Rent GT Pro Series for Wii
view large frontback

GT Pro Series

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.1

454 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

What the....?

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Mar 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Something went horribly wrong here. GT seems to be suffering from an identity crisis. The controls are somehow painfully unresponsive, and not at all forgiving. Not to mention the rather poor graphics which have that cell shaded look, but feels so badly out of place. Sure there is a pretty decent selection of cars, but ultimately not a lot of what you would really want to drive. The tracks and backgrounds are pretty bland also.
This entry into what looks like should have been competition with Bran Tourismo or Forza Motor Sport 2, fails so badly, that it's hardly worth checking my spelling. Obviously they wanted a sim style racing game, but the depth ends with that intention. Maybe lets just call it a 1st generation Wii flop, and hopefully something good will come with the inevitable sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I have no idea what happened here..

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I can't tell what this game is suppose to be like. The graphics are similar to games that use cel-animation, but if thats the case, it doesn't work well. This game is pretty low, but not entirely bad.

There are many different cars in the game. With the visual approach they used, it makes them all look equally terrible. There are many events you can participate on, and there is plenty to do if you can stand all the irritating sounds that come out of this game.

On the plus side, I found the steering to be pretty smooth. I won about every race that I was in after the first one. And drifting this game was kind of cool too I guess.

Nothing much here to play. Overall, I'd probably just pass on this title, and try one of the other racing games for the Wit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

blatent shovel ware

posted by vendetta (BEAVERTON, OR) Dec 17, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

while the turning style is interesting on the Wii, I found it unresponsive; I couldn't even counter steer with any accuracy. You won't find any deep gameplay, as the driving model essentially consists of holding the 2 button and turning the wiimote as you've probably seen before. I never had to worry much about making a turn in anything below 4th gear, almost regardless of degree.

This game fails in every aspect of what a video game should be. The graphics could only be called impressive on a PS1, as they are full of blurry, bland textures and poorly detailed cars. It looked like the developers were attempting to give the game a cell-shaded look and feel, but it obviously failed, as everything just looks plain.

GT Pro has a handful of licensed cars to choose from, but the only customization available is color.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not As Bad As I Thought

posted by punkrockin (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is basically a toned down, really toned down, kiddish version of Gran Turismo, You get car from Mazda and Toyota. Racing to unlock more cars and more parts. Doing license tests before entering each difficulty. All in All I thought this was a fun game.

The Good

Controls I thought where really good. There are a few times the controls glitch out. The music is the best. Brings you back to the old Snowboarding Kids, Mario Kart feel. I love that every once and a while. The tracks are not too hard but are not to easy either. The computer is perfect for competion too. I really thought this was going to be a bomber but I was wrong.

The Bad

They could of at least made the cars have damage or crash. If you hit anything you just slow down. Also the cars look like tonka toys and the parts you earn are nothing at all. Just parts to make the car look better, but when you are out on the track you can't even tell.

I would try this game out for sure though. It will keep you entertained for a couple of days at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is sooo wack

posted by dbzplayer1 (NEW YORK , NY) Oct 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its bad dont get it unless u want a very bad game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

gt

posted by silvie (GRESHAM, OR) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

very arcady not very good graphics but throws you back to the good old arcade days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Drivers, Start Your Engines!

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jul 2, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

Wow! I like this one!! I have been desperate for some good racetrack racing. So many racing games now are street-racing with shoddy stories. This one is just championship racing on race courses! The graphics are great and the gameplay is easy. All I could ask for is a few more makes and models of cars. This is a wonderful game! Checkered flag!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Epic letdown

posted by hounddog (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

Wow...this game blew me away with how utterly boring it was. Easily one of the worst racing games I've ever played, enjoyment-wise. Skip this one and save yourself the wasted time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth the try

posted by Archer (KYLE, TX) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

looks and feels like something I played on the N64 a few years back. Stay away, sorry folks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

PS1 game ported to Wii

posted by TMike22 (LITTLETON, CO) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

This game feels like an old PS1 game that was ported to the Wii. Even all the tracks seemed familiar to me. The UI looks dated and the graphics aren't all that great when compared to other Wii games. As far as gameplay goes, it was pretty easy. There isn't anything too exciting or different about the game to get this over any of the other good racing games out there. I'd say rent this only if you want to play every racing game ever made, otherwise just skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gem

posted by TheAce (HIGHLAND, CA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

This game was a lot of fun for me. I will buy this game as I personally think it is one of the gems of the first generation of WII games. I didn't expect much but when I saw that it looked a lot like Auto Modellista I was surprised. It was a lot of fun and recommend it to anyone that wants a twist on your average arcade racer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

don't waste the time

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 12, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

this game is like something that dates back to to pre ps1 graphics wise and the controls are either non responsive or to sensitive almost at random. sent it back same day i received it. so far the only decent racing game i found for the wii has been super mario kart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

My poor head!

posted by WiiBeJae (GREENVILLE, IL) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Cons:
1) Graphics gave me a splitting headache in 30 minutes of game play.
2) Cars are way to squirly

Pros:
Hmmm, can't think of any.

We played for about 30 minutes and decided we just could not take it any longer. Way to frustrating and REALLY hard on the eyes. If it were a crash and burn type game where you just crash into each other and took no skill what-so-ever to steer, it would be perfect for that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This is the Edsel of Car racing games.

posted by WillBenz (ODESSA, FL) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

If your over the age of 30 you may remember a video game called Pole Position. Well this game is no better.

The controls are fairly simple and accurate. That's about the best thing I can say about this game. The graphics look like something straight out of the 80's Atari 2600. What a waste of a rental. Do not buy this game.

This is one of the best reasons for using Gamefly, to find out if a game truly lives up to it's hype. In this case it did not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Who OK'd this?

posted by wrongbad (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Nov 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Have you ever spent $50 on drugs only to find out later that they were fake?
That's exactly how this game feels when you pop it in and see Nintendo64 era graphics fill your screen with video game diarrhea.
Looks and sound aside, the most difficult part of this game is learning to control your vehicle with a weightless stick and the Wii's infamous 'inability-to-register- quick- movements' feature.
I changed the control setup to steer with the dpad and suddenly this game became easier than Pac-Man, but much less entertaining.

This title gives the term "GT" a bad name.

Bad title.

Bad!

(pros: the cars looked nice.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GT Racer

posted by Racer007 (LA GRANGE, KY) Oct 11, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

My son did not like it. I liked it. If you ever played the arcade racing game, it's just like it, except on the arcade they use racing cards and women on bikinis. The GT graphics match the arcade, however the cards you can choose from were all japanese cars (toyota, susuky) sedans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible. dont waste your time.

posted by shinchu (FPO, AP) Sep 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

when i got this game in the mail, i played it for about 30 minutes and put it right back in the mailbox.

seriously, i would rather play the older version (GT3) on my game boy advance. at least that system has an excuse for the terrible graphics and lack of analog throttle/brake inputs.

what we really need for the wii is a true WHEEL with a fixed axis that can attach to something solid, like a table, or even a board held by your legs. i repeatedly found myself swinging the remote from side to side with both hands, feeling quite lame. this isnt the game's fault, but it sure didnt help.

the upgrades, if you can call them that, were almost pointless. i felt no difference in handling or speed. that brings up another point. physics were pretty much non-exsistant.

sound was so bad i wanted to turn off my stereo.

maybe i'm being a little harsh on this game because i am used to sims like forza and gran turismo. that still shouldn mean its okay for this game to completely suck.

ubisoft should have left this one on the gamecube.
this made my top 3 list of suckiest racing games ever. i feel serious pitty for anyone who paid full retail price for this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

...What was Ubisoft thinking?

posted by MrKrazy (MESA, AZ) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

For the company that brought us Rayman Raving Rabbids, you' think that they'd be a little more imaginative with their racers.
Sure, the control feels good... but it ends there.

Gameplay
Uninspired, bland. It's not even worth breaking out the thesaurus to find more words to describe it.

Control
It controls well. The only good thing about this game.

Graphics
Don't get me wrong; I'm not a graphics snob. I love Wii Sports. But honestly, Super Mario 64 and Ocarina of Time (my two N64 Virtual Console games) look better than this! The cell shading would work if the rest of the game was cell shaded... but it's not. It's just the cars, and the track and surroundings look like they're fresh off the N64.

Really, Ubisoft, with this and Monster 4x4... you should just give up on the racers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Some fun aspects but could be better

posted by jjhoops (HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY) Aug 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

I liked the control mechanism which used the sideways Wii remote as a steering wheel. (I suspect it would be even better with the wheel attachment). The control felt precise to me. The cel-shaded graphics were an interesting touch but in the end felt a bit too much like they belonged in a much older game. The single player racing levels were nicely laid out but it felt very basic and repetitive after a few races. If one is looking for a simple, well-controlled racer, this is not a bad game but it didn't have the depth in graphics or game play to maintain interest for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible is being nice

posted by Rhawnzorz (CHESTER, VA) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This is the worst looking game I've seen in a long time. I've seen better looking PS1 racing games, couple of them now that I think about it. The screenshots hide how bad this game looks. Its truly a travesty for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very Subpar racer

posted by MethodMan (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game seems rushed and has no sense of accomplishment. While playing the AI seem to just drive themselves with no type of competition in mind. They just aimlessly drive to the finishline. Also the graphics are pretty boring which goes along with the lack of sound effects. Controls are in between arcade and precise. So they are easy to get used to but not specific enough for a great driving experience. Only thing good about this game are the choices of cars. Though they look like it was created on the PS1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!

posted by wiiman2 (SIOUX CITY, IA) Jun 11, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

i got this game today(june 11) and played it for 10 minutes max im holding the wiimote level and it is making me turn left i used all 2 of my remotes and its does the same. i will not buy this game ever. people who want this game dont rent or buy it im telling you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun enough

posted by lemmings4u (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) May 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

Not the most realistic driving experience, it takes some time to get used to the controls. Overall, it was fun. Don't expect great graphics because you won't get them.

I heard a lot of bad things before this game so maybe it was my low expectations for this game, but i thought that it was worth playing.

Another Wii game thats a better rental than purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gran Turismo Contender (Under Rated Game!)

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) May 21, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

I almost didn't rent this because of the graphics. This game has tracks that are like Carbon and if they make a second one and make the controller face up, add more content and upgrade the graphics to Excite Truck; then this will compete with Gran Tourismo 5, Forza 2, Colin Mcrae Dirt. EA; make the next NFS with real controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

why is the cover note look like a cartoon?

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) May 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

gt is ment for a 360 or ps3 it reliy on detail not toony

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse