Rent Fullmetal Alchemist and the Broken Angel for PS2
view large frontback

Fullmetal Alchemist and the Broken Angel

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1044 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

"This is the equivalent change I get..."

posted by TatsuJin (SAN MARCOS, CA) Jun 21, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game should have been also created as a movie because the plot is a sidestory yet it chronicled into the two boys' lives and their journey to find the Philosopher's Stone. The story does fits into the storyline of Full Metal Alchemist thus it takes place between episode 17 and 18. If you are a hardcore fan of FMA and want to expand your likeness of the anime then you should play this game. The game's cutscene is in animation, containing many clips created just for the game. So you won't see those cutscenes in the anime of FMA. The gameplay is somewhat good. There a lot of objects to transmute them into weapons or things that'll help you in battle.

PROS:
There are lot of good things about this game. It is the first game to uilised in 3D. I like how I can transmute many things that were available to me. It's fun to transmute a block to defend yourself and also transmuting a spike to stab your enemies. The cutscenes are the ones that really shines. They 're fun and interesting to watch and spot many of your favorite characters from the series.

CONS:
I didn't like the part where everytime I'm in low HP, I had to go to the items menu and start using the healing items. This loses a little fun of the real time combat that you will be experience, when you play the game. The graphics are alright but it could have done better. The bossess were too easy but if you didn't figure out they're weakness in time then it'll get harder to come by to defeat your enemy.

Final thoughts:
Full Metal Alchemist and the Broken Angel is good game. I gave it a 7 because it wasn't nearly a great game or nearly a bad game, it was just a good game to play. Great game to play if you're fan of the anime series and want to see more of Ed and Al's journey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

for the fullmetal fans...

posted by Knosty (FAIRBORN, OH) May 11, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

to get the full effect of this game you must be a fan of the animated series. i love the show so i love this game but i wont allow that to effect my rating. the look of the game is nothing spectacular, average at best. Game play is interesting due to the ability to change objects in your environment into powerful or humorous weapons (the combo hammer is a blast, personal best on combos was 324 hits). also the ability to manipulate your bro al to defend you or attack gives the game more weight. re-play value is more geared towards the anime fans for your rewards are video clips and pieces of art on your second pass through the game. the story is a little above average, but gets dull due to excessive conversation between characters. its a decent 20 hours of action rpg, worth a try if you don't watch the series, but a must play if your a fan.

game play- 7 transmute multiple weapons, decent combos
story line- 6 to much conversation, want more action
re-play- 5 play again to win clips and art
look- 5 based off an anime, not meant to be great
multiplayer- n/a

overall-5.75 (7-8 if your a fan of the tv series)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Equivalent Exchange? Uh-huh, suuuure.

posted by Kainen (LANSING, MI) Jan 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I hate reviews like this. This game was -BAD-. The bottom rung of guys at SquareEnix must have worked hard on this... or the top guys had a bender one weekend and this game was the result. I'll start with the worst part.

The Sound. Oh my... was this made on a Casio keyboard from 1975? It sounds like a bad .midi file or something from my old 16-bit gaming days... Cut scenes are fine. The rest? Obnoxious.

Controls are very basic and almost laughably simplistic.

Gameplay is weak and repetitive.

Level design is boring and lacking any meaningful detail.

I can't write anymore. It makes me too sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

underrated

posted by Darkanine (ARCHDALE, NC) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

all i can say is lots of fun and great story but bad graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Full Metal Alchemist and the Broken Angel

posted by Zenoith (NEW HILL, NC) Jun 14, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this game was pretty good although there are some thing it sould use work on. I think this game should've had more adventure and RPG aspects. Of course it has a leveling and experience system, but it could use maybe a shop, non-level oriented upgrades, and perhaps a free roaming around towns.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Full Metal Alchemist

posted by TubaMan (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When I originally got this game, I was thrilled. It started off with a good tutorial that didn't have to be separate from the actual game play. At first, the game seems great. You learn how to transmute items, work with Alphonse, make cool weapons, and how to fight and work with some cool combos. After that, nothing changed. I was expecting to be able to maybe learn new techniques with the transmuting, maybe more combos, but everything just stayed the same. Only your foes got harder. It has a good rpg system to level up your character, and a decent storyline. But after 6 hours (as far as I decided to go) you get really bored doing the same thing over and over. Make weapon, kill foe, run around, listen to talking, kill boss. Whoever made this game had the right idea, just should have put a little more work into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

it's an anime based game

posted by VGking (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Aug 7, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game sucks. the combat is repetive and boring. it has no replay value. the story line is good to say the lest. there are only voice in the anime cutscenes but these are to few for a game like this. lukily it can be beaten withen 9 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

half-metal alchemist

posted by headless (SUMMERSVILLE, WV) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I'm a fan of the anime series (obviously) and I'm a fan of RPGs. This game attempts to combine live action fighting with all the leveling stats we love to keep up with in RPGs. It does so in a coherent manner, it's just not presenting anything new. The levels are pretty bland and the enemies are cloned. The cut scenes are probably the best part of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game for "Fullmetal" fans. Okay for others.

posted by BryanSrwr (PLEASANT HILL, MO) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

This is a fan game. It's designed to cater to people who like the anime on which it is based. And as a fan game it's great. The plot is really not all that good, but the character interactions are great. The characters are true. The animated cutscenes are great, also.

The battle system is very sterotypical hack'n'slash. THe only thing that changes it up is the ability to transmute various objects into weapons. But the variety of weapons taps out after the first four levels.

Also you play the same environments over and over. The game is lengthened by sending you back through areas you'd already covered. The bosses are generally beaten rather simplistically, and the enemies you face are just as repetitive as the levels and the combat.
The reason one keeps on playing the game is primarily to see what happens to the Elric brothers. If you don't care about them then you might as well just put it down.

The seven I gave it is based on its merit as a fan game. Really no one's going to go for it if they don't know what "Fullmetal Alchemist" is anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by Boomer689 (DUMFRIES, VA) Mar 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Personally, I didn't even get into this game. I believe for a game to be entertaining you should not have a good 10 minutes of cinematics for every 5 minutes of action which is how it works out for the first chunk of the game. I am also a fan of the actual show, which made me a bit harsher on the scenes since as the characters show, the things they had been doing overlap the show while trying to say its different. I give this a 5 at best.. It could have been done much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

License to Ill

posted by Shinzakura (ASHBURN, VA) Oct 14, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

Okay, it was clear that someone at the manga department of Square-Enix (aka the Japanese publishers of FMA) were looking to make a fast buck. Why else would they take a oversimplified third-party game, retrofit it to the FMA world, and toss it out there?

Admittedly, there are some good things about the game - the translation of the script was spot on in many cases, and they covered cultural points very well. Of course the animation, created by BONES to match the anime, in concert with Funimation's English voice actors made for a match with what those familiar with the English dub have seen before.

But most people don't play these games to see how well the text port went or to do nothing but watch dubbed sequences - they play it to see how well the game play goes down. And go down well it did not.

For starters, the difficulty curve was off. The game was easy for the majority of the game, but then once you started moving towards the final act of events did the programmers decide to make up for it - by ramping up the difficulty far more than necessary. Boss battles were another issue to consider: some of them were easy enough that they could have qualified as minibosses elsewhere, while some of them felt like bonus bosses, the kind that you slug at forever to get that one special item.

Statbuilding was too simplistic. Hefting only two items which had minimal effect to the characters, did not making things worthwhile - I only switched items a handful of times, making the grand majority of the items I was carrying dead weight. For a game that has RPG elements, it seemed that, again, it was tacked on for no other reason than to just look cool.

The graphics were outdated. This looked more like a game at the height of the PS1's excellence, not something that belongs on the PS2 at its stride.

In short, play the game if you're an FMA fan, but for gaming perfection, play a REAL Sqare-Enix game. The equivalent exchange of the FMA license is one weak experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rent Before Buying.

posted by Inkudu (CENTERVILLE, WA) Sep 28, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

This game would be a good way for most people to waste a day. Waste being the operative word. The game never changes from the very first. Powers don't change, characters don't change, monsters sorta change.

Save yourself some aggravation and just hold onto your game controller while watching the cartoon. The animation, playability and story will be much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

LOL at FULL METAL ALCHEMIST

posted by Darkhavans (YORK, PA) Aug 23, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

This has to be the WROST game I have EVER played in my LIFE. Do not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Problem

posted by golemeyes (BLOOMFIELD, IN) Jul 28, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

I loved the game. The levels were fun and challaging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is trully awful.

posted by lordxander (RICHMOND, KY) Jun 6, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

I fell that I am honor-bound to warn any and gamers that may one day pick up this title, that this game is horrible. As I played through it I was graphically reminded of several old school ps1 games, which isn't always a good thing. Also it was way to easy if you made any weapons the enemies fell before you as if made from paper. Overall the game lack one very important element the raw emotional lives of the characters shown in the anime and manga, just harping on about Ed being short doesn't mean you get the humor in the series. Oh well lets hope one day the US will start to get some of the better anime games. (i.e. the 1st snes Sailor Moon game which trully rocked)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by MsMisha (MONTGOMERY, AL) Jun 1, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

This was an entertaining game. Easy for me to beat, yet totally entertaining. Worth the rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »