Rent Fuse for PS3
view large frontback

Fuse

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.4

399 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, has promise

posted by TMR3737 (CRESTED BUTTE, CO) May 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, first and foremost, this game seems to have changed a lot from when I first saw the trailer from E3. While the trailer had no game play, it seemed “fun” and headed down the road of over the top humor. Not as dark as the finished product is. That original trailer had me excited for the game to come out just on the fun aspect alone.

Fast forward to the game itself, while it was not what I thought it would be, I have played far worse. The game play reminds me of Mass Effect, the look and play of combat has the same feel to it. The specialized guns to each character are interesting and fun to use, but with the XP gain killing with them, unless you run out of the Fuse ammo it gives little use to use other guns. The story is somewhat generic (I have not finished the game completely, so I’m sure there is a plot twist or two I haven’t had to deal with), but still has its merits.

I'm giving it a 7 over a 6 for what it can build on. If this is planning on being a series, they have a solid base that they can build off of. Yes there are many faults, but in all honesty, how many games nail it on their first try? I could state the repetitiveness, the fact that there are almost too many guys to shoot at, but it doesn’t completely ruin the game. The original Assassin's Creed was insanely repetitive, but they killed it with 2 and 3(ish). Same goes for Uncharted. I had fun playing Fuse, and I think it can be a good to great series. Its just not there yet... doesn’t mean it doesn’t have playability

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short Fuse

posted by CEEarl (LOUISVILLE, KY) May 30, 2013

Member since May 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow, what a disappointment. I played the demo and enjoyed it and had an opportunity to try out the hour long trial from PSN. I was ready to lay down $60 bucks to buy it. I decided to play single player to get used to it first, allowing someone to join if they want to and nobody ever did, within that hour of gameplay.

To start off with the good, Fuse has some cool weapons, you can easily switch between the four characters if you prefer another one, typically upgrade setup, etc. That's a lot that could be great.

However, the downfall comes into play when you suddenly have your A.I. partners charge in and die in the middle of a gun battle. It's easy to get killed, so if they're in the midst of the battle, chances are you're not going to be able to make it without going down as well. Granted, one of the characters in particular actually has a shield he uses. At one point, there is a time limit. You pick up an item and have to get it from point A to point B, before it explodes and it's game over. The team tells you they'll cover you, since you have to be the one to pick it up. Fantastic! I stand behind the partner with the shield, but at times instead of keeping it straight and moving forward, he'll turn it slightly to the left and right, protecting himself, but leaving you wide open behind him and since you can't fire with the timed bomb you have in your hand, you have to constantly put it back down and take cover.

If you're getting this game for yourself, don't unless you like bad A.I. and a challenge. This game is setup for online with probably not only one other friend, but three to back you up. That's where I can see the fun coming in. But to ask your friend to go buy a game where you have to constantly save the stupid A.I. teammates, or it's game over for both of you, well, that just sucks and ruins the fun.

Hopefully Insomniac will hear some of these issues and address them through an update. Until then, this one will be a rental fo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by diddlydo (OAK FOREST, IL) Jul 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Over powering at times but fun to play with others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

End boss ridiculously hard

posted by cscalfani (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) Jun 1, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A mediocre game with an end boss that wasn't worth the effort it takes to beat him. The game ramps up the difficulty at the tail end. Was challenging but became impossible in the last battle.

When will developers stop "cheating" by making the boss so impossible to fight, that all you do is spend time running away trying not do die. Do they really think this is a reasonable approach to game design. Let's increase the play time by making this boss really really hard.

As others have said, the AI is terrible. In fact, it is the terrible AI that added to the difficult ending. Unless you spend 50% of your time healing your teammates they will die because they're tactics are so stupid and you will lose. Strangely enough, the AI for the bosses is genius compared to your teammates.

Another terrible thing about this game is all of the team perks that you never get (I played by myself). I got 2 out of something like 20 possible perks.

The skills upgrades are pretty lame to. I'd spend skill points on upgrades because I was trying to unlock the next level not because I wanted the skill upgrade.

If I had a better game in my queue I'd have sent this game back sooner. If you want to try this game out, wait until your queue is empty then send it back as soon as another game comes in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Uninspired Shooting.

posted by McPhaddie (OMAHA, NE) May 29, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This truly feels uninspired. It's kind of fun with friends, but is incredibly lame on your own. Go here, push Triangle. How often do you have to open, pickup, hack things. It really bogs down the game. It could have been soooo much better. There is the possibility of so much here. Switching on the fly between characters, co-op being a blast and not a chore. The worst news is they plan to make a franchise out of this??? I expected much more from Insomniac & EA.
Graphics feel a bit dated for the most part. Some nice visuals here and there.
Gameplay is really not that much fun. You pick up a fun looking gun, but have to drop it a couple of minutes later as you move to the next area. Why give us something that is fun and just take it away. Quit making us hit the Triangle button so frequently.
AI of both your enemies and your unoccupied teammates is just lousy. It reminds me of a game from a decade ago, but without the fun of those games.
Style is just generic in all aspects of this game. Seriously it just looks and feels like you have done and seen pretty much everything before, but it's not as good.
Worth a rent with friends and not much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Everthing about this game Sucked!

posted by GreyFox4715 (SAINT CLOUD, FL) May 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I see now why this game didn't get alot of hype from gaming websites like Ign and others. Horible game I promise you! A.I is good for nothing but to revive you. You can level up to unlock abilities but they really weren't anything special. Guns were not up to par. Basically everything the developers put in the game to try and make it unique were flawed and boring. do not invest in a buy or rental slot for this game. You won't miss out on anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

z-z-z-z-z-z

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) May 29, 2013

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

WOW is this game a SNOOZE-fest. A little over an hour in and nothing new going on. This might be fun if you have two or more people playing together. Maybe. It looks pretty good, but the AI is terrible and the story is just cut-and-paste. I'm gonna go play some COD online instead. I give it a 6 for some interesting game-play concepts, even if they don't really amount to much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Insomniac's Fuse is EXTREMELY Underrated

posted by redwes36 (STERLING, VA) May 27, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Insomniac never fails. The 4 xenotype weapons are varied, and fun to use. While the tone is dark, you will still find some of that Insomniac humor that we all know and love. While this isn't insomniac's best game, its certainly worth checking out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I love it!

posted by KJB123 (DEBARY, FL) Sep 20, 2014

Member since May 2012

This game is soooo coooool! The game is set up to where you can switch between four different characters with different abilities, but I wont spoil anything for you. The action is very compelling, and reminded me a lot of Mass Effect 3. Simply put... Fuse is an adrenaline rushing, action packed, addictive, under-rated game. This is one of those titles that you should definitely rent, if not buy. I intend on keeping this for a good while. Let me just say you'll have more than one OMG moment! I love the fact that you can choose to level up in different abilities with each character as well, how you can focus on just one or two, or you can do what I did (a jack of all trades) and level up each character. I wouldn't do Fuse any justice attempting to describe the many shoot outs that caused sweaty palms and wide eyed eagerness, never letting up. P.S You definitely want to play this for the online playability (this game is meant for it), but also play the main storyline and the oh so fun Echelon mode, where you take on waaaaves of enemies :D And as always my fellow gamers, always focus on the greatness of a game, not its flaws. - Stay gaming, my friends

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Below Average EVERYTHING

posted by angryarmytony (FAIR OAKS, CA) Aug 3, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

Let's start with the one and only good quality of this game, it has diverse 4 player co op for both split screen and online. That is it's best and only good quality only because games now have drifted from co op and split screen play because apparently "it's not next gen" and Fuse tries to make a stand by giving us this experience. Now on to the bad things, the story on this game is non-existent, characters have background but only if you read their bio which is only one paragraph long each, and since each character on the team as well as bosses are mostly emotionless you find yourself not caring for anyone in the game. Graphically the game is up to par although some of the special weapons seem to have interesting design choices that just make it look odd and hard to take seriously. Though there is a level up system it is the bare bones of one, every character has their own skill tree but the perks do little to nothing to help you and you will feel relatively un-advanced by the end. Speaking of endings, you will discover the game is remarkably short, completed in under 6 hours by myself and less than 5 hours with a friend along with a disappointing ending the only joy I found in the ending was the fact that it was over. Fuse is a disappointing game that is only enjoyable if you have someone to share the misery with while playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fuse by tyler

posted by Tyizhi_209 (JACKSON, CA) Apr 24, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

PROS
Abilities in a shooter always a plus, I love it.
The idea of fuse and the story line was enjoyable.
The team base game play is somewhat refreshing.

CONS
Fairly limited amount of upgrades, alot of using your one ability(per person of 4) and shootin.

OVERALL
It was a cool game new bright ideas, worth the time to check out for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Campaign - Not bad, but not great

posted by pandar5 (CHADDS FORD, PA) Nov 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

First let me say, I didn't try multiplayer, so this review is the campaign alone. It was a decent enough storyline, with ok characters. The gameplay was fun enough, with 4 characters which you can jump to at any point, each with different weapons and skills. Overall, it felt like a solid game, but it was just not...great.

There were only a few enemy types, so you just keep mowing down the same bad guys. The weapon selection is EXTREMELY limited, with no upgrades. This seems like a game which is more fun if you are playing with friends. But all said and done, there aren't any huge glitches, and it's relatively fun to get through. I'd say it's worth renting, just don't expect some grand storyline or gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fuse Review

posted by chargerbrett (DAYTON, OH) Oct 13, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Each Game I rent I sit with a notebook and make notes along the way. Here are my notes from Fuse.

Pros:
Overall a very fun game.
Like being able to switch between 4 people.
Controls are very easy to use
Tip Reminders throughout playing make it fun to play
LOTS of shooting
Team AI actually help instead of just standing around
Good blood splatter and graphics
Auto switch shoulder with weapons makes for easier shooting
Movement is like Army of 2 only easier and faster
Good cut scenes
Being able to save eachother and all 4 have to die to have to restart
Very neat storyline and easy to follow
Bosses are perfect challenge level
Stealth kills are cool and there are multiple hand to hand finishes
High replay value
Good level variety
Good diversity in weapons
Good enemy diversity but don't get too hard that you give up
Good locations where there are additional rooms with nothing in them so you have to actually look for the extras
Realistic shot damage
Good sliding and getting into coverage.

Cons:
Unrealistic enemy sighting. You can be in plain sight and enemy still doesn't see you
Instant replay would be a cool feature
Can't customize weapons
Not very many weapon choices, diversity but limited choices

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WoW

posted by SoulFlly (CONWAY, SC) Jun 28, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Can you say lame, I was really looking forward to playing this game too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by mloap (SANFORD, FL) Jun 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

What kind of game developer make the controllers so lame. just look right or left, if run you go straight, curves almost impossible, I hated the controllers interface.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Overpowered Bland!

posted by Justdawg08 (WAUSAU, WI) Jun 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

Yes if you enjoy pumping tons of bullets into enemies and just unloading on one enemy for minutes on end, this game is for you.

It's kind of like a baby between Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City and Borderlands(minus the loot, the free roam, and the fun).

And to top things off from this grand ole studio known as EA, their trophies are glitched. I played the entire game on Hard, beat everything, and it never unlocked the trophy or the hardest difficulty. By the way, I was on my own for the majority of that time while playing online, if I was lucky about 40% of the time I had 1 co-op partner.

If you haven't played Borderlands 2 yet, go play that... then go play Defiance... then maybe you can consider this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Competent, boring shooter

posted by tyrol (WEST FARGO, ND) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

It does well in the mechanics dept - decent cover and shooting mechanics.
Then the game takes you on a 6-hours trip of cover, shoot, push triangle, rinse, repeat.
On top of that you get an uninspired story with generic characters. It is a far cry from Insomniac's Resistance series.

In toto, even a rental felt like a waste of time. Go play Uncharted 2 and 3 for 3-rd person shooter with a co-op experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »