Rent GUN for PS2
view large frontback

GUN

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, GC, Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

2518 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GUN

posted by Rambo082 (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Apr 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very good game captures alot of western moments great storyline missions awesome and my favorite thing about the game was the bow and arrows with explosive arrows for me i wish there were more great awesome games like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GTA 3 meets old west

posted by pokieisali (BEAVER FALLS, PA) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great. the storyline was written by hollywood screenwriter. the controls are great. i really love the quickdraw feature! real period weapons. story acting is probably best ever. expansive game world, but not so big to make travel too tedious. the graphics are okay to good, but it doesn't matter, everything else is fantastic. definitely some mature content(swearing, violence, but no nudity) great rental or buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

gun review

posted by venom1 (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is set in the wild west. You play Colten White who, like most charictors in the game is based in a real life person from the old west. The gameplay is solid but I found it was extremly easy to beat the game and it was realy short. I beat the story and every side mission in about a day. Overall this is a good game and I think its rating should be teen. This game isn't that bad. They never say the f word and it has as much blood and violence as anything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

lets play some gun

posted by drummerboy (CARTER LAKE, IA) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i went to walmart cause i got bored with all the games i got and look what i found i found gun i was like all right should be a fun game and i played it for like 4 hours and it was fun i enjoyed it and im pretty sure you would to its worth the rent or buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

G.U.N

posted by Kraken (BRISTOL, RI) Oct 26, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Gun became a ultimate classic from the day it hit the shelves,with good graphics,excellent shootouts and abilitys, with a truly original storyline that will keep u glued to your controller. The one downfall is, it should have been a little bit longer, after completeing the story you ride on your horse aimlessly .. shooting scattered indians in a large wilderness.Maby a buffalo or two if your lucky.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good... But could have ben a bit better

posted by Patriot (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've been following this game for sometime now with, i might add, high anticipation. So, naturally, when it hit shelves i went out and bought it. So i bring it home and start to get the feel and the layout for this game and i was truly impressed. I thought "finally i have a game of epic proportion that will take me some time to work on". So i as progressed i honestly liked it more and more, i thought the voice over was awesome, i thought the game play was strong (once you got used to doing drive-bys on a horse, while trying to control the beastly thing amidst a shootout )and i didn't think the graphics weren't that bad either, so i thought i was set with a blockbuster game. So finally, after getting shot at a billion times, fighting off the natives, and everything you can think of in between i meet the big cheese that killed my dear old dad. While i was playing him i was thinking, no actually praying that this wasn't the end, knowing deep down that it was. So once i beat the dude it wraps up with a little cut scene and BOOM! end of story. I felt so shocked because all these expectations i had for this game went down the the toilet. It tries to make up for its short story mode for a load of side bounty hunter missions, which aint to shabby and is fun to play but i didn't buy this game for side missions i bought it thinking it was a epic western game. So that's my only main complaint about this game is that it feels like it just cut off towards the end. I really enjoyed this game (in all of its cowboy and indians way of glory) and am not trying to smear it or run it down but i think that it could have been a great game with a longer story line. So i guess a possible sequel may be in order to really bring out the glory of Colton White.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and Short

posted by Senichi (CHARLESTON, WV) May 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I would like to say one thing. This game is SHORT but fun. Blowing limbs off later in the game creates some fun times. There has been alot of controversy with the game regarding native americans but history can not be changed. There is no misrepresentation in fact. Through out the game you play as a short tempered cowboy named Colton White and you experience most of the aspects of living in 1880 with one tiny loss of history. SPACE. The west was huge but this game is small and pales in comparison to the beauty of the plains. Yes the historical landmarks are there but it doesn't explore the grandiosity of the environment of the time. This is an opportunity to experience the life of a cowboy. It is a great rental game and should only be played for that reason. It is to short and the replay ability to low to create a good buy. but an amazing game for a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good western shooter

posted by Nameless (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 17, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

16 out of 23 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Gun is a good western shooter that takes you back to the 1800's when life was real tough. The gameplay is has a nice solid feel to it. Graphics are normal nothing spectacular. The shooting is cool, you have precision aim and you can shoot on horseback. the map is fairly large and there isn't any load points except for one small area which is weird. You can buy parts for your guns and some other cool stuff. After the game is over there's really nothing else to do. The towns feel dead there's usually only a few people walking around. The story is interesting, it makes you just want to see the how it ends. Overall it's a good game. If your into western times you should play this game. Especially since their's not alot of western games to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cowboys and Indians on my PS2

posted by GravyPlaya (SANTA CLARA, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Playing this game reminds me of playing cowboys and indians as a kid, and just as much fun. This is more realistic as far as behaviors when it comes to the things you can do in the game.. There will be no "you cant really do that" moments.. Gameplay is very smooth and consistent. If you lookin for a good cowboy shooter.. Here's your sign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by gamergod66 (Olathe, KS) May 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game was the bomb but the ending left me hanging still besides that the game was totaly killer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but still missing something

posted by Bushbasher (LEXINGTON PARK, MD) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was really good and all don't get me wrong, but after you finish the game it seems like they could've done some more. Maybe it's because I sat there in one day and beat it, yes the game will suck you in like that. A lot of sidequests and stuff, but the rewards for them could've been better, maybe like some real cool secret weapons and stuff. Oh well, hope there is a sequel and I hope they fill that hole I thought the game was missing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

yeahaaa

posted by agrippa (POST FALLS, ID) May 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love this game i dont know why but after i beat a game thats good i always sort of cry i guess it's just weird anyway i love'd this game and you will to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Old West game.

posted by dken2311 (NEW CANAAN, CT) May 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game really is cool. The controls are simple enough, the weapons are accurate for the times (late 1800's), but still not super slow or annoying to use, the graphics are great, the storyline is good and worth following, and the missions make sense and are fun to play. Another reviewer likened this game to an Old West Grand Theft Auto. That is actually pretty accurate. The world that you explore is not quite as big, and the game is not even close to as long, or hard to beat, but besides those differences that is a good way to describe this game. It is one guy going mission to mission while earning money to buy and upgrade weapons while working towards an ultimate goal. The side missions are fun and include Texas Hold 'Em Poker and tracking down wanted men to collect their bounties. The real treat to this game was the real-to-life horse back riding, something that games in the past just could not perfect. Horses roam free in this game and you can just walk up to one, whether it has a saddle or not, and jump on for a ride. This is how you travel long distances over the mixed terrain. VERY Fun!!! I strongly recommend this game to all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best cowboy game ever

posted by nickliam (QUINCY, MA) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I know its just about the only cowboy game for Ps2 but, it is a really great game. Its kind of like the godfather and GTA, but set in the west. It has an engaging storyline and lots of side missions. Not to mention the fact that you can shoot on top of horses and scalp people but, you also ca explore the whole Wild West and fight beside Apache's. It is a GREAT game, A MUST.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by vadgemonta (Williamsport, PA) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gun is a great third person shooter. There is so much to do in the game and it's all fun. Riding horses and playin texas hold 'em are awesome. Great game to rent or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An enjoyable expierience

posted by batman (NORTH BEND, WA) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Dont buy or rent Gun and expect it to completly change the way you think about western videogames, because it doesnt really. What it is though is one of the few that is actually worth playing through. You play as western cowboy cole, your father turns out not to be your father, theres prostitutes, cowboys, idians, bandits, and a whole ton of plot twists before the game reaches the credits, and the plot is actually suprisingly good despite the sub-par graphics. The gunfights are where this game really shines though riding on top of a horse and firing off shots at a bandit trying to rob you blind is just as cool as it sounds, and going into first person slow mo feels exacly like your neo except with a cowboy hat. Overall the game is GOOD, not great but definetly worth your time, and if you can bare to part with some money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Old Western true and true

posted by Etched (PASCOAG, RI) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I have to say for a cowboy game this game truly captured everything that a western did. I can see this turning into one of those games to movie features. Between the shooting and the riding of the horses, chasing down stages, and fighting off wild Indians it was truly great. the story line was great and the different environments were cool to ride through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gun

posted by koolsk8r16 (HALLETTSVILLE, TX) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

this game was amazing for xbox but when i got it for ps2 it was scratched and no matter how many times i restarted it it didnt work it frustrated me to the point i thought about canceling my account but i calmed down and thought i would let people know tht gamefly needs to check there games before they send them out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GUN

posted by gameflyusername (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

It was a good game, enjoyable storyline, plenty of weapons, and probably the goriest game I have ever played. Now there is plenty to do with lots of side missions, but once you beat the game 100% it is extremely boring. Unlike GTA, going around and killing everything in sight is not as fun. but it is a game worth checking out and i recommend it to any fan of games such as GTA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Draw Pilgrim

posted by texasmade (CENTRALIA, IL) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Very fun game. The graphics look pretty good. The controls are fluid. The storyline is decent. I like the different weapons. Its fun riding horse back while shooting. The game its quite short and more side missions would be nice. The replay value for me is low because after you beat everything there isn't anything to do. All that I lacked was finding two more gold locations. Overall a very fun western action game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by laidoff (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jan 14, 2010

Member since May 2009

A little cheesey but still a fun shooter.
Graphics i grade a B.
Damage i grade a C+,could have been better.
I think thats Kris Kristofferson's voice as Pa, adds a nice touch to the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awsome Game

posted by huevos (ARKOMA, OK) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Great game,great storyline missions are awesome aiming can be alittle bit tricky good graphics and some of the main guys can be a bit hard to beat.all in all with all the gun fights and blowing thigs up it's an awsome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is just plain awesome!!!

posted by GrayandEJ (BUTLER, AL) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

There is always sumthing to do and u never see the same thing twice 10 out of 10 im giving it because its the best thing next Grand Theft Auto...the storyline makes so much since and its hard to get lost in it but it is just great i highly recommed buying or renting this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Extremely Surprised!

posted by anime3443 (NORTH STREET, MI) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I didn't know much about this game when I first rented it. I am a big fan of Red Dead Revolver (a western shooter by Rockstar Games). So when I started playing Gun I was worried that it wouldn't live up to Red Dead Revolver. However, I was VERY surprised. Gun was exciting, challenging, interesting, and all-around amazing. The controls are perfect, and the levels are entertaining. Two thumbs up for this one! I absolutely loved it! I haven't heard anything about a sequel, but I REALLY hope Activision will make a Gun 2. I would buy it in a heart beat!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gun

posted by hassibanks (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) May 20, 2009

Member since May 2009

the game gun is so fun i could play it all night and i did.but the hardest part is killing magruder that muthafreaker is hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse