Rent Full Auto 2: Battlelines for PS3
view large frontback

Full Auto 2: Battlelines

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games
GF Rating
4.9

1173 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Twisted Metal + Burnout

posted by DocDoom (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Twisted metal fans of old will find that this game is like a breath of fresh air. Try out the free demo in the Playstation store for a good sampling of content.

The good:
Missions vary quite a bit (not just race and gladiator like the demo) and unlockables through special secondary objectives add replay value.

Limited but satisfying customization.

FAST gameplay. The controls are twitchy but TM veterans will adjust quickly.

Very pretty on 1080p

The Bad:

Extremely weak story. Seems like an afterthought.

Not much variety in weapon configurations

Steep learning curve as early missions are tough and equipment is limited.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Full Auto 2: Battlelines

posted by Shanghai (CLEMMONS, NC) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first started this game, I was severely disappointed. However, what I think added to my disappointment was first the difficulty of this title (yes, it IS difficult), and second, the fact that you start with a mediocre vehicle with poor handling that I interpreted as poor controls.

This game, however, does become quite addictive and completing missions gives a great sense of accomplishment. I soon found myself aching to play more and more, and I often repeated missions even though all objectives were complete, just to see if I could do better than the last time. And as you get better cars, the controls improve with them.

The positives: The speed in this game is exhilarating. At times, I was amazed I could make it through the chaos, debris, and complex courses at the high rate of speed. The destruction is fun, but wears thin after a while. There is a good variety of objectives, and a good number of secondary objectives are often accomplished just by completing the primary ones. Some of the weapons are fun, but you'll often find that you'll consistently go back to the same ones time and time again.

The bad: This game is not without bugs. It froze my system a few times, and in one mission, the AI went completely dead. The AI is ok, but cheats heavily in the game, falsely catching up to you if you try to get too far ahead in a race or in an arena battle. The weapons could have been a little more unique, since most are the standard fare of machine guns, missiles, etc. I'd love to see an EMP, or a grappling hook or some other more interesting weapon. And the final bad is the ending. Out of all the missions, the final one was the easiest of all, having completed it on my first attempt.

Conclusion: I think this is a great rent. It's not something that has much replay value (I couldn't find any opponents online, BTW). It's fun, and very addictive. I'm glad I rented it and stayed with it past the early missions when it really becomes fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very fun

posted by crazy8 (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just very fun to play. it' s not to easy not to hard. The on line play was a bit disappointing because there are not a whole lot of people on there but this game is worth a rent but not a buy. Graphics are great the cars look awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Controller not user friendly

posted by drionawk (CONYERS, GA) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Controller set up only gives you 2 options and niether is human friendly both require giveing up one fuction to do another that should work work together to have more fun like power sliding shooting aiming guns and useing secondardy weapon. ok graphics and poor story line with no cinama to back up story even a little even tough i only played for a few lvls before returning not to waste gamefly time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

full auto battlelines 2

posted by rednex99 (MOUNT VERNON, IN) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game starts out ok but very limited in cars and weaponry. Game play is kind of difficult at times, due to only being able to equip 2 weapons at a time. The weapons overheat way to easily and can be difficult to use on opponents at times. Computer AI is a little more advanced than the level you are on at all times, which can be good at times but does make it a constant torture for upgrading and advancing to the next level. The "helping computer" is very annoying when you have problems with levels. Who ever came up with the dialog must of been mad at somebody or just a royal pain to work with. Overall the game is ok but does not live up to the hipe it got and is no where near the same as other games of this sort like Twisted Metal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Opifex (COLUMBIA, MO) May 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Played this game on a friends system before getting it myself. Lots of fun, great multilayer and online play. A must have for twisted metal fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

full Auto 2 battelines

posted by pugster360 (SANGER, CA) Feb 16, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is bad they should call it glitch auto. the game freezes prperiodicaloy.During high pressure situations now this might have been acceptable on the xbox360 but on the PS3 its unbearable. Bottom line if this is your first game you got for the PS3 you would be tempted to smash your PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Under average control but overall a good game.

posted by TheRaptor (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When I first saw this game I emmediatly thought burnout. Then I saw the guns and I emmediately thought twisted metal. This is actually a pretty good mixture of the two. Except they adopted the control style from the wrong game (Meaning Burnout) In a race, those controls work. But in a deathmatch?

Overcoming the controls, I managed to get the hang of this game. The levels are large and actually very original. The cars are destinctly different ( I especially love the pickup with the snowplow on the front). The graphics are crisp and smooth. Soundtrack leaves something lacking.

Controls and sound are my only complaints. Great levels and cars. the weapons are awsome and the game puts up some stiff competition as far as computer opponents. Single player is just burnout races and I only play it to open up more cars for multi player. 7 out of 10. Rent it/Some should buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Difficult to start, hard to stop.

posted by Nutsack (COLUMBIA, MO) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The game is actually pretty fun and the online play is pretty good, the only notch against this game is how hard it initially is and the extremely low numbe r of cars and weapons you have to choose from, as the game progresses these open up and you can really have some fun making bizarre combos of cars and weapons and the game becomes a lot more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by lisa2265 (EAST MORICHES, NY) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Great Graphics, great game play. Definetly a keeper

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not an impressive title

posted by HerdJC (MILTON, WV) Apr 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that I was sorely disappointed in this game. Poor graphics combined with poor gameplay make for confusing races and battles. This is a game that should have been only on the previous generation of consoles.

It's worth renting for a couple of days maybe, but definitely not worth a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The sequel

posted by Rendog (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Dec 31, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Full Auto 2 is the sequel to Full Auto 1, which originaly appreared on the Xbox 360. The fun driving and shooting game is back, but its almost like the first. Even though it provides guns, they are not good enough to take your attention away from the gameplay issues. Some fun can be found, but single player is dull, unless you are very into unlocking things. The online is good, with not lagg, but I say that the first one was better, because of the new concept it brought up. The second(This) is not as good, but it is worth a little rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very underrated

posted by djtortilla (ORANGE, CA) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun.

Online racing and gladiator mode can be very fun, when you find people.

I dont understand the very low rating 4.8?

This game has so much hate. I suggest you give it a try and go online. At least you can download the free demo from the ps3 store

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not worth the Rent!

posted by lee1029 (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If one of your buddies was lucky enough to purchase this treat borrow it from him.

This Game is a Mix between Burnout and Twisted Metal but those titles are far superior! The game controls are interesting! Its hard to drive and shoot at the same time! this game would be great if you have a few extra fingers!

Playstation 3 is supposed to be amazing but I just feel like I got stung by purchasing a 600 dollar xbox 360! PS3 better step it up because one good launch title isn't cutting it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

too difficult

posted by pulse4J (MODESTO, CA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked the game at first, but it quickly gets to be too difficult. There are time limits to finish some missions where you have to destroy things and I always ended up running out of time. I got frustrated after the 15th try or so, and you have to do each mission to go on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much, too fast, too soon.

posted by SANman1911 (Thrall, TX) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So you have to race a track, clock, kill enemies, navigate, aim, steer and grab power-ups all at once. Have to use just about every button on the remote at the same time as well.

Just to much to deal with at one time while on a clock. FAIL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

addictive but plain

posted by hugo350z (SAN JACINTO, CA) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well where to start. This game is fun you can say at the beginning it is a cross between twisted metal and any other racing game. The game gives you a break in levels in the form that you can choose at will so if your stuck on one you can choose another. This makes the game bare able. So let me go straight to the point.

good points:two features flashback and boost regenerate as you go. Flashback is handy specially lets say when your in first place and you crash into a wall you can go back in time and avoid it. Boost just like any other game is self explanatory. Weapons; many different weapons make this game a little bit easier but with some restrictions(see bad section). Different types of classes of cars make the game fun in multiplayer. Last but not least replay value is pretty high. Bad points: First off the game is repetitive similar objectives in every level. Not all vehicles can carry all type of weapons. Weapons are categorized in weight so a light vehicle cannot carry more than one heavy weapon, actually no vehicle in the game can carry two heavy weapons. Only two weapons per vehicle. WEAPONS ALSO OVER HEAT so if you get trigger happy you're gonna have to wait till they cool off.

In conclusion, good game i would recommend it in small doses for replay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

amazing destruction

posted by lowville04 (HORIZON CITY, TX) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Full Auto 2 is real good, the story is good. There is so much destruction in this game that it rocks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Verdy fast, man!

posted by BIGCATLUV (DETROIT, MI) Oct 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game's got a good feel for speed. Lots of it. But the variety of gameplay isn't that complex. You speed most of the game speeding through cities and other mazes ramming other cars or shooting them down. Then you can be a slow powerful car with alot of firepower and just watch your fireworks impact others. The rewinding feature allows you to try and correct an accident or any mistake you made, but you still have to be a very fast thinker. Or you'll make the same mistake again going at jet speeds.

I felt more like a racing game after I played this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really Bad....

posted by Mantis (BOISE, ID) Mar 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was so bad i actually had to review it. It starts out with an extremely weak story but once you start, the game play makes you overlook it. The first ~10 missions are somewhat fun and progressively get harder... but eventually the game gets so hard and unbalanced that it is no longer fun. I really don't recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

About average

posted by ANDYman (FENTON, MI) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Graphics=9/10

Sound=10/10

Gameplay=4/10

This game is just So so. Rent this before you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a perfect drive by

posted by bubbbaa (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

if you like machine guns,fast cars, and hella good graphics thatn you need to get this game and play online i think thats all that needs to be said......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hard But Good Looking

posted by SmileyDude (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Dec 31, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Let me say, this game is very hard. Too hard for the average and casual gamer. This game will frustrate the pants off of you. I had trouble beating the first level because it had a time limit. This game has been changed since the first one, too. First off, boost and rewind is harder to get. Also, the game is not as bright. This might just be my tv, but I have noticed that the game is much darker and harder to see. This game does look great though, the cars are very shiney and smooth. The game just looks amazing on the PS3. But to get back to the difficulty, the game throws very hard challenges at you. Not only do you have to get first in a certain level, but you also have to destroy a target and do it in the first lap. Overall, this game is great to look at, but hard to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

titkle

posted by mwetzel71 (DINGMANS FERRY, PA) May 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

horrible.confusing unreasonably hard not even a little fun.graphics were great what a shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Problems

posted by weaping (NASHVILLE, MI) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Game kept locking up every time I tried to play it. Very unsatisfied with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse