Rent GRID for PS3
view large frontback

GRID

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.1

3307 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dude.....This Game is my C R A C K!!

posted by notthatguy (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

22 out of 23 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Seriously, if you have been disappointed by the other racing games for PS3 then you need to at least try this one!

I can't stop playing this one, and I can't wait to get off from work to play more! What makes it so great?

Well..........

This is the first game I've played since Gran Turismo 3 that TRULY has the unique and different handling characteristics for each one of the different cars. Each car definitely takes a little practice to master.

The variety of races are just unbelievable! The Figure 8 Destruction Derby races are so freakin' tough! The 24hr. LeMans race is one of the most intense races in the game! It's a really cool 24 minute race.

All of the tracks AND races are unique, fun, and challenging......yes they are!

One of the best, yet disappointing things about this game is that you buy your cars race ready....no stock cars. But the truly best thing about the game is.......

YOU DON'T HAVE TO START THE GAME WITH A PIECE! You start the game with a Dodge Viper, and the piece comes later when you start team racing. But even at that, you DON'T HAVE TO USE IT FOREVER like other games!

.........................- .........................- .........................-

A Few Complaints That Should Not Stop You From Renting/Buying This Game Are:

The only thing you can customize on your car is the color, and a fair number of vinyls....not even wheels :(

They could have done a better job on creating the unique sound for each car.... it wasn't too bad by the way.

It takes a little practice to master the controls....and you have to do it without much help from their on-screen prompting system. (Pay attention the FIRST TIME!....you will not see it again!)

The sponsors of the game are a little more than obvious....The E-Bay Motors thing is unique, yet about as commercial as it gets.

Too many names: User name, announced name, team name etc.

BUT WHO CARES ABOUT THOSE THINGS! I AM LOSING SLEEP EVERY NIGHT PLAYING THIS GAME!! AND I AM HOPING FOR A GRID 2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its like DIRT!, but on the street.

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

39 out of 43 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

If you play many racing games, then you might first notice that GRID is alot like DIRT, but better. The driving physics engine is the same one they used in DIRT, but there are a few well placed design changes. First thing you'll see is completely different is that you'll be racing along side 10-20 other drivers unlike the solo matches placed in DIRT.
The courses range from everywhere in the world, A street course in the city streets of San Fansico or London, to Nurimberg, to Japan, to somewhere in South America. Each track seems to favor a certain type of car. Small and Nimble in Japan, Euro sporty at Nurinburg, to torque monsters in America.
Every car is fully adjustable soon into the game. And the list of cars is staggering, not quite the 700 in GT. But in this game there all fully tricked race cars, not fresh off showroom floor stockers. Each car handles like a real Lemans car should, crisp, sharp turning with more than enough horsepower to do some sick dounuts if your too heavy in the throttle.
Online head to head matches are intense and make this game worth keeping, but one feature I really enjoy is the ability to showcase your skills to a manufacture, and if you win the race they;ll hire you on as a driver, giving you money and their top of the line cars to race. With them as a sponsor you can enter a manufactures cup of sorts. BMW vs Porshe vs Ferrari vs Mercedes and so on. The carreer aspect is great allowing you to progress in any way you see fit. Your not confined to a sigle linear progression. If you don't like a perticular type of car you really don't have to mess with them unless you want 100% completion.
The Graphics are easily as good as GT 5 Proloug. Beautiful cars in every race and the damage system is great. If you total your car you can rewind time by about 10 secs and take a second chance at the spot you failed. You get about 3 of these rewinds per race depend on the difficulty level you selected.
Graphics=10
Sound=9
Playability=9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

should be rated higher

posted by 4NiKate (MENDHAM, NJ) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i'm a big driving game fan...i own a ps3 and up until grid...nothing really stood out to me...especially for online play...grid is different than anything else i've played, as far as driven physics...i really enjoy it..especially the open wheel cars...you can take corners faster than any other game i've played....grand turismo big dissapointment, GTA4 is fun but not a "simulator kind of driving experience"..with grid there is damage and plenty of different styles of race...whether it be drifting in a tuner car, precision driving on Le mans or a muscle car screaming down the road..you'll find something to your liking...oh and the online play is the least sluggish i've encountered

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Racing game for PS3 Period

posted by EliteOne (JACKSON, OH) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is by far the best racing game for the Ps3 to date. Only game that may come close to being this good would be Forza 2 for the 360.
I haven't put this game down since I got it, it's that good. I love the fact that you can damage your car if you happen to wreck, and this changes the whole driving experience unlike the GT series.
The Owner part of the game is fun as well trying to find the right driver to help you win and better your race team makes it all the more exciting. The tracks are all different and the styles add flavor with the different types of races. (Drift, Demolition, ect.)
Gran Turismo will do good to keep up with this title, unless they decide to add something new like damage or some other type of unique gimmick. Until then this is the game for me.

Only thing I didn't like is the fact that there is no 2 player mode unless played online. Would be real sweet if you could have a fried be your partner in owner mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best graphics and control

posted by lightening (BAILEYTON, AL) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are looking for a racing game, you will like this one. It seems to have what other PS3 games are lacking. Good cars with excellent graphics. Once you start, it is hard at first, but with some practice you can not stop playing it. Fast cars with good control. It is just as fun as burnout paradise but it is a realistic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

grid is the best ps3 racing sim out.

posted by jr123456 (PASSAIC, NJ) Jun 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

grid is the best ps3 racing sim out. good learning curve, game not as good as PROJECT GOTHAM RACING, but a step in the right direction, other than that the default controller setting did not like once I changed R1 to gas and L1 to breaks was easier to play then default R2 and L1 break.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Realistic Driving

posted by Zeckard (CENTENNIAL, CO) May 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was sceptical initially in renting Drift, but pleasantly surprised in how much I enjoyed it. I could not get used the driving at the beginning, but as I progressed I became more comfortable with the gas/breaking during hi-speed turns. In no way is any race or challenga a gimme. Each race is difficult in it's own way, but enjoyable at the same time. Drifting took me a long time to get used to it, but I came to enjoy it toward the end of the game.

I could not win every championship, however I considered my end of the game is when I got 1,000,0000 reputation points. I highly recommend this game for the person who enjoys speed, challenges, great graphics, and a entertaining game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Grid - addicting

posted by jboughto70 (VACAVILLE, CA) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an awesome game but it is also frustrating. I have restarted the same race for 3 hours trying to finish in the top 5 when I should have just taken a last place and gone on to the next race! When playing on lower levels you have rewinds that can change a race from a complete loss to a 1st place finish! You have many races to choose from including muscle cars, european stuff, and japanese stuff, all of which are fun. Getting sponsors is another satisfying part of the game. The graphics are really good and you have several views you can use to drive from. You also have several views to watch replays of the race. It is a very very addictive game with great graphics, great cars, and lots of tracks to choose from. The gameplay is also fairly realistic. Great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Needs support for Split Screen Racing!

posted by JonnyKill (WINTERSVILLE, OH) Jun 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Once again we get a great competition game for the PS3 and it includes all kinds of great features and graphics, but no split screen to play with friends sitting next to you!

As far as the game goes, it is great! Takes a bit to get used to the car physics, especially if you just got done with GranTurismo. Like another said, it is a lot like dirt, just a cleaner image. Dirt had a bit of a haze(dusty air effect)to the look of it.

Very much worth the rent, I might keep it. Just wish they would allow split screen on this and many other titles. It is always more fun to share the game with friends. Not everyone owns there own PS3. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GRID The Ultimate Racing Game

posted by joshua70 (SARGENT, TX) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Grid is one of the most realistic racing games i ever played. My favorite car was the NISSAN 350Z. It kind of reminded me of dirt 2 because of the flashbacks and the camera views but the drifting was the best. I like this game alot and it kept me up till eleven every night for the past couple of nights. but it was really fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Grid

posted by caseyevans (SALLISAW, OK) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game is amazing. I have been playing it on the PS3 and the graphics are great, and the game play is awesome. This is one of the most realistic driving games ive ever played as far as the physics go. One cool feature is if you are in an accident during a race, normally you would have to restart or may just try to catch up and make up for lost time but with this game it has an option to rewind backward in the race and pick up where you about to make your mistake. You can only go so far back but it really helps especially when your in first place durning the 24 hour le mans race you do at the end of every season. You cant customize your cars, which i would like to see in the future, but there is a huge selection and they are already really nice. Another cool thing is you can get sponsors who will pay you for winning or getting no lower than 5th place, each sponsor has different specs and by the 3rd season you are making some really good money. by my 4th season i had 22 cars and almost 7 million in cash. I definately recommend this game to anyone who likes the realistic type racing games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by Rossco4155 (MARQUETTE, MI) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game with amazing grafix but it is not for me... to realistic for me to really get in to. but i would suggest this game if you like a great very realistic driving game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Racing Game Ever!

posted by Bubba90827 (MONTGOMERY, TX) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of Need For Speed for a long time now because I loved the customization part of the game. Although the past couple of NFS games had decreased in the ability to customize and increased in difficulty. Then I tried GRID and I believe that it is a great racing game because of the diverse type of races you can do. There's normal race for those who just want to race a muscle car, then there is touring race where you race actual race cars, then there is drift GP, drift freestyle, and drift battle, and then last but not least there is my personal favorite; DEMOLITION DERBY! Where you race and demolish the others around you with no rules whatsoever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome game!!

posted by bdyman (SCHERERVILLE, IN) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i was alittle hesitant at first like every game but when i started seting it up and playing and getting ddper in the game, i was hooked!!! great graphics, sound is great, certain cars can be a bit frustrating to keep in control but nothing you cant get used to fast

i love that the car retain damage when hit, and you can buy team mates, cars on ebay, i wish there were more options in customizing the car, like picking you own modifications, more options for paint, if you overlook that stuff i highly recomend this game
i just wish i would have kept it and not returned it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game rocks.

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only bad thing about this game was the ''thrown into the deep end" feeling you get when you start the game. Also, it's kinda hard to find people to play with online, know why? Cuz we're all playing the USA Ford track, and the Euro Touring Car track.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good, and addicting

posted by carcrazer9 (LITTLETON, CO) May 30, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game very good. I think that the graphics are phenomenal and unlike Grand turismo 5 Prologue, the graphics don't slow down the game. I found that it is realistic in the fact that all of the cars have their own different handling and driving types. I seriously hope that they come out with a Grid 2.

There are a few flaws however,
The game doesn't have much replay value and can get boring after a while. It can also get frustrating due to some of the race's difficulty. I also think that the game is a little unfair because they always give the opponents the upper hand in the race and you have to drive dirty to pass them. I also think that one major flaw is that when you view a replay and you like part of it, you can't save the replay and watch it later.

Some Good things that i thought suprising were,
The quality of the inside of the car view.
The diversity of all of the races.
The fact that they have a demolition derby race. It is a lot cooler than you think.
The flashback system, really switched up the racing world.
The amount of different types of cars from all different makes and some that most haven't even heard of.

I think that this game is a great game for anyone wanting a fun and addicting racing game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

grid

posted by mad420 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) May 30, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great.Grand turismo structure with need for speed driving.Best racing game I have played in years!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good but needed somethings

posted by Foolishman (REXBURG, ID) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the first racer I have played in a while and love. You pick your own cars and make decisions for your team a feature I loved. I won't go into many details but here is a quick overview.

Good

+Team system
+seasons
+realism

Bad

-No modding engines or transmissions
-No offline splitscreen

Overall it is a good game and should be considered for anyone who loves racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the racing games ever

posted by MIMAS19 (MIAMI, FL) Apr 4, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found the game very interesting and the graphic on it were very impressive and I believe that it is one of the best racing games its almost as good as grand turismo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Quality with enjoyability

posted by Tachibani (BELLEVIEW, FL) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty much what a fun racing game should be. 9/10 is what i give it. Reason why it gets a 9 is that there is no customization to the cars. I would like to be able to tune the cars to my liking. Other than that this is one of the best racing games to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Underrated Game

posted by Hard2Kill (HATFIELD, PA) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Grid. dumb name so I figured dumb game...Not so. I first dl'd the demo. Then I rented it the next day which is not like me to get excited of a game like this. The graphics are great. The car's power and speed are nicely communicated through the game. You actually feel like your going fast. The controls rumble as you go through the gears. Cars handle nicely. Scenery is great. The tracks are fun and challenging. Some I think are original and some are models of real tracks. GT Prologue cant hold a candle to this game.

You get nice cars to start with and they only get better through out the game.
You get to pick and choose your sponsors which is a nice added touch. There is a strategy needed when picking them because each sponsor pays differently.
Retaining different licenses is not a hassle like GT either. You just race certain races to progress to the next higher license but, you have to earn enough money to buy a car to race in that class for that license.
Damage is a nice feature in the game. Bumping into opponents and rubbing the rails add damage to your ride and may undermine the cars performance.
Flashbacks are also in this game. If you are on the last lap and crash you car up you can pause the game and rewind a few seconds before impact and continue on to finish. Great feature. You tend to lose money when using flashbacks and you only have a small amount so use them sparingly.
I have maybe 3 hrs in the game and no where near to seeing it all but I can tell the fun has just begun. I might buy it, and I am a cheap skate.
I totally recommend this game

Only complaint, the in car cameras are not adjustable so racing with it on is practically like driving blind. I hope the sequel has adjustable cameras. That would be awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fan-Freaking-Tastic

posted by 95Juan (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I cant give this game enough props. Yes, maybe a 10 is a touch too high, but for what it is it's so perfect. It doesnt try to tell you that it's the greatest driving simulator of all time and that you can tune every single lug nut on every single component to just where you want it. It is what it is- a good halfway point between a "driving simulator" and an arcade racing game, and at that, it is perfect. The learning curve is a little steep if you're coming from say, Gran Turismo, but once you get the hang of it, I honestly cant say that I've had more FUN with another game. if there is a GRiD 2 in the future, i'd request more Demolition Derby events, because that was pure awesome.

This and DiRT stand out as balls-out awesome games that know exactly what they are and what the player wants and deliver 10 fold.

Great Graphics, GREAT gameplay, Good car selection, "dumbed down" enough so anybody, even someone who's not a gearhead like me can pick it up and have a great time.

I will actually be buying this game, but not with the "keep it" thing because i'm 100% moraly opposed to Gamefly's little mantra about "we'll give you 16.10 for this game and we'll charge someone else 30.39 to keep the same used copy" (these are the prices for the "trade-in" and "keep it" features respectively as of January 15, 2009)

Amazon, here I come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hard

posted by Natas13 (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great for many reasons. It has great graphics, sound, controls, but has several flaws also. This game is way too hard for the casual gamer, even the basic/easy level is hard. This game was designed for the hardcore Gran Turismo driving gamer. Other flaws include lots of load screens and longer than usual load times. If you are a N4S driver, skip this game, but if you prefer GT, this is a great game to try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Watch Out Gran Turismo

posted by Gamer124 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Grid lets start out with the graphics great the damage is realistic,The racetracks are all real, drifting is fun racing unbelievable im keeping it short so just a great game for all ages i really hope you buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best racing game I've played so far.

posted by TeamUSA (EDINBURG, TX) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Story mode is pretty cool with the instant flashbacks you get to retake corners after you screw up. The best has to be the online play. Very entertaining to hear people around the world yelling at each other after one of them totals the other. Sucks that PS3 isnt getting GRID 2 or 3 because codemasters was bought out by microsoft......xbox even has an update for GRID already. I still dont think Im going to get sick of this game. TRY IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse