Rent Full Auto for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Full Auto

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

3758 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Burnout+Any game with guns=Full Auto

posted by 360PS3Wii (JENKS, OK) May 11, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Is Full Auto worth buying? That depends on how much you like racing games. Oh, and guns, too.

If you don't like it, rent it anyway, because the Achievement Points are very easy to get (Most of them, anyway). All the environments are completely destructible, and blowing up trains overhead it always good fun, especially when it falls on the track. Blowing opponents up on Xbox Live right before they cross the finish line? Hilarious. As fun as Full Auto is, however, it has some flaws. The single player seems to lack variety, and it seems to be the same racing event over and over. The lack of cars and weapons isn't good, either.

In the end, as fun as Full Auto is, it's no world-breaker. In the long run, chances are the thrills won't last forever. Oh well, there's always Full Auto 2 coming out in 2007 to look forward to...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it

posted by ezBake (RENTON, WA) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Really enjoyed the game and will most likely buy it. Lots of cars, each with their own attributes. Cool weapons, but would like to mix and match. Challenging courses. Good ol' fashioned violence always makes for a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Full Auto

posted by farcist (LEXINGTON, KY) Apr 17, 2006

Member since May 2005

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Full Auto is, at its core, a game where you shoot stuff. That's pretty much all that they focused on. This game does a good job in its destructibility and its effects on the car models, but after they made some okay Xbox 360 graphics, and a ton of destruction and weapons to put in your arsenal, they walked away from the game. This game could easily have been perfect if they spent a few more months on the one thing that all racing games focus on... the racing. If they would've made the cars in this game maneuverable, and created semi-realistic physics, they could've had a great game on their hands, but they just slapped the most basic driving program on and thought, "They have unwreck, no big deal" which is somewhat true, until the later missions, where finishing first with one life and no unwreck can give you a bad opinion of yourself. This is also an abundant problem in multiplayer, and extremely annoying on courses with narrow roads. This game is average at what it does, and doesn't come close to Burnout, but if they took this game and looked it over, they could have the potential of a game that's just as good. (.) (.) l (~)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Burnout + Twisted Metal = Full Auto

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Aug 5, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To put it bluntly, this game is only fun for about a day. Anyone who has played any of the Burnout games has pretty much already played this game, with the exception of the weapons found in Full Auto (not necessarily a bad comparison). It still essentially plays the same, except you can shoot people and drop mines and the like instead of just ramming your enemies into walls. The process and the results remain almost identical, right down to the slow-motion crash cam.

Visually, this game is a bit sharper than any Burnout game so far, but that should be expected considering this is a next-gen game. There are some nice particle effects from explosions and sparks from wall-rubbing and bullets, and the damage to the cars is also pretty impressive. There's a variety of game types, but it mostly boils down to either finishing in first place, or within a certain amount of time, taking out a certain number of enemies, taking out Rivals (specific enemies that are worth more points), achieving a certain number of Wreck Points (which you get by blowing stuff up, like cars or buildings), or a combination of all these objectives. You can unlock more game types, as well as more vehicles, skins, and alternate colors, by playing through the Career Mode.

Ultimately, though, this game just isn't very exciting. If you've ever played Burnout and wished you could shoot the cars, this game is for you. If you really like the Burnout formula and want to play more of it, this game should be fun for you also. If, however, you've played Burnout to the point where you were kind of sick of it or bored with it, this game won't do that much for you.

While there's nothing really "wrong" with this game, there's nothing special either. It's fun for a short time and might be worth a rental for a week or so, and the idea of playing on Live is a selling point for some people, too. Given the Gamefly rating system, this game is only slightly above average - a solid 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Full Auto Is All About Visuals.

posted by gamerater (KATY, TX) May 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

12 out of 23 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Story- There Is No Story. Thats Dissapointing

Graphics- The Graphics Make The Game Soo Much Better. (Review 9.0)

Gameplay- Its Amazing Shooting With All These Pimped Cars. Pure Amazing (Rating 9.0)

Overall Review- 8.0
"Its A Game You Play After Your Sick Of PGR3"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OMG they made a horrible game.....

posted by Halo360 (WINCHENDON, MA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

12 out of 26 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

At first i was excited about this title. the may 2005 E3 showings were looking sweet, unfortunately what you see is what you get nothing more. This game couldve rivaled the best but fell short. You get NO STORY MODE, 6 total maps to race on (single or LIVE), and there are 3 gun types and 3 rear types thats it missles,shotguns, and machine guns. No CUSTOMIZED cars limited modes 3 types to play 6 maps only 2 ok to play on and all you unlock is 8 cars MAX, only you get different colors. Its a definate disapointment and i dont recomend this for long time or purchase, but if you want to play for a day or 2 to rack up some achievements its ok. TOO short and repetative same old thing over and over boring. achievements arent easy but are attainable if you need some.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not as good as it could be

posted by kingjordan (ALLEN, TX) Sep 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked it at first but when you beat some levels it gets worse and worse and worse as you bullet other cars through a mad driver. There is no story no free roam it was really bad. but not the worst game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Absolutely nothing to write home about

posted by KrispyD (YORK, PA) Sep 12, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Full Auto is really only useful for adding some points to your gamer score because of the fairly easy to get achievements. One solid weekend of play and you can get pretty much every single one with the exception of the multiplayer awards.

Otherwise, the game is just not that great. It's a racing game similar to Burnout, but tries to throw some guns in there to mix things up. Really, it tends to throw too much to blowing stuff up and not enough to racing. In fact, you'll spend a lot of your time trying to fall behind other racers so that you can blow them up to get a higher score and unlock more stuff. The whole thing just ends up weakening the whole experience to the point where you'll either put the game away after a quick run through, or push through to get the overly easy achievements.

The game is just forgettable in every way. There isn't really anything glaringly wrong with the game, but nothing really great about it either. The only reason I can think to get it was that, at the time it was released, there weren't really a lot of options for 360 games.

Multiplayer may be okay, but I was too bored with it to even bother, and I really don't see how much better the game could get, as the multiplayer we basically the same deal only racing against other people.

So, go ahead and rent it if you want some quick and easy points, but other than that, there is no reason to bother with this game, especially with better racing games and better shooters out there now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Fine Arcade Racer With Guns

posted by KingKeepo (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As arcade racers go, it's pretty good. You race around some circuits with various weapons bolted onto your hood and take out your fellow drivers (and pretty much all the scenery) as you go.

The courses are reasonable and pretty much totally destructible - it's great stopping an opponent by tearing up a pile of pipes, or blocking the road by shooting a truck into the middle of it. The driving is pretty good, and the cars handle very much like Crazy Taxi and not at all like other racers, so it retains a very arcade feel.

Downsides are that the selection of weapons is a bit small, there are not too many tracks, there's a little slowdown at times and due to the way the game is laid out it gets pretty samey. But if you're a fan of arcade racing and the ability to blow stuff up, go for it and it'll keep you entertained for a week or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Full Auto doesn't live up to the hype

posted by Ghostman (RICE, VA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Full Auto is an ok game but at the same time it fails to fulfill that next-gen need that I purchased the Xbox 360 for. It is fun for a little while but the repetitive gameplay made it less than impressive. Its fun to blow junk up, but doing it on the same track with just a few different turns, isn't. The destructibility of the environment looks fantastic, but it has no serious effect on the race itself. I liked the look if the game kind of sleek and nice. It's a shame when the car physics are so bad that the re-do button becomes a necessity. If they had fixed these simple flaws it would a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

big letdown

posted by Jailbreak (CORVALLIS, OR) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

after E3 this game was a very anticipated title. i mean you have guns on the hood of the cars. but as it turns out that was all the game had going for it. the graphics were decent, but then again i don't have a hdtv. the tracks at first are acceptable but lacks variety and after just fifteen minutes you can know the tracks in and out. the gameplay is just not good. the circuit races are far to easy and in the demolition races you will find that you usually will get so far out in front that you literally have to stop and wait for your competition to catch up. the game does incorporate a medal system that offers rewards for the better you do. but the downside is that they only reward you with butt ugly colors for the even uglier cars. another thing that bothered me is that the "speed" cars are just as slow as the trucks and suv. the game also lacks depth. the game is somewhat entertaining at the beginning but after a half an hour i was ready to send this game back. this game had the potential to be great but poor execution totally killed this game's chances

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It entertained me for a week

posted by EvilHomerC (ROSEDALE, MD) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This is the best thing about Game fly, you don't get stuck with games like these. You know when you see a movie on dvd and say "Man if I went to the theater to see that..."

This game falls in the same category. Paying full price would suck for Full Auto. The game play is simple and very very repetitive.

One problem I had with it is no matter how good you are doing, those darn CPU players just come out of no where! I know its not a sim, but man is it annoying. Some of the car characteristic's seem to be off, the trucker is suppose to be stronger then the rest, but its a miracle if I can finish a race in one piece with that car. The gun controls can be really difficult at times, when you trying to aim with the rocket launch and taking a hairpin turn at the same time. (I usually just stick with the machine guns)

Graphics are great (duh its HD), and the sound was perfect too in 5.1 (you can hear the bullets bouncing off the cars). Some of the game play options are also sweet, like the go back in time feature that gets recharged by blowing stuff up!! They also give you LOTS to do to unlock everything, or you can go to g4/cheat and get the unlock code.

I like how they incorporated your online skill into achievement's however the game just wasn't that great for me to spend the time needed to unlock the highest levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

full auto

posted by slipknot1 (VISTA, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

7 out of 20 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

OMG!!!THIS GAME WAS THE BEST RACING GAME EVER!! i once felt like i was actually in the car the sound affects were perfect like when the bullets ricocheting off metal. its was just perfect that's all i have to say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Next Gen Visuals Last Gen Game Play

posted by j4real (EAST PALESTINE, OH) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This Game has had a lot of advertising and it made it look really interesting. however i must say this game truly is a next gen dissapointment the game is one track minded drive shoot blow up rewind repeat. not worth 60 bucks i woulnt even bother buying for cheap. buy something like nfs or pgr. and if u want to shoot something buy a fps first person shooter ie. battlefield 2, halo this game SUX

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Full Auto - Full Disappointment (Singe Player)

posted by Vargus (WINDSOR, VT) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you were like me, you were looking forward to Full Auto since it was previewed at E3 last year. It looked very promising - a lot of stuff flying around on screen, exploding gas stations - and cars with guns. How could cars with guns possibly go wrong? Simple really, since Full Auto never goes anywhere beyond that concept - cars with guns is practically all you will get in this game.

To describe this game as Burnout Revenge with guns, which it often was, Full Auto is truly lacking. One never gets that same feeling of raw destruction and power from Full Auto that is in every second of Burnout Revenge. It is clear that something is wrong right from the start. Things start out fun enough: shoot stuff and it gets destroyed. But that is just about where the concept of Full auto ends. It is clear that the developers tried at least tried to mix things up a little bit by including missions where you don't have any weapons or you only have one life. There are even missions that take away the games only unique and interesting feature - the ability to "Unwreck."

Full Auto does at least make a contribution to the racing genre with the Unwreck feature. Racing along and accidentally turn right into that wall or drive over that land mine? No worries my friend, simply hold down the Unwreck button and turn back time to an appropriate point where you can avoid your previous fate. Unwreck comes in handy when the other guys go and blow you up. This makes in all the more annoying when you are forced to do missions that deny the player the use of the Unwreck feature. It doesn't make sense that on occasion, the only good part of the game that worth mentioning isn't even usable.

Another major issue: You are forced to use certain sets - so if you find a pair of weapons that you would like to use together, but the developers didn't provide that option, you are out of luck.

The Point: A Bad game. Almost every other 360 game is preferable to this one. Rent only as a last resort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BOOM!...I mean Fun Game--Mandrew913-7593GS

posted by mandrew913 (NEW MARKET, MD) Aug 1, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy driving, shooting, or any combo of the 2, Full Auto is your game. While playing the game you will experience high speed driving, level 3 cannons and fiery explosions. In a nutshell (or maybe a turtle shell) Full Auto provides action packed gameplay and overall, a great arcade racer.

The gameplay in Full Auto is solid, but not perfect. There is much action to be had by all, but, there are a few flaws. For example, certain challenges strip you of the unwreck feature (explained later) and some challenges wont even let you respawn, making gameplay slow and frustrating. Perhaps the biggest error in gameplay is the frame rate issues. With large explosions and carnage, the frame rate can drop from 60 FPS down to the speed of a chicken swimming across the Pacific.

Full Auto offers some unique features that make the game funner (it is to a word!). When you approach an obstacle, you have multiple options. One choice is to boost past all of the traffic, a.k.a. "so long suckers." The other option is to use unwreck, which rewinds up to five seconds of the race, a.k.a. "suckers long so." Both boost and unwreck will soon become your friends so be sure to get on their good sides. You will acquire boost by racing stylishly (jumps, slides) and unwreck by destroying stuff (buildings, cars).

Full Auto's graphics are superb. The car models are not real, but they still look great, and blindingly shiny. The buildings and other scenery are very detailed and also completely destructible. Buildings, trees, and gas stations alike, can all be damaged in some way. Playing the game, you will learn to use this to your advantage. On many tracks, you can cut through the glass front of a store to make a corner faster.

I'm thinking of a number between 0 and 1000. It's 47 more than--okay, never mind, nobody wants a math lesson. The number is 890 and it's how many GS points I've gotten from Full Auto. The game's achievements are easy, but to get the full 1000 GS is tough. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by xboxfreak1 (GRAHAM, WA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is perfect so much destucktion this
game is like the coolest game ever so people who are in to the more destructive games get this game

Perfect 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Couldn't get past the unrealistic driving exp.

posted by Dandelion (NEGAUNEE, MI) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I couldn't get past the strange physics involved in the driving.

I played this for about 1 hour tops and had to put Fight Night 3 back in.

I truly enjoyed PGR2 and this was nothing like that. I understand that this is a car shooter and focuses on destruction, but I didn't see any compelling story line that kept me going. I have played other car shooters that did a more realistic job at controling your vehicle while keeping fast paced action and with an actual story. Sensless destruction isn't fun unless you feel a part of the game. It was Unlike any other driving game except for crazy taxi, which it did resemble in feel.

Graphics alone will not keep me playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Full Auto

posted by Ryda4lyf (FALLSTON, MD) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

The best way to describe this wicked awseme game would be Burnout meets Twisted Metal id u like them or even dont like them this game is a really good choice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SUCKS BIG TIME

posted by rockhardison1 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jun 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

JUNK NOT WORTH THE TIME THAT IT TAKES TO PUT THE DISK INTO THE MACHINE NO SKILL AT ALL TO PLAY THE GAME JUST DRIVE THE CAR AND SHOT A GUIN BORING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible GAME!

posted by a12sxc (MARTINSVILLE, VA) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

BOO!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

thisis the best

posted by sacredage (NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

this is the best game in the world i cant belive i never got it 2 years ago iv been rinting this game for 2 months and i cant send it back. everybody should buy or rent this game its the best there is come on rent it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

suck big time

posted by Trinity13 (HIALEAH, FL) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

this game has no point no theme story to it, twisted metal back in the days was better. even the game blur is better . Don't waste you time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by sonicfan11 (Ferndale, CA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

ok first of all i just got this game from gamefly i had not played it in about three years but i really liked i. if you want excitement and some pretty easy achievements go for this game i already got over a hundred in gamerscore for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

boom boom

posted by hawkeye821 (GILBERT, AZ) Nov 23, 2009

Member since May 2009

this was great it is repetitive but the opents are always changin. the unwreak feture was really sucked me into this game it was a new concept that saved my car hundreds of time and allowd me to kill my opents. the game is a little like burnout, but now u have guns. and who doesnt love a good car chase with guns fireing and car fly 2 feet in the air. this was deffintly a good game and i have rented it 3 times already. i would deffintly rent it and give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse