Rent G-Force for Xbox 360
view large frontback

G-Force

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PSP Games, DS, PS2, Wii
GF Rating
6.1

572 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best platformers this gen

posted by thextreme1 (BERLIN, MD) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I went into this game thinking it was going to be another lame movie tie-in experience. What I found was a deep, engaging, fun old school platformer with great visuals and clever puzzles. One of the best platformers I have played in years. Definitely worth a rental, if not a purchase. 3D mode is nice, but you lose most of the great color the game has to offer. I played the first couple of levels with the glasses on, but had to take them off because of the loss of color. The colorful surroundings make this game. So, it is a trade-off really. It is fun in 3D though.

The game is about 10 hours long, more if you try to find all of the hidden objects and play on hard to get all of the achievements. I got 560 achievement points without too much trouble.

Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun and complex game, basically a giant puzzle

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) May 6, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am quite surprised by the amount of work put into this game. It has a very good variety of weapons, enemies, creativity, missions, collectibles, power ups, and everything else you could want.

This game is however a bit more difficult than you may anticipate. I put almost 8 hours just to beat the single player campaign on normal. The achievements are also not easy to get, as they normally are for these kiddie games.

You basically play as Darwin, the main man guinea pig. He's got a team of special rodent agents that help him, and a tiny recon fly that you can use to fly around and get in tight spaces.

You have to travel through vents, climb walls, use your pet fly to get secrets, and usually solve a giant puzzle in each room you go into. For example, you will watch a cut scene of a laser beam guarding a door, and they quickly zoom in on a vent on the ceiling. You will need to find a way into the vent, to bypass the laser beam, to ultimately deactivate it to get into that room.

This game is definitely worth renting, or even buying if you can get it for around $15 like I did. It has a good amount of replay value to get stuff on harder difficulties, as well as fully upgrading everything to get more achievements. Fun game even if you're like 20.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Starts good then gets too hard

posted by adamselene (DAYTON, NV) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This one was disappointing. Rented this for our 8 year old. He really like it at first, but then the puzzles started to get more and more complex and he needed my help to figure them out. He's a bright kid and has played many similar video games, so that's not the issue. Eventually as he got farther into the game (I think he was fairly close to the end- some kind of big room where you had to turn on some generators or something) the puzzles got quite complex, and because I didn't have time to re-do the whole level with him, even I couldn't solve it. After we tried several times and I even found several walk-throughs on the web and we still couldn't do it, we got frustrated and sent it back. I wouldn't recommend this one for eight year olds unless you're prepared to play it with your kid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AWESOME to play in 3-D mode, fun and funny game!!

posted by Cid121 (SECANE, PA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is absolutely hilarious and alot of fun to play. Only thing was that when playing in 3-D and wearing the 3-D glasses, I could only take the 3-D gameplay for so long. After wearing 3-D glasses and playing in 3-D for over an hour, it started to bother my eyes. Now that might just be me, but you have to try it for yourself!

All of the characters are hilarious and there is lots of comedy to this game, which makes it even more fun to play. The enemies you come across may be frustrating to beat because you need to find out their weaknesses before being able to defeat them successfully. One thing I found sort of difficult was defeating all the different electronic enemies. Each enemy has its own weak spot, and in order for you to find it, you need to scan them with your scan gun for the helpful information. In order to scan the enemy, you need a good view of them, so if you're not careful, the enemy might throw one of their weapons at you and your health will decrease. I would try and get on shelves or hide behind something, and then get to a good view and scan the enemy. From there, you need to protect yourself as much as possible and attack the enemy at the right time in order to defeat them successfully.

The kiosks are very helpful, but sometimes they're located in the worst possible positions in the missions. Be careful of enemies sneaking up on you while at the kiosk, always watch your back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good for the Kids, But Nothing Else

posted by ScottP (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

First off, if you rent this game, Gamefly does not send the 3D glasses. I made that mistake initially by reserving this before it came out. So, if you rent the game, you get a sub par platformer with some shooting.

The game is for kids only. I thought that it would be a little funny like other movies out there like it, but it really wasn't. The problem was that it took itself way too serious. If your kids are a big fan of the movie, then go ahead and pick this one up...if they aren't, I'd skip it.

There's other games out there for kids that are better, namely the Kung Fu Panda one. That is one kid's movie game that I can remember that was actually pretty darn good.

So, skip this one if you can, otherwise, rent it for the kids, then send it back never to be seen again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wIERD FOR DISNEYY TO MAKE GAMES OF MOVIES

posted by MLG2138 (HUMMELSTOWN, PA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 21 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

KIND OF BORING BUT SOMETIMES FUN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game

posted by Foxxy_Kyle (DENVER, NC) Jun 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

Now before playing this game you need to understand that this game is a kids game and if you are above the age of about 12 or so this game isn't going to entertain you for long periods of time. I rented this game mainly just for the gamerscore and wasn't expecting the game to be anything that would appeal to me. Now I've never seen the movie the very first mission thought was really fun just because I love how it was stealthy. The game overall will entertain you but defiantly keep it just to a rent. The graphics arnt the best but there good enough. If you are under the age of 12 or are thinking about getting it for somebody else under that age then it may be a buy. Defiantly one of the better kids games out there next to toy story 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by warnick360 (OCOEE, FL) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

the 3d really does not work and the game basicly goes in circles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »