Rent Frontlines: Fuel of War for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Frontlines: Fuel of War

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.7

8184 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's all about the numbers!!

posted by brewhacha (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

27 out of 29 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I didn't know how I would like this game so I didn't buy it I rented instead...well, this game is getting bought!! If your looking for a deep, long single player story, this isn't the game for you, check out Mass Effect. The story mode is shorter than a Brittney Spears mini skirt! No major flaws and the graphics are great and the playability is easy and straight forward. No, this game is all about the numbers in multiplayer. With rooms of up to 50 players, huge maps and more vehicles than you can imagine, it just equals fun on a big scale. The controls are fairly easy to use for the infantry, vehicles control though are a little quarky, I still can't fly a plane!! But visually the online graphics are great! Battle smoke, haze, dust and cool explosions with little or no lag. And the sounds are awesome! Gunfire, drones, helo's, jets, bombs are all constant sounds and the you can't help but get excited when you hear a cluster bomb explode! One other thing I was concerned about, trying to listen to team members over 10+ other players. Or gettin stuck in listening to a bunch of loud mouths...no problem, you can only talk and hear member of your own squad! You form squads of up to 4 and can only communicate with them, so you and some buddies or team mates you play well with can talk and work together without have to talk over everyone else! The biggest negative I can say about the online experience is the hit recognition needs a little polish. Sometimes your shots just don't hit the other player the way I would like to see, especially when both characters are not moving and crosshairs are dead on and it registers a miss. But it is more of an annoyance and really most noticeable when using the sniper class. All this is a great game, far exceeding my expectations. With a little polish (hopefully in the form of a patch) this game would easily get a rating of 9.5 from me. A great game that I plan on buying. It is truly a multiplayer game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is the reason to have Gamefly

posted by SteelJeep (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

25 out of 28 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Great to rent..to buy not so much. The patch is really needed here, seems like people have been waiting forever. I gave up on it. As far as the game, it was a lot of fun. Graphics were sub par to today's standard, sound was good, replay value was low. I still don't get the sniper...worst sniper in any fps imho. All in all easy game to beat, very easy achievements. Worth playing without a doubt but I would never buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME, WORTH RENT + BUY !!

posted by CNTRINSGNT (MANVILLE, NJ) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

131 out of 153 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Like all my reviews here is the good + the bad, enjoy.

==========The GOOD:============

Game play is awesome everything is easy and smooth, weapons are simple to select and pick up.

Graphics are great, next gen for sure
no white lines or jaggies anywhere.

Multiplayer is intense, 32 players is what I call the true multiplayer experience !

Tanks and other forms of transport will repair themselves after a bit of time... very cool feature

Achievements are pretty straight forward and easy to obtain... infact IF you are really good at this game you can obtain EVERY SINGLE, SINGLE PLAYER ACHIEVMENT in ONE game completion.

============THE BAD.===========

Tanks and other transport are hard to maneuver .

If a tank hits a simple wooden wall or a tree or anything for that matter it will take damage.
So in other words if you are in a fight and your tank is low on armor, if it hits a barrel or a tree it will blow up

The game on normal is pretty tough so if you want all of the achievements you will need to play the same level AT LEAST twice, if not three times.

TO sum it up this game is very good, not call of duty 4 great, or halo 3 great but very very close. It lives up to all of its hype and more.

Due to the multiplayer being so good it is worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Im gonna get killed for this

posted by denny417 (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

45 out of 59 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Yea,many of you will hate me but it is my true opinion. Nobody has been able to go into great depth with this game but i just don't see it has amazing...the single player is much like assasnins creed,good at first but once you beat it you wont play it again the multi is where i have been and so far so good it plays alot like a pc game with fun vehicle interaction and many player slots. A flaw that is very fixable and predictable with this game is lag.....alotta players=lag.but i don't get too much of it soo it is enjoyable.

My recommendation is depending if you have xbox live or not.If you do then this is worth the buy the multi player for me is a 9 out of 10

Non live gamers rent it, you wont be too happy with the single player because it wont last you too long....all in all good game but the single player just isn't as good as the multi player which will give it a 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good multiplayer and a tacked-on single player

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Mar 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

44 out of 61 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

If you like shooters, this is a must rent. The multiplayer is very deep. It reminds me of Shadowrun, in the good ways. You have to work together to win in multiplayer. But better graphics and slightly better weapons.

Single player consists of only six real levels, split into two halves with a few objectives. I like how the battle is very open. You choose what objectives to do and (sometimes) the order you do them. I beat it on Normal in one day with only 5 total respawns. Hard isn't much harder, though I love my FPS-es.

The control scheme is like Halo, and you can't change it to be like COD or Gears. You can't change much about the controls and some of the vehicles control pretty wonky.

Rent this game after you've tried all the great March releases, but do rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For battlefield 2 fans

posted by MrFluffy (STERLING, VA) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is a good design for a first person shooter, but it lacks in a few key areas to make it strike me as a GREAT game. I do like the open environments and the opening cinematic certainly got me in the mood to go kill for oil, but something about the control scheme and the mechanics just struck me as mediocre. Actually shooting in this game feels very akward, almost like you're shooting a weak gun without recoil and the enemies just seem to absorb the bullets. The feedback system just lacked any sort of realism. The visuals were beautiful as well, but the AI system just seemed so weak. Enemies will run across open fields to shoot at you while team mates will wander back in forth in front of you, and sometimes just teleport to objectives when they started off way behind you.

Achievements appear to be simple and easy too. My first playthrough of the first level scored me three achievements. One for finishing the level on Normal or above, one for finishing it without dying, and one for finishing it under par time. Getting all three on my first playthrough while I was still just learning the game gives me the impression that the rest of the game is going to be super easy as well.

The huge plus side is the story line and some key multiplayer features. The ability to choose which objective you wished to pursue first was great, but some of the HUD elements left your screen feeling cluttered in the process. (every time an enemy appeared on your screen a blinking red circle shined around their heads. some of the larger groups were just unsightly!)

Vehicle control was also very akward. When riding in the back of a vehicle turret, you also DRIVE the vehicle. (Much like the warthog from halo but like you're in the gunner seat) The biggest downfall is sometimes you want to drive foreward and shoot towards each side of the vehicle... unfortunately you cant. you either drive where you're pointing, or you drive away.

Good story, but controls suck...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Outstanding Title

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Mar 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

In this game, you are in the midst of the post peak oil world, where oil reserves are on the steady decline and war is becoming more and more necessary to try and get control of the remaining oil reserves. Truly, an upbeat and happy little tale to base a game upon, no?

You are trying to defeat the Russian to allow you and the Chinese to engage in a final battle for control of the needed oil reserves of the world.

Kaos Studios has produced one of the single most intensively enjoyable gaming experiences you will face this year. It is an incredibly objective-based gameplay model which is an absolute blast to play. You always have something to do --- usually multiple objectives at once --- and it's ultimately your option as to what objective you tackle first.

Your AI teammates are decent. Not the type you can really rely on, but it is pretty solid and they will actually help you quite a bit. Your enemy AI is also outstanding. They do flank. They do know where to duck down to get a good shot at you. It doesn't feel cheap, but it does feel quite challenging and that is a rarity in gaming.

And the weaponry is a ton of fun. You get the usual assault rifle, but you also get drone vehicles (which are awesome), rail guns, rocket launchers with lock-on functionality, etc. The only real downside I've located is that controlling of the vehicles is a massive headache. This is a minor problem --- you only have one or two missions where vehicles are truly a requirement --- but it should be mentioned.

You can play the game in two VASTLY different ways --- and, in fact, to get all of the achievements, you will have to. You can deal with the objectives in a very tactical and deliberate (no, not slow) pace, but if you want to get the stopwatch achievements, you will have to ALSO try to run-and-gun which makes the game play markedly differently. Equally fun --- just extremely different.

You have to get this game. You really do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EXCELLENT FPS/WAR GAME

posted by jwheezy (SPARTA, TN) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

What can I say? This game is very fun and compelling. I played the demo and had a blast. All I play are first person shooters, and it takes a lot to keep my attention. This games definitely does. I never play the single player side of games, but this one is one of the best I've played in awhile. One of the best features this game offers is the Drone class. This lets you deploy and control drones (robots) to fly/drive around the battlefield and shoot your enemies. This is very fun in multiplayer. The use of tanks and helicopters in multiplayer is very useful and fun, as well. I suggest purchasing this game if you are a fan of Call of Duty 4 or any other FPS games. HAVE FUN!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

massive battles on xbox 360

posted by night1 (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

16 out of 27 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

i love that fact now with this game it gives the feel of huge battlefield mre so then battlefield modern combat did on the 360 this game is up there with battlefield on the pc if your a huge battle kind of person grab this game ts got it all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is the Battlefield for PC

posted by Rymann (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The makers of Battlefield PC are the ones in charge of the development of Frontlines: Fuel of War. It goes to show that this is the true Battlefield game for the 360, instead of the Battlefield: Modern Combat sequels which were nothing like the PC version. This game offers everything in the multiplayer environment, helicopters, tanks, jeeps, controllable drones, and soldier kits to fit your current situation. The maps are huge and offer up to 32 players online in one game, which is almost on par of the PC Battlefield.
Do yourself a favor, if you want a unique modern combat experience that is exciting and innovating (instead of those halo and call of doody linear remakes), check out this game. You won't be displeased.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game is just great...worth the buy!!!

posted by ACustomer (JACKSON, MS) Feb 27, 2008

Member since May 2007

43 out of 79 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome....single player is just great....and 32 player online...that is amazing...i got this game the day it came out...and i my 360 hasn't cut off yet..the controls, and gameplay are awesome...and the graphics are some of the best i've seen on the 360...now this game is not as good as call of duty 4....but its pretty close...the game is just amazing...i would suggest this game to anybody....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Front lines: Fuel of War

posted by damon87 (GRANGEVILLE, ID) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I am sometimes amazed at the rating theses games get right off the bat. In this case Frontlines recieved a 10...and a....9. So, I'am thinking WOW!! this is great and I can't wait to play it. Then I played it,wow?? I wondered if 9&10 were at least in this instance the bottom of the scale of good versus bad.Or if the rater was playing it upside down?

Frontline misses the mark on just about every level.....no,no, on every level. It looks like last generation and the controls are clunky. The frame rate is slow and I've never had a enemy fly 30 feet through the air at me after I shot him ....with a pistol. ( I did get a laugh out of that...at least its something )
The multi player is bit better but thats not saying much. I suppose I shouldn't be so hard on Frontlines as we all can't be Call of Duty 4 or Clancy's Las Vegas or for that matter what my teen age son is playing these days - Lego Star Wars.
I don't know what it takes to make a great game but I know that there are people making good games.Games they are proud to put on the market this is not one of those games.
We love our games, our escape time while playing them. We also love Game Fly so we don't have to spend good money on a game thats rated 5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FIRST REAL MULTIPLAYER GAME OF 2008

posted by master1135 (HENRIETTA, TX) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THE MULTIPLAYER IN THIS GAME IS SUPERB ALSO THE GUNS ARE GOOD,VERY EASY TO AIM,VEHICLES ARE FAST AND AWESOME,AND FINALLY OF THE GOOD NEWS IS THAT THE MAPS ARE BIG.

THE BAD NEWS IS THAT THE SINGLE PLAYER IS VERY SHORT,THE AI IS STUPID,GRAPHICS COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER,AND THE CINEMATICS ARE POINTLESS ALSO THE STORYLINE.
IF YOU LIKE SINGLE PLAYER THIS IS NOT THE GAME FOR YOU.

THQ COULD HAVE DONE BETTER

A 8 OUT OF 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what you expected

posted by Chris75189 (ROCKWALL, TX) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game needs some help, the graphics are very choppy at times, and the story line doesn't really go any where, its not worth a rent at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Front lines Fuel of War

posted by Unit54987 (RENO, NV) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the game but there are lots of problems with the online play. The first thing I noticed was when you are lagging you can't fire. You will see the animation of the weapons firing and thats it. You could be in a server that as almost no lag and still not be able to fire at the enemy. When you are able to fire the your movements are so laggy that you can't even walk 5 feet. Also some times when you are trying to deploy the loading screen gets stuck and you are force to leave the server.

Now for the Red Star's attack helicopter is almost useless compare to the Western Coalition's attack helicopter that has the recon mode which missiles can not lock on to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not COD4 or R6-2

posted by ericlsu (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Played this for 30 minutes then got totally bored. Maybe cause I started this after COD4 and R6-2, this game isn't even close to those titles. So if you're into COD and R6 right now, wait some time and play something else before getting this game so you wont be as disappointed.

No comment on online version b/c I didnt even attempt it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overall : Worth Renting!

posted by jvivlemore (ROSEVILLE, CA) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this after playing the multiplayer oil fields map on the demo. The idea you can use vehicles, helicopters, be on foot and every real scenario is very appealing. Everything can easily be taken out by something or someone on the map.

As far as the single player goes it's very weak. I love to watch the movies although I skipped through every single one. I think I beat this in a few hours too. The single player isn't very deap and I usually prefer single player over multiplayer.

Regarding the multiplayer the maps all have unique features to them. They are very large as well although I found out quickly 32 people in a large map at times is pretty insane if everyone is near each other.

Overall this is a great game and definitely worth renting. The only downside is the single player and also the way chatting works. I still can't figure out how to form a squad so I can chat. I do get invited to them though and once you get 5-6 people working together it's the game at it's best. Team work is a must to win and take over the objectives!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

World War 3 Has Arrived!

posted by BlueHefner (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Frontlines: Fuel of War is a pretty good game and could be made alot better down the road with updates through Xbox Live.

Campaign Mode:
Frontlines: Fuel of War single player although short is really good imo and the good story line keeps you hooked through the entire thing. I take it more as a launching pad for the Multiplayer than anything else.

Xbox Live Play:
Frontlines: FOW multiplayer drops you into intense 50 player battles. You have your choice of class much like COD4 and after that its time to kill. Many maps contain vehicles such as Helicopters,tanks,etc.. which you actually can drive and makes the game that more intense. Would you rather stay back and be a sniper, go ahead. The maps in Frontlines allow you to get to all sorts of locations which is a big reason I love the game. The maps are just crazy. As with others the only real negative remark I have for the game is the 4 person team talk. Being able to talk to only 4 people is just not enough. Hopefully this will get patched down the road.

Bottom Line:
If you go into this game trying to compare it to COD:4 well then you will be disappointed. Its a really good game in its own right and has really good ideas with vehicles and incredible maps. Online play is good and I think thats what this game was intended to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i'd buy it

posted by MIGGYD (LA HABRA, CA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if i had the money. if you like fps's this should hold you down for a week or two. and thats if you get bored of games fast. the graphics-pretty good. gameplay-really good. story line-great.
i guess the only complaint is that the story line is too easy and too short. Frontlines is fun, interesting, very imaginative, and easy on the eyes. even you your not into fps's you should at least rent this, 'cause youll still have a great time time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not COD 4 but good for what it is.

posted by reverend66 (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just as COD 4 this game has a very short campaign and excellent mutiplayer. First the campaign, the story is one of the best i've seen in a game. It is however bogged down in gameplay by AI that is, for a better word "special". Your squad mates will on occasion kill enemies, they will also however stand right next to them while shooting in your direction.
The "future" weapons of the game consist basically of R/C tanks & helicopters that either blow up next to a target (or my favorite) fire weapons that do as much if not more damage as thier full sized counterparts. the control of these craft is just as cumbersome as the tanks & other vehicles in the game (my only real problem).
Online however is incredible due to the numbers of player on the field. A lack of slowdowns & constant action abounds.

In closing, if you are not into online gaming this is a rental. If you like online rent it first (you already have COD 4 anyway) see if its worth the $ for the R/C toys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Fun Multiplayer

posted by Alpha117 (BATESVILLE, AR) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The multiplayer of this game was, one of the best I have ever played. Some aspects could be improved, but other than that, very fun!!! I give it a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing step down from CoD4

posted by ApileOFree (SANTA ROSA, CA) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Well I ran out to buy this game with 4 other friends who were exited about the 32 players and the team chat...what a disappointment.

The single player is pretty old and tired(think ps2). The game itself is glitchy and lags, you can line a guy up in your site but you have to wait for the game to catch up or no dice. Many a times in the single player mode would I sneak up on a guard and line him up, but if I didn't wait a second for the game to catch up (and the guard to walk away) then the shot seemed to go right through him...very frustrating!!

The real disappointment is the online multiplayer. First of all there are no ranked games to join (that I can find) sure I see many servers supposedly available but when i try to join it says "session no longer available" or some bs like that. I think i got into 1 room out of literally 20 tries. also there is no ability to join up with your friends in a ranked match (also no ranking that i can see, once again Cod4 crushes this game)

The only way to get together is to start your own room (only 16 players) and make unbalanced teams (whoopi) And then you cant talk to any one, you can start a squad by hitting the d pad 18 times but then there is another ha;f of the world who is on your side but has no clue how to help you.

Imagine the frustration of seeing a tank come up on a team mate who has his back turned while trying to capture a base, you scream "Tank" but he's not in your four man group so you can yell all you want he cant hear you, well i ask you who the heck thought that was a good idea? How can a person standing right next to me not hear me?

I could go on and on but I am getting frustrated just thinking about the darn thing. Don't these game makers ever test these things? maybe they just say screw it we'll just try to sell it and hope people will be happy with fecal matter.

Basically they tried to mod an old game with a few new gadgets (the remote robots are kewl)and failed miserably.

P.S. All THQ games suck!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fuels of War

posted by dhwatson (RUSSELLVILLE, AR) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Great single player and even more fun on Xbox Live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

for online gamers only!

posted by pyrofire43 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game has great online matches! So far I’ve only seen matched up to 50 people, but it’s the largest amount of players I’ve heard of in any x-box game. The online play is realistic damage where tactics counts as much as you’re killing ability. Fast pace game play makes this a very addicting game. Large maps make every experience different.

There are a few problems. The biggest would be the search engine to find games. Too often it shows servers you can’t connect to and, so far, I have not been able to connect to a ranked server. It might be because of setting on my wireless router, but the search engine is defiantly funky. Other than that, any complaints would be nit picking unfit to be mentioned in a review.

I would recommend this game for any online gamer. But if you can only play the one player, don’t! The one player is short and isn’t very impressive. Might be good for when the server is down, but it isn’t worth buying the game for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game with a few rough spots.

posted by Jonasty (WALTHAM, MA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is a great play. Defiently worth checking out if nothing else, although I impulse-bought it at Gamestop and am happy with the decision.

Stuff I liked:
- The graphics are great. There is a pretty nice draw distance, even in multiplayer and the maps are beautiful.
-The maps themselves are HUGE in multiplayer. Even the "small" maps, pack a decent amount of room.
-The weapons are fun and entertaining. I do agree with a previous review, in that I have not noticed a large difference in damage potential between the various weapons. Assault rifle is just as deadly as the sniper and as the shotgun. The only real differnce is the pistol, which is worthless. But they are fun to use, none the less.
-Multiplayer is amazing!!! 16 vs 16 battles with tanks, air strikes, guys parachuting from helicopters, its lends itself to some dramatic moments.
-Custom Soundtracks. Nothing like parachuting out of a chopper, landing, and then mowing down enemies with your assault rifle while Static-X is cranked in the background.

Stuff that could be better:
-As the above makes clear, this game really shines in multiplayer. The single player game is forgettable. Its fun, don't get me wrong, but half way through it I basically realized it was almost like a really long tutorial on how to play that I used to prepare for the multiplayer. Still fun though, but don't buy it unless you plan on going Live.
-The matchmaking system, as it currently runs, is pretty aggravating. There is no way to party up with friends, so you pretty much have to hope you end up in the same game with them, even with "custom" game filters. Also, creating your own game caps it at 16 players which is still a decent amount, but not enough for the bigger maps, at times.
-As others have mentioned, the message "game session no longer available" shows up WAY TOO MUCH at times. Refreshing the connection helps, but shouldn't be necessary.

Over all a fun game, definetly rent it or buy if you like multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse