Rent G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra for PS3
view large frontback

G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.7

1456 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Worth the rent

posted by a22shady (RIVERSIDE, NJ) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

40 out of 42 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I Had high hopes for this game since there has not been one out in years. But is a very big dissapointment. You really have no control over the character its a very basic straight forward type game you can go forward and back thats it. No exploring or searching around. The aiming is horrible no control. pretty go straight and hold the fire button down untill you finish the game. You can not even Jump.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

My feelings are hurt; yours will be too

posted by dadisi (OAKLAND, CA) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2004

25 out of 26 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

OMG!!! I can't believe how bad this game is. Graphics and game play are horrible... The constant useless chatter is mind numbing... EA is finally showing how little they really think of the gaming community...

=((

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Might have been good in the mid-90's

posted by giese095 (NEW PRAGUE, MN) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game might have been up to the standards for the mid-90's, but is WAY behind any current generation game. The graphics are horrendous and the gameplay is WAY too simplistic. I would not suggest this game as a rent unless you want a game that you will play for 20 minutes and shove back in the envelope back to GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't waste your time!

posted by DukeGame (Cary, NC) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Being a fan of GI Joe since my childhood in the mid-late 80's I was so excited that a movie and video game were finally on the way. Well I received that game today and I must say I was very dissapointed. The graphics are PS2 at best, the game play is not that good. It's just a bunch of running through levels that look the same and shooting non stop. It is a lot like the old NES Contra game except I would rather play Contra on the NES than play this game again. You all can rent it and form your own opinion. Maybe I'm just so addicited to Red Faction Guerilla that I'm being bias. Let's just keep our fingers crossed that the movie is going to be much better than this dreadful game.

Now you know and knowing is half the battle....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yep, they rushed it....

posted by jfrd48 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

24 out of 27 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Almost has an old school 2D feel to it.

Graphics OK, but game play is very limited and fairly simple.

Stopped playing an hour in when I realized it was the same crapola, different scenario.

Little kids may like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is so bad, it makes bad, look good.

posted by Sunny357 (OSAGE CITY, KS) May 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game, for one week. Played it twice, in the course of that week, and that was enough to find out. The following factors.

1. The graphics suck, it's almost like a PS1 tribute.
2. Most of the game is filled with chat between the "Joes" in which they say some of the most mind numbing garbage - ever.
3. The over all game itself was easy, in that all you do is twice around and shoot stuff, over, and over, and over, and over. You get the picture, right?
4. when controlling a "vehicle" they couldn't even have the sense to function in a way of camera control, so that turning around didn't involve you actually turning and then rolling forward, or backward, to move into this turn. I found myself crashing multiple times, because of it's stupid control system.
5. If I hear someone shout "Go Joe" again. I might throw a brick through my television.
6. Finally.. On the last day I put this in, I considered playing it, and actually found myself taking it out of the system, because I was actually sickend, by the thought of bothering to play this game again.

1/10 rating - because this game sucks, that bad. Infact if anyone wants to "sell" a used copy, you should drop that price to less than $5. Atleast then the entertainment would be worth the price, it would be like one of the minis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yeah, It's Bad, But Still Fun

posted by Justice76 (MILPITAS, CA) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

PROS
Old school GI JOE figures
Different characters have different special attacks
Controls are simple
Fairly easy to earn platinum trophy; be patient (game is glitched in your favor)
Your AI buddy never dies!
Corny dialogue once you unlock the COBRA characters

CONS
Stalker, Hawk, Breaker, and Data-Frame never SHUT UP!
No camera controls :(
The worst vehicle controls of any game, ever
No real plot
No online multiplayer
Your AI Joe buddy has the intelligence of a tennis shoe
Different environments, same scenario: bang bang, you're vaporized

I liked this game. However, once I achieved the platinum, there was no reason to play it again. It is a linear game with no real surprises.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a Joke!

posted by Darth_Majin (TOMAH, WI) May 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this game. What I expected and what I received were way off. I thought I would be getting a nice 3rd person adventure shooter, but this game is nothing more than an arcade shooter. It's a complete embarrassment for next gen systems, might be fun for kids but it's not even rated E it's rated T. Don't bother renting or buying this game unless you love G.I. Joe fanatically, or you love arcade shooters, or even if you want the trophy collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

G.I. No...

posted by Chaplin001 (EULESS, TX) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is dumpster juice. Outdated graphics, horrific gameplay, and either too loud or barely audible audio makes this game one of the worst I've played in a long time. I got it this morning when I came in from work at 6:30AM and by 8:00AM it was back in the mail.

Characters are cut and paste with different models.. and bad models at that. The combat consists of holding the trigger button down and running. That's pretty much it. A one armed man with a rubber band around R2 could play this without much hassle. You barely even have to aim, just point the Joe towards the general direction you target is and away everything magically goes to it. Vehicle combat is bad also. With the fixed camera it's like driving a Smart car through a tunnel of jello with RPGs on the hood. It's hard to aim the weapons and drive. Half the time you will just stop driving and take over the turret.

This game is by far so not worth a rent. Do not get it.. for any system it's on. It's garbage and I'm sorely disappointed in EA for making it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wowsers, when they said it was bad

posted by meglodon (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

they really meant it,, this one was lousy with a capital L, good for a 3 or 4 year old but beyond that get out the old Atari unit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

G.I. JOE

posted by jwj410 (SANTA ANA, CA) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

HORRIBLE GAME. A COMPLETE WASTE OF MY TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst freakin game ever!!!!!!!

posted by Klock77 (PLAINFIELD, CT) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Trust me it's not even worth this many words for a complaint

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by NAKASHIMA (ELKINS, AR) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

a ten year old could get bored with this game the camera angels suck bad you absalutely no control just no fun at all man its honestly like playing a sega game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

sucks

posted by first2figh (MILTON, DE) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game suck its more of a game for like 3 year old who wants to play a game where u barely control anything u don't aim or nothing try harder next time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hmmmm

posted by EricHunter (SALISBURY, MD) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game confuses me. tell me why auto-aiming cant be turned off? and then explain to me why auto-aiming never aims at the people shooting you in the face? it will always aim for the points modifiers and never at the enimies. this game can be fun but only as a renter. i would never suggest buying this game. it was rushed and just felt like a cheap way for publisers to cheap you out of 40 bux.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth renting!

posted by onawhim (HANOVER PARK, IL) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After playing for an hour, I still couldn't understand the premise of the game. It played like an arcade game except aiming was joke, more like using a garden hose on your flower bed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An obvious rush job- rent only

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Aug 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've only played the first three missions of "G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra", but from those three missions I can tell a lot about the game. One, it's very linear. Two, the fixed camera is a problem. Three, the Joes can't jump (huh?). Four, vehicle driving absolutely stinks. It's a shame, for if they would have put more effort into this game, EA would have had a gem on their hands. The possibilities were there, but it was obvious the game developers were only interested in getting this into stores in time to tie in with the movie's release. If only they had used the "Battlefield" template, and just applied the G.I. Joe universe. Now that would have ben a game! But instead, we got this just plain okay shooter. It's mindless fun blowing stuff up, but it gets old fast. A better camera and controls would have added immensley to the fun, but, we didn't get that. The story does fit nicely with the franchise, though, and the voice acting is passable, though the dialogue is a tad on the cheesy side at times. This is a rental at best, and certainly not worth the full price tag. I can only hope the movie is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun but frustrating

posted by Aries410 (BALTIMORE, MD) Aug 28, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I had fun playing this game. Although, attempts to fully complete the game proved unsuccessful. Mostly due to what I feel are bad game mechanics. There is no control of the camera, which several times leaves you walking into hallways or areas that you cannot see until the camera rights itself, often causing you to walk into "traps". This wouldn't be horrible, except that on the advanced and hardcore difficulties you lose your character until the checkpoint or end of the level. Also, there is no way to save progress at checkpoints. Most levels are 3 to 4 sections. Say you get to the boss battle and both characters die, you must start over from the beginning of the level, not from the last passed check point. This was horrible. Especially after putting 30 to 40 minutes into a level, trying to get to the end and then dying and having to start over. It also will not allow you to keep intel and pickups after you die, meaning you must find them all again as you go back through the whole level. If you really want to play this game, play on casual level so that your characters won't die and just play through. The story isn't bad and the gunplay is enjoyable. My chief complaint with the targeting system, is that often you get stuck targeting "star boxes" (points) instead of enemies. The only way to survive getting through the game is by quickly switching from one Joe to the other just before they die, as the computer controlled character does not take damage. Computer co-op AI is fair, but offers minimal damage to enemies. Attempting to drive vehicles is difficult, often just going in circles. Additionally, the triangle button turns on your Accelerator suit. But it also enters vehicles and interacts with computers, often causing me to use the accelerator suit once I was done killing enemies. This should have its own button. In conclusion, I was glad I rented this game. Would have been very upset to spend 50 bucks on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT YEAR WAS THIS GAME MADE!!??!!

posted by SSGTUSMC83 (HENDERSON, NV) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I THOUGHT THS YEAR WAS 2009...NOT 1999!!! THE GRAPHICS SUCK!!! I THOUGHT I WAS PLAYING ON THE ORIGINAL NINTENDO GAME SYSTEM. YOU CAN'T REALLY INTERACT WITH THE ENVIRONMENT BECAUSE OF THE SUCKY CAMERA MOVEMENT. JUST WASTED MY TIME WAITING TO PLAY THIS G.I. NOWHERE GAME!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Old School game for Old School Gamers

posted by JoDGo1981 (PICKENS, SC) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

first this game was made primarily for kids...so don't let these other reviews throw you off...when they say the game is horrible...cause to 20 year old home bodies like themselves it may be...but if your a parent of a small young child...your kids will enjoy this game and have hours of fun with it.

I'm a Gamer who has been enjoying games as a second hobby for years and I will tell you...if you loved the first contras for Nintendo and super Nintendo This game will in ways feel like a updated version of that exactly and I actually found the game interesting because it reminded me of the early years of gaming and was basically a game to laugh at cause some of the dialogue and just enjoy a blast from the past in a way.

now for you teens and early twenty gamers that want non-stop action and killer cut scenes....look else were....this game is not gonna give you that, you will play it...hate it...and write some stupid review about it how it didn't give you a thrill in your pants....OK....that's the skinny on this game.

old school gamers might actually enjoy...Small Kids will love especially if your a parent that likes to play the game with your child.....but new gamers and teens and gamers in there early and mid twenties.....your not gonna like it so pass on....later folks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Horrible

posted by Weaponary (SACRAMENTO, CA) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Running around like a stick figure shooting around. Graphics are horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not that bad!!!

posted by BamaMark (GURLEY, AL) Aug 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

My son loves this game! He is 8 years old and it is shooting non stop. Graphics are not so good, the game is a waste of a HD gaming system. But if you have a young one it is clean and fun to play. We play it a lot trying to unlock all the old-school guys. It is a great game to rent but I would never buy it. I do have one complaint, the camera sucks there are times I cant see either one of us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i think this game is aswome

posted by shaunn (SACRAMENTO, CA) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 17 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

and the other people wrote reviews are liying bastabers and they only want the game for them selves you you around but the other sais you didnt and this rate 3.4 it should be rated 9.7 because this game is as good as marvel ultimate alliance 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay

posted by Navy_seals (CONCORD, NC) Apr 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Its okay not bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

how stupid can it get

posted by wizardman (TUTTLE, OK) May 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

this game sucks im never getting it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse