Rent GRID for Xbox 360
view large frontback

GRID

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.4

6773 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Captures the Spirit of Racing

posted by MadCat360 (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Jun 6, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

72 out of 78 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I've gone through racing school and have raced a few times and I can honestly say that this game is the first game ever to give me the same sort of adrenaline rush as I get from real racing. The thing to bear in mind is that this is not a realistic racer. If you want to tweak camber and toe angles, get another game. If you want to carefully feed in the throttle while drift understeering out of the apex of a corner, get another game. If you want to take the smallest bump and retire from the race because of mechanical issues, get another game.

The core car behavior is there; turn in with too much rolling speed and you'll liftoff oversteer. Gas it too much without traction control and you'll kick the tail out. This game is to racers as Ace Combat is to flight sims. When played with a wheel, you can feel every bump and when the tires let go. If you play without aids like stability management and traction control, you get a significantly more challenging experience.

People have said the AI is stupid. Quite the contrary, in my opinion. Having been through racing school and knowing what drivers are supposed to do in situations I can say that the AI is virtually flawless, except for being slightly aggressive. They also make mistakes, and spin occasionally. For the first time I am not frustrated by AI that fails to "play by the rules".

All in all, if you've found console racing games like Forza 2 or Gran Turismo to be too stingy and complicated, this may just be the perfect compromise. Even if you do enjoy simulators you should check this out if only for a change of pace.

Those who truly understand The Race will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a Racing Simulator, Adrenaline Simulator!

posted by Hotdog (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

41 out of 46 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I wasn't quite sure about this one, I was a big fan of Forza 2, but I was drawn to GRID because of the in cockpit view which I love. At first this was a little frustrating, I was braking to realistic speeds to take corners and being passed by NPCs. When you realize this game isn't a racing sim like grand turismo and Forza you'll start having a mountain of fun, slamming the hand brake and drifting corners at 90 miles an hour with superb graphics and intense opponents, this game is a rush!

I've heard some people whining about a limited selection of cars and an unrealistic driving experience.. This game has 45 RACING cars, if you want to drive some hunkered down, stock, ---- car realistically, why don't you grab your keys and walk outside. The game isn't about simming your drive to the super market, it's about capturing the rush of driving at 180 miles an hour, and it does... Spot on. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grid

posted by fattyc (PENNOCK, MN) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is quite possibly the best racing game ever made. I have played all the need for speed, and test drives, and PGRs and grid beats all of them by a long shot. The graphics are amazing, and the gameplay is fun. You can race so many vehicles and so many different race styles, such as drift, derby, and tour. Must play!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

We gunna Drift this city. Drift this city.

posted by seertekoms (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So Grid is good for a drifting game. If you like GT series or even NFS series you should stick with those. This game is fun and all but you are constantly drifting and sliding even in the pro series. It is not realistic in anyway. One thing I don't like are the controls. The way the gas and braking is setup makes my right thumb hurt. It is most likely my hand that causes this issue tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good and bad, but mostly bad

posted by lilman77 (FINDLAY, OH) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm giving this game a 6 because of the addiction factor. Although I should give it something lower for the fact that it's so easy to spin out. Someone spins you out so you have to restart the race. You try to do what spun you out to someone else, and you end up spinning out yourself.
Great game, lots of fun; if you can get over the spin out thing. Oh yeah, I almost forgot about the AI... artificial intelligence? The "I" should stand for idiot. There is no accounting for who is on what line in the race. I don't know how many times I was spun out of a race because I was on a certain line, and the AI rammed into me and spun me into the barrier or into the grass. And forget about getting back into the race after getting spun into the grass, especially if it's in the latter stages of the race.
Great choice of cars, the tracks are amazingly detailed. No rain? Snow? Clouds? No weather engine? Slightly disappointed in that. Even PGR4 had the famed Nurburgring with snow on it.
All in all, not the worst racing title I've played, but, nowhere near the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by jbirney (SUNRISE, FL) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I was not sure what to think after the demo but figured I enjoyed PRG4 and since this was a rental, why not. Boy I am glad I did as it turned out to be a lot of fun. What I thought was really great about this is the other race modes, like the demolition derbies, the touge events, the downhill mountain racing at night, ect. Just a lot more than I expected. That graphics are great but look better when you watching as they hard to see how good they are when your going 150 mph down a narrow road :) Its too bad we did not get any Ferrari cars but the selection was pretty good otherwise. The AI was pretty good to as well. I liked how they added just a touch or realism but not enough to take away from the arcade nature of the racing. If they ever make a GRID2 it will go on my must own list (vrs rent).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but Flawed

posted by here2play (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 12, 2008

Member since May 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is not a bad racing game and as noted in several other reviews it is not a sim but rather an arcade style racer in. Graphically it is passable, plays fast and plays smooth. The variety of cars is not great but you do get some different cars to play. The variety of races is a nice change. This includes the demolition derby sections. As noted it is flawed though. Mostly the AI is unfair. For example one of the biggest complaints is that when you tap or hit a car it just drives right through it but when they hit or even tap you, your car ends up in a swerving often uncontrollable scream across the road and that's when you get smashed by the other AI cars as they do nothing to avoid you. You find yourself restarting a race a lot of times simply because you got hit on the side panel and went like a tornado across the grass spinning out of control with no chance to now catch up. Yes, it does have a "rewind" feature but to enable this you have to destroy your car to be able to rewind what went wrong. Overall i was quite disappointed in this title, when the AI is fair it is enjoyable but once it decides to hit you from behind or from the side it becomes a lesson in frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Makes Racing High Energy

posted by JEagle (NEW CASTLE, PA) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy games like the Burnout series I say rent this one. This is NOT a sim like many have mentioned. What this is is a high energy arcade style racer that is not as crazy as Burnout can get yet not as regimented as Forza Motorsport either.

One feature I found kinda cool is during first setup you get a list of first names from which to choose (lets say jake for example). When the computer spotter is talking to you he addresses you by that name " Look like you lost a bumper there Jake!". A pretty neat feature, first time it used my name shocked me lol.

Solid fun for arcade racer fans. The car lineup might be small but is made up for in the fun of driving what is there. Besides, any racing game that gives you an achievement for rolling your car 20x can't be bad!

Hint: easy 5 achievement points, drive off a cliff. You'll get your air time achievement :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Forza and Pro street together

posted by MPizle (BOWMAN, ND) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I think this game is like Need for Speed Pro Street and Forza Motorsport put together but you may not think that but i do. This game has a VERY intense sense of racing and a very good planed career mode also the cars they put on it are amasing, they are almost all the cars I dream of like u see in the videos the Aston Martin, Mazda RX-7, Dodge Viper, and a whole lot more are in this game so I hope you will like it like I do.

This is my first review so bear with me..=)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent arcade racer, but sim fans shouldn't bother

posted by MikeF73 (NORWALK, CT) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game does a decent job as an arcade racer, but overall I thought PGR4 was better. It's definitely no sim. Most of the cars feel and handle the same, and there is little or no speed penalty for sliding through a corner. As a result, correct braking and sticking to the racing line isn't much of a priority.

The AI can also be very frustrating. They frequently weave back and forth on straightaways (with no apparent loss of speed) making passes an adventure. If you're next to them they'll slam right into you if you're in their way. They also tend to hit the brakes much earlier than they should going into corners.

The "instant replay" feature takes some of the frustration out of racing, however. One slip up or AI glitch does not ruin the race - you can "rewind" a few seconds and keep going from that point. Without this system, racing against the AI would be unbearable.

There is some variety to the races - in addition to standard races there are head-to-head matches, demolition derbies, touge events, and drifting competitions. All have been done before and better in other games, but the variety provided here is welcome. One addition that got old quickly, however, was the 24-hour Le Mans race (shrunk down to under 20 minutes for the game) that is offered up as an event after every virtual racing season. Fortunately you can skip it if you want.

There is SOME variety to the cars in the game, but within a class you'd be hard-pressed to tell the difference between models. The formula-style cars clearly have better handling than the muscle cars, but other than that it comes down to differences in top speed and the amount of wheel spin going around corners. There is nothing in here like the shock in Forza of adjusting to an S1 after driving a C3 for a while.

If you like PGR-style racing give this one a try. There's really nothing else out there at the moment in the category. But if you're a Forza or GT fanatic, don't waste your time or money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Looks Great, almost impossible to play

posted by coltestwd (YAKIMA, WA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The graphics and presentation are incredible. But it's like they didn't even test the gameplay. The cars are impossible to drive at the speed of the opponents on the easiest setting. Forget about enjoying this game with a Steering Wheel, even the xbox controller was nearly impossible. I could keep up with the competition, but that meant slamming into cars, walls and losing control when wheels were damaged. Instead, I would drive cautious, slow and careful and never see the competition the rest of the race. The cars spun out or oversteered like no other racing game.

Too bad, I was excited to get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Uggh

posted by HAAS09 (WALES, ME) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Another decent racing game. I enjoyed it for a bit then the AI driving started to upset me. The AI driving is terrible they constantly stop in the middle of the track and they kept dumping me into the wall. Other then that the game is definitely fun and enjoyable so I gave it a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great racing game

posted by killersrt (RIVERVIEW, FL) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Like everyone said, its not exactly a simulator, but i wouldnt go as far as to call it an arcade racer. It does have realistic damage, both mechanical and cosmetic. The handling on the cars is a bit "floaty" and doesn't feel direct. Ever since TOCA: Race driver 2 came out, I have written to codemasters correcting every issue with their games. Even back then, the physics weren't bad, but the cars would float across the track. Even though flashback is a cool feature, as is the records durring the load times, i think they could improve and make loadtimes less and focus more on the realistic characteristics. If you have never played race driver 2, i suggest you pick it up. It doesn't work on the 360, but it is the ONLY racing game i know of to incorporate a REALISTIC clutch feature. Im not talking about fast and furious clutch kicks, i mean actually letting out slowly untill it catches, stalling if you let out too quick, grinding and damaging the gearbox if you dont hold the clutch in, etc. That was by far the biggest bonus to the game and i believe codemasters to be the pioneer in something that was great but left behind. Over all, this game was very good, but leaves room for improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big let down

posted by james1058 (BOONVILLE, MO) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Was really looking forward to this game. Game arrived and got it up and going. Great graphics...until you start racing. I am playing on a 42" LCD tv with HDMI connection. The side of the road and the track blend together so bad it is hard to keep it on the track, especially the faster you go. Some tracks are ok..but from what I have seen not. The distant corners are blurred so you come upon them way too fast and at times it seems the car's braking just doesn't work. I was a big fan of all the Gran Turismo games and Forza. I'm not getting far enough in the game to see if you can buy and level up a car or not. 3 days playing and it is going back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Eye Candy-Realistic Damage-Terrible Handling

posted by strong4339 (MIDLAND, MI) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As an Adult who plays his son's games once in a while for fun, this game is the furthest thing from it. In fact, I enjoyed "Dirt" by the same company and have played almost all of the mainstream Xbox 360 Racing games with a descent level of challenge, enjoyment and satisfaction.

As a person who works 60 plus hours a week; Grid is the most frustrating, difficult and over-the top Graphically waste of time I have seen since driving 30 miles to play darts with Roman in GTA4.

For seasoned, youthful gamers that don't know how a real car should handle and have never used a steering wheel that's not a game controller, I'm sure this is a piece of cake. For an "Old Guy" like me, it's impossible; even on the easiest setting! Life's too short for this thing!

The car spins-out no matter how easy you are on the throttle in tight areas like San Francisco, yet crumbles to shreds when you tap a wall or barrier. Also, if you don't start well, the AI never allows you to catch up.

After one frustrating hour of this over-complicated, unrealistic driving game, I chucked it out of the CD tray and sent it right back to Game Fly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

They forgot to make it fun.

posted by Seizure (POWELL, OH) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like racing games. They aren't my favorite genre but I really enjoy a good one. However, in the last few years the category has been largely ruined by trying too hard to make the games "realistic" instead of "enjoyable" or "fun".

I played the introductory race in this game and was excited, thinking I had found a fun racing game. I was wrong.

About 23 seconds into first race after the introduction, I slid sideways into the wall at about 1/2 speed and my car exploded. I could end the race, restart before my crash, or restart at the beginning.

I couldn't believe how easily my car exploded, after ONE crash at HALF speed, sideways into the wall. I restarted from the beginning to try again.

This time I made it to the first lap before sliding into a wall during a turn. My car didn't blow up this time and I thought "oh, good the first time was a fluke". well... no it wasn't. As I was accelerating back from sliding into the wall I BARELY brushed the wall next to me and my car exploded. Again.

So... Apparently in real racing cars explode easily after very slight damage all the time and the developers wanted to "accurately" model this. Well, they did. Unfortunatley this makest the game no fun at all to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

More in the line of bad driving games

posted by RNHdb25 (ALBERTA, VA) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was definitely worse than I expected. It seems like your cars are undriveable, from my point of view anyway. All you do is fly down the track, attempt to slow down, hit the wall, bounce off, and repeat x 30 times. Even if you manage to slow down appropriately for the turn; the other drivers ram you into the wall and you are forced to a) use a rewind or b) restart the race on higher difficulties. Seems like the rewind system was added as an afterthought because people got tired of their races being ruined after one bad turn. The lack of vehicle customization is a major drawback and takes away a major part of competitive racing games. This game drives very much like the Need for Speed series, if you are looking for a more simulation racing game like Forza or Gran Tourismo, keep looking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Grid's Play Style

posted by Maxxis (SAN ANSELMO, CA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Grid was not up to my expectations. For one thing, the game was only loosely based on the racing genre. You were expected to do anything and everything to get to the front of the pack. The system worked when the Demolition Derby game type was played, but when it came down other types like GT1 or Le Mans races, it really shouldn't have been Applied. Lastly, the AI acted like super drivers with nerves of steel. When you tried to take a turn at the same speed as them, and accidentally slammed into them, you went careening off the track, while they were left continuing the race as if a fly had hit their windshield, not a three- thousand pound car slamming into their sides.
With that said I think the cool mechanics were the custom livery and team mate during races. That was a stroke of pure genius that I haven't seen before in a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Ever

posted by terrypgh (PITTSBURGH, PA) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is one of the best racing games I have played. One of the best features is that the other AI cars will act human and wreck, slide out , act like human beings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth the plastic it's sold in

posted by Mookystix (GAINESVILLE, FL) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty....but it sux.
enough said....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Reminds me of PGR 4 and Need 4 Speed

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jun 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Grid is a very nice racing game. It has great graphics with amazing realistic crashes that actually are some what real. A great selection of cars. And the entire gameplay is very intense and fun. The xbox live could use some tweeking, but overall i really like it and you should rent it and buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the rating should NOT be 8!!!

posted by 856outlaw (MILLVILLE, NJ) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

this is just another typical racing game, with alot of hype behind it! like an 8 rating! i gave it a 5 for simple reasons... no mods except sponsorship stickers, some minor lame body graphics, and a small amount of car color "WEAK" and you get to drive around in circles n have the computer cars scum you out of a good position by cutting you off all the time n wrecking your car! TONS OF FUN! and dont try to play this game on a real level ya know "anything higher than normal" because you wont finish the race.. you'll either crash, but not because its your fault but because of the computer "rediculous" or just fall so far behind the pack "and you have the same exact car as the computer" its not even fun, or fair for that matter!!! but on the upside, the graphics are pretty sick... yeah thats all for the upside lol!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

perhaps the worst game I've played this year.

posted by MikeFingC (BERWICK, ME) Sep 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So I read a bunch of hype about this game. And was all excited when I got the email from GameFly saying "We've Shipped GRID" I was all pumped when I got it from the post office.

Controls: 4/10
Graphics: 7/10
Fun: 1/10

After about 20-30 hours of playing it. I still have yet to find what made it worth any of the hype. I mean I read "racing games are fun again" about this game. And it's not fun. At all. The driving controls are pretty poor. And if you're like me when playing a racing game, you enjoy sending your opponents into walls etc. There is NONE of that. I mean you can try. Occasionally you might get them to spin out, but then you yourself end up in the wall at about 120mph.

Also. Passing your opponents is a huge problem. Because for some reason, they're always faster then you, until they slam on the brakes at every corner and you go barreling in screaming hot and end up in the wall because 4 cars pushed you simultaneously.

Huge waste of time and a slot on my GameQ.

However. If you unlike me, like the NASCAR games instead of the NFS games. This game is honestly right up your alley. Enjoy it, because I won't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wouldn't Play Again!

posted by PhyllyPhil (BURLINGAME, CA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Although the graphics are very realistic and the game itself is as close to a real racing game as you can get, the controls are terrible and you are ripped off practically every race. You can be in first place and in the blink of an eye be in last place all because the cars have no traction. This game was more frustrating than it was fun and I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

mediocre sequel

posted by FourFifth (South Yarmouth, MA) Aug 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Race Driver 3 always struck me as being a nice driving simulator, good physics, ok graphics, a general single player mode, grid is the invert of that, poor physics, as you go around a corner with the rear wheels sliding it seems as though they will always grip no matter how much you hit the gas or cut the wheel to the inside, ai is more natural, there will be spins and wrecks in front of you, graphics are real nice and smooth, single player is different, maybe a little bit more realistic, fewer disciplines, and they ones they have are worse, 3 different drifting modes, just 1 is gimmicky enough for me.

overall, I'd say this is good for a casual racing game fan but for the more serious ones get race driver 3 or another game all together

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse