Rent Gallop & Ride for Wii
view large frontback

Gallop & Ride

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

76 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for kids...

posted by DrKnow (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game mainly for my daughter. Its basically ninten-dogs for horses.

You own a horse farm with 1 horse and have to ride it, clean it, feed it and win some races for money to add on to the farm , buy more animals, train then feed them. You get to take the horses for rides in different areas that are unlocked. Jump them, race them etc..

The Wii remote controls are actually surprisingly good for this game. Controlling the horse was easy and overall, not a bad control system.

As an adult, this game was boring boring boring.... My little 7 year old loved it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

"Gallop and Ride": Not quite makes the mark

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As I started playing Gallop and Ride, I wondered how my character got his/her hands on such good property - a large home, stables, huge fields to ride about in and nobody around except for horses.
But I digress; Gallop and Ride is about riding horses, taking care of the business of riding horses and caring for the horses you do ride.
You start off with 300 credits and one horse. To make more credits, you have to ride about the first of three areas, jumping over every fence and wall section you come across. This builds up your horse's skill.
Get enough skill points and you can participate in jumping competitions every Wednesday and Sunday for credits.
You also get credits by opening up a place to train up to 3 foals a day by making the foal go to a marked spot on screen.
As you accumulate credits, you open up a guest house and rent out rooms and horses to guests, build a breeding grounds where you can breed your horses with others for a stud fee, get a therapy place to massage clients' horses for more credits, and buy the other two fields so you can take on more jumping competitions. There's a lot of things to do here.
You also have to keep the horses fed, healthy and clean. Keeping them fed; no problem. Just make sure you buy food, feed them, and clean the stables (Pooper scooper, anyone?)
Keeping them clean is different; you do that by playing minigames - brushing or hosing off dirt, brushing and scraping off dirt from the horses hooves and massaging horses (after you've built the therapy center.)
All this works if the controls work well. Cleaning and massaging the horses are easy to pull off, though you have to do them many times over.
Where this game goes wrong - very wrong - is in riding horses and training of the foals. The controls here are very clunky and almost non responsive. The biggest problem is getting the horse to gallop fast; sometimes it just stood there, other times it just trotted.
Horse lovers: rent this game, others skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Relaxing and Fun for a Change of Pace

posted by TRWilkins (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have a lot of games and most of them consist of role playing and action. they can be very challenging and trying at times. This is the perfect game for me to relax. It's very fun. Basically, you're given a run down ranch from your grandfather and you have to earn money to fix it up to get more clients.

Some of the mini games are challenging, but once you get used to the controls it's very fun. By the way, you can change the settings for controlling your horse in the options menu to the joystick, which is a complaint a lot of people have.

This game is very addicting and though it would seem as though it would be repetitive, it really works out okay.

Basically I recommend this game to anyone that wants a break from really challenging games and loves horses (though there are a couple of things that are HIGHLY inaccurate such as how to pick a horses hooves...hello you have to pick out the frog...but in the game the horse will kick and lose trust...whatever).

So basically a fun, relaxing sim game if you don't take it too seriously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by marie1977 (HEUVELTON, NY) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game wouldn't be half bad if the creators made the controls for training the foals a little easier like useing the arrow pad keys to move the foal closer and away from you instead of having to whip the controler around to get the foal to move. Over all I find the game really fun and enjoyable!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE controls!!

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 19, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game moves much too slow for my taste. I tried the jumping part before I got into the story part of the game and once again the controls were hard to use. I found the controls to be worse than My Horse and Me. I would love a horse game for the Wii where the controls are easier to use. My character either kept running all the time or running into a wall as I was having a difficult time figuring out how to control her. At least in My Horse and Me you got to ride right away where as this game you must have to earned credits cleaning hooves or something. You always have to buy stuff which to me is no fun as it's based on the credits you earn. So back in the mail this game goes. I can't even see how a little girl is going to control the horse, etc. as an adult myself I'm having issues with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Saddle Up!

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jan 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Get ready to ride and run a business. In Gallop and Ride, you inherit a run-down riding facility and you are asked to restore it to its former glory. Combining the fun of riding a beautiful horse and the logical thinking of an entrepreneur, this game is a wonderful and fun game. There are no time limits, so take your time and relax and just have fun. The graphics are beautiful and the riding areas are a work of art! As you ride, you search for golden horseshoes that give bonus points for special items. You

train foals for clients and massage horses for clients to earn money. Once you prepare the guest house, guests will come to ride the horses and enjoy the beauty. The controls are easy and can be switched to either use the remote and nunchuk as reins or to use the control stick to steer. You can play as either male or female and there are many clothes and styles to choose from. There are three horse breeds with many color combinations to create your dream horse! The only downside is that you must buy horse

feed by each individual serving rather than a bag of feed with many servings. All in all, anyone who likes horses and would like to see what it's like to run a riding facility will enjoy this game. Now, go riding and have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gallop and ride

posted by 3454522 (POUNDING MILL, VA) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i like this game a lot of fun i owned 30 horses 45 dogs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it was scrached and would not play.

posted by khayla (WAYLAND, MI) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

tried to get it to play but no such luck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »