Rent GRID for PS3
view large frontback

GRID

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.1

3307 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

disgrace

posted by shaneh150 (ORLAND, CA) Jan 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this is the worst racing game i have ever played i wish i had never played it. it is a disgrace to the racing game community. dont we all remember illegal racing games where cops chased you and you got to trick out your car well not any more now you follow the rules. this also includes the idea if you hit the dirt or touch the brakes youll just spin out. so in other words this was one of the worst video games ive ever played. DO NOT RENT/BUY THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by oneup1982 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I will have to admit, I was excited to get this game due to the reviews I had read about it. In all honesty, the handling is horrible. At half throttle, the Nissan 350Z spun out... I am not an expert but I have driven some high performance sports cars, and a 350Z with a turbo(not to mention other illegal upgrades) was one of them. This game makes it seem impossible to drive this car. Codemasters usually gives up some pretty good games so you might understand why I was disappointed. F1:2010 blows this game out of the water, at least handling wise. The graphics were by far, clean and crisp, and put my PS3 through it's computing paces. Other than that, the gameplay is far from realistic.

I had this game for an entire weekend, played it many times but ended up frustrated by the handling and load time. My personal opinion, if you want graphics, gameplay and realistic handling, get Gran Turismo instead. I would much prefer to mow the lawn than to play this game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sloppy

posted by Badness (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

UGH... Cumbersome game play. LONG load times. Bad control reaction times. Atleast I did not have to hear Axel Rose with that other car racing game that sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad and Worse

posted by Kscott24 (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I hated this game the minute i started it. No upgrades, No build ups, and you start with a viper so not a whole lot to look forward to when you start with a car that great. Also the physics are sub par to gran turismo. Stick with NFS if you like fun racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boy wat a waste of time

posted by milky1 (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

i hated it its not no grand turismo step ur game up u have to really own a driver's license to drive those cars my ps3 spat the gam out after 1 qualifing race

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do NOT Rent this game

posted by HippieChic (JOHNSON CITY, NY) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

This game sux. Controlling the vehicles is unrealistic. You can't hit e-break without spinning car. You can't tap right/left without the vehicle spinning out of control. Story mode looks like it would be fun to do... if you could actually win a race!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not what i expected

posted by ace988 (RICHMOND, TX) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

i have played a lot of racing games but this one was different from all of them . the graphics are pretty nice but the cars are just to hard to control , hard to recover a crash and hard to turn.Need4speed is way better than this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Grid PS3

posted by Twek840 (PLACENTIA, CA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

7.3 lol game was a waste of time needed a rating of 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this sucks

posted by Riclick (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I was really exited to get this game,but to my disappointment its incredibly hard i tried to win but i always spin out and i never go as fast as the computer i think its a waste of your time if u want this game maybe if u like games were you spin out and fall behind from the start it looks and sounds amazing thought. i guess that makes it a little better i give this game a 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Grid

posted by jsnhasting (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is great, unless you have had the pleasure of playing Dirt 2 first. If you like street racing then try this one out. I recommend you try this game before playing Dirt 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Surprised...

posted by rnmike (LA MESA, CA) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I am so surprised that this game beats the "5.5-6.5" range. There is little substance and a whole lot of hype. The "driving engine" seems to be everyone's favorite part of the game, because obviously the graphics leave you hoping for more, especially since I am a huge GT:P fan, and was utterly blown away by their graphics engine and game play. If you played Gran Turismo:Prologue and then put in Grid you would be sadly disappointed at the lack of luster and polished appearance. The controls are adequate, but the game play seems disjointed. Within 5-7 races of GT:P I felt I was mastering the controls and cruising to victory or fairly close each race. This made GT:P fun, captivating, exciting, and kept bringing me back to play more each day and build up my garage and progress forward. Bottom line... it's just not as polished and not as fun to play, IMHO.... Happy Gaming!!! I can't wait for GT5 in a few short weeks....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ehh

posted by hardtosayx (COATESVILLE, PA) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

The graphics are really good, but gameplay wise I could care less for it. I mean you can rewind to where you were and start over, but most of the time when you crash the car is totaled anyway.

I only played for a little because it really didn't keep me interested. Controls are pretty easy though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

crud

posted by templarkin (new york, NY) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

I just finished going through some of the reviews left. And I must have been playing a completely different game I found it impossible to master the
most simplistic moves um like.....driving straight.
Turning without totaling the car was humorous. I
think if your assessment of a great driving game is
blinding speed, no control and endless crashes this game is for you.

I do give them props for the visuals, replays and
views, unfortunately most end wrapped around a turn
or divider

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The game isn't that bad but...

posted by ninjaforce (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The controls are CRAZY! They are just WAY too dang sensitive!!!!!!!!!!!
The game is Okay. I LOVE the Demolition Derbey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good racer, not to deep

posted by nimblecook (MIAMISBURG, OH) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Graphics are great, also the sense of speed is awsome, cant go without the reply and replace feature either. Just needs aq little more depth I feel, mods and such.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

eh

posted by volc0m1398 (DELRAY BEACH, FL) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

If your looking for a cool realistic racing game, this isnt it. THe graphics are good and its cool that it can actually say your name. This unfortunately does not negate the fact that the driving is far from realistic, and very different than any other racing game. It feels like your driving on ice, trust me id know I live in Colorado. The steering is also way too jumpy making overcorrecting a commom occurance [this adds a commical occurance in which you'll end up bumping a wall only to overcorrect and bump the oposite wall...tee hee...too hoo... :(] You might like this game if your big into drifting, big maybe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good graphics, no training mode at all!

posted by jpwolf (PLANO, TX) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

This game has excellent graphics, and is probably a really good racing sim. Having said that, there is NO practice or training whatsoever, so if you're new to the game, get ready to crash and lose ALOT. To say the least, this is very annoying. It is probably a great game for those with enough patience to lose 500 times until you are the master, but for those of us just looking for a fun racing game, this ain't it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cant modify cars

posted by vash18sd (ROSEVILLE, CA) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

The game graphics is awesome but the game play need more modification in cars so it will not be boring. the racing part I love the US and Japan but Euro type race its very hard to race because you have fast cars, hard to control cars and hard circuits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great potential, but gets wrecked for racing newbs

posted by kichigai13 (BELTON, TX) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

I am not a fan of too many racing games, but with good reviews I gave GRID a try.

Graphics and sound, awesome, it's what kept me going. The detail in damage is top notch and car deterioration was a welcome addition.

However, for a non racing expert, there is absolutely no curve. On the easiest settings there is no winning a race for me, and I played and beat the Burn Out games. Controls have me all over, spinning out and destroying cars. I wish it were a better game for someone like me, I really do. The fun left me somewhere between the 5th and 8th race of barely finishing with a tore up car.

I am thankful for a gamefly membership when well reviewed games like this come along and disappoint me.

If you are really into racing games you should give it a chance. Cause you will have to know what you are doing, really well, to succeed at this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

very tedious

posted by HotShot45 (GOLETA, CA) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

a fun game during the circuit races but it is imposible to do a successful drift.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very pretty, but next to no learning curve!

posted by Azrael32 (REX, GA) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

The graphics on this game are great. The racing is very intense. I like the fact that you can enter in a nickname and that the game actually uses it when it speaks. Such as, Great job KEN, now we just have to try harder the next time. So it's really cool to hear the game actually say your name. The 7 rewind is nice to try to correct your mistakes, but it either needs to be longer or you need more in the beginning of the game until you get used to the controls and response of the cars.
I just had such a hard time getting the car to drive the way I wanted to, there is no in between speed while driving. It's is all out gas or foot to the floor brake. Now I did finally start slowing down much much sooner than I should have and tapping the break but then the other cars would just crash and bump me into obstacles or just crash and wipe me out with them. The 4 tracks that I did in the beginning had A LOT of dark spots where the corners were so it was very hard for me to see how close I could make the turn without hitting obstacles. Maybe it's easier to see on a HD tv, but I wouldn't think it would make that much difference. I didn't see any training sections to help you learn how to drive the cars any better and they didn't have regular versions of cars for you to start out on. It's just here's and awesome souped-up racing car, get out and the track and drive; hope you don't wreck and destroy your car!
I'm just really used to driving Gran Turismo or Need for Speed. This game had too much of a learning curve at the beginning for me and no way to try to work with it. Others of you may think the game is AWESOME and I won't argue with you that racing is intense and very cool looking on the screen, but it just wasn't very fun for me. I was about to throw my $60 controller through the wall after playing it for the first 30 minutes. I rented it and tried playing it over 3 days, but I just couldn't get over the huge frustration factor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Excellent graphics, but frustrating controls

posted by Ralphie (WALTHAM, ME) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Definitely not a game for gamers not into hardcore racing. This is my first racing game on PS3. I was expecting something better. The graphics are incredible. the paint on your car even reflects the surroundings. the main negative though is the controls. The gas is either full throttle or totally off. Same with the brake. No modulation what so ever. This makes it extremely hard to recover after a crash, which happens all the time. hammer the gas and you spin in circles, hit it lightly and your fellow racers leave you way behind. One tire hits the grass or dirt on the side of the track and instantly you are out of control. Even if you do manage to make it a few laps competitively one crash or spin out on a sharp corner can leave you dead last. Even on the basic mode. Very frustrating. Definitely a game that makes you want to throw the controller across the room. While I have seen longer load times on some games this game has loading sections for everything. If you want to quit the current race and go to another race you deal with three different load screens. this might not bother some people but it makes the game feel very disjointed to me. Rent before you buy and if you are not a hardcore racing fan, I wouldn't even rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Looks good, plays bad

posted by jdmsilver (NEWPORT BEACH, CA) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The game looks and sounds fantastic but the controls are horrible. The gas and brake are simply full on or full off, meaning there is no ability to modulate your throttle or braking unlike other driving games. This means that if you don't have the traction or braking assist on, you will either not be able to grip under throttle or lock up your brakes under hard braking. This makes the cars very annoying to drive since you cannot control it properly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be better

posted by Retsopmi (VANCOUVER, WA) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The game tries to be a sim but lacks the simulation refinement. It also tries for arcade type action but is to simulation like to succeed there.

Overall that game was fun. Though you do spin out a lot and the courses are way to limiting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

a game for a bored racer

posted by GamerLikeU (WEST RICHLAND, WA) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

Grid is pretty fun for a while, but you quickly become bored with retrying races over and over for money you can't spend. A lot of people are saying this game is between a "driving simulator" and a arcade racing style game but it just plain is a "simulator" game , (you know the "simulator" games where your car can't handle past 70 mph), put it this way if these simulators were accurate it wouldn't be safe to walk the streets!)luckily you can get some nice cars but, then again you can't even fix them up, so if you like VERY hard racing games, then by all mean go for it but, i for one am very disappointed in the ridiculous difficulty of this game so all in all if you are bored and have nothing better to do then this is an okay game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse