Rent GUN for Xbox 360
view large frontback

GUN

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC, Xbox, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

5664 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Short but Fun

posted by JimmyB (CLARKS MILLS, PA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

36 out of 37 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Although there are many flaws with this game, let me start out by pointing out that Gun is a very fun game to play and allows you to get your game fix in quick increments if you don't have the time. For the 360, the graphics definitely are sub-par, looking almost identical to an original XBox game with multiple collision incidences (something that Neversoft seems to be known for). Although there are many side missions, it almost seems like they were added because the main game was too short. Having said this, however, they did help immerse you in the atmosphere of the old west. There are many different types, from leading a cattle drive to capturing wanted criminals to delivering packages on the pony express. My biggest complaint, next to the graphics, is the computer A.I. Enemies seem to have a fairly short vision radius, allowing you to pick them off from a distance with head shots. At other times (especially on harder difficulties), certain missions seem impossible. Considering the anemic game selection for the 360, this game is a great rental--something you can enjoy playing for a few weeks, but can happily send back for something new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Xbox version with a little better graphics

posted by Squiggler (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game on the original XBox. I played through it on the 360 to get my achievement points. It was fun still, but not really any different than the original. The graphics were a little better, but overall about the same. This is a fun game and I would recommend it for rental. Not much replay value. Once you beat the game, you've seen it all. Could have been longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a bad game sort but good Easy Achivements

posted by grandmoff (Lynnwood, WA) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty well done, the game play mechanics were suprisingly easy to pick up on. The story line wasnt the most complex or suprising. If you just play through the story mode its a few hour game but with all the side missions it can go on for a lot longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, But Not Great

posted by JStayton (MARTINEZ, CA) Feb 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are looking for the next gen graphics associated with XBox360 games, then this isn't the title for you. However, if you enjoy a nice storyline and solid gameplay, then GUN may be just what you are looking for. There are obvious flaws in the game, one being its length. It should not take more than about 4-5 hours of play to finish the main storyline and all of the side quests (on easy or normal at least), and there is not much more to do after that. The harder difficulties can be really challenging (insane is, well, insane). If you are looking for some easy gamertag points, you may like this game. There are 800 points out of the 1000 that are rather easy (the other 200 for beating it on hard and insane), and the only reason to play the game through more than once is to obtain more gamertag points. The game plays solid and is enjoyable for the first time through. A great game to rent and beat in a couple of days, but definitely not a game that you should purchase. If only there were more things that could be done outside of the missions. There is a scalping feature, but it appears to have no point to it (I scalped a few people, but it does absolutely nothing in terms of the game - you can get 100% complete without scalping anyone). Overall, a 'good' game that deserves a rating of 7/10. If there were a multiplayer it would have vastly improved the game, but as is this is a solid game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gun Slingin Comes Alive (for the most part)

posted by Ricayu (YUMA, AZ) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For those who like to challenge themselves, let me suggest you set this game at a harder difficulty. I found myself strategizing and trying to figure out how not to get killed. I am relieved not to have been born in the Old West as I would have died a dozen times on numerous missions. The good news is that the mission reloads and has unannounced checkpoints throughout and reloads so you can die, I mean try again.

Unfortunately I do not see this game having much replayability. Partly because you are limited to the main story line. There are optional sidequests to complete, that greatly boost your stats, but I couldn't help but wonder if the creator's opened up this world as the wonderous world of "Oblivion" the old west would have come alive. You were given a task to do, your clothes changed even when they were cool depending on your mission, and you took the role of a gunslinger. I would have loved more freedom to explore and continue working with the Native Americans; exporing their culture, going on raids, talkig to NPC's (which you don't do) would have greatly improved this game. The map was also limited in size.

Despite those points, this was a great look into what life would have been like in the late 1800's. There were mature references and speech, but slingin guns and charging a crowded room, or hiding behind a boulder taking sniper shots was quite satisfying. There was diversity in the approach needed to accomplish your mission, the story, and weapons you were able to use, to warrent this game a good recommendation. A great game for those who like RPG's, shooters, or history.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Idea, some issues though.

posted by dfcski (LINCOLN, RI) May 18, 2006

Member since May 2006

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is a great idea, as there is a serious lack of good 3rd person shooters out there, and there aren't many cowboy games either.

The game is fun and the story line is decent.
There are many people around town that you can do various jobs for to earn money. You can work for the sheriff, the postal service, and others... and this keeps the game interesting because you have options as to what you feel like doing if you get to a part where the story line slows down a bit.
However, they only carried the ball half the way on some of the features. You can buy a scalping knife to scalp your victims, but then there is nothing to do with the scalps. So the only point of getting it is to watch the victim scream and squirm while you take their scalp and blood sprays all over. (which doesn't get old... no matter how many times you do it)

This game is very worth playing through, but since there is no multiplayer and no replay value, don't buy it, because it'll be a $60 beer coaster once you finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great experience

posted by babaganosh (MONROEVILLE, OH) May 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I gotta tell ya gun is one of the coolest first person shooter games out there. I played it for the ps2 console, but the graphics and the controlls are a lot better and more adapted to play on the xbox 360 console. A mix between red dead revolver for the ps2, and gta it adds hours of game play with the postal missions, and bounty hunting. The graphics and landscapes are above average if not the most impressive iv'e seen in a while. The story line is direct and easy to follow, the characters are not cheasy. The dialogue is appropriate for the time frame the game takes place in. I give it a 10 great experience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Really Liked It.

posted by Baddadd (KOKOMO, IN) May 1, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

the game had a great story! yeah, the graphics looked like they belonged on an x-box instead of a 360, and the transitions between areas wasn't exactly smooth.

But, the longer I played it, the more I got into it! I was accomplished something that a lot of games forget about these days....IT WAS FUN!

Here's hoping for a sequel!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of my Favorites!

posted by atvman29 (WINONA, MN) Jul 18, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I rented it, and beat it on PS2 before the 360 came out and loved it with my only gripe being the graphics and game length, and the 360 version fixed one of those gripes, the graphics. They were quite a bit better and made the game much more enjoyable! Now if it were just 5 times longer.... Amazingly fun game though! It too bad you couldn't interact with the environment more. It would be cool if all the buildings had interiors! But overall i LOVED this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great intro...

posted by Kitler (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This is the first game I played on Xbox 360. I loved this game. Graphics are great and the story is pretty good as well. This is a rental for sure but you will have a good time playing it especially if you like the old west.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth playing but not worth buying.

posted by SephirothX (COLUMBIA, SC) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

GUN is worth playing b/c it is a fun game. You get to do many things a cowboy would do in the wild west. You get to shoot on horseback, hunt, go hunt down people with high bounty, mine gold, escort pony expresses, etc. It has a good story, but the game play gets repetitive. All that matters in the game is the story; you'll never do the side missions. You'll be so busy with the story, the side missions will just feel repetitive, the side missions will be boring. You won't find a game like GUN anywhere else, and that is why it is worth playing. However once you're through the story, the only thing that'll keep oni playing is the achievements. It has very little replay value, and the graphics don't even compare to Xbox 360 games, it's like an upgraded Xbox version. This should not stop you from playing the game, it's very interesting, very good, unique, and overall a great game with some issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its ok

posted by camman12 (BROOKSVILLE, FL) May 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

well its a fun game especialy the story missions but after you complete the story mission and side missions there is basically nothing left to do but start a ruckus in town and start shooting the guys that challenge you weapons are cool but the idea of a western rifle that can blow some ones arm off is just a little too cliche but over all its worth a rent or a buy
story:9
sound:7
dialouge:2 (every body says the same thing with the same accent accept for main characters)
overall:8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bring back the old west

posted by babyabyty (BELL, FL) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is one game no one should miss out on. It is so fun, that you won't stop to go to the bathroom. It has a great story line, so I'am not going to ruin it for you. The graphics are good(could be and should be better).But the enviorment looks great. This game has the best vocie acting in any game out thare. Riding the horses is serprisingly fun, and easy to handal.The rest of the controls work well. Thare isnt any missions in this game that I didn't like(except the pony excperes missions). My biggest complant is that thare isn't much depth in this game. I wish that I could rob a bank and have to lay low for a while.I wish I can cheat in a game of poker and get guns pointed at my face for cheating. But you can't. And thare isn't much story story missions.You can beat it in about 10 hours. But you be doing alot of the side missions.All in all, you should definally try this game out. No matter what game type you like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game.

posted by Desdecardo (Paso Robles, CA) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This was the first game I had completed on the 360 and I had fun beating it.

The story line was cinematic. The whole game played like a movie. You had full run of the entire map and you had to use it.

The controls were simple. Riding the horse was fun. It just was fun.

Gun just does not have replay value. Its draw back. Making it a good rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

apsjiod

posted by element (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 7, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

game was good. graphics were pretty boring. played both xbox, and now xbox 360 version and the graphics were pretty much the same. obviously the colors were brighter because of the hd display, but they rushed this game out too fast for the 360.

the character development is great, but at some parts the game is too easy. i found the only times i would really die is if i drowned, or faced the final boss character.

lots of neat fighting scenes, and the overall game is fun with the off-story missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Yippee ki' aye!!! GUN ROCK's It's about 8.2

posted by Stonewall (HIDDEN VALLEY, PA) May 1, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game is a blast. The only thing it is lacking is a strong multiplayer. Maybe a 16 player Cowboys VS. Indians horseback deathmatch. Now don't tell me that is not a bad idea. But to get back to the review. GUN has a great intro that covers most of what you will need to keep alive. HARD mode is worth the extra work and you can get 70 points compared to the 10 you will receive on normal. Insane gets you 140 but it is insane. And there a three big battles that will drive you crazy. On HARD you can earn 830 points pretty easy if you mine all the gold. Have fun!

Gamertag: StonewallJunky

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This world is too big for the both of us!!

posted by Fatman (HIGHLAND, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This games cool. The game is exactly the same as the current-gen( Xbox, PS2) game. I would think it would have something extra but noooooooo! The graphics are a little bit better but I think the game is only OK. If you like old western movies you would love this game. The story is cool and it keeps you guessing. If you played Red Dead Revolver don't worry the game is soooooo much better. The game is worth renting, you may have your own opinion but the game okalydokaly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gun

posted by FurryJello (CUSHING, OK) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be very fun. It was short but fun. I think the best part of the game was the side missions. The game would have been really cool if it was a sandbox with just side missions. Some of the side missions were bounty hunting, gambling, pony express, and hunting animals. The "Quick draw" feature of the game was ok. It is where time slows down and you are able to pick of the NPC's easily. I'm seeing it used in a lot of games lately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rent DONT Buy

posted by cashman136 (Anaheim, CA) Jul 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Difficulty: Easy
Graphics: Okay
Audio: Okay
Controls: Good
Camera: Good
Length of Play: 12hrs

The Only Bad thing with this game is it is repetitive and gets boring after few hours of Gameplay. This game in my opinion is worth renting but if you decide to purchase it you will get bored and regret it.

But in other words GUN is an overall good game
and that is why i rated it an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun game

posted by joe278 (EAGLE RIVER, AK) May 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun, but the maps should be bigger, and the storyline longer, but i definitely recommend you pick it up. It has a G.T.A meets The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly feel to it. Pretty cool game, and awesome game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent hard to believe its one of the originals

posted by IDAHODUB (PORTLAND, OR) May 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well It goes to show you that Neversoft can make good games outside of there critically acclaimed Tony Hawk series.

Gun is a fun game for anyone who loves shooter/action games, but also a great game for someone who hasn't got the hang of the harder shooter games down yet (Gears of War, Halo, F.E.A.R). The game has a great slow motion shooting feature (called quick draw) which allows for precise shooting.

If there is one downfall to the game it would be the story line. It is a great story but rather easy to beat. Also the side missions are tedious. Other than that it is a great game.

ENJOY IT, because It is always rented on here!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GUN KICKS BUTT

posted by alexdaman (Salt Lake City, UT) May 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Listen, if u want a game for its graphics, well you prolly shouldn't get gun. I'm not sayin the graphics suck, they're pretty good, but the game is one of the best games I've ever played. The controls are good, shootouts are intense, and the story, well it should be made into a movie(the movies would prolly suck tho) The storyline is pretty dang long, and as I mentioned before...GREAT. Lots of bosses, great characters, and...yeah. If you played Red Dead Revolver...also a fantastic game, you really need to rent this one. Trust Me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but too short

posted by Buzz66 (WILLARD, OH) Apr 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game although it is one the short side, you can beat the main story in around 7-8 hours. The side missions can become repetitive after awhile but once you finish the main story there's really no reason to continue playing other than unlocking some of the achievements.

It's well worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short + Fun + Surprisingly Gory= Easy Achievements

posted by goosedude (Washington, DC) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Suffice to say....
Great idea for a Western FPS which may have been rushed but it is fun in short period of time and does provide some interesting side missions inserted from Bounty Hunter, Hunting, Pony Express, etc. which definitely add to the gameplay. The story is a little blah but hey....what do you expect.

The graphics are not spectacular = XBOX + level. Controls become intuitive.

What surprised me most was the adult level of some of the game content from the gore (you'll see) and sexual references.

In Summary...a good rental for a night for some cheap fun and achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent, but not great

posted by nathanmace (CHARLESTON, WV) May 31, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would certainly list “uniqueness” as one of the games strong points. There aren’t many Western themed games out there. I for one also liked the story line of the game. Between those two points, it gets a 5 from me. The biggest problem I had with the was the cheesy “auto-aim” feature. I want to play my video games, not be an idle spectator.

When I think of next gen graphics, I think of Oblivion level of graphics. The 360 version of Gun looks like an original Xbox game. Not “bad”, but certainly not what I would expect from a brand new $400 cutting edge console.

My recommendation: Worth renting, but not worth buying. This is a “play it once” type game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse