Rent Fuse for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Fuse

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.6

544 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Will the new IP pay off?

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jun 10, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Creating a new multi-console shooter IP has got to be crazy risky today. Fuse is a pretty bold move, but I'm not sure it has the chops to take on the other killer third person shooters out there and stand apart. The campaign was a lot of intense fun---solely designed to be played 2-4 player coop, if solo, it can be a bit lame.

Fuse is a very polished third-person cover shooter. It has great feel for gunplay, a fluid cover system, good voice acting, an intense soundtrack, and a crisp clean finish on the pallet. There are 4 characters for the campaign, each having their own separate special XENOGUN and skill tree to upgrade. The Xenoguns are what make each shooter valuable in the coop experience.

One guy has a MagShield which deploys a shield barrier to absorb enemy fire and can blast his shield for extra dmg. The sniper guy has a grossly powerful sniper rifle. The white chick has a Crystal Gun that can freeze guys and she can deploy health grenades. And the other racially correct female has a Black Hole gun that warps enemies, and she has cloaking abilities. Chaining different xenoguns also detonates explosions for chain-kill bonus XP and damage.

The best part of Fuse is the LEAP ability. You can seamlessly switch to any 4 players in your squad at any time. So you can switch from shield dude to sniper in a second if things get hairy. With a friend, each of you can basically play as 2 characters, creating an awesome game. The bad part is that each character has only 3-4 unique skills to upgrade, all the rest are the same with each player...that was a huge letdown.

Overall the campaign is very long, and it's intense with a lot of action. The variety is there, but I think the story dept. lacked a little, and because of the LEAP, I never truly became attached to the characters. If you like 3PS, check Fuse out for sure, but I would only purchase the game if you have multiple friends to play with online. Note - very hard on achievements.

Milt Drucker
-ga

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eternal's Review

posted by EternalPain0 (ALBRIGHTSVILLE, PA) Jul 25, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now I wasn't really interested in this game at all but decided to check it out since I couldn't find any other new Xbox 360 game. For those who want a quick review this game is not all bad but its not the best either and is just a rent or to wait until the price drop to see how you would like it simple as that.For the longer review im not going to compare it to COD or GOW because all these game are on different playing fields. Putting fuse in its own field the storyline is mediocre but has its own unique charm. There are 4 main character you can choose from each having 1 unique gun. But one of the cool things about this game is you can jump to each character you want during gameplay (dont know how you take that but i for one didn't care for it i stuck with one player the whole game) the control are smooth and tight i had no problem with that control and the gameplay does consist of shooting alot of the same enemy and more and more enemies appears as a way to make the game harder (but again that doesn't bother me) one thing is the enemies you fight do get smarter as it gets harder (they will flank you and not use same tactics)you will be fight in alot of different setting even in space, graphic are stander but i expect that from console games (im a pc gamer) the actor fit each character perfectly and they're personality fits there look as well (i know not many people care about that but been a long time since i can just play a game for the first time and have the feeling there personality match the voice and face and vice verse) Like i said in the begin its not a bad game just don't expect it to be better then the games your use to playing like COD, and don't dismiss it because some people don't like it because some of the rating on here is ridicules and this game don't deserves a 2 or a 1( remeber a 5 is average so anything above a 5 is either alright of a game or a great game)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Second time around

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) Oct 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I purchased this game when it originally was released, played it and traded it in toward another game. I noticed when you select a different player you can get a different special weapon. I enjoyed this game almost as much the second time I played it as the first, but granted I knew what to expect the second time. It is a good shooter game and interesting from a Sci-Fi perspective. I may even rent it again on down the road and play it from another player angle. My only two complaints about it are, Having to revive the other three team members up close, when they get injured is a bit problematic, granted the others can do it too, but when two or more get injured you probably will have to do that part again. Which brings me to the second thing I did not like, the end of game battle was way too difficult even on easy mode, I had to due it over and over endless times the first time I played the game, until I won. Like someone else said in the reviews, some people like this kind of challenge, but as for myself I do not. I do not play these games to get stressed out, just for fun, that,s why the second time I played the game when I came to the end battle, I said forget it, I,m done, Thanks like always Game-Fly for your service and the opportunities that you present, See Ya! Billy in Samson

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun for about an hour........

posted by starlight74103 (ONTARIO, CA) Jul 30, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is ok.....the story is very run of the mill, and the gameplay feels sloppy. The game tried too hard to be Gears while not at the same time ( if that makes any sense). And the thing that really stinks, if you are an achievement junkie as myself, most of them are with co-op. So, if you don't have anyone that is playing it, majority of achieves wont work. Got so bored with it sent back half way through. Couldn't muster through the rest of this sloppy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good fun

posted by kerrycraig (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 20, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to get the negatives out of the way first. The graphics were dated, there were bugs that wouldn't let you progress through the story so sometimes you would have to restart a checkpoint (only happened twice), and sometimes the controls or the camera will get weird (controls happened twice, camera happened once). But other than that, I didn't experience all that many bugs. Overall, I thought it was an entertaining and sometimes challenging experience. It was a welcome break from all the FPS I play, and I would have loved to play it with friends. Although, I still had a pretty good time by myself. If you like sci-fi shooters, I would recommend giving it a shot. I saw the average review score and was a bit hesitant to get it, but I'm glad I played it. Good fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty fun

posted by Errot18 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Jun 4, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Pretty fun game if you ask me. It has a ton of shooting and it's just really high action. Yes it is a mindless shooter but sometimes that's what you need to relax after a long day at the workplace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better then I expected

posted by EvilSpaceRobot (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I honestly wasn't expecting much from this game, though it surprised me, being better then I expected. It is a generic sci-fi shooter, having a somewhat throw-away plot. The gameplay is decent, and the Echelon (Horde Mode) multiplayer is a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been great

posted by Brnhornet (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its a good single player game but just lacks depth...you fight 90% of the enemy types in the first level and the other 10% are "boss" types that you will fight again and again and again....Sort of like Vanquish....I am not a fan of games that dont add depth to make the game harder as you play...this one just makes you shoot the bullet sponges more and more...lazy developers way of adding difficulty

Shooting is ok, again you play with 90% of the weapon types in the first level..no upgrades at all on the weapons, skill tree doesnt really add much...played with the same gun all game

And why the climbing stuff??? the puzzles were so easy it should have just been a cut scene

Ending shows you really should have just played the main guy...the story is about him and the rest are sort of filler...no need to play all 4

About a 6 hour game, no real challenge on Normal

5 out 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

meh

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 30, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overview
=====================
This is a run of the mill 3rd person shooter and frankly wasn't especially good in any area that I played (played for about an hour before returning).

Since I don't have any real pros I'm just going to list the issues:

1) story is bland
2) controls aren't tight
3) graphics are only okay
4) felt buggy (got stuck and had to quit at one point)
5) no real multiplayer so no longevity or reason to buy

I don't know what has happened to the developer Insomniac, but their quality has really slipped in recent years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Graphics but Lousy Single Player Controls

posted by crosshair_eyed (NORTH FORK, CA) Jun 21, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I realize that this game is designed and intended for use as a multiple player game. I played it briefly as a single player and was enjoying the game when all of a sudden the controls just wouldn't respond. What a shame. I just don't enjoy multiple player games. My synapses don't click like they once did and I need a little extra microsecond or so just to orient my mind. But if you are into multiple players you may enjoy this game. Try it. That's what GameFly offers -- at least until Xbox ONE puts its big foot in the door.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucked

posted by yusman (BALTIMORE, MD) May 28, 2013

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

That about sums it up. Don't waste your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Play this one!

posted by Snuggletron (SANDPOINT, ID) May 21, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I give it two thumbs up and recomended to older Brother who watched action scenes. It's not a funny game but has 2014 in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Underrated game

posted by jstforfun (BILOXI, MS) May 13, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

Found this game to be very exciting and challenging. I dont think that this game got the acclaim that it deserves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was Straight...

posted by x8Infinite8x (DECATUR, GA) Jan 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

Fuze is a third person shooter with a futuristic sci fi twist. In this game Fuze is a power like no other and is being used to power weapons that would ordinarily be impossible to charge...

PROS: Great concept. Fuze Weapon were kewl. Great for coop. Abilities keeps it interesting. Stealth is an option although i perferred to run and gun. Fusion was great.

CONS: Very repetitive. Story couldve been way better. Fusion couldve been better. Leveling takes a little too long. Credits shouldve been everywhere. AIs suck!!! Theres not a Fuze 2 yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Online only

posted by blackfrog1979 (WELLSTON, OK) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

Must be connected to xbox live to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fuse Burnt Out

posted by sgt077 (BRANDON, FL) Jun 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2005

This is another one of those mediocre games that seems to come out to just take your money and run. The graphics and action are week when you compare it with COD or any dozen other games out there where quality is taken seriously by the developers. This game may be good for someone who has never played a video game before, but that is about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game was great.

posted by Horatio99 (BELLEVUE, NE) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2008

Ignore the so so reviews. This game is a lot of fun. Really tight controls and some of the best grenade throwing I've ever seen in a third person shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

o man

posted by fatebigbub (FORT SMITH, AR) May 29, 2013

Member since Dec 2006

all I can say is if you kill that many men and shoot down that many helos thay Would not still fight you thay Would run run that summes it up wast of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »