't make the same mistake I did was expecting a skyrim type game and got a final fantasy type. .Graphics r nice just can't deal with the fighting style can't give it a fair rating because of this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Had it two days, and tried hard to like it...

posted by handley8250 (LUBBOCK, TX) May 19, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to love this game, because I love several of the concepts that I've seen in the show. But it is so long in getting going, and the combat system isn't as fun as just getting in there and hacking away at something. It's a turn basis where you line up a Que with your next moves, like the original Knights of the Old Republic. Much the same as that, but for some reason it's not as fun. I don't feel like I have much say in what happened within this character's development except for which dialog that I choose. Otherwise I just try not to die, and that's about it. Not really my cup o' tea...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Displeased

posted by ButteredRollz (MESA, AZ) May 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

When you watch the trailer for the game it looks very interesting. But when you actually play the game everything is wrong. The graphics to begin with are absolutely terrrible. Its so Ps2 graphics. Technology has come too far to revert back. I dont care how big the game will be. The fighting is worse than PC fighting. Doesnt react when you press the button so you pretty much have to keep mashing the button. Overall, I think the game was horrible and a complete waste of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome.

posted by Riddl3box (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Sep 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Unlike the other reviews, I actually love this game.
It's just fun, the voice acting is really good, and the story is similar to the first book with Jon Arryn's death. I'm half-way through the game and can't get enough of it.

Don't be discouraged by the low rating. If ya want to play this, you may be like me and end up liking it enough to even want to buy it. Yes, I agree, it's graphics aren't "shock ya eyelids", they're decent, however I appreciate them nonetheless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very very very ok

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) May 29, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I liked it i have always and always loved RPG but i have never seen the show and don"t care about the show either. I just wish better customization features would add the thing it needs. Also better graphics please pitty the fool it is horrible! ok ok ok very ok game !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad - Really Really Bad

posted by shortattnspan (YORK, PA) May 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I tried to be open minded and play a second time. That was 2 times too many

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

game of thrones

posted by Usmc01 (TOWNVILLE, SC) May 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

well the only way to describe the game is its just bad.no other way to put it.rent at youre own risk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

no worth renting

posted by coyote837 (BURNS, TN) May 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The interface is crude and the graphics are poor.
You may think you will never get to play at all-- with the interminable chattering on and on and on with no way to skip the cut scene. The AI is heavy on the Artificial part and light on the Intelligence part. Rent something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really bad, not what I was expecting

posted by QB9411 (CANOGA PARK, CA) May 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

First off, I love Game of Thrones. I've read all the books, seen Season1 and currently in the middle of Season2 with HBO.

When I saw this game in GF, I was so excited and really excited when GF shipped it to me.

I waited 25 minutes to install this game and when I started playing it I was really disappointed. It was a turn based game, kinda like Civilization but not as good as Civ.

Also I hate RPGs with accompanying characters. That's why I didn't like that Dragon game. With RPG I want the option to just leave these NPCs so I can finish the quests on my own.

Here are my complaints:
a. Game took a long time to install
b. The turn based combat is stupid. RPGs should be like Skyrim, that's the platinum standard.
c. Graphics are not very good. It reminds me when I had a PS2.

It's too bad, the storyline was interesting but this game was just unplayable for me.

Thank you GF for shipping this but I returned it immediately after playing with it for a few minutes.

'Nuff said :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game of thrones

posted by matthew22 (BETHLEHEM, KY) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok for starters some knights and castles games like this are ok. But for me as I was playing i got to the first part of the game and didn't like it. I think game of thrones is the worst knights and castles game i have ever played before. Skyrim was a better game than this game i thought. I might have like game of thrones if it made sense. I thought there was no plot to the game at all. I really wish i could have gave it a higher rating but I just couldn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage!!!!

posted by bertconner (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was a complete waste of time! As a fan of the show and the books it really is a huge let down. After 30 min of horrible acting in a cut scene you get to use your sword. Not that you can actually control your person like in most games it is more like you select an attack method and then it acts it out. Worst game I have played this year by far! I do not know why they even released it because it should have been thrown in a trash can with the rest of the garbage!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this games sucks

posted by animal5153 (NAMPA, ID) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

worst game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game of thrones sucks

posted by Raul_Rios12 (HINESVILLE, GA) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible 1.the graphics are bad and everything about the game is garbbage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Really Lame

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) May 18, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Where do i start to express my disappiontment on this game. First having to wait 30 painful minutes just to even play it was the 1st bad sign. 15 minutes to load the game then 15 more minutes of opening cut scenes before the game started tested my patience. Then finally once the game got started it fizzeled horribly. I didnt really care for the show on HBO and i certainly didnt care for the game.
I'm sure others will agree. That's one hour of my life i'll never get back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

game play

posted by 3connor1 (ARNAUDVILLE, LA) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 33 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

based on the screenshots of the game it does not look like anything from the book or t.v. show it looks to be a game like the elder scrolls and would be a free roam game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game of a good series

posted by shinku (ANCHORAGE, AK) May 14, 2014

Member since Mar 2007

It took an hour to load then cut scene load cut scene load. Endless cut scenes and little action. I have never pushed X so much especially for so little action. Almost no involvement just more cut scenes. Can't remember hating a game so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by Biggmike85 (KENOSHA, WI) May 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I have played all kinds of games, Skyrim, Diablo, Two worlds....In my opinion this game is poorly designed and the way you interact to people and items compaired to Diablo 3 is horrible. i tried it for 2 minutes then sealed it back up and shipped it back out the same day i got it. but thats just my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good Ideas, bad game

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

This was straight out of the gate boring. I like the strength and weakness idea but that needs more choices. This seemed very much like a beta for something that would be a decent rpg.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse