Rent Game Party for Wii
view large frontback

Game Party

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.3

1475 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE AND BORING

posted by hughesclan (LENEXA, KS) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is not user friendly and has to be the most boring game. I would rather play 1980's pong than play this again. The graphics are terrible and there are only a few games to play. The trivia was rated the highest i suppose but not enough to ever want to take the time to get off my couch and load the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!! Don't waste your time!!

posted by jlgriff (RIVERBANK, CA) Dec 6, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

21 out of 24 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

My husband and I played this game for maybe 15 min. and were bored....TO DEATH!! Graphics are bad, controls are akward, characters are ugly, and games are about as fun as a root canal. We ended up sending it back the very same day we received it. My advice.... Don't waste your time!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

0 Is More Accurate.

posted by Iamnobody (WILMINGTON, DE) May 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game Party is the only game I have every played that did absolutely nothing right. Every single part of this game either does not work, or was designed very poorly. Usually I can find at least one thing to put in the "Pros" box, but not for this game.

Cons:

Several games are impossible to start.

The games that do start have motion controls that rarely respond.

The graphics and characters look like something from the N64 era.

The game is filled with bugs. Games crash, menus crash, the game itself doesn't start...

Air hockey starts, but the camera angle is so bad that it is both nearly impossible to control and nauseating to play. Did I mention it's also the best game in Game Party? Yeah...

The menu character selection menu is aggravating to navigate. The dozens of nearly identical characters are crowded into multiple rooms.

Assuming you do mange to select one of the characters, you'll also notice he/she is hideously ugly.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I could go on, but I think you get the idea. You may have played some terrible games, but Game Party will make them look like masterpieces. Avoid this game at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

worth checking out

posted by trarocks (TRENTON, NJ) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

awesome graphics, lots of games to pick from, fun for a wii party- controls were good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Liked it very much

posted by goichik (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I previously bought Carnival Games after reading good reviews on Amazon but I hated it and sold it.

This Party Games has fewer games but the graphics are better, the characters are better, and the games are much better.

4 people can play on some of the games and it can be a very good suite of party games to play at parties. I recommend this to be tried once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GAME PARTY IS GREAT

posted by LEFRANK (DEBARY, FL) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think Game Party is much better than Carnival Games for the "older" players (empty nesters) I lost interest quickly in Carnival games and the directions were not very clear. In GAME PARTY, directions were much better and the element of skill was better. This is one I will purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game party a look alike to Wii Sports/Play

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game Party for some reason got an overall low score. I thought it was pretty good i mean it has a lot of characters and customizable things on it that make you want to play it all the time. It has Skill ball( which is skii ball), Darts, Trivia, and many other very fun game modes. This is a good game its hillarious and its very fun.Youll have hours of fun with this game. One thing i can think of that they could improve on this game is make it wifi compatible and it would be amazing. Another perk to this game is its very cheap so its a win win. Its a great Wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't waste your time

posted by jaba1017 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game Party? This would be one sad party! Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

100% garbage

posted by wiiforever (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Controls are very hard. Poor gameplay. Not worth to rent this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Why Make A Boring Game Midway? Not Even Worth $5!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Dec 1, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I played it for a about 30min and played all games. Multiplayer is not much better. Carnival Games is not the best but at least it is worth a rental. You used to be one of my favorite publishers but this title has a terrible interface, lackluster animations, weird controls, just a few games, and not much depth. I rented Cruisn {should get it Monday} and hope it will be better (even though it looks like the same terrible game on the N64). I regret renting this; the $20 retail price should have let me know not to rent it. If Cruisn is a bad one then no more Midway for me {maybe a better Mortal Kombat will regain me as a customer}!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average competitor, but still okay for parties.

posted by grshopr007 (SILVERDALE, WA) Jan 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Game Party has some decent games, such as shuffleboard, beer pong, darts, air hockey, hoop shot and skee ball. All of these games are fun to play in real life, but the Wii controls for these games are awkward and unreliable. Throwing the darts was not at all like throwing a real dart, and it was hard to gage the force needed for the shuffleboard puck. Other games such as Hoop shot and Skee ball do not allow multiplayer head-to-head action...not very good for a party game. Still, there were some decent party games that were easy to learn, but still required dexterity (which goes out the window fast after too many drinks) such as Air hockey and Beer Pong.
Overall, this game has a hard time competing with other party games like Wii Play and Mario Party because of the difficult controls and single player games, but is still worth playing during cocktail parties.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not very fun at all

posted by brianc11 (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Tried each of the games, and my 4.5 year old son had such a hard time with the controls, that I put it right back into the mail box.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rating does not do this game justice

posted by Rampage3 (CREST HILL, IL) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun, enjoyed it with all members of the family even grandparents. The rating seems a bit harsh. Easy for younger children my 9 yr old really liked the game. We actually now own this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun for all

posted by JWnPooh (SCOTT DEPOT, WV) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I used to like going to arcades and Billy Bobs to play some of these fun filled games, now I am able to enjoy them at home.

I am only disappointed in one of the many choices of games and that is Darts: Cricket. If you play this on any computerized dart board it keeps track of your scoring when a target is still open. On the Wii your score is based on how soon and how many darts it takes to close all of the targets.

Other than that, this is a must have for friends and familys everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun for about a couple hours...

posted by rojobou (LIVERMORE, CA) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played this game for about 2 hours last night and realized why it is only a $20 (retail priced) game. It has a sort of "rushed-to-market" feel about it - you can't use your Mii, the graphics are jittery, and the details are not all that well thought-out. I was lured in by the promise of "unlocking new features," only to find out that most of these "rewards" are only new characters and different colors for your skee-balls or basketballs. The Ping Cup game is downright frustrating. The best game is Shuffleboard, which might be fun to play with other people. The biggest disappointment for me was Table Hockey. While all of the other games are in the first-person point of view, Table Hockey is viewed from the side. I have no idea why Midway decided to do this - maybe they couldn't fix programming issues in time (which helps my theory of this game being rushed out).

Bottom line - this is worth renting if your other games have Low Availability, or if you REALLY love Skee Ball or Shuffleboard or Table Hockey but live a hundred miles away from any of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game Party Reviewed

posted by Joystick (VICCO, KY) Dec 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game Party for the Wii console is truely a game for everyone. No matter is your a child or hard core gamer who just wants to take a break from war games and adrenaline pumping racing games. Game Party is a fun alternative game thats based from a carnival arcade room, that is all except the Trivia game. Game Party can be played as a family game with the kids or a friend get together.

The game style is simiple and the controls used during play can take some practice since the controls aren't that accurate and take some getting use to. Game Party contains 7 different mini-games which include Darts/cricket, Hoop Shooting, Ping Cup, Shufffleboard, Skill Ball (commonly known as Skee ball), Table Hockey and finally Trivia.

The games can be played with one to four players. Point tickets can be won with each game played and the Ticket points won depends on your winning or losing score. The tickets can be traded in for an opportunity to change one of the following: The look of the game your playing, the area/room your playing the game in, or your character (ranging from Santa to a Marine in uniform), if that makes any difference. Thats pretty much sums up this game review. The good thing about playing these arcade games is that you cant lose any money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game from game fly i recomend you rent it !!!

posted by johnyouis (ENDICOTT, NY) Jul 25, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

realy good game i curently have a copy out and is amazing all the games that are in it asoecialy sufle boreds ad it makes a great two player game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best yet!

posted by msw1106 (SCHWENKSVILLE, PA) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

We have a hard time leaving the house since we purchased this game! We have people over every weekend & play this for hours at a time! Trivia questions are up to date & each mini game rewards you with tickets that add up & unlock fun additions to each game! Everyone HAS to play this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun to rent but not to buy

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game was fun for about a month and then it showed just how low the replay value was. It started as a 9 so I gave it that but after a while the limitations outweigh the fun. Would recommend to kids that love ticket arcades but even they would get bored after some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Party For The WII

posted by tiplee58 (ATHENS, AL) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is very boring!!! With the exception of maybe dart throwing the rest is ho hum.

I hope the games get better!!!!!

The average 4.3 ratings must be for ages 11 - 15

SO FAR THE SPORTS PACKAGE THAT CAME WITH THE WII IS THE BEST GAME SO FAR.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average

posted by tim05753 (EAST MIDDLEBURY, VT) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Graphics are ok - you choose from a bunch of typical generic Mii type characters, then watch most of the games through your chosen Mii's transparent head. Unlockables seem pointless, as they are just different Miis and the like. There are only 7 games:

Darts: Aim with the wiimote, lock on, then hold the wiimote like a dart, holding the A button down. Jab forward and release the A button to throw. Difficult to gauge how hard to swing the wiimote.

Hoop Shooting: Swing the wiimote overhand, let go of the A button, and watch the basketball's random motion. Unplayable.

Ping Cup: Bounce the ball into a set of cups set up like bowling pins. Lock on and toss similar to darts, but with an overhand throw instead of a jab. Same control issue.

Shufffleboard: Move side to side and angle with the + pad, 1 and 2 buttons. Hold A, jab, release A. Same as darts and ping cup, dificult to gauge how hard to jab.

Skill Ball (aka Skee ball): Shuffleboard with and underhand throw. I wasn't able to get the ball halfway up the ramp.

Table Hockey: 3/4 overhead view that some don't like. I thought it was fine. Similar to real table hockey in that I score on myself more often than my opponent, but that's just me.

Trivia: Spin the wheel to get a catagory, answer multiple choice question. Not bad.

As a single player game, you'll be bored in half an hour (unless you really love one of the games in real life), but it's not designed for that. With practice, the control issues seem like they could be overcome. As a party game, some of the games could be fun, especially trivia.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game Party

posted by stinkninja (DELMAR, NY) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I received this game, the same day I sent it back. It means well its just the motion detection is very bad, and frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nauseating

posted by gamer43 (CARBONDALE, IL) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This is the worst game ever thought up. No offense to Midway games. I literally got sick playing this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is boring

posted by haley123 (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

i hated it. it only had so many games taht were fun (like 1). i would not recomend it to any ne that i know

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game PARTY???????????????

posted by gamercindy (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

Game party is not a party at ALL, the controls for ALL of the games never work, in table hockey, when you try to move your character, ALL you do is lean toward the puck, you can't block the opponent from scoring goals!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse