Rent Game Party 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Game Party 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.0

802 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

game party 2

posted by deeandken (CLERMONT, FL) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My family and I enjoyed this game, however, to have to keep picking characters before EVERY game...was a pain. If you are competing against someone - when you initially pick your player-it should stay the same player. Not when each round is over- you have to pick the character again. Kind of a pain. All in all, the game kept us entertained - adults and kids all enjoyed it. Make sure you wear the wrist band, because "some" people get a little carried away with the dart game!!!! =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I only liked the trivia...

posted by idwong (BRONX, NY) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All the mini games are way below par and after reading all the both positive and negative reviews, I figured I would give it a try. I really wasted a game on my GameQ. The only decent part about the game is the trivia as I got to show some of my smarts off. Our family night trying the game only lasted 10 minutes until we turned to a Disney movie for entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Limited Fun and Cumbersome

posted by AustinTX (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It felt as though half the time spent with this game was entering player names and setting up games.

To top it off, even though it supports 4+ player play, it restricted it to 2 controllers. So, we found ourselves swapping controllers back and forth like hot potato the entire game play.

Controls are very basic, single button, single motion, with very little creativity behind them.

The only redeeming aspect of this game is that it is multiplayer and 4 or more can play and we did enjoy ourselves when we were actually playing the games. It's an ideal game for the Wii. Too bad it doesn't deliver the entire Wii gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Stay out of this "Game Room"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Game Party 2 is yet another game trying to copy the success of Wii Sports. It even has their own version of the Miis (Why can't they just use Miis in this game?)
Game Party 2 has eleven games, not all are unique. It has six original types of games.
One group of games includes Darts and QB Challenge. Here, you toss either a dart or football at the screen at the targets.
Another group of games has Lawn Dart, Horseshoes, Beanbags, and Skill Ball. Here you use an underhanded throw to toss an object or ball at a target.
Then there's Hoop Shoot and Ping Cup, where you shoot overhand to get ball(s) into basket or cups.
Shuffleboard has you pushing discs as close to the edge as you can without going over.
Puck Bowling tries to be like the Bowling in Wii Sports.
Finally, there's a Trivia Challenge where you answer several multiple choice questions.
All the games work fine, except the Darts and QB Challenge; I had little control of where the dart/football was going to end up.
If I'm starting to sound bland, that's because this game seriously lacks presentation. The graphics are dull, the menus are boring and all the characters lack emotion.
Winning the games doesn't get me much; after each game, I get tickets to unlock different looking gaming gear or unlock new features to modify my avatar's look with. But these unlockables don't add anything exciting to the game - they're just cosmetic changes.
The only real draw is multi player, but that's true for almost every title of this genre.
Skip Game Room 2; there are better mini game collections than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A nice sequel to the first one

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Oct 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I played Game Party one and it was prouble one of the best sports games available for the wii. There are a bunch of "junk" sports games out for the wii which quite honestly shoudnt of ever been launched into the wii world. This game isnt one of those. If you havnt played any of the game parties then you might be sceptical. But this is a very decent sports game for the wii. If you have a bunch of friends to play this with it will be fun but if your alone it wont be since there is no WiFi and it gets quite dull without a real competitor. This game has many fun new games that some are fun and some not so much. I personally liked the bean bag game which is pretty much the game every college person plays in their front lawn. Horse shoes is also another game on there which i thought was just a bit difficult and i kept losing. All the other games are pretty fun though. Also if you played the first game party it has all the games from that one too. In general this game is one of the best sports game available for the wii and every wii owner needs to try this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Coaster Game

posted by baloo93906 (SALINAS, CA) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I know, this game has nothing to do with a roller coaster. Well it has nothing to do with party games either. If these 'games' were 'parties' they would be the equivalent of a bikini festival in the south pole. The only good thing about this game is that if you use the disc as a coaster you might be able to protect your table. Although the game is so lousy, it probably would not be able to do that effectively either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the main Wii sports games out there

posted by babytaz (CROSBY, TX) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was shocked by the game play of it and my kids was going crazy over it. They loved the game. Even me and my husband loved this game and he isn't much of a gamer. The instructions to the game is simple also and fast to pick up and play. If you liked this game I think that you might like Mario Party 8, Rayman Raving Rabbids, MySims, and Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz.

P.S.
Leave it to Gamefly
to get the best games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

cool game, has some annoying features

posted by thisisnotpoetry (SOUTH FALLSBURG, NY) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

it's a great game, lots of fun. but i agree with another reviewer, having to constantly select a character is annoying. the aim controls on the darts could be a little better, and it could have more options on several of the games. rent it, play it, and enjoy it. but if you're going to buy it, get a deal on a used copy because it isn't totally "worth" the money, even though it is fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gave it a 7

posted by Bluewire (SAINT PETERS, MO) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I see a lot of people giving this low reviews, and I'm giving it a 7 based on the type of game it is. We all know its a niche game, or at least we should, and its all about two or more player competition, just as Wii Sports, and Wii Game Party 1 etc. So take it for what it is, and it delivers fairly well.

Some of the games I found boring, but my kids loved. One game that did stand out was lawn darts for me. Used to love those things as a kid, and it was fun. Also it was pretty easy for a 3 year old to do most of these games, and she got really excited when she could land a bean bag on the box, for whatever reason she really loved the bean bag toss.

Again, my 7 is based on the type of game it is, and how it matches up to games of similar play. (If I were to compare it to all the games out there, it'd probably get a 4)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wii sports is better

posted by ssch180640 (POINT PLEASANT BORO, NJ) Oct 18, 2009

Member since May 2006

this is one of the worst games I ever played I only played it for only for 5 minutes then I sent it back. The graphics were poor and the motion controls were horrible half of the time I was doing them right and they wouldn't accept them WII SPORTS is soo much better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No Excitement Factor

posted by m311ton (MILWAUKEE, WI) Aug 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game was really disappointing. It has so much potential with a great list of games that could be addicting and make for great party games. The problem is that there is no excitement factor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great for parties, The kids would enjoy this one.

posted by gdub3182 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

At first I found this game to be great but after about a week you get tried of playing the same mini games over and over. The kids too would probably get tried after they master the movements in each game. It's not all a downer with this the game. The close to real life interaction makes you feel like your really shooting hoops, or throwing darts. I believe it's more fun when have a few players that like to challenge each other and compete for the highest scores.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

We had fun

posted by thebreeze (EASTSOUND, WA) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

It was alot of fun with several players not so much alone unless you really want to practice but it is a worth while experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not much of a Party

posted by mizzrose40 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

If you are looking for something to do while sitting this is the perfect game. Not much excitement. After 30 minutes my 9 year old nephew decided he had had enough and put it back in the envelope for the mail man. NO FUN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth renting - gets old fast

posted by WiiRay (SAN MATEO, CA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game has like 5 different types of games that are essentially like the exact same thing. Darts and pop a shot are cool I guess, but it gets old fast. Is good for about 2 hours max, then drop it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Many games in one!

posted by cutie0162 (RICHMOND, VA) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

For the retail price of this game it isnt bad. It has several different games on it. Some are hard or pointless but its fun. Some games you can have a team (shuffle board) which makes it morefun if you have more than 2 people playing. My family enjoyed it. Will probably purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game for parties!

posted by bonman (BRIGHTON, CO) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

This game was pretty good for a party. It offered a lot of different games to play as a family or as a group of adults. We used it at a xmas party and it kept everyone entertained for hours. Would have been nice if some how you could have used your Mii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Looks Good Cosmetically Only...

posted by AGuyFromLA (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game really bombed. One would think that with the simplicity of the gamepack that was a part of the Wii in it's box, this one should have come off with a breeze. How wrong I was. We tried a "family night" on a Friday, and this just didn't do the job. It's sad that most of the new games are bombing for Wii. Going to stick to the VC games until something worth while comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »