Rent Fuel for PS3
view large frontback

Fuel

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.6

865 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

played

posted by Giusto69 (HAYDEN, ID) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

a couple hours its okay for the enthusiasts just not neccassarily me but its still good non the less

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Great Game,and a few flaws prevent this from a 9

posted by aaustinite (HIGHLAND, IL) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I do like this game alot. But some of the the trophies are seriously difficult to get, like drive over 600 in game miles or more. The truck you encounter along the way in free drive mode also do get in the way and are somewhat annoying. I had too many of them just slam into my car when they come off a dirt trail. Some of the online races are also annoying. I just want to instant join a game but there are too few people online even during the day, and I'm forced to host a game, and almost no one joins. This is the reason I didn't give it a 9 or higher. They need to get more people in this game and make it sell more in order to have enough people on to make the online races make sense. Overall the game is good, I do like it but I can't see the online stuff getting any better so RENT, don't buy is my suggestion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fuel rocks

posted by rednex99 (MOUNT VERNON, IN) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is a pretty good game for anyone who likes racing games but doesn't like to have to upgrade their vehicle all the times with new parts. the game is a straight forward racing game. No need for a degree in auto mechanics to know how to upgrade your ride. It is a good change of pace from the euro tuner style racing games like need for speed. there is a nice array of vehicles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i is good

posted by Pickle1 (CONOVER, NC) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i really liked this game and i think people that like dirt bike games u will like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

lots of fuel but sputters on fumes

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Jun 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2007

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

fuel is a great game, let me start with that. its your typical racer with different classes and tracks.

you can compare the vehicle classes to that in motor storm.
trucks, bikes, four wheelers, buggies, and monster trucks

you can compare the world to burnout paradise
except it is absolutely huge!!!!! i started driving east when i started and after a half hour i had hardly went anywhere!!!!

the things that kinda suck.
it feels as if your constantly driving on ice. some of the graphics look like ps2. if your wreck into something you get a respond screen, and some times its not that accurate.

this would be a good game for $30 but since it costs $60 i'd definitely just rent this one and send it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Utterly Disappointing

posted by UziMonkey (MANCHESTER, ME) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The world is huge, but there's nothing in it. There's no reward for exploration, and you'll spend your time winning races to unlock new areas. These new areas are the same as the old areas, and the races are bland and un-fun.

The driving physics are horrible. They make driving boring, and give you almost no control over your car. No car, on or off road, has any amount of traction, so you'll be going sideways a lot. Since driving is the only thing you'll be doing, that's bad.

The gameplay is mediocre arcade racing. The multiplayer is more of the same.

The graphics are good. That's one thing you can't deny about this game.

The sound is horrible. Engine sounds are bland and generic, as is the music.

This game's only selling point was the huge world, but the world is too big and you'll never see most of it. What this boils down to is FUEL is a mediocre arcade racer with bad driving physics and uninspired courses. Don't bother with this, play Burnout Paradise or MotorStorm instead. Either one will satisfy your urge for open world or offroad racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Racing game..

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First off, half of the people who is belly aching, is griping over the fact of not being able to plot their own course in a race. Fuel excels on giving the gamer that freedom, to go which ever way you want to go. Just be sure you hit that check point..

Fuel is a awesome Racing game, and I hate Racing games. Specially the fancy street racing ones that have lame stories an flaky acting cut scenes, Fuel doesn't have that. What Fuel does have will remind you of Smuggler's run, but without the trafficking of illegal goods.

This Arcade-like Racing game is very easy to get use to and very fun to play. There isn't a story line. You customize your driver, and you try to be the best at every course/event of driving they throw at you. The events range from small circuit races, long check point races, too highway speed outs that all have a class of vehicle orientation. Bikes, Trucks, Buggies, muscle cars, street bikes, ATVs, ect., which that only sounds like other games like, Motorstorm; the difference is the World Fuel places you in. A very large map that has no boundaries. Giving you the option to stay on course, or find/make your own shortcut.

You wouldn't have enough fuel to explore the entire map of Fuel's world. The entire map can be driven threw, you can even drive threw the courses on your own without even starting the event. Being very detailed, Fuel's world is layed out with extensive trails, highways, off road course, and country side that gives you the option of taking your own path.

With the ability to short cut to main events, or adventuring in the country side finding tons of hidden events, vehicles, bonus Fuel(Fuel is the income that allows you to purchase stuff), Vista points, and a lot other stuff hiding in the Fuels open world. Fuel is a remarkable game.

CodeMasters has made a excellent game. The graphics are fresh, vast, vibrant, with great controls, and sound. Which also has a Co-op mode, to let you an a buddy, explore Fuel's vast World.

Try this..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a play

posted by JoshDunk (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I've been playing Fuel for a few days and it's actually pretty good. I'm working my way to 100%. There are a large amount of different races to do in career and challenge mode. I never go to "free ride" mode, cause I don't like driving around aimlessly, but there is a lot of variety you can access immediately.

The difficulty level is deceptive. You can choose one of three difficulties for each race, beginner, expert, and legend. Beginner is very easy. Expert should be "standard," as it's not difficult to beat it the first time you try a race. Legend is moderately hard, and if you beat it you get credit (so named "fuel") for all 3 difficulties and 100% the race.

Overall, this game is pretty fun and is worth playing if you like driving games. I actually like it better than Motorstorm, which I thought was way too difficult than it needed to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

You have to be kidding me!

posted by OneEyeRed (PALISADES PARK, NJ) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

What could have turned out to be one killer game is a laughable joke at best. I am unsure how CodeMaster could botch this up so bad. On one hand you have gorgeous scenery and endless driving capability. Heck, the game is supposed garner a Guinness world record for sheer volume of driving space.

However, you cannot change camera views (so ignorant), vehicle collision is an absolute joke. Either your bouncing off stuff or you think you crashed because your automatically reset. I had very high hopes for this game and was looking forward to it. Thanks Game Fly as always for being there to save me money. I really don't think anything is going to topple the MotorStorm series and both 1 and pacific Rift are still my all time favorite racing games to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fuel truelt low octane

posted by Furrypatch (FOND DU LAC, WI) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This seems like a stripped down low buget game. Not what your would expect from codemasters. You cant even change the driving veiw. Something that other games from them came standard. There is no kewl damage like in dirt and grid both were made by codemasters. I dont know what they were thinkin with this one. It is clear that they didnt put enough time or thought into this game. They when from Grid another great game to Mario cart in my opinion. This game is a huge dissappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

E Tu Codemasters?

posted by keeler (KATY, TX) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

It always shocks me when a reputable studio like Codemasters has access to a great physics/game engine but doesn't follow through with it. In short, this game is lacking to say the least.

It's just monotonous and not fun. Think Pacific Storm without the fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth every penny

posted by Deadcell (KISSIMMEE, FL) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you love free roaming, and racing this game is for you the map is huge, providing every terrain you could possibly think of, deserts, salt flats, lakes, beaches, mountains covered in snow, and forrests.

The graphics are not a let down as well, If you have an HD t.v you can enjoy this game at its true potential, but i have played it on a regular t.v as well and it still looked good.

Carrer mode and will keep you busy for quite some time and you can customize your driver, and vehicles. Its a very good game and if it sounds like it falls under your genre then i would buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

solid 6.5, lots of potential/ comes up short

posted by Immolateus (LITTLETON, CO) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics, real estate, weather effects, and the custom race editor are great! Unfortunately, the career mode is not complimentary to the games potential. Great rental for a weekend, but far from the quality of previous titles (such as DIRT and GRID to name a few recent titles)

This game’s virtual real estate can best be described as: gargantuan, gigantic, & enormous. Per the internet: it boasts 14,400 square kilometers (probably pretty accurate). Supposed to have 100,000 kilometers of roads (I don’t know what that is in miles) but needless to say you could probably never drive all of the roads before simply just got too old and died of old age. I attempted to drive diagonally from the NW corner to the SE corner in one sitting, after getting about ½ way I gave up (felt like 2-2.5 hours of driving).

I enjoyed the game but it quickly became….tedious. I think the scale of the game is exactly why many reviewers are giving it poor scores. With all of the time and love the developers put into the games impressive real estate I think they forgot that they had to make a game people would want to play.

I did not even come close to finishing the game or even unlocking 50% of the areas to race in before I grew tired of the games flaws. It is very possible there were long rally style or cross country races (that I wanted to play) but I do not have the patience to find.

Controls are an uncomfortable mix of arcade style driving and semi simulation driving...translation just too much control for average players, and not remotely enough control for racing fans (kinda felt like driving on a wet surface). I was mostly aggravated at the lack of race options and the economy of purchasing vehicles that you are not able to use in a race you may be interested in.

My recommendation to Codemasters to make this a successful product is immediately patch the game: unlock everything, get rid of economy and allow for user control race options (select cars/races

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Explore this poor racing games glorious open world

posted by DeepDishBP (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fuel is a nice novelty and a wonderful rent if you get it for the right reasons. It's driving mechanics suffer in all areas and the actual races could have been designed better. However, the core enjoyment comes from just cruisin' around; finding fuel barrels, locating vista points and just seeing the sights. The world could be more imaginative, but the achievement here is size. Keeping in mind that you're usually driving around at close to 100 mph, it takes a long time to get from point A to point B.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Should be in Bargain Bin under twenty bucks.

posted by newsradiox (CANTON, MI) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Low quality game. It's really just a global warming propaganda game, with all the focus on the propaganda part, and none on the actual game.
I wouldn't even pay five bucks for this joke of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ok

posted by natalie (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I made the mistake of buying it because i thouht i had it on my game fly list and did not doubble check but it gets boring bery fast notheing new it's a copy form burrout and pacific rift but they only copyed the bad things. Rent it dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

FUEL

posted by Kevingene (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jun 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

one word! HORRIBLE explains it all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No Steering Wheel Support

posted by palable (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I have a high end steering wheel with gas/brake pedals and a shifter. This game makes you use buttons on the steering wheel for gas/brake and you have to turn the wheel way too much before any turning starts.

It's a shame when game demos have better steering wheel support than a released game.

Don't waste your time with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Umm, what happened

posted by nobadgames (WEST LAFAYETTE, IN) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was excited about this game and a driving game nut, so I went out and bought thinking it would be GRID and DIRT in a big open world or an update of Codemasters old PC game "Insane". Well, I was sorely disappointed.

You basically run set races at camps to unlock vehicles and more camps. There are challenges and items to find in the open world environment. I don't see too much award for doing anything but the challenges though.

In the open world, I basically just drive straight and ignore the roads. Once in a while you have to avoid a tree.

The vehicles have no damage and drive somewhat like they are on ice.

I read some of the good reviews and wonder if they are playing the same game. Maybe they have family that work at Codemasters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mixed feelings

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Not sure what I think about Fuel thus far, at times I really like it and at times I can't stand it.

The graphics go from awesome to out dated with a change of a map or race. For the most part the graphics appear to be extremely grainy and last generation, but then certain areas are very well done.

This game starts off very slow, you do not have many cars to pick from or many races. All the starting vehicles are EXTREMELY slow. Yes it may say you are going 100 MPH but it feels like you are going 30. If you are use to playing games like Burnout (any of them) or Motorstorm you will feel like you are moving at a snails pace.

If you stick with it, the game opens up, the maps get better and the cars get faster........then the other issues arrive.

In order to open up more areas of the map and to get more cars you have to win races. Not second or third, that just tells you what a loser you are, you have to win, anything less is nothing more than a waste of your time. So to do this you have to repeat the race three times in each difficulty level, this gets old, boring and frustrating very fast.

Now the awesomely fun part of this game is when you are allowed to go off road, the game really shines when you can cut across a field to beat your rival, but most the time just straying 2 feet of the path will lead to your car being bogged down and unable to move.

Other issues that get to me are, Monster Trucks DO NOT perform like monster trucks. They are EXTREMELY slow, can't handle off road, and wreck when you run into a bush. Monster trucks should be able to go through or over anything!!! Fast pavement cars slide off the road way too much, the slightest turn if you are not careful will send you into the ditch or spinning out of control.

Starting out in last place on every race stinks! ALL the racers ahead of you have a insta boost that shoots them 200 to 500 meters ahead of you so you have to play catch up the entire time.

Grr out of characters!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

fuel (ps3)

posted by dhatfield (FINLEYVILLE, PA) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

this game sucks i would not even rent it i had for 3 hours and iam sending it back today

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SPECTACULAR!

posted by dothedew (GOODING, ID) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 29 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing i love the Nice open space in which you get to drive!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easy Plat

posted by Shadow_neji (DERWOOD, MD) May 25, 2013

Member since May 2013

BEST GAME TO HAVE EASY PLAT.
Rent , Install hack save data, Copy And load it. Easy plat in 5 min . NEXT STEP , RETURN THIS USELESS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring

posted by Lonewolf1 (MONROE, MI) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

This is one of those games that's monotonous - it's ok in the beginning - but when you have to travel from the NE corner to the SW corner without using a helicopter (which takes about 2.5 to 3 hours) then it gets boring - it's mostly driving around and being bored - to get every trophy in the game - you MUST win races on the hardest difficulty - this game takes approximately 40 to 80+ hours to complete - I however gave up around 18 hours due to being bored from lack of excitement

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good beginning, quickly goes bad.

posted by trav23 (GARLAND, TX) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

sent fuel back to gamefly today. if i'd had it for a blockbuster rental period, i would have insisted all the reviews talking bad about it were wrong.

at 18 hours, it was still kind of fun. at 22 hours, it was no longer fun, the computer was cheating on races, and the time limits on timed challenges became redonkulous. so i went back to try to get gold on earlier races with new cars. at 24 hours i gave up on how not fun that was, but i was close to 3 or 4 more trophies. at 26 hours, i had 1 of those trophies, and was mad that i'd wasted the extra 4 hours, because no one else cares how many psn trophies i have.

if you rent it, send it back before you get to the 3 areas at the south end of the map, and you can keep pretending it was a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse